Bitcoin Forum
November 25, 2017, 04:19:25 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 [21] 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 ... 275 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Gridcoin (GRC) - first coin utilizing BOINC - Official Thread  (Read 556534 times)
TribalBob
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


View Profile
December 07, 2013, 04:03:48 AM
 #401

If anyone is having trouble with syncing or stalling after the latest update do this:

1. Close your Gridcoin client
2. Delete everything in your AppData\Roaming\Gridcoin folder EXCEPT the gridcoin.conf, wallet.dat, and if you use it, the guiminer folder
3. Make sure you have the latest client (if you open the Mining Console, you should see Version: 29, if not install the latest .MSI from the website
4. Start the client and it should completely resync

I have done clean re-installs of the latest client (version 29) multiple times and I am still having sync issues at times. See my post above as I believe I know the reason for this.



                                         ▄
                 ▄▄████████▄▄         ▄▄██
 ▄▄           ▄██▀▀        ▀▀██▄    ▄███▀
 ▀███▄▄     ▄█▀                ▀█▄▄█████▀
  ▀██████▄▄█▀                ▄▄███████▀
   ▐█████████▄           ▄▄███████████
     ▀█████████▄▄      ▄█████████████
       ▀██████████    ███████████████
        ▐▀█████████  █████████████▀ ▐▌
        ▐▌ ▀▀██████ ▐███████████▀   ▐▌
        ▐▌      ▀██ ▐█████████▀     ▐▌
         █        ▀  ██████         █
         ▐█          ▐█████▄       █▌
          ▀█▄         ▀██████▄   ▄█▀
            ▀█▄         ▀█████▌▄█▀
              ▀██▄▄       ▀▄▄██▀
                ▀▀████████▀▀
T
.ANGEL TOKEN.
[]

                                         ▄
                 ▄▄████████▄▄         ▄▄██
 ▄▄           ▄██▀▀        ▀▀██▄    ▄█▀█▀
 ▀█▀█▄▄     ▄█▀                ▀█▄▄█  ▄█▀
  ▀█  ▀▀█▄▄█▀                ▄▄██░   █▀
   ▐▄▄  ░░░▀█▄           ▄▄█▀▀░░░   ▄█
     ▀█▄ ░░░▒▒█▄▄      ▄██▒▒▒▒▒░    █
       ▀▄▄ ░░▒▒▒▓█    ██▒▒▒▒▒▒░   ▄▄█
        ▐▀█▄░░▒▒▓██  █▓▒▒▒▒▒▒░  ▄█▀ ▐▌
        ▐▌ ▀▀█▒▓███░▐█▓▒▒▒▒░░ ▄█▀   ▐▌
        ▐▌      ▀██ ▐█▓▓▒▒▄▄▄█▀     ▐▌
         █        ▀  █▓█▀▀█         █
         ▐█          ▐▄▓░ █▄       █▌
          ▀█▄         ▀█▒░ ▀█▄   ▄█▀
            ▀█▄         ▀█▄▄▄█▌▄█▀
              ▀██▄▄       ▀▄▄██▀
                 ▀▀████████▀▀
1511583565
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511583565

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511583565
Reply with quote  #2

1511583565
Report to moderator
1511583565
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511583565

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511583565
Reply with quote  #2

1511583565
Report to moderator
1511583565
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511583565

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511583565
Reply with quote  #2

1511583565
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511583565
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511583565

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511583565
Reply with quote  #2

1511583565
Report to moderator
Inrideo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 130


View Profile
December 07, 2013, 04:55:53 AM
 #402

There seems to be something that happened in the chain starting around 21 hours ago.

In the previous two days I made 52 coins from my CPU+nvidia card.

Today I seem to have made 3 or 4 coins, but can't be sure as the sync is once again choking at 21 hours behind.

edit: typo fixed.

Gridcoin :: GGEijprFRgB8LFVDLbdKQK9CcysFXAXRop
Inrideo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 130


View Profile
December 07, 2013, 05:02:46 AM
 #403

It took about seven minutes to process the chain at the 21 hour mark, then it continued again. It has now stalled at the 8 hour mark.

Just providing that in case it points to something helpful Smiley
 
edit: Turned out at 8 hours it hit wallet corruption, but resumed again on a restart.

Gridcoin :: GGEijprFRgB8LFVDLbdKQK9CcysFXAXRop
aleistermarley
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30


View Profile
December 07, 2013, 09:31:15 AM
 #404

Is anyone else having trouble with their client occasionally stalling out...?

I woke up today to find my miner had been hashing away on the same block for more than 4 hours because one of my clients had stalled and was pretty far behind in the actual block count even though the client said it was synced.

What's really weird is that my other client (I have two pc's and one runs cgminer on load balance between the two clients) was still perfectly synced but the miner was not receiving new block notifications from the synced client either.

Anyone else experiencing anything similar...?

I seem to have the same issue.

Most of the times i end up with a corrupted wallet.dat too Sad
-rescan option does not help me.
The only solution for me is to delete the complete blockchain database and restore my wallet from backup.

Last time i deleted the peers.dat too - but then it refused to make more than only 1 (one) connection to the network  Huh
So i better kept my old peers.dat to get back to the normal 8 connections.

I have the latest client installed and doing cpu and gpu mining.

greetings

LTC: LVPrfze7i4T3GYnoXCBVoeYbaG4MUy5vKC
GRC: FtmMPaYpaA1LAm1RxsXNWRu54n2wnMamYR
BTC: 17XxsFQAXsG8DhqV7DFtJ3DyfDpRuxmiYv
Gridcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile WWW
December 07, 2013, 02:15:34 PM
 #405

It has something to do with the client collecting orphan blocks from old versions that are still running.  Looking at the debug file about 100 orphan blocks keep coming back.  Im running 4 machines and it affects one of them especially (resyncing once per day).  We could increment the minimum protocol version for everyone but that would require a global upgrade.  Any hardened cryptologists out there that would like to volunteer to help us clear out orphan blocks or give us advice?

In the mean time the only known solution is to close the wallet and delete the chainstate/database folders and restart.  I do not have to replace my wallet file when I do this.

I will try to devote some time to looking into this, but for the time being I've been busy creating a prototype for the scrypt-sleep algo.

Thanks,
Rob Halford

Gridcoin: scientia humana libertas
Inrideo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 130


View Profile
December 07, 2013, 05:57:52 PM
 #406

We should throw up a challenge on Slashdot for people to help Smiley

Though it would come with dickheads too :/

Gridcoin :: GGEijprFRgB8LFVDLbdKQK9CcysFXAXRop
traderman
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile
December 07, 2013, 05:59:32 PM
 #407

I say whoever has not updated by now, cut them out. Do a global upgrade and lets end these synching problems.

It has something to do with the client collecting orphan blocks from old versions that are still running.  Looking at the debug file about 100 orphan blocks keep coming back.  Im running 4 machines and it affects one of them especially (resyncing once per day).  We could increment the minimum protocol version for everyone but that would require a global upgrade.  Any hardened cryptologists out there that would like to volunteer to help us clear out orphan blocks or give us advice?

In the mean time the only known solution is to close the wallet and delete the chainstate/database folders and restart.  I do not have to replace my wallet file when I do this.

I will try to devote some time to looking into this, but for the time being I've been busy creating a prototype for the scrypt-sleep algo.

Thanks,
Rob Halford

A L I E N
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798


Better now than never.


View Profile
December 07, 2013, 06:11:53 PM
 #408

I say whoever has not updated by now, cut them out. Do a global upgrade and lets end these synching problems.

It has something to do with the client collecting orphan blocks from old versions that are still running.  Looking at the debug file about 100 orphan blocks keep coming back.  Im running 4 machines and it affects one of them especially (resyncing once per day).  We could increment the minimum protocol version for everyone but that would require a global upgrade.  Any hardened cryptologists out there that would like to volunteer to help us clear out orphan blocks or give us advice?

In the mean time the only known solution is to close the wallet and delete the chainstate/database folders and restart.  I do not have to replace my wallet file when I do this.

I will try to devote some time to looking into this, but for the time being I've been busy creating a prototype for the scrypt-sleep algo.

Thanks,
Rob Halford


I agree, get things running smooth and solid before working further on the prototypical algo..

traderman
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile
December 07, 2013, 09:23:15 PM
 #409

Seeing as cryptsy is in some difficulty right now I thought I would start another petition to have Gridcoin added to crypto-trade.com I have traded there and it seems like a decent exchange so far.

http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=361562.0

Everyone make your vote count!
Gridcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile WWW
December 07, 2013, 09:37:53 PM
 #410

Thats cool, I'll do a global upgrade on a certain near block, but first Id like to make sure the problem happens one more time and give everyone a little time to see this message.
Not positive if Ill be around the computer tonight and Id like to be around.

Has it happened today?

I think we can do a global upgrade either around 6pm tonight or tomorrow morning if it hasn't gone away.

Rob H.

Gridcoin: scientia humana libertas
lmue
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 125


View Profile
December 07, 2013, 09:51:51 PM
 #411

GRC has no market yet. why so many rubbish coins at cryptsy while not accepting GRC. that is ridiculous.

GRC: GAcm1qG5XAjZGh8FJ7X5jSUFBM49Kom9Et

C-cex, 交易GRC

Coins-e, 其他虚拟货币

<a target="_blank" href="http://shang.qq.com/wpa/qunwpa?idkey=02e66be6eb2de2a31ec26119d488a63ae31ad726787f7ef44a979839fd855232"><img border="0" src="http://pub.idqqimg.com/wpa/images/group.png" alt="Gridcoin交流群 (GRC)" title="Gridcoin交流群 (GRC)"></a>
TribalBob
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


View Profile
December 07, 2013, 09:52:14 PM
 #412

Thats cool, I'll do a global upgrade on a certain near block, but first Id like to make sure the problem happens one more time and give everyone a little time to see this message.
Not positive if Ill be around the computer tonight and Id like to be around.

Has it happened today?

I think we can do a global upgrade either around 6pm tonight or tomorrow morning if it hasn't gone away.

Rob H.

I can confirm that I just had the problem on one of my clients about an hour ago. Launching with "-rescan" fixes the issue temporarily (at least for me anyway) but the problem is definitely recurring.

For those having trouble with sync issues on "stalled" wallets, before deleting the stuff in your roaming folder, try the following from a command prompt (windows users):

1) cd c:\Program Files (x86)\Gridcoin
2) gridcoin-qt.exe -rescan

This is consistently fixing my sync/stalled client issues and is essentially the same as deleting the files in your roaming folder as it forces the client to rescan the block chain.

But I still opt for the global upgrade, better to do it now than to continue letting new users jump on a faulty client...



                                         ▄
                 ▄▄████████▄▄         ▄▄██
 ▄▄           ▄██▀▀        ▀▀██▄    ▄███▀
 ▀███▄▄     ▄█▀                ▀█▄▄█████▀
  ▀██████▄▄█▀                ▄▄███████▀
   ▐█████████▄           ▄▄███████████
     ▀█████████▄▄      ▄█████████████
       ▀██████████    ███████████████
        ▐▀█████████  █████████████▀ ▐▌
        ▐▌ ▀▀██████ ▐███████████▀   ▐▌
        ▐▌      ▀██ ▐█████████▀     ▐▌
         █        ▀  ██████         █
         ▐█          ▐█████▄       █▌
          ▀█▄         ▀██████▄   ▄█▀
            ▀█▄         ▀█████▌▄█▀
              ▀██▄▄       ▀▄▄██▀
                ▀▀████████▀▀
T
.ANGEL TOKEN.
[]

                                         ▄
                 ▄▄████████▄▄         ▄▄██
 ▄▄           ▄██▀▀        ▀▀██▄    ▄█▀█▀
 ▀█▀█▄▄     ▄█▀                ▀█▄▄█  ▄█▀
  ▀█  ▀▀█▄▄█▀                ▄▄██░   █▀
   ▐▄▄  ░░░▀█▄           ▄▄█▀▀░░░   ▄█
     ▀█▄ ░░░▒▒█▄▄      ▄██▒▒▒▒▒░    █
       ▀▄▄ ░░▒▒▒▓█    ██▒▒▒▒▒▒░   ▄▄█
        ▐▀█▄░░▒▒▓██  █▓▒▒▒▒▒▒░  ▄█▀ ▐▌
        ▐▌ ▀▀█▒▓███░▐█▓▒▒▒▒░░ ▄█▀   ▐▌
        ▐▌      ▀██ ▐█▓▓▒▒▄▄▄█▀     ▐▌
         █        ▀  █▓█▀▀█         █
         ▐█          ▐▄▓░ █▄       █▌
          ▀█▄         ▀█▒░ ▀█▄   ▄█▀
            ▀█▄         ▀█▄▄▄█▌▄█▀
              ▀██▄▄       ▀▄▄██▀
                 ▀▀████████▀▀
aysyr
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


View Profile
December 07, 2013, 11:15:04 PM
 #413

Yea I had it happen to all my machines the night before last (so I had to rescan yesterday morning) and it they're all good still except for one, which stalled 2 hours ago. So it's not happening as bad, but there are still instances it occurs.

Trade at C-Cex, my favorite exchange!          Aysyr Reputation Thread
lmue
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 125


View Profile
December 07, 2013, 11:26:42 PM
 #414

vote here, now only 1 vote by me.

Question:    POLL: Which Alt Coin will see the most growth in 2014?

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=359521.0

GRC: GAcm1qG5XAjZGh8FJ7X5jSUFBM49Kom9Et

C-cex, 交易GRC

Coins-e, 其他虚拟货币

<a target="_blank" href="http://shang.qq.com/wpa/qunwpa?idkey=02e66be6eb2de2a31ec26119d488a63ae31ad726787f7ef44a979839fd855232"><img border="0" src="http://pub.idqqimg.com/wpa/images/group.png" alt="Gridcoin交流群 (GRC)" title="Gridcoin交流群 (GRC)"></a>
lmue
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 125


View Profile
December 07, 2013, 11:48:47 PM
 #415

Thats cool, I'll do a global upgrade on a certain near block, but first Id like to make sure the problem happens one more time and give everyone a little time to see this message.
Not positive if Ill be around the computer tonight and Id like to be around.

Has it happened today?

I think we can do a global upgrade either around 6pm tonight or tomorrow morning if it hasn't gone away.

Rob H.


how much time do you think is needed to launch the scrypt-sleep scheme into GRC mining?

GRC: GAcm1qG5XAjZGh8FJ7X5jSUFBM49Kom9Et

C-cex, 交易GRC

Coins-e, 其他虚拟货币

<a target="_blank" href="http://shang.qq.com/wpa/qunwpa?idkey=02e66be6eb2de2a31ec26119d488a63ae31ad726787f7ef44a979839fd855232"><img border="0" src="http://pub.idqqimg.com/wpa/images/group.png" alt="Gridcoin交流群 (GRC)" title="Gridcoin交流群 (GRC)"></a>
Gridcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile WWW
December 08, 2013, 01:02:16 AM
 #416

All,

I just released the global update (v1139) that forces the protocol upgrade.

Please try to type "upgrade", otherwise you can download the prod-msi, do the full reinstall, and then execute it again and choose "Repair".

Thanks,
Rob H.

Gridcoin: scientia humana libertas
traderman
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile
December 08, 2013, 01:18:08 AM
 #417

This is just for people running the old version right.

All,

I just released the global update (v1139) that forces the protocol upgrade.

Please try to type "upgrade", otherwise you can download the prod-msi, do the full reinstall, and then execute it again and choose "Repair".

Thanks,
Rob H.

Gridcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile WWW
December 08, 2013, 01:25:10 AM
 #418

Yes if you have v25 (mining console or higher), you can type upgrade, but everyone has to upgrade, the old version (1138 and down) will become obsolete.



Gridcoin: scientia humana libertas
Inrideo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 130


View Profile
December 08, 2013, 01:27:30 AM
 #419

What's the latest version? I have 29. Running upgrade in both regular and admin mode dies on me.

Gridcoin :: GGEijprFRgB8LFVDLbdKQK9CcysFXAXRop
Gridcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile WWW
December 08, 2013, 01:33:34 AM
 #420

What's the latest version? I have 29. Running upgrade in both regular and admin mode dies on me.
I dont think that changed, but the wallet has to be "1.1.3.9" now or your network will not work.  If you dont have that in the debug window, manually upgrade with the MSI-prod.

Looks like the highest block is 27864 right now.

3 of my 4 are now working, but my 4th was actually hosed already, crossing my fingers all....


Gridcoin: scientia humana libertas
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 [21] 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 ... 275 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!