Bitcoin Forum
July 10, 2020, 01:51:01 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.20.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 [113] 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 ... 814 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1500 TH] p2pool: Decentralized, DoS-resistant, Hop-Proof pool  (Read 2587117 times)
coretechs
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 362
Merit: 250



View Profile
May 10, 2012, 03:18:17 PM
Last edit: May 11, 2012, 03:50:59 AM by coretechs
 #2241

I recently upgraded some of my GPU miners to cgminer 2.4 and the latest p2pool build.  After a day or so I noticed that my overall hash rate was significantly lower than it had been in the past.  I did some testing and found that lowering intensity even further from 7 to (5) 6 on some of my rigs resulted in a ~10%-15% improvement in the hash rate reported by p2pool (but lower in cgminer).  I just thought I'd mention it in case anyone else had a similar experience.  I suspect it is mostly due to upgrading cgminer since I was using a much older version.

The graphs in p2pool were very helpful in identifying trends between my rigs.  Smiley

edit - ran a bit longer to rule out some more variance and determined I may have been a bit optimistic with my initial findings, settled on -I 6

https://bitcoindoc.com - The Rise and Rise of Bitcoin | https://blocktap.io - Lightning powered crypto query engine
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1594389061
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1594389061

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1594389061
Reply with quote  #2

1594389061
Report to moderator
1594389061
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1594389061

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1594389061
Reply with quote  #2

1594389061
Report to moderator
1594389061
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1594389061

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1594389061
Reply with quote  #2

1594389061
Report to moderator
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2618
Merit: 1048


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
May 11, 2012, 01:30:18 AM
 #2242

wow never knew about printtoconsole=1
no more stupid blank dos boxes

Reputation  |  PGP  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Frizz23
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106
Merit: 500


View Profile
May 11, 2012, 09:31:44 AM
 #2243

Try adding this to your namecoin.conf file: printtoconsole=1

Then you should be able to see P2Pool polling namecoind.

What messages am I looking for in the namecoind logs?
Smoovious
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 500

Scattering my bits around the net since 1980


View Profile
May 11, 2012, 09:59:30 AM
Last edit: May 11, 2012, 10:42:12 AM by Smoovious
 #2244

Try adding this to your namecoin.conf file: printtoconsole=1

Then you should be able to see P2Pool polling namecoind.

What messages am I looking for in the namecoind logs?
ok, well, first off, in your P2Pool logs, if you are seeing lines like
2012-05-11 05:36:14.828000 > Error while calling merged getauxblock:
2012-05-11 05:36:14.831000 > Traceback (most recent call last):
2012-05-11 05:36:14.833000 > Failure: twisted.internet.error.ConnectionRefusedError: Connection was refused by other side: 10061: No connection could be made because the target machine actively refuse
d it..

then P2Pool isn't communicating with one of your daemons. Won't say which one, but this comes up when P2Pool doesn't find a daemon at the URL you supplied, nothing is answering the port.

Also, if NMC is the only one you're merge mining with, and you're seeing "Got new merged mining work!" messages, then you should be in good shape.

As for the option above, printtoconsole, I noticed different daemons giving more or less info than bitcoind does, and it looks like with that set, it doesn't give enough, which was my bad for not checking that specific daemon. Looking with the '-debug' command line option enabled, I'm not seeing anything obvious from the namecoind end showing P2P's communication, so I wasn't helpful there, but the P2P messages I've mentioned in this reply should help out.

-- Smoov
Frizz23
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106
Merit: 500


View Profile
May 11, 2012, 11:47:25 AM
 #2245

Also, if NMC is the only one you're merge mining with, ...

Is it possible to add more than just NMC to do merged mining? I thought the only possible option is BTC + NMC. No?
ChanceCoats123
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 682
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 11, 2012, 12:19:08 PM
 #2246

 Roll Eyes I still haven't set up merged mining with P2pool. Sad
Smoovious
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 500

Scattering my bits around the net since 1980


View Profile
May 11, 2012, 12:22:38 PM
 #2247

Also, if NMC is the only one you're merge mining with, ...

Is it possible to add more than just NMC to do merged mining? I thought the only possible option is BTC + NMC. No?
Yes, just add another --merged with another URL for the daemon.

You just have to make sure the block chains are compatable.

BTC and LTC for example, aren't compatable.

BTC, NMC, GG(now dead), are compatable, as well as a few others.

(for compatability, basically means, the same miner works for both)

-- Smoov
Aseras
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500


View Profile
May 11, 2012, 01:48:59 PM
 #2248

Also, if NMC is the only one you're merge mining with, ...

Is it possible to add more than just NMC to do merged mining? I thought the only possible option is BTC + NMC. No?

you can do whatever you want, just run thier daemon and change the rpc ports for each whatever you want to mine so they don't conflict and add it to the command line --merged http://user:pass@127.0.0.1:port/
Smoovious
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 500

Scattering my bits around the net since 1980


View Profile
May 11, 2012, 02:07:03 PM
 #2249

Also, if NMC is the only one you're merge mining with, ...

Is it possible to add more than just NMC to do merged mining? I thought the only possible option is BTC + NMC. No?

you can do whatever you want, just run thier daemon and change the rpc ports for each whatever you want to mine so they don't conflict and add it to the command line --merged http://user:pass@127.0.0.1:port/
Your command line could get too long if you're going to merge-mine a lot of daemons, so you could also just include "@c:\usr\bin\p2pool\p2poolBTC.conf" as your command-line option, and put all of your flags in that file instead.

The filename could be any name, doesn't have to be that.

-- Smoov
Isokivi
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 910
Merit: 1000


Items flashing here available at btctrinkets.com


View Profile WWW
May 11, 2012, 05:03:08 PM
 #2250

Im experiencing an awful amount of orphans: Shares 185 <17 orphan, 3 dead>. I only have 10 open connections to th network as my Ip changed, I do have the ports forwarded but usually takes me 2 or so days to see more connections. Can this orphan amount be considered as normal or within variance ?

Bitcoin trinkets now on my online store: btc trinkets.com <- Bitcoin Tiepins, cufflinks, lapel pins, keychains, card holders and challenge coins.
rav3n_pl
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1361
Merit: 1000


Don`t panic! Organize!


View Profile WWW
May 12, 2012, 01:01:28 AM
 #2251

Try sync your p2pool machine to atomic time, also check the connection lags.
I`m producing only few shares per day and had few orphans too.

1Rav3nkMayCijuhzcYemMiPYsvcaiwHni  Bitcoin stuff on my OneDrive
My RPC CoinControl for any coin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=929954
Some stuff on https://github.com/Rav3nPL/
01BTC10
VIP
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 503



View Profile
May 12, 2012, 01:41:00 AM
 #2252

I started P2Pool with the following command about 3 days ago but the node didn't collect any fee mining at 1.8GH/s.
Code:
~/p2pool/run_p2pool.py  user pass --fee 0.5 --merged http://user:pass@127.0.0.1:7333 --merged http://user:pass@127.0.0.1:8338

I see the thank you message for donation toward the P2Pool project and /fee show 0.5

Did I forget anything?
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
May 12, 2012, 02:19:52 AM
 #2253

I started P2Pool with the following command about 3 days ago but the node didn't collect any fee mining at 1.8GH/s.
Code:
~/p2pool/run_p2pool.py  user pass --fee 0.5 --merged http://user:pass@127.0.0.1:7333 --merged http://user:pass@127.0.0.1:8338

I see the thank you message for donation toward the P2Pool project and /fee show 0.5

Did I forget anything?
You do know that the --fee flag is the amount that you get from people that are mining on your node, right? The donation flag is --give-author.

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
twmz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 737
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 12, 2012, 02:20:24 AM
 #2254

I started P2Pool with the following command about 3 days ago but the node didn't collect any fee mining at 1.8GH/s.
Code:
~/p2pool/run_p2pool.py  user pass --fee 0.5 --merged http://user:pass@127.0.0.1:7333 --merged http://user:pass@127.0.0.1:8338

I see the thank you message for donation toward the P2Pool project and /fee show 0.5

Did I forget anything?

Stupid question, but is someone mining at your node and passing in their own bitcoin address as the miner username?  That's the only time you're going to see a fee taken out.  If no one is mining, there is no fee.  If they are mining, but not overriding the payment address with their username, then they are essentially giving 100% of their mining to you (to the default payment address).

Was I helpful?  1TwmzX1wBxNF2qtAJRhdKmi2WyLZ5VHRs
WoT, GPG

Bitrated user: ewal.
01BTC10
VIP
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 503



View Profile
May 12, 2012, 02:30:41 AM
 #2255

Yes, I  only have 1 miner using his BTC address as username that is receiving payments ~. The node BTC address balance stay at 0.

If my command to start P2Pool is right then I should see some fees coming soon.

Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
May 12, 2012, 02:32:43 AM
 #2256

Yes, I  only have 1 miner using his BTC address as username that is receiving payments. The node BTC address balance stay at 0.
Using a 0.5% fee just means that you'll keep 5 out of every 1,000 shares that's mined through your node. You might not see a payment for a while.

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
01BTC10
VIP
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 503



View Profile
May 12, 2012, 02:34:23 AM
 #2257

Yes, I  only have 1 miner using his BTC address as username that is receiving payments. The node BTC address balance stay at 0.
Using a 0.5% fee just means that you'll keep 5 out of every 1,000 shares that's mined through your node. You might not see a payment for a while.
Great thank's for the info!
twmz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 737
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 12, 2012, 03:01:30 AM
 #2258

Yes, I  only have 1 miner using his BTC address as username that is receiving payments. The node BTC address balance stay at 0.
Using a 0.5% fee just means that you'll keep 5 out of every 1,000 shares that's mined through your node. You might not see a payment for a while.
Great thank's for the info!

Also, it's random (with a probability equal to the percentage you set) that any given share will be redirected to your node's address.  So you'll not necessarily get exactly 5 out of the first 1000.  It'll end up averaging that in the long term, though.

Was I helpful?  1TwmzX1wBxNF2qtAJRhdKmi2WyLZ5VHRs
WoT, GPG

Bitrated user: ewal.
Shadow383
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 12, 2012, 08:51:57 AM
 #2259

Yes, I  only have 1 miner using his BTC address as username that is receiving payments. The node BTC address balance stay at 0.
Using a 0.5% fee just means that you'll keep 5 out of every 1,000 shares that's mined through your node. You might not see a payment for a while.
Great thank's for the info!

Also, it's random (with a probability equal to the percentage you set) that any given share will be redirected to your node's address.  So you'll not necessarily get exactly 5 out of the first 1000.  It'll end up averaging that in the long term, though.
Was wondering why I hadn't seen anything go to the wallet of my 0.1% fee node, then suddenly got payment the other day  Huh
Makes sense now, cheers  Grin
Frizz23
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106
Merit: 500


View Profile
May 12, 2012, 05:39:31 PM
 #2260

Question for the "Blocks found in last day:" section from http://localhost:9332:

* I got credit for some blocks that did not show up in this section.
* I can see those blocks in my local Bitcoin wallet as well as on http://p2pool.info/
* p2pool shows me: Shares: 51 total (0 orphaned, 0 dead)

- I would have expected that this "orphaned" counter would be greater than 0 in cases like this. No?
- How come the local block statistics (http://localhost:9332) are different from the ones on http://p2pool.info/ ?


P.S.
After some weeks of mining for a different pool I'm back to p2pool now - this might explain the bad luck we have recently. I'm sort of hoodoo to p2pool Wink


Pages: « 1 ... 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 [113] 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 ... 814 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!