Bitcoin Forum
January 24, 2018, 08:36:16 AM *
News: Electrum users must upgrade to 3.0.5 if they haven't already. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 [75] 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 ... 173 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Vanitygen: Vanity bitcoin address generator/miner [v0.22]  (Read 1104977 times)
Ente
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2088



View Profile
September 21, 2013, 06:47:44 PM
 #1481

if using -S works (it'll be slow) then the below may resolve the issue.

There's at least one combination where -S does not resolve this..
So I won't even start recompiling this for windows.
*sigh*

Ente
1516782976
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516782976

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516782976
Reply with quote  #2

1516782976
Report to moderator
1516782976
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516782976

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516782976
Reply with quote  #2

1516782976
Report to moderator
The Bitcoin software, network, and concept is called "Bitcoin" with a capitalized "B". Bitcoin currency units are called "bitcoins" with a lowercase "b" -- this is often abbreviated BTC.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
els
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39



View Profile
September 21, 2013, 10:08:07 PM
 #1482

if using -S works (it'll be slow) then the below may resolve the issue.

There's at least one combination where -S does not resolve this..
So I won't even start recompiling this for windows.
*sigh*

Ente

i wasn't paying close attention as i was researching trying to solve for linux, but i seem to recall that that case was with the post-12.10 drivers...i'll hazard a guess that with 12.10, -S works and the code fix might too.  i'll also guess that if -S doesn't work, the issues are bigger.  but you probably know more about this than i.

1GetDRUNKaGacmvp8QMfoYmdAFp7Z4JXvR
aamarket
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 259


View Profile WWW
September 21, 2013, 10:56:38 PM
 #1483

confirmed to work here :

https://github.com/samr7/vanitygen/issues/19#issuecomment-22475393


IMPORTANT:http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=177133.0,Tips welcome BTC:1AAMARKETmJvfjDwEFmhyYYwfre7ZFVseP  RIC:RGnX6LcJrsVEuYeySDDxkmH7AjRqoprcKt
Eternity
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
September 23, 2013, 01:56:53 PM
 #1484

Thats truly marvelous
ratty
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 261


View Profile
October 01, 2013, 07:04:34 AM
 #1485

Just so its clearly linked in this thread, this guy made a fork of it and made it faster, and more compatible with modern AMD cards:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301068.0
Thanks to a lot of help from the developer, I got it working by using OpenCL from Catalyst 12.10, and I can still use 13.9 for everything else. It even does compressed keys.
FanDjangoBTC
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46



View Profile
October 01, 2013, 09:43:40 PM
 #1486

I can confirm 13.10beta and 13.9 works for my HD7950 (using the lifeboat fork mentioned above) by doing the following:

Install the 13.9 driver normally, use express install if you like.

Download the 12.4 driver. Start the install and let the install extract the files to your AMD\Support folder. Don't let the install continue after that, but leave the installer window open. Later, you can just cancel the install process. But for now, you need the extracted files.

Delete amdocl*.*, OpenCL.dll and the other files from Windows\system32 as described in the README of the new vanitygen program. Before deleting them, take a note of their file dates, so that after the next step you can be confident to have gotten an EARLIER SDK from 12.4. This effectively removes the base files of the SDK.

Then go into the AMD\Support\...12.4...\packages\apps folder and run the opencl.msi installer ONLY. This effectively installs the SDK again, but this time it will be the OLDER one from 12.4. After this, you can cancel the open install window of 12.4

Confirm the earlier file dates of the files that should now be there. I just checked the amdocl... and Opencl.dll stuff.

Reboot.

Delete the oclvanitygen oclbin files. This is needed or else a previous compile will be used unless you are on a fresh install of vanitygen.

Run oclvanitygen and take note of the output (I use -v): Version: OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP (923.1)

This version would be much higher in the vanilla 13.9 driver.

Try it!

Worked nicely for me and was quicker than doing all the downgrading, booting and upgrading etc. Also really no need for driver-sweeper on the downgrade path.


george51
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38



View Profile
October 07, 2013, 12:45:53 PM
 #1487

Sorry if this has been answered... but the thread is long and after searching I can't find the answer

When trying to run oclvanityminer on windows 8 I get:


Get work request failed: Problem with the SSL CA cert (path? access rights?)


Using: oclvanityminer.exe -u https://vanitypool.appspot.com -a 1NkxtjPeWHvjfk7joTAXhJFEBn8kevM661


Also doesn't work for vanitypooltest.appspot.com

Any help would be appreciated




1ARjWcrMCvXE94jZ48rNvdsGBdkZaVaLmM
Eternity
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
October 07, 2013, 12:56:23 PM
 #1488

Great to hear about this Smiley
deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512



View Profile WWW
October 07, 2013, 07:45:57 PM
 #1489

Prohibited in base58 for Bitcoin: and 1l - thats the only two pairs.  o and L are allowed though.

O + 0 is now
george51
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38



View Profile
October 08, 2013, 03:43:52 PM
 #1490

Sorry if this has been answered... but the thread is long and after searching I can't find the answer

When trying to run oclvanityminer on windows 8 I get:


Get work request failed: Problem with the SSL CA cert (path? access rights?)


Using: oclvanityminer.exe -u https://vanitypool.appspot.com -a 1NkxtjPeWHvjfk7joTAXhJFEBn8kevM661


Also doesn't work for vanitypooltest.appspot.com

Any help would be appreciated





Further to this I have the calc_addrs.cl in the same folder as oclvanityminer and it still says it can't find kernel. No file/directory.

Any suggestions for this either?



1ARjWcrMCvXE94jZ48rNvdsGBdkZaVaLmM
Dabs
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
October 09, 2013, 06:30:26 AM
 #1491

Can someone tell me their video cards and their speeds for those cards? There isn't an updated list.

Escrow Service (Services) - GPG ID: 32AD7565, OTC ID: Dabs
All messages concerning escrow or with bitcoin addresses are GPG signed. Please verify.
CompTIA A+, Microsoft Certified Professional, MCSA: Windows 10; Windows Server 2012, MCSE: Cloud Platform and Infrastructure; Productivity; Messaging
bernard75
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204



View Profile
October 10, 2013, 06:48:06 PM
 #1492

Can someone tell me their video cards and their speeds for those cards? There isn't an updated list.
Toms Hardware has pretty updated GPGPU benchmarks:
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/bitcoin-mining-make-money,3514-4.html
aamarket
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 259


View Profile WWW
October 10, 2013, 09:15:48 PM
 #1493

... hmmm ... new meaning for 'updated'  - couple years old cards and stuff Wink

I found my july2013 notes for BTC mining:
7850 around 330 Mhash/sec
7950 around 627 Mhash/sec
long time average

regarding oclvanitygen - no notes found, but I would say around 25 M keys per sec
with 7950


IMPORTANT:http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=177133.0,Tips welcome BTC:1AAMARKETmJvfjDwEFmhyYYwfre7ZFVseP  RIC:RGnX6LcJrsVEuYeySDDxkmH7AjRqoprcKt
Dabs
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
October 11, 2013, 03:40:49 AM
 #1494

I'm looking for bitcoin address generation, not mining. No point doing any GPU mining when you can get a ASIC powered USB miner. (I have a group buy, see sig.)

Escrow Service (Services) - GPG ID: 32AD7565, OTC ID: Dabs
All messages concerning escrow or with bitcoin addresses are GPG signed. Please verify.
CompTIA A+, Microsoft Certified Professional, MCSA: Windows 10; Windows Server 2012, MCSE: Cloud Platform and Infrastructure; Productivity; Messaging
nagnagnag2
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 142


View Profile
October 19, 2013, 09:26:10 PM
 #1495

Finally got it to work on 7970 using catalyst 13.04!

Downloaded the amd-sdk 2.7.  Then

# mv /usr/lib/fglrx/libamdocl64.so /usr/lib/fglrx/libamdocl64_old.so

then copied the 'libamdocl64.so' from the archive: /lib/x86_64/libamdocl64.so to /usr/lib/fglrx/

Patched oclengine.c  with this: https://gist.github.com/mnmnm/6387453

Recompiled oclvanitgen with:

# make oclvanitygen

profit!




bitcool
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1441

Live and enjoy experiments


View Profile
October 22, 2013, 02:41:21 AM
 #1496

I am trying to use oclvanitygen to generate some LTC addresses by using:
  oclvanitygen.exe -X 48 Litesomething 

(I used information on https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Vanitygen , -k switch doesn't work though)

but on the LTC console, importprivkey command always gives this error message:
   Error adding key to wallet (code -4)

 -4 supposedly is insufficient fund error, should be irrelevant here. (the wallet does have some coins).

Did I do something wrong?

Trillium
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546



View Profile
October 22, 2013, 03:32:19 AM
 #1497

Errors during import process are basically always because of one of two things:

1) The wallet is locked (you need to unlock it)
and/or
2) The privkey has already been imported into that wallet

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/How_to_import_private_keys_v7%2B

BTC:1AaaAAAAaAAE2L1PXM1x9VDNqvcrfa9He6
bitcool
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1441

Live and enjoy experiments


View Profile
October 22, 2013, 10:52:34 AM
 #1498

Errors during import process are basically always because of one of two things:

1) The wallet is locked (you need to unlock it)
and/or
2) The privkey has already been imported into that wallet

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/How_to_import_private_keys_v7%2B
Great, it works. Thanks!
crazyearner
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1778



View Profile
October 24, 2013, 09:46:51 PM
 #1499

How do you generate address using gpu or using asic ?

=
  R E B E L L I O U S 
  ▄▀▀▀▀▀▄▄                           ▄▄▀▀▀▀▀▄
▄▀        █▄▄                     ▄▄█        ▀▄
█            █████████████████████            █
█▄          ██       ██ ██       ██          ▄█
█        █            █            █        █
  █    █               █               █    █
   █ ██               █ █               ██ █
    █ █               █ █               █ █
    █ ███▄  █████▄   ██ ██   ▄█████  ▄███ █
    █     ███     █         █     ███     █
     █   █   ▀███ █  █   █  █ ███▀   █   █
     █   █      █ █  █   █  █ █      █   █
     █   █      ██  █     █  ██      █   █
      █  █     ██  █       █  ██     █  █
      █  █    ██  █ ███████ █  ██    █  █
      █ ███   ██  █         █  ██   ███ █
       █   ▀███      █   █      ███▀   █
        █     ██       █       ██     █
         █      █   ▄▄███▄▄   █      █
          ███   ███▀       ▀███   ███
             █████           █████
                  ███████████
  ▄▀▀▀▀▀▄▄                           ▄▄▀▀▀▀▀▄
▄▀        █▄▄                     ▄▄█        ▀▄
█            █████████████████████            █
█▄          ██       ██ ██       ██          ▄█
█        █            █            █        █
  █    █               █               █    █
   █ ██               █ █               ██ █
    █ █               █ █               █ █
    █ ███▄  █████▄   ██ ██   ▄█████  ▄███ █
    █     ███     █         █     ███     █
     █   █   ▀███ █  █   █  █ ███▀   █   █
     █   █      █ █  █   █  █ █      █   █
     █   █      ██  █     █  ██      █   █
      █  █     ██  █       █  ██     █  █
      █  █    ██  █ ███████ █  ██    █  █
      █ ███   ██  █         █  ██   ███ █
       █   ▀███      █   █      ███▀   █
        █     ██       █       ██     █
         █      █   ▄▄███▄▄   █      █
          ███   ███▀       ▀███   ███
             █████           █████
                  ███████████
  R E B E L L I O U S
adam3us
Sr. Member
****
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 400


in bitcoin we trust


View Profile WWW
October 26, 2013, 05:15:11 PM
 #1500

Finally got it to work on 7970 using catalyst 13.04!

Downloaded the amd-sdk 2.7.  Then

# mv /usr/lib/fglrx/libamdocl64.so /usr/lib/fglrx/libamdocl64_old.so

fantastic Smiley Finally someone figured it out for linux.  17.4 Mkey/s on 7870.

I was thinking there ought to be a code patch to make it work other than copying the old version amdocl .so (or the windows analog) because surely that library is not that bugged - people are playing games on it etc.  Must be some thing that goes wrong (results inconsistent gpu/cpu) that could be debugged and fixed. 

But this is close enough for now.

Adam

hashcash, committed transactions, homomorphic values, blind kdf; researching decentralization, scalability and fungibility/anonymity
Pages: « 1 ... 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 [75] 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 ... 173 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!