Bitcoin Forum
August 20, 2019, 03:08:57 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 [77] 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 ... 185 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Vanitygen: Vanity bitcoin address generator/miner [v0.22]  (Read 1137290 times)
nevrending
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24
Merit: 0



View Profile WWW
December 18, 2013, 02:25:11 PM
 #1521

Hi Red Emerald

Thanks for your reply

I previously used samr7's vanitygen with the following command line
Code:
./oclvanitygen -D 0:1 -t 16 -w 256 -k <prefix>
Normally, samr7's won't compile oclvanitygen on OSX, so I modified the Makefile here and there, and It compiled oclvanitygen
It ran gracefully up until OSX 10.8.5

After I upgraded to OSX 10.9
It no longer runs Cheesy

I'm gonna try out your suggestions here and on GitHub and will report back the results Smiley
1566313737
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1566313737

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1566313737
Reply with quote  #2

1566313737
Report to moderator
1566313737
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1566313737

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1566313737
Reply with quote  #2

1566313737
Report to moderator
1566313737
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1566313737

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1566313737
Reply with quote  #2

1566313737
Report to moderator
PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1566313737
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1566313737

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1566313737
Reply with quote  #2

1566313737
Report to moderator
1566313737
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1566313737

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1566313737
Reply with quote  #2

1566313737
Report to moderator
1566313737
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1566313737

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1566313737
Reply with quote  #2

1566313737
Report to moderator
skovbitcoin
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 100



View Profile
December 18, 2013, 02:42:18 PM
 #1522

Also having the GPU hash/CPU hash error. I'm running Catalyst 13.11 and downgrading is not an option for me. Also AMD APP SDK v2.9, willing to downgrade this if this is the issue.
smeagol
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 966
Merit: 1000


bitclicker.ga


View Profile WWW
December 18, 2013, 09:51:21 PM
 #1523

Do you have a precompiled OSX build of Vanitygen?

Looking for a precompiled OSX build as well

  BITMIXER.IO   High Volume Bitcoin MIXER  
BTC: 1JH2jybjWruvDD23wSe5PCY9Epmr45u6nQ - DVC: 1SMEAGqpm9JSpJ6JZaM5dEBptPTNahpFa - Earn Devcoins by Writing | Devcoin Official Site  | SAT
mikeschuld
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 21, 2013, 04:52:43 AM
Last edit: December 21, 2013, 05:16:36 AM by mikeschuld
 #1524

For those of you experiencing the hashes not matching issue, what solved the problem for me was to delete the OpenCL files for that newer version of Catalyst and to install an old copy of the 2.7 AMD APP SDK.
Here's the list of files I deleted:

C:\Windows\System32\amdocl64.dll
C:\Windows\System32\OpenCL.dll
C:\Windows\System32\OpenVideo64.dll
C:\Windows\System32\OVDecode64.dll
C:\Windows\System32\SlotMaximizerAg.dll
C:\Windows\System32\SlotMaximizerBe.dll

C:\Windows\SysWOW64\amdocl.dll
C:\Windows\SysWOW64\OpenCL.dll
C:\Windows\SysWOW64\OpenVideo.dll
C:\Windows\SysWOW64\OVDecode.dll
C:\Windows\SysWOW64\SlotMaximizerAg.dll
C:\Windows\SysWOW64\SlotMaximizerBe.dll

The 2.7 SDK I installed was the 32 bit version (I'm running 64-bit Windows 8 but my oclvanitygen is 32-bit). I'm guessing you only need to delete the files in the architecture of the vanitygen you are running.
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1865
Merit: 1016


000000000019d6689c085ae165831e934ff763ae46a2a6c172


View Profile
December 21, 2013, 02:31:37 PM
 #1525

For those who cant able to still run oclvanitygen, getting found delta, start delta.....
Just use driver uninstaller, i used this DDU from http://www.guru3d.com/files_details/display_driver_uninstaller_download.html.
unzip it in a folder in desktop, restart system in safe mode, run Display Driver Uninstaller.exe, select AMD-> Clean and restart.
It will remove all amd drivers & restart system.
Now just install 12.10 driver & everything works fine.

Open Altcoin Github
Limxtec Telegram












Bitsend BSD
The ultimate longterm rollout!
The first Masternodecoin with Segwit

Web: www.bitsend.info












Bitcore BTX
Are you ready for the future?!
The first hybrid fork from BTC

Web: www.bitcore.cc












Bitcloud BTDX
Megacoin MEC

████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████

████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████
[/center]
MajikPiG
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10

in doge we tryst


View Profile
January 02, 2014, 01:59:29 PM
 #1526

Do you have a precompiled OSX build of Vanitygen?

Looking for a precompiled OSX build as well

get home-brew, then use
Code:
brew install vanitygen

studenttnp
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 07, 2014, 05:15:04 PM
 #1527

Can I use vanitygen to find someone else's private key from their bitcoin address?

Can an example?
either here or in PM.
Trillium
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 500



View Profile
January 08, 2014, 11:18:36 AM
 #1528

Can I use vanitygen to find someone else's private key from their bitcoin address?

Can an example?
either here or in PM.

In theory: No. The software will not allow you to specific a pattern so specific/long. Yes, I tried it: for lulz. Why don't you download the program, tell it to look for a pattern eg. 10 characters long. Then make it 11, then 12... and so on while observing the time estimate to find a match... you will see what I mean quite quickly. Now, keep in mind that bitcoin addresses are usually 33-34 characters long.

In practice: Also no. It would take an impossibly long time. We're talking longer than the time the universe will likely exist for. If you know a loophole around that, please let us know. We should also stipulate a rule that to mention "quantum computers" you must at least have a masters/PhD in a relevant field.

BTC:1AaaAAAAaAAE2L1PXM1x9VDNqvcrfa9He6
pa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 528
Merit: 501


View Profile
January 12, 2014, 08:40:11 PM
 #1529

Do you have a precompiled OSX build of Vanitygen?

Looking for a precompiled OSX build as well

get home-brew, then use
Code:
brew install vanitygen

I did that but got an error message:

Quote
Error: No available formula for vanitygen
Searching taps...

Then I saw a post by user Red Emerald that recommended:

Quote
brew tap WyseNynja/bitcoin && brew install WyseNynja/bitcoin/vanitygen

That worked well on my MacBook Air with OS X 10.9.1 !
smeagol
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 966
Merit: 1000


bitclicker.ga


View Profile WWW
January 14, 2014, 11:44:44 PM
 #1530

Do you have a precompiled OSX build of Vanitygen?

Looking for a precompiled OSX build as well

get home-brew, then use
Code:
brew install vanitygen
[/quote]

I can't install homebrew; administrator controls.  Vanitygen on windows works fine because it's a plug and play app

  BITMIXER.IO   High Volume Bitcoin MIXER  
BTC: 1JH2jybjWruvDD23wSe5PCY9Epmr45u6nQ - DVC: 1SMEAGqpm9JSpJ6JZaM5dEBptPTNahpFa - Earn Devcoins by Writing | Devcoin Official Site  | SAT
miaviator
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 672
Merit: 500


It's for the children!


View Profile WWW
January 22, 2014, 02:12:17 AM
 #1531

Ubuntu:

Code:
git clone https://github.com/samr7/vanitygen.git
cd vanitygen
sudo apt-get -y install libpcre++-dev
 make vanitygen oclvanitygen oclvanityminer CFLAGS="-I/opt/AMDAPP/include/"

-I is wherever AMDAPP is installed on the system.

miaviator
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 672
Merit: 500


It's for the children!


View Profile WWW
January 24, 2014, 06:52:48 PM
 #1532

Can I use vanitygen to find someone else's private key from their bitcoin address?

Can an example?
either here or in PM.

In theory: No. The software will not allow you to specific a pattern so specific/long. Yes, I tried it: for lulz. Why don't you download the program, tell it to look for a pattern eg. 10 characters long. Then make it 11, then 12... and so on while observing the time estimate to find a match... you will see what I mean quite quickly. Now, keep in mind that bitcoin addresses are usually 33-34 characters long.

In practice: Also no. It would take an impossibly long time. We're talking longer than the time the universe will likely exist for. If you know a loophole around that, please let us know. We should also stipulate a rule that to mention "quantum computers" you must at least have a masters/PhD in a relevant field.

The loophole around large number obscurity is luck.

drewster
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 25, 2014, 06:24:56 AM
 #1533

Also having the GPU hash/CPU hash error. I'm running Catalyst 13.11 and downgrading is not an option for me. Also AMD APP SDK v2.9, willing to downgrade this if this is the issue.

Having this error as well, and also downgrading is not an option.

Anyone have any solution for this? 

BTC: 1CvoqpVjmy7ByCqqkxYqGXuB17wrgR2VKf
"The way I see it, every life is a pile of good things and bad things.  Hey.  The good things don't always soften the bad things, but vice-versa, the bad things don't necessarily spoil the good things and make them unimportant."
deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
January 25, 2014, 08:36:58 AM
 #1534

Also having the GPU hash/CPU hash error. I'm running Catalyst 13.11 and downgrading is not an option for me. Also AMD APP SDK v2.9, willing to downgrade this if this is the issue.

Having this error as well, and also downgrading is not an option.

Anyone have any solution for this?  
Yes, the solution is to rewrite vanitygen in opencl 1.2. Of course, why should this happen, the last time someone donated to samr, it was 0.001 four months ago, and then $2 worth a year ago.

"downgrading is not an option"...heh

drewster
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 25, 2014, 09:09:24 AM
 #1535

Also having the GPU hash/CPU hash error. I'm running Catalyst 13.11 and downgrading is not an option for me. Also AMD APP SDK v2.9, willing to downgrade this if this is the issue.

Having this error as well, and also downgrading is not an option.

Anyone have any solution for this?  
Yes, the solution is to rewrite vanitygen in opencl 1.2. Of course, why should this happen, the last time someone donated to samr, it was 0.001 four months ago, and then $2 worth a year ago.

"downgrading is not an option"...heh



Why do you say that the real solution is to rewrite for opencl 1.2?

BTC: 1CvoqpVjmy7ByCqqkxYqGXuB17wrgR2VKf
"The way I see it, every life is a pile of good things and bad things.  Hey.  The good things don't always soften the bad things, but vice-versa, the bad things don't necessarily spoil the good things and make them unimportant."
deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
January 25, 2014, 04:07:02 PM
 #1536

Because the software has not been largely updated since it was written, which is when opencl 1.0 was just transitioning to 1.1.

OpenCL apps have not yet become generic, they almost have to target a particular card and driver, since driver updates keep breaking things.

Here is an interesting topic - below are the only ATI HDXXXX GPUs that support double-precision math. It would be interesting to see if the computing problem on new drivers varies based on this card list:

HD 5830 HD 5850 HD 5870 HD 5970

HD 6930 HD 6950 HD 6970 HD 6990

HD 7730 HD 7750 HD 7770 HD 7790 HD 7850
HD 7870 HD 7950 HD 7970 HD 7990

I have a 5770, and vanitygen works fine (and first worked correctly) using Driver 11.11, which includes the SDK 2.5 runtime. It doesn't work on any later drivers. One conspiracy theory could be that other OpenCL computing features were disabled on single-precision cards in later drivers.

Here is a list of each first driver version that included a new SDK. You must also be aware that the ATI uninstaller does not properly uninstall key OpenCL files. If you want to experiment, you should increment starting with older versions, so you don't have to manually delete left-behind files each time.

AMD APP SDK v2.9    AMD Catalyst™ 13.11 beta (13.20.16)
AMD APP SDK v2.8.1    AMD Catalyst™ 13.6 Beta2 (13.101)
AMD APP SDK v2.8    AMD Catalyst™ 12.10 (9.002)
AMD APP SDK v2.7    AMD Catalyst™ 12.4 (8.961)
AMD APP SDK v2.6    AMD Catalyst™ 11.12 (8.92)
AMD APP SDK v2.5    AMD Catalyst™ 11.7 (8.872)
AMD APP SDK v2.4    ATI Catalyst™ 11.4 Update Driver (8.841)
CoinHeavy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 221
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 25, 2014, 09:49:53 PM
 #1537

Thanks for the information on GPU generation!  Is generation possible on r280/r290 cards with the latest drivers?
Sammey
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 26, 2014, 11:14:48 PM
 #1538

Also having the GPU hash/CPU hash error. I'm running Catalyst 13.11 and downgrading is not an option for me. Also AMD APP SDK v2.9, willing to downgrade this if this is the issue.


Having this error as well, and also downgrading is not an option.

Anyone have any solution for this?  
Yes, the solution is to rewrite vanitygen in opencl 1.2. Of course, why should this happen, the last time someone donated to samr, it was 0.001 four months ago, and then $2 worth a year ago.

"downgrading is not an option"...heh



Wow, I'm ashamed. I use this tool all the time. I didn't even think about that. I would be one of those people leeching off of his fantastic work, and telling him he needs to update the tool.

Will be donating very soon.

Edit: deepceleron, what is his donation address. :s
PBmining
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
January 27, 2014, 01:47:11 AM
 #1539

Is there a windows build for this?  All I see so far from reading through the thread is Linux.

Did you know?: Most of our hash power comes from other sources.  We are now specialized in the resale of cloudmining contracts through our associates!
miaviator
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 672
Merit: 500


It's for the children!


View Profile WWW
January 27, 2014, 01:50:26 AM
 #1540

Is there a windows build for this?  All I see so far from reading through the thread is Linux.


I use it in windows

Yes there is it's in the op

Pages: « 1 ... 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 [77] 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 ... 185 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!