Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 09:33:52 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 [72] 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 ... 155 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Vanitygen: Vanity bitcoin address generator/miner [v0.22]  (Read 809613 times)
bitspill
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1176



View Profile
August 25, 2013, 11:02:40 PM
 #1421

Mmmerlin, I do not know much about the parameters as I only use a laptop with a single gpu but I recall having trouble with driver versions

1481319232
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481319232

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481319232
Reply with quote  #2

1481319232
Report to moderator
1481319232
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481319232

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481319232
Reply with quote  #2

1481319232
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481319232
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481319232

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481319232
Reply with quote  #2

1481319232
Report to moderator
T-rage_11
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74


www.btcaudio.eu || LIVE-AUDIO-TICKER


View Profile WWW
August 26, 2013, 12:22:17 AM
 #1422

whats wrong with 7970 cards? they don't work well with Litecoin-mining and vanity generating also doesn't work ..

I have a damn expensive card and now my fu*king i7-3770k cpu is faster than my 7970 in vanity generating  Angry

I want to use Win7 x64 + AMD 7970 + Catalyst 13.8 + oclvanitygen !!!!

but I always get this stupid gpuhash-cpuhash-found-delta-ERROR

Whose fault is that? AMD ?

please fix this !!!!!!!!

Bitcoin Donation: 1337WiNsz5zEnjCUtpvfGaztJqLe5Wxge2
www.btcaudio.eu - LIVE-AUDIO-TICKER
www.t-rage11.bplaced.net - watch & chat
bitspill
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1176



View Profile
August 26, 2013, 12:23:44 AM
 #1423

whats wrong with 7970 cards? they don't work well with Litecoin-mining and vanity generating also doesn't work ..

I have a damn expensive card and now my fu*king i7-3770k cpu is faster than my 7970 in vanity generating  Angry

I want to use Win7 x64 + AMD 7970 + Catalyst 13.8 + oclvanitygen !!!!

but I always get this stupid gpuhash-cpuhash-found-delta-ERROR

Whose fault is that? AMD ?

please fix this !!!!!!!!
Why do you want v13.8 why can you not downgrade to 12.8?

T-rage_11
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74


www.btcaudio.eu || LIVE-AUDIO-TICKER


View Profile WWW
August 26, 2013, 12:26:22 AM
 #1424

whats wrong with 7970 cards? they don't work well with Litecoin-mining and vanity generating also doesn't work ..

I have a damn expensive card and now my fu*king i7-3770k cpu is faster than my 7970 in vanity generating  Angry

I want to use Win7 x64 + AMD 7970 + Catalyst 13.8 + oclvanitygen !!!!

but I always get this stupid gpuhash-cpuhash-found-delta-ERROR

Whose fault is that? AMD ?

please fix this !!!!!!!!
Why do you want v13.8 why can you not downgrade to 12.8?

because this is my gaming-pc .. I need that driver for Battlefield 3

Bitcoin Donation: 1337WiNsz5zEnjCUtpvfGaztJqLe5Wxge2
www.btcaudio.eu - LIVE-AUDIO-TICKER
www.t-rage11.bplaced.net - watch & chat
Trillium
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546



View Profile
August 26, 2013, 01:16:19 AM
 #1425

THE LLVM is almost entirely due to wrong driver version / files. It was my problem and many other peoples from the previous pages (I went through them all...)

To begin with, just check by trying:

oclvanitygen -D 0:0 -k -o found.txt 111111

and

oclvanitygen -D 0:1 -k -o found.txt 111111

If it fails, uninstall the ATi/AMD driver, then show hidden devices in device manager and if any hidden display devices are revealed, delete them. Then download and run Atiman Uninstaller to remove any leftovers.

Then reinstall 12.8 driver which most people find works. http://www.filehippo.com/download_ati_catalyst_vista_64/13064/ which is for vista, W7 and possibly W8 64-bit.

What "hidden devices" might there be? Also, how would you recommend removing in the first place? What I have been doing is downloading the installer for the version that I'm running, and using the uninstall option from that as Windows doesn't list it as an option in Add/Remove programs, but this seems like an odd way of doing it.

As for the Atiman Uninstaller, it needs to have UAC disabled to install it, which seems a little odd, and it's very large for an uninstaller... Is this generally accepted to be an OK utility?

They are devices that windows knows existed at some point in time but are not presently in the system or at least in the same configuration it has been previously. They can accumulate especially if you are swapping card types around and moving PCI slot positions. In Atiman Uninstaller it refers to them as 'ghosts' in the first texts the program displays, although, I have found it will remove them anyway, I guess its best to follow their advice and do it manually. They can also accumulate during driver changes if you use the regular AMD install/uninstaller.

I have it in my list of installed programs as "AMD Catalyst Install Manager".

Atiman Uninstaller uses a huge range of scripts and operations to remove all kinds of different things. No doubt you will be impressed/amused at how much stuff it does. It is VERY different from any uninstallation you might've seen for a normal program...

BTC:1AaaAAAAaAAE2L1PXM1x9VDNqvcrfa9He6
Trillium
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546



View Profile
August 26, 2013, 01:21:21 AM
 #1426

whats wrong with 7970 cards? they don't work well with Litecoin-mining and vanity generating also doesn't work ..

I have a damn expensive card and now my fu*king i7-3770k cpu is faster than my 7970 in vanity generating  Angry

I want to use Win7 x64 + AMD 7970 + Catalyst 13.8 + oclvanitygen !!!!

but I always get this stupid gpuhash-cpuhash-found-delta-ERROR

Whose fault is that? AMD ?

please fix this !!!!!!!!
Why do you want v13.8 why can you not downgrade to 12.8?

because this is my gaming-pc .. I need that driver for Battlefield 3

Well then you have a problem. Keep in mind that vanitygen was made by enthusiasts for the bitcoin community and is not a paid-for program or product, so you should not expect an easy to use push-bhutan-get-results kind of program.

Even though it runs on the command line the software is actually very impressive and well designed, once you get past the learning curve.

Does BF3 really need 13.8 ? 12.8 is 'old' but probably not too much older than the game. I'd be surprised if it doesn't play or if there is a huge performance hit. I have been playing bioshock infinite and a few others on 12.8 no problems..

I might suggest you consider creating a dual-booting system or install a second OS on another storage device / partition so that you can boot to it and run vanity gen.

It is probably possible to run oclvanitygen on a virtual machine however unless you are extremely familiar with enterprise-level VMware implementations or have an IT degree then you will probably struggle to get that working. Seriously, installing an OS to a spare IDE / SATA hard drive is a much faster option for 99.99% of people in this specific situation...

BTC:1AaaAAAAaAAE2L1PXM1x9VDNqvcrfa9He6
T-rage_11
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74


www.btcaudio.eu || LIVE-AUDIO-TICKER


View Profile WWW
August 26, 2013, 06:41:21 AM
 #1427

whats wrong with 7970 cards? they don't work well with Litecoin-mining and vanity generating also doesn't work ..

I have a damn expensive card and now my fu*king i7-3770k cpu is faster than my 7970 in vanity generating  Angry

I want to use Win7 x64 + AMD 7970 + Catalyst 13.8 + oclvanitygen !!!!

but I always get this stupid gpuhash-cpuhash-found-delta-ERROR

Whose fault is that? AMD ?

please fix this !!!!!!!!
Why do you want v13.8 why can you not downgrade to 12.8?

because this is my gaming-pc .. I need that driver for Battlefield 3

Well then you have a problem. Keep in mind that vanitygen was made by enthusiasts for the bitcoin community and is not a paid-for program or product, so you should not expect an easy to use push-bhutan-get-results kind of program.

Even though it runs on the command line the software is actually very impressive and well designed, once you get past the learning curve.

Does BF3 really need 13.8 ? 12.8 is 'old' but probably not too much older than the game. I'd be surprised if it doesn't play or if there is a huge performance hit. I have been playing bioshock infinite and a few others on 12.8 no problems..

I might suggest you consider creating a dual-booting system or install a second OS on another storage device / partition so that you can boot to it and run vanity gen.

It is probably possible to run oclvanitygen on a virtual machine however unless you are extremely familiar with enterprise-level VMware implementations or have an IT degree then you will probably struggle to get that working. Seriously, installing an OS to a spare IDE / SATA hard drive is a much faster option for 99.99% of people in this specific situation...

yes, I think I will install a second OS but what if this problem occurs also with AMD HD9970 ? this is unacceptable..

Bitcoin Donation: 1337WiNsz5zEnjCUtpvfGaztJqLe5Wxge2
www.btcaudio.eu - LIVE-AUDIO-TICKER
www.t-rage11.bplaced.net - watch & chat
Trillium
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546



View Profile
August 26, 2013, 10:00:28 AM
 #1428

whats wrong with 7970 cards? they don't work well with Litecoin-mining and vanity generating also doesn't work ..

I have a damn expensive card and now my fu*king i7-3770k cpu is faster than my 7970 in vanity generating  Angry

I want to use Win7 x64 + AMD 7970 + Catalyst 13.8 + oclvanitygen !!!!

but I always get this stupid gpuhash-cpuhash-found-delta-ERROR

Whose fault is that? AMD ?

please fix this !!!!!!!!
Why do you want v13.8 why can you not downgrade to 12.8?

because this is my gaming-pc .. I need that driver for Battlefield 3

Well then you have a problem. Keep in mind that vanitygen was made by enthusiasts for the bitcoin community and is not a paid-for program or product, so you should not expect an easy to use push-bhutan-get-results kind of program.

Even though it runs on the command line the software is actually very impressive and well designed, once you get past the learning curve.

Does BF3 really need 13.8 ? 12.8 is 'old' but probably not too much older than the game. I'd be surprised if it doesn't play or if there is a huge performance hit. I have been playing bioshock infinite and a few others on 12.8 no problems..

I might suggest you consider creating a dual-booting system or install a second OS on another storage device / partition so that you can boot to it and run vanity gen.

It is probably possible to run oclvanitygen on a virtual machine however unless you are extremely familiar with enterprise-level VMware implementations or have an IT degree then you will probably struggle to get that working. Seriously, installing an OS to a spare IDE / SATA hard drive is a much faster option for 99.99% of people in this specific situation...

yes, I think I will install a second OS but what if this problem occurs also with AMD HD9970 ? this is unacceptable..

Right, well, vanitygen was made and supplied to you for free. Why do you think its unacceptable when you didn't even pay anything for it?

Are you saying that AMD cards and drivers should be made to run vanitygen? What a joke. AMD cards are designed to appeal to and function for gamers, not people with an interest in cryptocoin software, we are an extreme minority to them, barely worthy of their acknowledgement.

BTC:1AaaAAAAaAAE2L1PXM1x9VDNqvcrfa9He6
T-rage_11
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74


www.btcaudio.eu || LIVE-AUDIO-TICKER


View Profile WWW
August 26, 2013, 10:12:38 AM
 #1429

Running nice at 50 Mkeys/s now that I've installed AMD driver version 12.8, was getting errors with 13.1


I am now on windows 8 x64 with driver 12.8 but I still get the found delta gpu/cpu hash error ..
Can you send us the special compiled version with disabled BFI_INT ? How can I disable EXPENSIVE_BRANCHES and DEEP_VLIW ? Also when compiling?
thanks!  Smiley

Bitcoin Donation: 1337WiNsz5zEnjCUtpvfGaztJqLe5Wxge2
www.btcaudio.eu - LIVE-AUDIO-TICKER
www.t-rage11.bplaced.net - watch & chat
mmmerlin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266


View Profile
August 26, 2013, 11:47:26 AM
 #1430

THE LLVM is almost entirely due to wrong driver version / files. It was my problem and many other peoples from the previous pages (I went through them all...)

To begin with, just check by trying:

oclvanitygen -D 0:0 -k -o found.txt 111111

and

oclvanitygen -D 0:1 -k -o found.txt 111111

If it fails, uninstall the ATi/AMD driver, then show hidden devices in device manager and if any hidden display devices are revealed, delete them. Then download and run Atiman Uninstaller to remove any leftovers.

Then reinstall 12.8 driver which most people find works. http://www.filehippo.com/download_ati_catalyst_vista_64/13064/ which is for vista, W7 and possibly W8 64-bit.

What "hidden devices" might there be? Also, how would you recommend removing in the first place? What I have been doing is downloading the installer for the version that I'm running, and using the uninstall option from that as Windows doesn't list it as an option in Add/Remove programs, but this seems like an odd way of doing it.

As for the Atiman Uninstaller, it needs to have UAC disabled to install it, which seems a little odd, and it's very large for an uninstaller... Is this generally accepted to be an OK utility?

They are devices that windows knows existed at some point in time but are not presently in the system or at least in the same configuration it has been previously. They can accumulate especially if you are swapping card types around and moving PCI slot positions. In Atiman Uninstaller it refers to them as 'ghosts' in the first texts the program displays, although, I have found it will remove them anyway, I guess its best to follow their advice and do it manually. They can also accumulate during driver changes if you use the regular AMD install/uninstaller.

I have it in my list of installed programs as "AMD Catalyst Install Manager".

Atiman Uninstaller uses a huge range of scripts and operations to remove all kinds of different things. No doubt you will be impressed/amused at how much stuff it does. It is VERY different from any uninstallation you might've seen for a normal program...

Yes, you were not wrong, I was both impressed and amused!

Sadly, however, it still doesn't work. I've rewound to 12.8, rebooting at all the times I was supposed to, and I still get the same error Sad

Many thanks for all you help and guidance, I think I'm going to give up for now and come back to in a month or so, once I can actually afford the time to play with things like this!

PS I was about to write back to R_Tage_11 to say a) it was free so calm down and be a bit more grateful, and b) try a dual boot if you can't settle for older drivers, i.e. exactly what you said, but you beat me to it!
mmmerlin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266


View Profile
August 26, 2013, 12:15:47 PM
 #1431

THE LLVM is almost entirely due to wrong driver version / files. It was my problem and many other peoples from the previous pages (I went through them all...)

To begin with, just check by trying:

oclvanitygen -D 0:0 -k -o found.txt 111111

and

oclvanitygen -D 0:1 -k -o found.txt 111111

If it fails, uninstall the ATi/AMD driver, then show hidden devices in device manager and if any hidden display devices are revealed, delete them. Then download and run Atiman Uninstaller to remove any leftovers.

Then reinstall 12.8 driver which most people find works. http://www.filehippo.com/download_ati_catalyst_vista_64/13064/ which is for vista, W7 and possibly W8 64-bit.

What "hidden devices" might there be? Also, how would you recommend removing in the first place? What I have been doing is downloading the installer for the version that I'm running, and using the uninstall option from that as Windows doesn't list it as an option in Add/Remove programs, but this seems like an odd way of doing it.

As for the Atiman Uninstaller, it needs to have UAC disabled to install it, which seems a little odd, and it's very large for an uninstaller... Is this generally accepted to be an OK utility?

They are devices that windows knows existed at some point in time but are not presently in the system or at least in the same configuration it has been previously. They can accumulate especially if you are swapping card types around and moving PCI slot positions. In Atiman Uninstaller it refers to them as 'ghosts' in the first texts the program displays, although, I have found it will remove them anyway, I guess its best to follow their advice and do it manually. They can also accumulate during driver changes if you use the regular AMD install/uninstaller.

I have it in my list of installed programs as "AMD Catalyst Install Manager".

Atiman Uninstaller uses a huge range of scripts and operations to remove all kinds of different things. No doubt you will be impressed/amused at how much stuff it does. It is VERY different from any uninstallation you might've seen for a normal program...

Yes, you were not wrong, I was both impressed and amused!

Sadly, however, it still doesn't work. I've rewound to 12.8, rebooting at all the times I was supposed to, and I still get the same error Sad

Many thanks for all you help and guidance, I think I'm going to give up for now and come back to in a month or so, once I can actually afford the time to play with things like this!

PS I was about to write back to R_Tage_11 to say a) it was free so calm down and be a bit more grateful, and b) try a dual boot if you can't settle for older drivers, i.e. exactly what you said, but you beat me to it!

Having said that, I do find it very frustrating not finishing things, so if you do have any other ideas I would still quite like to hear them... Smiley
Trillium
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546



View Profile
August 26, 2013, 01:23:46 PM
 #1432

Quote
Having said that, I do find it very frustrating not finishing things, so if you do have any other ideas I would still quite like to hear them... Smiley

Maybe try a fresh OS install as well. I am not sure.

BTC:1AaaAAAAaAAE2L1PXM1x9VDNqvcrfa9He6
mmmerlin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266


View Profile
August 26, 2013, 01:40:20 PM
 #1433

Quote
Having said that, I do find it very frustrating not finishing things, so if you do have any other ideas I would still quite like to hear them... Smiley

Maybe try a fresh OS install as well. I am not sure.

Lol, that's one way to end my curiosity! I'm just finishing writing my PhD thesis, so it's not really the best time for reinstalling my OS!  Cheesy

Thanks for the help anyway though.  Smiley
mmmerlin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266


View Profile
August 26, 2013, 02:33:12 PM
 #1434

Quote
Having said that, I do find it very frustrating not finishing things, so if you do have any other ideas I would still quite like to hear them... Smiley

Maybe try a fresh OS install as well. I am not sure.

Out of interest though, how did you generate those amazing addresses in your sig? Presumably those were case-insensitive searches, but not using RegEx? If you don't care which letter of the alphabet is repeated is the slow-down from using regex worth it for the increase in potential matches? Or do you just specify a long list of strings to match in a text file?

Also, is there a limit to the number of things you can put in the text file? And do these obey the case-insensitive switch or are they always searched for exactly as written?
Trillium
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546



View Profile
August 27, 2013, 03:27:41 PM
 #1435

Quote
Having said that, I do find it very frustrating not finishing things, so if you do have any other ideas I would still quite like to hear them... Smiley

Maybe try a fresh OS install as well. I am not sure.

Out of interest though, how did you generate those amazing addresses in your sig? Presumably those were case-insensitive searches, but not using RegEx? If you don't care which letter of the alphabet is repeated is the slow-down from using regex worth it for the increase in potential matches? Or do you just specify a long list of strings to match in a text file?

Also, is there a limit to the number of things you can put in the text file? And do these obey the case-insensitive switch or are they always searched for exactly as written?

Well you're just full of questions arnt you  Shocked

I generated them with very long strings of patterns typed out manually and with CTRL+C/V

Yes case insensitive is best in most cases

Not regex

Listing too many patterns does have some performance hit but I often run with 30+ patterns

I dont use a text file, I have a long list of patterns that I paste into the command line and so they follow the case insensitivity


BTC:1AaaAAAAaAAE2L1PXM1x9VDNqvcrfa9He6
mmmerlin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266


View Profile
August 27, 2013, 04:45:26 PM
 #1436

Quote
Having said that, I do find it very frustrating not finishing things, so if you do have any other ideas I would still quite like to hear them... Smiley

Maybe try a fresh OS install as well. I am not sure.

Out of interest though, how did you generate those amazing addresses in your sig? Presumably those were case-insensitive searches, but not using RegEx? If you don't care which letter of the alphabet is repeated is the slow-down from using regex worth it for the increase in potential matches? Or do you just specify a long list of strings to match in a text file?

Also, is there a limit to the number of things you can put in the text file? And do these obey the case-insensitive switch or are they always searched for exactly as written?

Well you're just full of questions arnt you  Shocked

I generated them with very long strings of patterns typed out manually and with CTRL+C/V

Yes case insensitive is best in most cases

Not regex

Listing too many patterns does have some performance hit but I often run with 30+ patterns

I dont use a text file, I have a long list of patterns that I paste into the command line and so they follow the case insensitivity



That is very useful, much appreciated, and sorry for the long list of questions!
eXclusiveOR
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 57


View Profile
September 02, 2013, 09:52:00 PM
 #1437

Right, well, vanitygen was made and supplied to you for free. Why do you think its unacceptable when you didn't even pay anything for it?

Are you saying that AMD cards and drivers should be made to run vanitygen? What a joke. AMD cards are designed to appeal to and function for gamers, not people with an interest in cryptocoin software, we are an extreme minority to them, barely worthy of their acknowledgement.

while i agree with you i still wonder why after such a long time where newer drivers have come out and people have been complaining about this problem here there seems to be nobody capable of fixing it. the original author might have gone AWOL 11 months ago but the source is available so there should be an enthusiast able to fix it. even if it's really a bug in the AMD driver it should be possible to create a workaround. have there been attempts? why did they fail?

unfortunately for me with an HD7970 GHz edition on catalyst 13.4 not even the slower -S option helps. if i use it oclvanitygen.exe crashes during "Compiling kernel, can take minutes...". looking at the amount of people who haven't got it working even after a driver downgrade i don't think i will even bother to try that. anyway, my CPU (Core i7-3770k) is doing 1.44 MKey/s and that's enough for my small needs (guess i am not THAT vain after all  Grin). i am just curious how things can get stuck in such a way in an open source environment.

MiLaunch - a miner launcher for Windows you can organize your various miners and pools with
Trillium
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546



View Profile
September 02, 2013, 10:31:15 PM
 #1438

Quote
i am just curious how things can get stuck in such a way in an open source environment.

Because vanity gen addresses are a minor niche of cryptocoins and people would rather use their hardware to mine and make profit.

BTC:1AaaAAAAaAAE2L1PXM1x9VDNqvcrfa9He6
deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470



View Profile WWW
September 04, 2013, 10:58:51 AM
 #1439

I installed video driver Catalyst 13.8 beta and it seems to still be working with oclvanitygen on my HD5xxx, going from 11.11.

eXclusiveOR
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 57


View Profile
September 04, 2013, 07:06:05 PM
 #1440

I installed video driver Catalyst 13.8 beta and it seems to still be working with oclvanitygen on my HD5xxx, going from 11.11.
many posts so far have indicated that the problems are related to the actual hardware rather than to the driver, your post makes it +1  Wink

MiLaunch - a miner launcher for Windows you can organize your various miners and pools with
Pages: « 1 ... 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 [72] 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 ... 155 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!