Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 04:31:54 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 [74] 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 ... 155 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Vanitygen: Vanity bitcoin address generator/miner [v0.22]  (Read 808445 times)
TierNolan
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


View Profile
September 19, 2013, 08:20:54 AM
 #1461

Thanks for the answers, so I can't just collect all the bounties at vanitypool in one swoop, but I can search for multiple strings when generating for myself.

You can search for multiple bounties from the same person at once.  If someone wants multiple names, then they should submit them all at once to the site and use the same secret.

1LxbG5cKXzTwZg9mjL3gaRE835uNQEteWF
1480912314
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480912314

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480912314
Reply with quote  #2

1480912314
Report to moderator
1480912314
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480912314

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480912314
Reply with quote  #2

1480912314
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480912314
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480912314

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480912314
Reply with quote  #2

1480912314
Report to moderator
Ente
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1834



View Profile
September 19, 2013, 10:06:23 AM
 #1462

oclvanitygen is also happy to search for all strings in a file specified.  doesn't seem to slow it down much.  with some work, from the info in this discussion, i was able to get it working on my 7970 at 26m/s reliably.

Interesting!
What did you have to do for your 7970 to work? Driver version?
You're the first I stumbled upon who got it working, I gave up at this point.

Ente
Ente
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1834



View Profile
September 19, 2013, 10:08:38 AM
 #1463

Also:
Are you guys creating compressed or uncompressed vanity adresses?
Uncompressed are the original format, but compressed seems to be the standard of the future..
Obviously, at some point all programs will (have to) understand both formats - which isn't the case now.

And then: A firstbit "wasted" on the wrong format can't be used/converted in the other.

Any thoughts on this, or am I seeing problems which aren't there?

Ente
Dabs
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512


64blocks.com


View Profile WWW
September 19, 2013, 11:29:02 AM
 #1464

@Ente, I used almost exclusively compressed keys. Simply because they save transaction size so I pay less fees or none if not needed. If I had used uncompressed keys for some of my transactions, the fee would have been double.

Compressed keys have been the standard since bitcoin-qt version 0.6+. We are at 0.8.5 now.

64blocks.com Social Multiplayer Dice (Gambling) - Escrow Service (Services) - GPG ID: 32AD7565, OTC ID: Dabs
All messages concerning escrow or with bitcoin addresses are GPG signed. Please verify.
CompTIA A+, Microsoft Certified Professional, MCSA: Windows 10; Windows Server 2012, MCSE: Cloud Platform and Infrastructure; Productivity; Messaging
Ente
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1834



View Profile
September 19, 2013, 11:51:43 AM
 #1465

@Ente, I used almost exclusively compressed keys. Simply because they save transaction size so I pay less fees or none if not needed. If I had used uncompressed keys for some of my transactions, the fee would have been double.

Compressed keys have been the standard since bitcoin-qt version 0.6+. We are at 0.8.5 now.

Oh, good hint, I didn't even think of that yet!

I'll start "mining" compressed keys now.

/edit:
I see samr7s' vanitygen doesn't support compressed keys yet.
There seems to be at least two patched versions out there, gmaxwells' and salfters'.
Which one are you using, Dabs? Would you be so kind and share the windows bins of this? I have a remote box available for this with 7970 gpu, but no compiling stuff installed there.
Oh, is there any gpu vanitygen out there for compressed keys? In case I ever get that 7970 to run..

Thank you!

Ente
Dabs
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512


64blocks.com


View Profile WWW
September 19, 2013, 02:32:39 PM
 #1466

I use salfters. The windows bins are here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=25804.msg2296814#msg2296814

He gpg signed the md5 and sha1 hashes. I verified the hashes. Haven't checked the sig yet tho. I better do that tomorrow.

The GPU version is forked by scintil, but you need to compile it. I don't have a GPU so I never tried it yet. CPU is fast enough for my needs.

64blocks.com Social Multiplayer Dice (Gambling) - Escrow Service (Services) - GPG ID: 32AD7565, OTC ID: Dabs
All messages concerning escrow or with bitcoin addresses are GPG signed. Please verify.
CompTIA A+, Microsoft Certified Professional, MCSA: Windows 10; Windows Server 2012, MCSE: Cloud Platform and Infrastructure; Productivity; Messaging
Ente
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1834



View Profile
September 19, 2013, 07:04:41 PM
 #1467

I use salfters. The windows bins are here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=25804.msg2296814#msg2296814

He gpg signed the md5 and sha1 hashes. I verified the hashes. Haven't checked the sig yet tho. I better do that tomorrow.

The GPU version is forked by scintil, but you need to compile it. I don't have a GPU so I never tried it yet. CPU is fast enough for my needs.

Thank you for the info!

Ente
ratty
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 261


View Profile
September 19, 2013, 07:42:57 PM
 #1468

TIL there's such a thing as compressed addresses. Is there any good docs on this? I can't find anything that explains it on the bitcoin.it wiki, maybe its called something else. The only mention is on this page https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Private_key where it says you can tell if a private key is for a compressed key because it starts with an L or K.

From what I've read in random places, compressed are 34 characters (including the 1), right? Every one of my public keys are that long, and I used the normal oclvanitygen to make them, so how much shorter would a compressed public key be?
Ente
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1834



View Profile
September 19, 2013, 07:46:16 PM
 #1469

TIL there's such a thing as compressed addresses. Is there any good docs on this? I can't find anything that explains it on the bitcoin.it wiki, maybe its called something else. The only mention is on this page https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Private_key where it says you can tell if a private key is for a compressed key because it starts with an L or K.

From what I've read in random places, compressed are 34 characters (including the 1), right? Every one of my public keys are that long, and I used the normal oclvanitygen to make them, so how much shorter would a compressed public key be?


The adress, which we see in our clients, are always the same length and look the same no matter if the underlying key is compressed or uncompressed. I can't go into more detail without writing more false than true statements ;-)
(ocl)vanitygen creates only uncompressed keys/adresses, unless you patch it or use a fork from other developers.

Ente
kjj
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302



View Profile
September 20, 2013, 04:30:45 AM
 #1470

TIL there's such a thing as compressed addresses. Is there any good docs on this? I can't find anything that explains it on the bitcoin.it wiki, maybe its called something else. The only mention is on this page https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Private_key where it says you can tell if a private key is for a compressed key because it starts with an L or K.

From what I've read in random places, compressed are 34 characters (including the 1), right? Every one of my public keys are that long, and I used the normal oclvanitygen to make them, so how much shorter would a compressed public key be?

Type "compressed" into the search box from the Dev & Tech page.  You won't be disappointed.

p2pcoin: a USB/CD/PXE p2pool miner - 1N8ZXx2cuMzqBYSK72X4DAy1UdDbZQNPLf - todo
I routinely ignore posters with paid advertising in their sigs.  You should too.
Dabs
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512


64blocks.com


View Profile WWW
September 20, 2013, 05:21:00 AM
 #1471

Compressed keys take up less space in the blockchain, so you don't contribute to the bloat. A compressed key is just a way of storing a public key in fewer bytes (33 instead of 65). There is no real reason to use uncompressed keys anymore except if your client can't use it. In which case, I strongly recommend that you switch to a client that does allow compressed keys, such as the bitcoind / bitcoin-qt client.

Here is an example of an uncompressed key:
044f355bdcb7cc0af728ef3cceb9615d90684bb5b2ca5f859ab0f0b704075871aa385b6b1b8ead8 09ca67454d9683fcf2ba03456d6fe2c4abe2b07f0fbdbb2f1c1

Here is an example of the same key in compressed format:
034f355bdcb7cc0af728ef3cceb9615d90684bb5b2ca5f859ab0f0b704075871aa

Notice the length.

64blocks.com Social Multiplayer Dice (Gambling) - Escrow Service (Services) - GPG ID: 32AD7565, OTC ID: Dabs
All messages concerning escrow or with bitcoin addresses are GPG signed. Please verify.
CompTIA A+, Microsoft Certified Professional, MCSA: Windows 10; Windows Server 2012, MCSE: Cloud Platform and Infrastructure; Productivity; Messaging
ratty
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 261


View Profile
September 20, 2013, 05:55:51 AM
 #1472

I couldn't find a way to make blockchain.info make a compressed address, so I just made a new address in bitcoin-qt, exported the key from that, then importied it into blockchain.info, and I get this:

Quote
Compressed private keys are currently not supported using the Android app, iPhone app or Merchant API. If you import a compressed private key directly you will not be able to spend the funds at that address using the previously listed devices.

Kinda scary if I'm doing things in a way in which some people can't get my coins.


Type "compressed" into the search box from the Dev & Tech page.  You won't be disappointed.

Thanks for the pointer, but I can't figure out what you mean, there's no Dev & Tech page on the wiki or forums. In case its not obvious, I'm a noob, so sorry if this is a really dumb thing to not know about.
The00Dustin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 806


View Profile
September 20, 2013, 09:54:22 AM
 #1473

Kinda scary if I'm doing things in a way in which some people can't get my coins.
A compressed private key is what you send from, so the warning is just telling you that you couldn't take that private key and use it to send funds with the current versions of the listed programs.  The only reason that would be concerning is if the Merchant API were the only way to send coins from whatever you imported to, but it isn't, because you can import the same private key into something else that does support it and use that to send.  IIRC, the funds go to the recipient using the address if it hasn't been seen on the network before and a public key if the address has been seen before.  I don't know if public keys can be compressed, but if they can, and there is a compressed public key on the network, it implies that the recipient can use that key.
gadman2
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 850


WWW.HOMETOWNARMS.COM


View Profile WWW
September 20, 2013, 09:56:34 AM
 #1474

Is there a way to easily calculate the difficulty (without mining for it) through a web-app or what not?

I'd really like to reiterate this if it's possible.

MY legal firearm business accepts bitcoin, click here

All gaudy signature users are ignored
kjj
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302



View Profile
September 20, 2013, 12:48:04 PM
 #1475

I couldn't find a way to make blockchain.info make a compressed address, so I just made a new address in bitcoin-qt, exported the key from that, then importied it into blockchain.info, and I get this:

Quote
Compressed private keys are currently not supported using the Android app, iPhone app or Merchant API. If you import a compressed private key directly you will not be able to spend the funds at that address using the previously listed devices.

Kinda scary if I'm doing things in a way in which some people can't get my coins.


Type "compressed" into the search box from the Dev & Tech page.  You won't be disappointed.

Thanks for the pointer, but I can't figure out what you mean, there's no Dev & Tech page on the wiki or forums. In case its not obvious, I'm a noob, so sorry if this is a really dumb thing to not know about.

The forum that this thread is in is "Development & Technical Discussion".

p2pcoin: a USB/CD/PXE p2pool miner - 1N8ZXx2cuMzqBYSK72X4DAy1UdDbZQNPLf - todo
I routinely ignore posters with paid advertising in their sigs.  You should too.
els
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23



View Profile
September 20, 2013, 10:22:08 PM
 #1476

oclvanitygen is also happy to search for all strings in a file specified.  doesn't seem to slow it down much.  with some work, from the info in this discussion, i was able to get it working on my 7970 at 26m/s reliably.

Interesting!
What did you have to do for your 7970 to work? Driver version?
You're the first I stumbled upon who got it working, I gave up at this point.

Ente

i am on SuSE Linux 12.2. using vanitygen-0.21.tar.gz.  fiddled with many versions of  amd-catalyst 12.10 and below (above failed to install for me).  probably landed on 12.10 though i don't recall for sure. 

***the real issue*** was that oclvanitygen failed to operate correctly due to loop optimization that needed to be turned off by commenting the following 2 lines out of  oclengine.c

                      if (dvn && strstr(dvn, "cl_amd_media_ops"))
                              quirks |= VG_OCL_AMD_BFI_INT;

1GetDRUNKaGacmvp8QMfoYmdAFp7Z4JXvR
Ente
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1834



View Profile
September 21, 2013, 07:31:33 AM
 #1477

oclvanitygen is also happy to search for all strings in a file specified.  doesn't seem to slow it down much.  with some work, from the info in this discussion, i was able to get it working on my 7970 at 26m/s reliably.

Interesting!
What did you have to do for your 7970 to work? Driver version?
You're the first I stumbled upon who got it working, I gave up at this point.

Ente

i am on SuSE Linux 12.2. using vanitygen-0.21.tar.gz.  fiddled with many versions of  amd-catalyst 12.10 and below (above failed to install for me).  probably landed on 12.10 though i don't recall for sure. 

***the real issue*** was that oclvanitygen failed to operate correctly due to loop optimization that needed to be turned off by commenting the following 2 lines out of  oclengine.c

                      if (dvn && strstr(dvn, "cl_amd_media_ops"))
                              quirks |= VG_OCL_AMD_BFI_INT;


Thank you for the details!
I'll give it another try eventually.

Ente
bigbeninlondon
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
September 21, 2013, 12:21:01 PM
 #1478

Alright, so I'm trying to figure this shit out.

Here's the parameters I'm using:

oclvanitygen -k -t 256 -d 0 -f c:\temp\pattern.txt -o c:\temp\match.txt -s c:\temp\random.txt

-k: keep searching
-t 256: 256 threads; seems to net me the most MKeys/Sec
-d 0: my GPU
-f c:\temp\pattern.txt: A list of 7 patterns I'd like
-o c:\temp\match.txt: output any matches here
-s c:\temp\random.txt: seed with text from random.org

I've been running for days; patterns are prefixes between 4-10 characters long and I've been unable to find anything.  Here's an output of it running now:



From what I've read 30Mkeys/Sec is pretty good, but how come I haven't found anything for like 4 or 5 days?  I've got 6 patterns that are 1XXXX and  one that is 1XXXXXXXX.  

One additional question, which letters/numbers are prohibited?  I heard somewhere 1's and l's and I's are not allowed?  
Ente
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1834



View Profile
September 21, 2013, 12:26:23 PM
 #1479

Those "CPU Hash / GPU Hash" combinations mean you found an adress, but the calculation was corrupt. This is pretty common at the moment. Some people got a working system on linux with a distinct version of catalyst. Others speculate it's actual hardware problems with the GPU. Noone is really sure what's going on, I believe.

Prohibited in base58 for Bitcoin: and 1l - thats the only two pairs.  o and L are allowed though.

Ente
bigbeninlondon
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
September 21, 2013, 12:39:17 PM
 #1480

Those "CPU Hash / GPU Hash" combinations mean you found an adress, but the calculation was corrupt. This is pretty common at the moment. Some people got a working system on linux with a distinct version of catalyst. Others speculate it's actual hardware problems with the GPU. Noone is really sure what's going on, I believe.

Prohibited in base58 for Bitcoin: and 1l - thats the only two pairs.  o and L are allowed though.

Ente

Ok.  Here's my AMD driver package, if this helps:



I can mine btc on it just fine.

Is there a known working version of catalyst I can roll back to?
Pages: « 1 ... 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 [74] 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 ... 155 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!