Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 06:47:31 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 [28] 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 ... 155 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Vanitygen: Vanity bitcoin address generator/miner [v0.22]  (Read 808040 times)
ptshamrock
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 479



View Profile
April 03, 2012, 01:50:17 PM
 #541

Will VanityADress gen be workable with FPGA`s like BFL?

"Money needs to be depoliticized, and the time has come for the separation of money and state to be accomplished."
1480747651
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480747651

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480747651
Reply with quote  #2

1480747651
Report to moderator
1480747651
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480747651

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480747651
Reply with quote  #2

1480747651
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480747651
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480747651

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480747651
Reply with quote  #2

1480747651
Report to moderator
1480747651
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480747651

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480747651
Reply with quote  #2

1480747651
Report to moderator
K1773R
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


/dev/null


View Profile
April 03, 2012, 02:06:56 PM
 #542

stupid question, stupid answer:
develop OpenCL driver for ur FPGA then u can!

[GPG Public Key]  [Devcoin Builds]  [BBQCoin Builds]  [Multichain Blockexplorer]  [Multichain Blockexplorer - PoS Coins]  [Ufasoft Miner Linux Builds]
BTC/DVC/TRC/FRC: 1K1773RbXRZVRQSSXe9N6N2MUFERvrdu6y ANC/XPM AK1773RTmRKtvbKBCrUu95UQg5iegrqyeA NMC: NK1773Rzv8b4ugmCgX789PbjewA9fL9Dy1 LTC: LKi773RBuPepQH8E6Zb1ponoCvgbU7hHmd EMC: EK1773RxUes1HX1YAGMZ1xVYBBRUCqfDoF BQC: bK1773R1APJz4yTgRkmdKQhjhiMyQpJgfN
Nyhm
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 215



View Profile WWW
April 09, 2012, 05:02:51 PM
 #543

Hello, just a note that I made a vanity address generator applet (see topic here). It's ridiculously slow compared to the likes of Vanitygen. Just an experiment, as I'm starting to tinker with Bitcoin.

~ Bitcoin Game List
~ "Mathematicians overlook that computation is bounded by Physics. Computer Scientists lament it. Cryptographers depend on it." -- Nyhm c. 2012
~ 1NYhM2pzT6PDfZyXbyFm3dVcoob4phrGc5
runlinux
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 567



View Profile WWW
April 09, 2012, 06:19:03 PM
 #544

I love my new address (Check sig)  Grin

paraipan
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


Firstbits: 1pirata


View Profile WWW
April 09, 2012, 07:35:59 PM
 #545

I love my new address (Check sig)  Grin

sent you some coins so you can use the firstbits  Smiley

@BurtWagner not necessarily, firstbits claims they add it to their database after a payment is made and it reaches 7 confirms

BTCitcoin: An Idea Worth Saving - Q&A with bitcoins on rugatu.com - Check my rep
BurtW
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1778

All paid signature campaigns should be banned.


View Profile WWW
April 09, 2012, 07:38:09 PM
 #546

I think it is worth mentioning to everyone you need to use your generated address in order to claim the firstbits location.

Our family was terrorized by Homeland Security.  Read all about it here:  http://www.jmwagner.com/ and http://www.burtw.com/  Any donations to help us recover from the $300,000 in legal fees and forced donations to the Federal Asset Forfeiture slush fund are greatly appreciated!
runlinux
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 567



View Profile WWW
April 10, 2012, 02:50:07 PM
 #547

its saying that all 4 of mine are not in the chain... I have moved a few coins to and from them last night. o well!

Nyhm
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 215



View Profile WWW
April 10, 2012, 03:16:15 PM
 #548

If you're using the bitcoin-qt wallet (from bitcoin.org), moving bitcoins between "accounts" in your wallet might be done locally (not on the block chain). Can anyone else confirm whether this is always the behavior when moving values within the wallet? Is there any way to tell bitcoin-qt to send the transaction to the network, even if you own the destination address (the wallet has the private key)?

~ Bitcoin Game List
~ "Mathematicians overlook that computation is bounded by Physics. Computer Scientists lament it. Cryptographers depend on it." -- Nyhm c. 2012
~ 1NYhM2pzT6PDfZyXbyFm3dVcoob4phrGc5
The00Dustin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 806


View Profile
April 10, 2012, 03:20:38 PM
 #549

I'm pretty sure the transaction has to go to the network, otherwise there wouldn't be confirmations and the transaction wouldn't really have happened.  That having been said, I had coins go from one wallet to another and the address wasn't showing on firstbits.com several days later (this was a few months ago).  I think it is way behind.  Is the firstbits info on blockchain.info calculated the same way and accurate?
K1773R
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


/dev/null


View Profile
April 10, 2012, 03:45:30 PM
 #550

If you're using the bitcoin-qt wallet (from bitcoin.org), moving bitcoins between "accounts" in your wallet might be done locally (not on the block chain). Can anyone else confirm whether this is always the behavior when moving values within the wallet? Is there any way to tell bitcoin-qt to send the transaction to the network, even if you own the destination address (the wallet has the private key)?
this dosnt hapen, if you send something to yourself one of your "hidden" adress is used to recieve the BTC and the amount of BTC isnt decrease. Thats because if you send something to yourself, u already know u will get that amount of BTC. you cant transfer anything locally because only transactions with valid inputs are getting accepted, if you just change the input who dosnt have enough BTC then it will fail. You have to tell the network that u send BTC to another adress otherwise the money is lost (you can recover it by undoing the transaction in your wallet since the transaction never got send to the network (assuming u modified bitcoin to not send the transaction)).

greetings

[GPG Public Key]  [Devcoin Builds]  [BBQCoin Builds]  [Multichain Blockexplorer]  [Multichain Blockexplorer - PoS Coins]  [Ufasoft Miner Linux Builds]
BTC/DVC/TRC/FRC: 1K1773RbXRZVRQSSXe9N6N2MUFERvrdu6y ANC/XPM AK1773RTmRKtvbKBCrUu95UQg5iegrqyeA NMC: NK1773Rzv8b4ugmCgX789PbjewA9fL9Dy1 LTC: LKi773RBuPepQH8E6Zb1ponoCvgbU7hHmd EMC: EK1773RxUes1HX1YAGMZ1xVYBBRUCqfDoF BQC: bK1773R1APJz4yTgRkmdKQhjhiMyQpJgfN
Nyhm
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 215



View Profile WWW
April 10, 2012, 03:53:10 PM
 #551

Account to Account Transfers in the bitcoind (or bitcoin-qt?) application:

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Accounts_explained#Account_-.3E_Account_Transfers

Quote
Use the move method to transfer balances from one account to another. Moves from the default account to any other account always succeed; moves from any other account will fail if the account has insufficient funds. Moves are not broadcast to the network, and never incur transaction fees; they just adjust account balances in the wallet.

This is the functionality to which I refer. The documentation is not clear whether the bitcoin-qt GUI application uses true Bitcoin transactions or will fall back on this move behavior when requesting to send bitcoin value to another address within your wallet.

In my opinion, the Account concept (read the full wiki page above) is a very useful feature, but has no place in the defacto/reference software from bitcoin.org. They should provide a reference implementation that does not have such features and release the more feature-full edition separately. Anyway, that's getting rather off topic.

Can anyone clarify the behavior of bitcoin-qt when sending values intra-wallet?

~ Bitcoin Game List
~ "Mathematicians overlook that computation is bounded by Physics. Computer Scientists lament it. Cryptographers depend on it." -- Nyhm c. 2012
~ 1NYhM2pzT6PDfZyXbyFm3dVcoob4phrGc5
K1773R
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


/dev/null


View Profile
April 10, 2012, 03:58:58 PM
 #552

Account to Account Transfers in the bitcoind (or bitcoin-qt?) application:

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Accounts_explained#Account_-.3E_Account_Transfers

Quote
Use the move method to transfer balances from one account to another. Moves from the default account to any other account always succeed; moves from any other account will fail if the account has insufficient funds. Moves are not broadcast to the network, and never incur transaction fees; they just adjust account balances in the wallet.

This is the functionality to which I refer. The documentation is not clear whether the bitcoin-qt GUI application uses true Bitcoin transactions or will fall back on this move behavior when requesting to send bitcoin value to another address within your wallet.

In my opinion, the Account concept (read the full wiki page above) is a very useful feature, but has no place in the defacto/reference software from bitcoin.org. They should provide a reference implementation that does not have such features and release the more feature-full edition separately. Anyway, that's getting rather off topic.

Can anyone clarify the behavior of bitcoin-qt when sending values intra-wallet?
both.

[GPG Public Key]  [Devcoin Builds]  [BBQCoin Builds]  [Multichain Blockexplorer]  [Multichain Blockexplorer - PoS Coins]  [Ufasoft Miner Linux Builds]
BTC/DVC/TRC/FRC: 1K1773RbXRZVRQSSXe9N6N2MUFERvrdu6y ANC/XPM AK1773RTmRKtvbKBCrUu95UQg5iegrqyeA NMC: NK1773Rzv8b4ugmCgX789PbjewA9fL9Dy1 LTC: LKi773RBuPepQH8E6Zb1ponoCvgbU7hHmd EMC: EK1773RxUes1HX1YAGMZ1xVYBBRUCqfDoF BQC: bK1773R1APJz4yTgRkmdKQhjhiMyQpJgfN
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
April 10, 2012, 04:47:58 PM
 #553

Account to Account Transfers in the bitcoind (or bitcoin-qt?) application:

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Accounts_explained#Account_-.3E_Account_Transfers

Quote
Use the move method to transfer balances from one account to another. Moves from the default account to any other account always succeed; moves from any other account will fail if the account has insufficient funds. Moves are not broadcast to the network, and never incur transaction fees; they just adjust account balances in the wallet.

This is the functionality to which I refer. The documentation is not clear whether the bitcoin-qt GUI application uses true Bitcoin transactions or will fall back on this move behavior when requesting to send bitcoin value to another address within your wallet.

In my opinion, the Account concept (read the full wiki page above) is a very useful feature, but has no place in the defacto/reference software from bitcoin.org. They should provide a reference implementation that does not have such features and release the more feature-full edition separately. Anyway, that's getting rather off topic.

Can anyone clarify the behavior of bitcoin-qt when sending values intra-wallet?

Accounts aren't addresses.   Accounts are groups of addresses.  It was designed to be an accounting system for wallets but honestly it is next to worthless (for a variety of reasons).

If you want to send 1 BTC from address A to address B the only way possible to create a tx and submit it to the network.  It doesn't matter if address A & B are in the same wallet or on other sides of the globe.  There are no exceptions.  

If you think about it obviously this has to always be the case.  If you could move funds between addresses without making a tx how would the network verify their balances?
Nyhm
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 215



View Profile WWW
April 10, 2012, 07:08:28 PM
 #554

Account to Account Transfers in the bitcoind (or bitcoin-qt?) application:

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Accounts_explained#Account_-.3E_Account_Transfers

Quote
Use the move method to transfer balances from one account to another. Moves from the default account to any other account always succeed; moves from any other account will fail if the account has insufficient funds. Moves are not broadcast to the network, and never incur transaction fees; they just adjust account balances in the wallet.

This is the functionality to which I refer. The documentation is not clear whether the bitcoin-qt GUI application uses true Bitcoin transactions or will fall back on this move behavior when requesting to send bitcoin value to another address within your wallet.

In my opinion, the Account concept (read the full wiki page above) is a very useful feature, but has no place in the defacto/reference software from bitcoin.org. They should provide a reference implementation that does not have such features and release the more feature-full edition separately. Anyway, that's getting rather off topic.

Can anyone clarify the behavior of bitcoin-qt when sending values intra-wallet?

Accounts aren't addresses.   Accounts are groups of addresses.  It was designed to be an accounting system for wallets but honestly it is next to worthless (for a variety of reasons).

If you want to send 1 BTC from address A to address B the only way possible to create a tx and submit it to the network.  It doesn't matter if address A & B are in the same wallet or on other sides of the globe.  There are no exceptions.  

If you think about it obviously this has to always be the case.  If you could move funds between addresses without making a tx how would the network verify their balances?

I understand exactly what you mean. Here's how I interpreted the Account feature: The wallet balance doesn't represent which private keys own which transactions. You can move value within your wallet for your own bookkeeping. When you send funds, you cannot choose from which Input transactions (or associated private keys) are chosen, and the wallet takes the balance from the "default" account. Accounts can even go negative, which also supports this behavior. Thus, an "account balance" is just high-level bookkeeping, and the actual funds are a mix of transactions. So, the client silently just changes intra-wallet account values without sending transactions (because the wallet doesn't care to actually perform those transactions).

I have enough cryptographic experience to understand what is going on, and the bitcoin.org documentation still tripped me up. Thanks for your clarifications. Sorry to have taken this off-topic. I'll do some further research/testing.

~ Bitcoin Game List
~ "Mathematicians overlook that computation is bounded by Physics. Computer Scientists lament it. Cryptographers depend on it." -- Nyhm c. 2012
~ 1NYhM2pzT6PDfZyXbyFm3dVcoob4phrGc5
GuinnessBIT
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
April 22, 2012, 04:03:36 PM
 #555

Theoretically,  does it matter if I start and stop vanitygen when trying to find a regular expression vanity match?

Am I better to "pause" it after it's been running for a few days (which I really can't do)

The reason I ask is because I need to reboot but I've been trying to find a match for a couple of days and if I start and stop, do I basically have to start brute force at the beginning, or is it like mining where stopping and starting theoretically doesnt matter.

thanks for any advice,

-gBIT

Donations:  1DetRoitbfHwrjeiMVKSN9xpexYotQcx7m
GuinnessBIT
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
April 22, 2012, 04:09:50 PM
 #556

ok, never mind previous post. I think I found the answer (didnt show up in search) but I see that it doesnt matter if you stop and start it.

Donations:  1DetRoitbfHwrjeiMVKSN9xpexYotQcx7m
2weiX
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1638


View Profile
April 27, 2012, 07:20:57 AM
 #557

ok, never mind previous post. I think I found the answer (didnt show up in search) but I see that it doesnt matter if you stop and start it.

so this means that I can seach for an expression, then quit vgen, start it again later and it will not repeat the work it has already done?
K1773R
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


/dev/null


View Profile
April 27, 2012, 10:35:55 AM
 #558

ok, never mind previous post. I think I found the answer (didnt show up in search) but I see that it doesnt matter if you stop and start it.

so this means that I can seach for an expression, then quit vgen, start it again later and it will not repeat the work it has already done?
no, the work done isnt based on previous work since you generate keys from a random seed.

[GPG Public Key]  [Devcoin Builds]  [BBQCoin Builds]  [Multichain Blockexplorer]  [Multichain Blockexplorer - PoS Coins]  [Ufasoft Miner Linux Builds]
BTC/DVC/TRC/FRC: 1K1773RbXRZVRQSSXe9N6N2MUFERvrdu6y ANC/XPM AK1773RTmRKtvbKBCrUu95UQg5iegrqyeA NMC: NK1773Rzv8b4ugmCgX789PbjewA9fL9Dy1 LTC: LKi773RBuPepQH8E6Zb1ponoCvgbU7hHmd EMC: EK1773RxUes1HX1YAGMZ1xVYBBRUCqfDoF BQC: bK1773R1APJz4yTgRkmdKQhjhiMyQpJgfN
Carlos L.
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952


View Profile
April 27, 2012, 11:21:03 AM
 #559

Subscribing... Cuz ill need this soon

same
MoTLD
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42



View Profile WWW
May 06, 2012, 08:29:57 AM
 #560

First off, thanks samr7 for an awesome and fun tool!

That being said, I've got a feature request. Is there any way vanitygen could handle two text file lists simultaneously, one case-sensitive and the other -insensitive?

I find myself with some short strings I'd like to find with exact casing and some long-shot long strings for which I don't care about case. To do this, I was running two instances of vanitygen, but then it occurred to me that one instance could skip over a lucky find that the other instance was looking for.

So, again, thanks for a great utility...but please make it better. Wink

-Mo

PS - In the meantime, I'm using some tools and scripts to create a huge wordlist of all case combinations of my target strings, essentially replicating vanitygen's case-insensitive functionality. I'll let y'all know how it turns out.

Do One Thing Every Day That Scares You | PrimeDice.com | The New Way To Roll
3 BTC raffle - free to enter! I will gladly accept tips or charity: 1MoTLDxxwp73ftUVy476DPzmcCQJRtNyQT
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 [28] 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 ... 155 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!