Bitcoin Forum
April 17, 2021, 03:27:29 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 ... 198 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [XPM] [ANN] Primecoin Release - First Scientific Computing Cryptocurrency  (Read 686976 times)
ahmed_bodi
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500

Bitrated user: ahmedbodi.


View Profile
July 07, 2013, 11:43:33 PM
 #261

to bash it later after they have dumped

Bitrated user: ahmedbodi.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1618630049
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1618630049

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1618630049
Reply with quote  #2

1618630049
Report to moderator
mastadonballs
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 420
Merit: 100



View Profile
July 07, 2013, 11:44:20 PM
 #262

just mined my first block...

awesome. awesome to the max
mustyoshi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 287
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 07, 2013, 11:44:46 PM
 #263

to bash it later after they have dumped
...people don't actually do that, do they?
ReCat
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
July 07, 2013, 11:45:19 PM
 #264

just mined my first block...

awesome. awesome to the max
fitting avatar, brah

BTC: 1recatirpHBjR9sxgabB3RDtM6TgntYUW
Hold onto what you love with all your might, Because you can never know when - Oh. What you love is now gone.
ahmed_bodi
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500

Bitrated user: ahmedbodi.


View Profile
July 07, 2013, 11:46:19 PM
 #265

to bash it later after they have dumped
...people don't actually do that, do they?

yep they sure do. some people actually pay others to bash a coin when they have a post on the first page of a popular coin

Bitrated user: ahmedbodi.
mustyoshi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 287
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 07, 2013, 11:47:14 PM
 #266

to bash it later after they have dumped
...people don't actually do that, do they?

yep they sure do. some people actually pay others to bash a coin when they have a post on the first page of a popular coin
>mfw I have a post on the first page

Looks like I'm getting a new pair of shoes.
coinerd
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 07, 2013, 11:47:26 PM
 #267

Can someone post the QT files for windows please?  and the daemon, if there's one in that installer package.
poiuytr4
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 07, 2013, 11:48:39 PM
 #268

 I've noticed that most of the posts are concerning the technical difficulties of getting the client up and running.
 I had a look at your white paper and see that your proof of work is based on the idea of prime chains.
 Is there any way that the pow could be manufactured by analysis of tables of existing primes or pseudo primes? (i.e. running verification tests against tables of known primes/ pseudo primes) If so your pow problem would be reduced to the manufacturing of large primes.
 I know the bitcoin SHA 256 is very well researched but I don't know about this prime chain stuff.
 Is your maths expertise good enough to guarantee the security of this?
 I like the idea, hope it works, just have to ask.  Smiley
 
 
Sunny King
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1205
Merit: 1003



View Profile WWW
July 07, 2013, 11:55:09 PM
 #269

Those primes are large, not astronomically large as Mersenne primes of course, but there is no such thing as a 'prime table' that you can look it up at this scale, as primes are abundant.
TheMightyX
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 250

Vires in Numeris


View Profile
July 07, 2013, 11:55:26 PM
 #270

is there any way we can join a mining pool a la bitcoin?
Id like to get a least a fraction of a block when they are awarded vs nothing.
forsetifox
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 07, 2013, 11:55:30 PM
 #271

just mined my first block...

awesome. awesome to the max

My only regret is that I have... Boneitis.
TheSpiral
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
July 07, 2013, 11:55:45 PM
 #272

Can someone post the QT files for windows please?  and the daemon, if there's one in that installer package.
It's in the first post. Just unzip the installer, they're both there.
One block mined so far.

[Cex.io] - Cheap virtual mining.
BitCoiner2012
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 07, 2013, 11:57:50 PM
 #273

It must have been asked before, but so many pages.. so here goes; how would I (solo)mine this? Can I just use cgminer?
click help -> debug window.
then on the console tab, type 'setgenerate true'.
it wont tell  you you are mining, but if you check your process explorer, you will see all of your cores maxed.

Was confused, but now I see this. I also see the CPU is maxed, so I'm mining now? Only way to know is find a block, righht? Hmm..

BTC Long.
Vorksholk
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1713
Merit: 1001



View Profile WWW
July 08, 2013, 12:00:56 AM
 #274

It must have been asked before, but so many pages.. so here goes; how would I (solo)mine this? Can I just use cgminer?
click help -> debug window.
then on the console tab, type 'setgenerate true'.
it wont tell  you you are mining, but if you check your process explorer, you will see all of your cores maxed.

Was confused, but now I see this. I also see the CPU is maxed, so I'm mining now? Only way to know is find a block, righht? Hmm..

You can run "getmininginfo" or "getprimespersec" in the console (Help>Debug Console).

VeriBlock: Securing The World's Blockchains Using Bitcoin
https://veriblock.org
coinerd
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 08, 2013, 12:01:52 AM
 #275

Can someone post the QT files for windows please?  and the daemon, if there's one in that installer package.
It's in the first post. Just unzip the installer, they're both there.
One block mined so far.

what do you "unzip the installer" with?

poiuytr4
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 08, 2013, 12:03:21 AM
 #276

Those primes are large, not astronomically large as Mersenne primes of course, but there is no such thing as a 'prime table' that you can look it up at this scale, as primes are abundant.

Yes, but clearly it takes less computing power to 'look up' a prime than to use the client software to create it then to check if it is part of a chain.
 If you have created a client that can manufacture primes then it is easy to use the client to manufacture them and then store them in a database for analysis.
 I am pretty sure that there is such a thing as a 'prime table'. It is a database of known primes.
TheSpiral
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
July 08, 2013, 12:05:42 AM
 #277

Can someone post the QT files for windows please?  and the daemon, if there's one in that installer package.
It's in the first post. Just unzip the installer, they're both there.
One block mined so far.

what do you "unzip the installer" with?


I just use 7-zip. When you unzip the installer, you'll get some random variable folders, src folder, daemon, and qt client... Keep whatever you want, I just took the daemon and qt.exe

[Cex.io] - Cheap virtual mining.
fabrizziop
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 506
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 08, 2013, 12:08:21 AM
 #278

What a weird thing, I had to run on only 4 of 8 cores on my FX 8350 to get to 19 primes per second only, with all 8 cores it goes to 8 primes per second  Huh
coinerd
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 08, 2013, 12:10:11 AM
 #279


I just use 7-zip. When you unzip the installer, you'll get some random variable folders, src folder, daemon, and qt client... Keep whatever you want, I just took the daemon and qt.exe

ok well so much for not installing anything into windows for altcoins again- I installed 7-zip.

Neither the internal .zip in windows or win-rar would get it they're too busy being "helpful".

Thanks for the tip.
nmersulypnem
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 08, 2013, 12:12:27 AM
 #280

How do I know when I"ve mined a block?  I have several computers running, but I don't see anything so far...
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 ... 198 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!