Bitcoin Forum
October 17, 2018, 11:04:37 AM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 [38] 39 40 41 42 43 44 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitmain Announces the Antminer R4 and APW5 Power Supply, Designed for Silence  (Read 68586 times)
Micky25
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 969
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 04, 2017, 09:16:18 PM
 #741

I have a question about shipping an R4 back to bitmain for warranty work because it has stopped hashing on the bottom board.  When returning for warranty work do i have to pay any duties or taxes going into Hong Kong?  Also does any one have a sample shipping label you could share with me? When trying to add "TUNG-D INTERNATIONAL DEVELOPMENT LIMITED Warehouse No.3811" to the company name on UPS it cuts it off and i just want to make sure it does not get lost in the mail.   this whole process is a pain for a miner that is only 60 days old.  

You "only" have to pay the shipping costs. For the adress, just use every available field and space and do not take care, which field is for what. The final result should look like this:



Tel. and e.mail come from fields outside the adress space here. And I agree, they should absolutely make this a free pickup service.
1539774277
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539774277

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539774277
Reply with quote  #2

1539774277
Report to moderator
1539774277
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539774277

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539774277
Reply with quote  #2

1539774277
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
VRobb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 503


I'm in BTC XTC


View Profile
March 08, 2017, 03:21:53 AM
 #742

My sick droid R4B4 has finally arrived at the imperial droid maintenance facility, and hopefully will be repaired and sent back to the btc mine at my Hoth like DC.  Ran for about a day before a hashboard died, and that was on December 28th...  Was running at half speed for a bit, but seriously folks LAME!

I don't believe in superstition because it's bad luck
In Hotels, I prefer the 13thF1oor6CAwyzyxXPNnRvu3nhhYeqZdc
These aren't the Droids you're looking for: S5 & S7 (Sold), R4B2, R4B4 (RIP),S9-13.5 & S9r-11.5
HagssFIN
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050
Merit: 1217


Electrical engineer (B.E.). Mining since 2014.


View Profile WWW
March 08, 2017, 05:59:46 AM
 #743

I got my faulty 8.7Th/s unit fixed back here in Finland and mining smoothly again so far  Smiley

Smooth delivery via Fedex, no need to deal with customs.

VRobb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 503


I'm in BTC XTC


View Profile
March 09, 2017, 01:23:23 PM
 #744

Repair finished, R4B4 is being sent back to Hoth...  Fingers crossed all is good!

I don't believe in superstition because it's bad luck
In Hotels, I prefer the 13thF1oor6CAwyzyxXPNnRvu3nhhYeqZdc
These aren't the Droids you're looking for: S5 & S7 (Sold), R4B2, R4B4 (RIP),S9-13.5 & S9r-11.5
HagssFIN
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050
Merit: 1217


Electrical engineer (B.E.). Mining since 2014.


View Profile WWW
March 09, 2017, 08:10:48 PM
 #745

They shipped my repaired 8.7Th/s unit back with newer firmware version December 9.
Temps are better (lower) than before.

December 2 firmware version is the newest one available at Bitmain.com at the moment.
I asked about download link for the December 9 firmware to update my other 8.7Th/s unit which has high-ish temps, but they said they are still testing it.  Roll Eyes
They said that it will be available at the support page when it's ready.

LASERminer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 205
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 14, 2017, 07:50:30 PM
 #746

With the difficulty rising nearly exponentially is anyone really making money with this miner?  Doing the calculations it seems literally impossible to be profitable.
Maybe your calculations do not include profit from selling used unit before it becomes obsolete Wink
kapir
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 14, 2017, 10:57:16 PM
 #747

One of my R4's that stopped hashing on one board has stopped hashing completely after trying to restore the original firmware. The hardware version listed under system overview says "   Socket connect failed: Connection refused".

I have tried powering off several times, reboots, updating firmware, etc. No more hashing. There has to be an easy fix to this without sending to Hong Kong or letting sit in Denver for weeks on end. Any thoughts?

EDIT:  unplugged the original board that did not hash and fired back up, the one remaining board is hashing again at 4th/s!
Exactly same fault here - I think we discovered common issue.


Same thing happened to me
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596
Merit: 1117


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
March 15, 2017, 12:06:56 AM
 #748

One of my R4's that stopped hashing on one board has stopped hashing completely after trying to restore the original firmware. The hardware version listed under system overview says "   Socket connect failed: Connection refused".

I have tried powering off several times, reboots, updating firmware, etc. No more hashing. There has to be an easy fix to this without sending to Hong Kong or letting sit in Denver for weeks on end. Any thoughts?

EDIT:  unplugged the original board that did not hash and fired back up, the one remaining board is hashing again at 4th/s!
Exactly same fault here - I think we discovered common issue.
Same thing happened to me
And is it also always the top board (chain 8 on GUI) that fails?
One of my b6's lost it 25hrs after getting it. One of these days got to send it off to CO for paid repair...

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
HagssFIN
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050
Merit: 1217


Electrical engineer (B.E.). Mining since 2014.


View Profile WWW
March 20, 2017, 07:08:47 PM
 #749

Well, this is an interesting find and I thought I'll share it with you. Smiley

I had a problem booting my Antminer R4 8.0 Th/s, batch 2, autotune-model.

So I went looking in here:
Bitmain.com: Three Ways to Restore Factory Settings (R4/S9/T9)
https://enforum.bitmain.com/bbs/topics/3957

I used the last option in the list, IP Reporter button restore.
Quote from: Bitmain
Usage: Please power off the miner, then hold down the IP Reporter and don’t release it. At the same time, please power on the miner.
Releasing the IP Reporter after 5 seconds, the machine will automatically restore factory settings.

My miner restored with firmware Aug. 9 2016 and autotune settings were gone.
I am now suddenly able to control frequency and custom fan settings.  Cheesy

This was not my original problem, but I'm happy with it.
My original problem was that the miner jammed somehow in the booting process and didn't even show up in my router ip list.

DaveF
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 786
Merit: 542


If you can read this you are too close.


View Profile WWW
March 21, 2017, 11:25:01 PM
 #750

Anybody have any idea of what is up with this temp?
Everything seems to be working fine, but that's just way out of range.




Thanks,
Dave
dogjunior
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 396
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 24, 2017, 04:00:03 PM
 #751

Well my faulty R4 is now fixed and on the way back to my place. Fedex has it in Cologne (Germany) at the moment.
No details about what was repaired though.

At least they fixed your R4. They sent back a broken R4 that would not hash. I resent it back for repair and now they said they can't replace it because they don't have any more R4 units. They want me to pay some BTC to get as a replacement a T9. It's faster but also louder. Terrible customer service.
Micky25
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 969
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 24, 2017, 06:10:02 PM
 #752

Well my faulty R4 is now fixed and on the way back to my place. Fedex has it in Cologne (Germany) at the moment.
No details about what was repaired though.

At least they fixed your R4. They sent back a broken R4 that would not hash. I resent it back for repair and now they said they can't replace it because they don't have any more R4 units. They want me to pay some BTC to get as a replacement a T9. It's faster but also louder. Terrible customer service.

Try to get a swap without additional payment. The R4 are doomed.
dogjunior
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 396
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 24, 2017, 10:06:42 PM
 #753

Well my faulty R4 is now fixed and on the way back to my place. Fedex has it in Cologne (Germany) at the moment.
No details about what was repaired though.

At least they fixed your R4. They sent back a broken R4 that would not hash. I resent it back for repair and now they said they can't replace it because they don't have any more R4 units. They want me to pay some BTC to get as a replacement a T9. It's faster but also louder. Terrible customer service.

Try to get a swap without additional payment. The R4 are doomed.

Ya they won't budge. My only options are to have them send back a busted R4 or pay up and get a T9. I asked them to provide the cost and also to send me a unit that has been fully tested 100% good. I don't want to pay and then have them send a busted up T9.
CrazyGuy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1966
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 28, 2017, 06:16:30 AM
 #754

Well my faulty R4 is now fixed and on the way back to my place. Fedex has it in Cologne (Germany) at the moment.
No details about what was repaired though.

At least they fixed your R4. They sent back a broken R4 that would not hash. I resent it back for repair and now they said they can't replace it because they don't have any more R4 units. They want me to pay some BTC to get as a replacement a T9. It's faster but also louder. Terrible customer service.

Try to get a swap without additional payment. The R4 are doomed.

Ya they won't budge. My only options are to have them send back a busted R4 or pay up and get a T9. I asked them to provide the cost and also to send me a unit that has been fully tested 100% good. I don't want to pay and then have them send a busted up T9.

I'm in the same boat. It's an 11th/s T9 that they forced me to pay extra for, on top of the cost of shipping the whole R4 unit back instead of just the faulty board. They received the unit back on the 15th and I just received the extortion request today.

ASICPuppy.net ASIC Mining Hardware and Accessories - 2Pacs in stock!
elokk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 585
Merit: 502


View Profile
March 28, 2017, 11:30:55 AM
 #755

Where did you send for repair? Hong Kong or Denver?

Hosting ASIC hardware in Missouri ($63kW per month Sept-April, $75kW May-August) Antminer S9 @ $85/month
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1638
Merit: 1038

I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
March 28, 2017, 11:37:13 AM
 #756

Is this Bitmain or that authorized service company?
CrazyGuy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1966
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 28, 2017, 01:07:30 PM
 #757

It's Bitmain. I opened a repair rocket through their website. They told me Denver was only for out of warranty repair.

ASICPuppy.net ASIC Mining Hardware and Accessories - 2Pacs in stock!
beltsniffer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 278
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 03, 2017, 03:08:50 AM
 #758

Well, this is an interesting find and I thought I'll share it with you. Smiley

I had a problem booting my Antminer R4 8.0 Th/s, batch 2, autotune-model.

So I went looking in here:
Bitmain.com: Three Ways to Restore Factory Settings (R4/S9/T9)
https://enforum.bitmain.com/bbs/topics/3957

I used the last option in the list, IP Reporter button restore.
Quote from: Bitmain
Usage: Please power off the miner, then hold down the IP Reporter and don’t release it. At the same time, please power on the miner.
Releasing the IP Reporter after 5 seconds, the machine will automatically restore factory settings.

My miner restored with firmware Aug. 9 2016 and autotune settings were gone.
I am now suddenly able to control frequency and custom fan settings.  Cheesy

This was not my original problem, but I'm happy with it.
My original problem was that the miner jammed somehow in the booting process and didn't even show up in my router ip list.

I did this on my Batch 6 R4 with a bad board, hoping it would solve the problem. Alas, it did not. It did dump the auto tune firmware and is still hashing the same on the one board, but now I have manual control of the fan speed and frequency setting!

Thanks for posting this Hagss!
HagssFIN
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050
Merit: 1217


Electrical engineer (B.E.). Mining since 2014.


View Profile WWW
April 03, 2017, 08:39:12 AM
 #759

No problem  Smiley. You have now the original non-autotune firmware, but you could have one faulty board because you are able to get only one board hashing.

beltsniffer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 278
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 03, 2017, 08:45:49 AM
 #760

No problem  Smiley. You have now the original non-autotune firmware, but you could have one faulty board because you are able to get only one board hashing.
Those batch 6's were super flakey. The board was dead an hour after I started it up. Never could get it to come back. I need to send it in for repair, just didn't want to lose the hash. And it was keeping my office warm.  Smiley

Since I'm in the US, I'll probably shoot it off to Bitmain Warranty in Colorado, now that the temps are starting to rise.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 [38] 39 40 41 42 43 44 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!