Bitcoin Forum
November 22, 2017, 05:00:02 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 [55] 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 ... 275 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Gridcoin (GRC) - first coin utilizing BOINC - Official Thread  (Read 554559 times)
procrypto
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


Shitcoin Maximalist


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 12:26:17 AM
 #1081

I managed to get the client sync'd again, by using the .msi, and ensuring the QT was run as Administrator (this was probably the problem before). I'm still getting the crashing when I try to run Gridcoin at the same time as Boinc, though.

I've triple checked the Boinc folders in gridcoin.conf, and ensured .NET is up to date (there was an update to run).

My gridcoin.conf below..

Quote
rpcuser=myrpcuser
rpcpassword=myrpcpassword
rpcallowip=127.0.0.1
rpcport=myport
server=1
poolmining=false
restartwallet=0
addnode=98.114.181.178
addnode=76.187.184.27
addnode=66.187.94.194
addnode=76.74.177.224
addnode=84.125.196.167
addnode=71.233.139.62
addnode=72.92.48.105
addnode=72.208.65.226
addnode=77.64.220.124
addnode=50.152.78.46
addnode=207.229.136.136
boincappfolder=C:\Program Files (x86)\BOINC
boincdatafolder=E:\ProgramData\BOINC

Any other ideas you may have would be greatly appreciated.

Should the boinc folders have a trailing slash or not? Have tried with both so that's not the issue, but just want to ensure I've got that right.
1511370002
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511370002

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511370002
Reply with quote  #2

1511370002
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511370002
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511370002

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511370002
Reply with quote  #2

1511370002
Report to moderator
traderman
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile
January 08, 2014, 01:02:18 AM
 #1082

Maybe the fact that the data folder is on drive E: and the install is in C: might be causing some kind of issue.

I managed to get the client sync'd again, by using the .msi, and ensuring the QT was run as Administrator (this was probably the problem before). I'm still getting the crashing when I try to run Gridcoin at the same time as Boinc, though.

I've triple checked the Boinc folders in gridcoin.conf, and ensured .NET is up to date (there was an update to run).

My gridcoin.conf below..

Quote
rpcuser=myrpcuser
rpcpassword=myrpcpassword
rpcallowip=127.0.0.1
rpcport=myport
server=1
poolmining=false
restartwallet=0
addnode=98.114.181.178
addnode=76.187.184.27
addnode=66.187.94.194
addnode=76.74.177.224
addnode=84.125.196.167
addnode=71.233.139.62
addnode=72.92.48.105
addnode=72.208.65.226
addnode=77.64.220.124
addnode=50.152.78.46
addnode=207.229.136.136
boincappfolder=C:\Program Files (x86)\BOINC
boincdatafolder=E:\ProgramData\BOINC

Any other ideas you may have would be greatly appreciated.

Should the boinc folders have a trailing slash or not? Have tried with both so that's not the issue, but just want to ensure I've got that right.
TribalBob
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 04:20:30 AM
 #1083

I managed to get the client sync'd again, by using the .msi, and ensuring the QT was run as Administrator (this was probably the problem before). I'm still getting the crashing when I try to run Gridcoin at the same time as Boinc, though.

I've triple checked the Boinc folders in gridcoin.conf, and ensured .NET is up to date (there was an update to run).

My gridcoin.conf below..

Quote
rpcuser=myrpcuser
rpcpassword=myrpcpassword
rpcallowip=127.0.0.1
rpcport=myport
server=1
poolmining=false
restartwallet=0
addnode=98.114.181.178
addnode=76.187.184.27
addnode=66.187.94.194
addnode=76.74.177.224
addnode=84.125.196.167
addnode=71.233.139.62
addnode=72.92.48.105
addnode=72.208.65.226
addnode=77.64.220.124
addnode=50.152.78.46
addnode=207.229.136.136
boincappfolder=C:\Program Files (x86)\BOINC
boincdatafolder=E:\ProgramData\BOINC

Any other ideas you may have would be greatly appreciated.

Should the boinc folders have a trailing slash or not? Have tried with both so that's not the issue, but just want to ensure I've got that right.

I believe traderman's comment above is correct. I believe Gridcoin and the BOINC folders all need to be on the same drive...



                                         ▄
                 ▄▄████████▄▄         ▄▄██
 ▄▄           ▄██▀▀        ▀▀██▄    ▄███▀
 ▀███▄▄     ▄█▀                ▀█▄▄█████▀
  ▀██████▄▄█▀                ▄▄███████▀
   ▐█████████▄           ▄▄███████████
     ▀█████████▄▄      ▄█████████████
       ▀██████████    ███████████████
        ▐▀█████████  █████████████▀ ▐▌
        ▐▌ ▀▀██████ ▐███████████▀   ▐▌
        ▐▌      ▀██ ▐█████████▀     ▐▌
         █        ▀  ██████         █
         ▐█          ▐█████▄       █▌
          ▀█▄         ▀██████▄   ▄█▀
            ▀█▄         ▀█████▌▄█▀
              ▀██▄▄       ▀▄▄██▀
                ▀▀████████▀▀
T
.ANGEL TOKEN.
[]

                                         ▄
                 ▄▄████████▄▄         ▄▄██
 ▄▄           ▄██▀▀        ▀▀██▄    ▄█▀█▀
 ▀█▀█▄▄     ▄█▀                ▀█▄▄█  ▄█▀
  ▀█  ▀▀█▄▄█▀                ▄▄██░   █▀
   ▐▄▄  ░░░▀█▄           ▄▄█▀▀░░░   ▄█
     ▀█▄ ░░░▒▒█▄▄      ▄██▒▒▒▒▒░    █
       ▀▄▄ ░░▒▒▒▓█    ██▒▒▒▒▒▒░   ▄▄█
        ▐▀█▄░░▒▒▓██  █▓▒▒▒▒▒▒░  ▄█▀ ▐▌
        ▐▌ ▀▀█▒▓███░▐█▓▒▒▒▒░░ ▄█▀   ▐▌
        ▐▌      ▀██ ▐█▓▓▒▒▄▄▄█▀     ▐▌
         █        ▀  █▓█▀▀█         █
         ▐█          ▐▄▓░ █▄       █▌
          ▀█▄         ▀█▒░ ▀█▄   ▄█▀
            ▀█▄         ▀█▄▄▄█▌▄█▀
              ▀██▄▄       ▀▄▄██▀
                 ▀▀████████▀▀
asdlolciterquit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588



View Profile
January 08, 2014, 09:44:07 AM
 #1084

if i see something like that on my cgminer (i use an external istance of cgminer), is it correct?

No suitable long-poll found for http://127.0.0.1:9332
network diff set to 2
new block detected on network
network diff set to 2
new block detected on network

and so on...

Yes, that is the correct output, later versions of cgminer have a slightly different output format than the earlier versions which is why it doesn't look "familiar" if you were using an earlier version of cgminer before...

thanks!

.SPECTRE.                ▄▄███▄▄
            ▄▄███▀▀▀▀▀███▄▄
▄▄      ▄▄███▀▀ ▄▄███▄▄ ▀▀███▄▄      ▄▄
████▄▄  ▀▀▀ ▄▄███████████▄▄ ▀▀▀  ▄▄████
  ▀▀████▄    ▀▀█████████▀▀    ▄████▀▀
 ██▄▄ ▀██ █▄▄    ▀▀▀▀▀    ▄▄█ ██▀ ▄▄██
 ▀▀███ ██ █████▄       ▄█████ ██ ███▀▀
      ██ ███████▄   ▄███████ ██
       ██ ████████   ████████ ██
       ██▄▄ ▀▀████   ████▀▀ ▄▄██
        ▀▀███▄▄ ▀▀   ▀▀ ▄▄███▀▀
            ▀▀███▄▄▄▄▄███▀▀
                ▀▀███▀▀
             │
     │      ███
     │      ███
    │     ███
███  │     ███
███ ███ ███ ███
███ ███ ███ ███
███ ███ ███ ███
███ ███ ███ ███
███ ███     │
███ ███     │
    │
 
▬▬     WHITEPAPER    ▬▬
FACEBOOK     TELEGRAM
TWITTER     SLACK     MEDIUM
.
PRE-SALE.
PUBLIC SALE.
hamiltino
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


P2P The Planet!


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 11:58:20 AM
 #1085

Is it normal to have gridcoin mining with a lower hashrate than other scrypt coins? Because it is significantly lower for me. 

This is when im using the gridcoin mining module.

Running cgminer seperatly works better but i dont know if it counts??

stacking coin
hamiltino
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


P2P The Planet!


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 01:07:24 PM
 #1086

fixed i changed the gpu threads.

stacking coin
hamiltino
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


P2P The Planet!


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 02:32:05 PM
 #1087

Another question. Do i have to check the box "Use GPU while computer in use" in the BOINC manager? Or does the mining module on the qt client do all the work?

stacking coin
TribalBob
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 02:47:08 PM
 #1088

Another question. Do i have to check the box "Use GPU while computer in use" in the BOINC manager? Or does the mining module on the qt client do all the work?

You do not want to have the box for "Use GPU While Computer is in Use" checked. The way Gridcoin works is you dedicate your CPU cycles to BOINC and you mine Gridcoins with your GPU.

Gridcoin also has it's own version of cpu mining which should be re-implemented soon (hopefully). When cpu mining is brought back you will be able to fill in some information on your projects console and you will be rewarded additional GRC based on the amount of work your cpu does for BOINC.



                                         ▄
                 ▄▄████████▄▄         ▄▄██
 ▄▄           ▄██▀▀        ▀▀██▄    ▄███▀
 ▀███▄▄     ▄█▀                ▀█▄▄█████▀
  ▀██████▄▄█▀                ▄▄███████▀
   ▐█████████▄           ▄▄███████████
     ▀█████████▄▄      ▄█████████████
       ▀██████████    ███████████████
        ▐▀█████████  █████████████▀ ▐▌
        ▐▌ ▀▀██████ ▐███████████▀   ▐▌
        ▐▌      ▀██ ▐█████████▀     ▐▌
         █        ▀  ██████         █
         ▐█          ▐█████▄       █▌
          ▀█▄         ▀██████▄   ▄█▀
            ▀█▄         ▀█████▌▄█▀
              ▀██▄▄       ▀▄▄██▀
                ▀▀████████▀▀
T
.ANGEL TOKEN.
[]

                                         ▄
                 ▄▄████████▄▄         ▄▄██
 ▄▄           ▄██▀▀        ▀▀██▄    ▄█▀█▀
 ▀█▀█▄▄     ▄█▀                ▀█▄▄█  ▄█▀
  ▀█  ▀▀█▄▄█▀                ▄▄██░   █▀
   ▐▄▄  ░░░▀█▄           ▄▄█▀▀░░░   ▄█
     ▀█▄ ░░░▒▒█▄▄      ▄██▒▒▒▒▒░    █
       ▀▄▄ ░░▒▒▒▓█    ██▒▒▒▒▒▒░   ▄▄█
        ▐▀█▄░░▒▒▓██  █▓▒▒▒▒▒▒░  ▄█▀ ▐▌
        ▐▌ ▀▀█▒▓███░▐█▓▒▒▒▒░░ ▄█▀   ▐▌
        ▐▌      ▀██ ▐█▓▓▒▒▄▄▄█▀     ▐▌
         █        ▀  █▓█▀▀█         █
         ▐█          ▐▄▓░ █▄       █▌
          ▀█▄         ▀█▒░ ▀█▄   ▄█▀
            ▀█▄         ▀█▄▄▄█▌▄█▀
              ▀██▄▄       ▀▄▄██▀
                 ▀▀████████▀▀
sixteendigits
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 03:02:00 PM
 #1089

WTF?!?!?  I fell out of sync with the block chain so I started rebuilding it, and now all of a sudden the ~6K GRC I had in that wallet is gone.  I did a -reindex and it didn't help.  I went to my roaming/appdata directory to see if my wallet was missing or something and now I have a wallet.(longstringofnumbers).bak file and a wallet.dat file.  What is that .bak file?  Never seen that before.
sixteendigits
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 03:04:15 PM
 #1090

WTF?!?!?  I fell out of sync with the block chain so I started rebuilding it, and now all of a sudden the ~6K GRC I had in that wallet is gone.  I did a -reindex and it didn't help.  I went to my roaming/appdata directory to see if my wallet was missing or something and now I have a wallet.(longstringofnumbers).bak file and a wallet.dat file.  What is that .bak file?  Never seen that before.

And why is the .bak file all of a sudden 960kb, about the size my wallet.dat used to be, and now my wallet.dat is 80kb?
traderman
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile
January 08, 2014, 03:06:36 PM
 #1091

When did you fall out of sync? and when was the 6k mined?

WTF?!?!?  I fell out of sync with the block chain so I started rebuilding it, and now all of a sudden the ~6K GRC I had in that wallet is gone.  I did a -reindex and it didn't help.  I went to my roaming/appdata directory to see if my wallet was missing or something and now I have a wallet.(longstringofnumbers).bak file and a wallet.dat file.  What is that .bak file?  Never seen that before.

And why is the .bak file all of a sudden 960kb, about the size my wallet.dat used to be, and now my wallet.dat is 80kb?
sixteendigits
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 03:11:17 PM
 #1092

I fall out of sync 1-2 times a day, that 6K was mined over the last 36-48 hrs or so, I was periodically checking the block explorer and rebuilding the block chain as needed, so I know I wasn't forked for 2 days or something.
TribalBob
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 03:12:17 PM
 #1093

WTF?!?!?  I fell out of sync with the block chain so I started rebuilding it, and now all of a sudden the ~6K GRC I had in that wallet is gone.  I did a -reindex and it didn't help.  I went to my roaming/appdata directory to see if my wallet was missing or something and now I have a wallet.(longstringofnumbers).bak file and a wallet.dat file.  What is that .bak file?  Never seen that before.

.bak is a backup file, the long string of numbers is an epoch (unix) timestamp.

Likely your old wallet was corrupted and a new wallet.dat was created and your corrupted wallet was moved to a .bak file.

It sounds like you hit a hard fork of the blockchain (likely you lost connection to the internet and you have more than wallet so you you were mining on your own personal network) then when you regained internet connection the wallet realized it was out of sync with the main blockchain.

There should be a way to restore your old wallet from the .bak file but I don't have any personal experience with this so i can't give you the details, but even if you restore the wallet I wouldn't count on your coins being there because it really sounds like you hit a hard fork.

***Edit***
Just saw your post above mine, I hadn't realized this was over a two day period, I assumed it was something that had happened overnight. My apologies. If you weren't forked for the past few days and you can get your wallet restored then your coins should be there.



                                         ▄
                 ▄▄████████▄▄         ▄▄██
 ▄▄           ▄██▀▀        ▀▀██▄    ▄███▀
 ▀███▄▄     ▄█▀                ▀█▄▄█████▀
  ▀██████▄▄█▀                ▄▄███████▀
   ▐█████████▄           ▄▄███████████
     ▀█████████▄▄      ▄█████████████
       ▀██████████    ███████████████
        ▐▀█████████  █████████████▀ ▐▌
        ▐▌ ▀▀██████ ▐███████████▀   ▐▌
        ▐▌      ▀██ ▐█████████▀     ▐▌
         █        ▀  ██████         █
         ▐█          ▐█████▄       █▌
          ▀█▄         ▀██████▄   ▄█▀
            ▀█▄         ▀█████▌▄█▀
              ▀██▄▄       ▀▄▄██▀
                ▀▀████████▀▀
T
.ANGEL TOKEN.
[]

                                         ▄
                 ▄▄████████▄▄         ▄▄██
 ▄▄           ▄██▀▀        ▀▀██▄    ▄█▀█▀
 ▀█▀█▄▄     ▄█▀                ▀█▄▄█  ▄█▀
  ▀█  ▀▀█▄▄█▀                ▄▄██░   █▀
   ▐▄▄  ░░░▀█▄           ▄▄█▀▀░░░   ▄█
     ▀█▄ ░░░▒▒█▄▄      ▄██▒▒▒▒▒░    █
       ▀▄▄ ░░▒▒▒▓█    ██▒▒▒▒▒▒░   ▄▄█
        ▐▀█▄░░▒▒▓██  █▓▒▒▒▒▒▒░  ▄█▀ ▐▌
        ▐▌ ▀▀█▒▓███░▐█▓▒▒▒▒░░ ▄█▀   ▐▌
        ▐▌      ▀██ ▐█▓▓▒▒▄▄▄█▀     ▐▌
         █        ▀  █▓█▀▀█         █
         ▐█          ▐▄▓░ █▄       █▌
          ▀█▄         ▀█▒░ ▀█▄   ▄█▀
            ▀█▄         ▀█▄▄▄█▌▄█▀
              ▀██▄▄       ▀▄▄██▀
                 ▀▀████████▀▀
traderman
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile
January 08, 2014, 03:14:38 PM
 #1094

Do you have any backups of your wallet files? I backup once per month.

I had the same thing happen to me once, when I used my backup everything re synched and was back to normal.

Btw what is your hasing speed? over the last 36-48 hours.

I fall out of sync 1-2 times a day, that 6K was mined over the last 36-48 hrs or so, I was periodically checking the block explorer and rebuilding the block chain as needed, so I know I wasn't forked for 2 days or something.
sixteendigits
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 03:18:12 PM
 #1095

WTF?!?!?  I fell out of sync with the block chain so I started rebuilding it, and now all of a sudden the ~6K GRC I had in that wallet is gone.  I did a -reindex and it didn't help.  I went to my roaming/appdata directory to see if my wallet was missing or something and now I have a wallet.(longstringofnumbers).bak file and a wallet.dat file.  What is that .bak file?  Never seen that before.

.bak is a backup file, the long string of numbers is an epoch (unix) timestamp.

Likely your old wallet was corrupted and a new wallet.dat was created and your corrupted wallet was moved to a .bak file.

It sounds like you hit a hard fork of the blockchain (likely you lost connection to the internet and you have more than wallet so you you were mining on your own personal network) then when you regained internet connection the wallet realized it was out of sync with the main blockchain.

There should be a way to restore your old wallet from the .bak file but I don't have any personal experience with this so i can't give you the details, but even if you restore the wallet I wouldn't count on your coins being there because it really sounds like you hit a hard fork.

Yeah, but I shutdown gridcoin and rebuilt the block chain multiple times over the past few days.  Was I continually mining on a forked chain for days?  And like I said I was checking the block explorer to be sure I was synced.  If that is the case I can't be the only one who found themselves on the forked chain, and apparently the block explorer was following it on and off as well.
TribalBob
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 03:20:00 PM
 #1096

I fall out of sync 1-2 times a day, that 6K was mined over the last 36-48 hrs or so, I was periodically checking the block explorer and rebuilding the block chain as needed, so I know I wasn't forked for 2 days or something.

You can have the wallet do what you are doing automatically at a set interval by setting "restartwallet=" in your gridcoin.conf

Setting the interval with that flag will shut-down the gridcoin client, restart the wallet and re-build the blockchain, just be sure to also set "closemineronexit=false".



                                         ▄
                 ▄▄████████▄▄         ▄▄██
 ▄▄           ▄██▀▀        ▀▀██▄    ▄███▀
 ▀███▄▄     ▄█▀                ▀█▄▄█████▀
  ▀██████▄▄█▀                ▄▄███████▀
   ▐█████████▄           ▄▄███████████
     ▀█████████▄▄      ▄█████████████
       ▀██████████    ███████████████
        ▐▀█████████  █████████████▀ ▐▌
        ▐▌ ▀▀██████ ▐███████████▀   ▐▌
        ▐▌      ▀██ ▐█████████▀     ▐▌
         █        ▀  ██████         █
         ▐█          ▐█████▄       █▌
          ▀█▄         ▀██████▄   ▄█▀
            ▀█▄         ▀█████▌▄█▀
              ▀██▄▄       ▀▄▄██▀
                ▀▀████████▀▀
T
.ANGEL TOKEN.
[]

                                         ▄
                 ▄▄████████▄▄         ▄▄██
 ▄▄           ▄██▀▀        ▀▀██▄    ▄█▀█▀
 ▀█▀█▄▄     ▄█▀                ▀█▄▄█  ▄█▀
  ▀█  ▀▀█▄▄█▀                ▄▄██░   █▀
   ▐▄▄  ░░░▀█▄           ▄▄█▀▀░░░   ▄█
     ▀█▄ ░░░▒▒█▄▄      ▄██▒▒▒▒▒░    █
       ▀▄▄ ░░▒▒▒▓█    ██▒▒▒▒▒▒░   ▄▄█
        ▐▀█▄░░▒▒▓██  █▓▒▒▒▒▒▒░  ▄█▀ ▐▌
        ▐▌ ▀▀█▒▓███░▐█▓▒▒▒▒░░ ▄█▀   ▐▌
        ▐▌      ▀██ ▐█▓▓▒▒▄▄▄█▀     ▐▌
         █        ▀  █▓█▀▀█         █
         ▐█          ▐▄▓░ █▄       █▌
          ▀█▄         ▀█▒░ ▀█▄   ▄█▀
            ▀█▄         ▀█▄▄▄█▌▄█▀
              ▀██▄▄       ▀▄▄██▀
                 ▀▀████████▀▀
sixteendigits
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 03:20:15 PM
 #1097

Do you have any backups of your wallet files? I backup once per month.

I had the same thing happen to me once, when I used my backup everything re synched and was back to normal.

Btw what is your hasing speed? over the last 36-48 hours.

I fall out of sync 1-2 times a day, that 6K was mined over the last 36-48 hrs or so, I was periodically checking the block explorer and rebuilding the block chain as needed, so I know I wasn't forked for 2 days or something.

Hashing speed was around 2400Khs.  I do have a backup from a few days ago.  This is something I SHOULD know by now, but I have never dealt with it before, is it okay to use a wallet backup from before I mined those blocks?
TribalBob
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 03:24:33 PM
 #1098

WTF?!?!?  I fell out of sync with the block chain so I started rebuilding it, and now all of a sudden the ~6K GRC I had in that wallet is gone.  I did a -reindex and it didn't help.  I went to my roaming/appdata directory to see if my wallet was missing or something and now I have a wallet.(longstringofnumbers).bak file and a wallet.dat file.  What is that .bak file?  Never seen that before.

.bak is a backup file, the long string of numbers is an epoch (unix) timestamp.

Likely your old wallet was corrupted and a new wallet.dat was created and your corrupted wallet was moved to a .bak file.

It sounds like you hit a hard fork of the blockchain (likely you lost connection to the internet and you have more than wallet so you you were mining on your own personal network) then when you regained internet connection the wallet realized it was out of sync with the main blockchain.

There should be a way to restore your old wallet from the .bak file but I don't have any personal experience with this so i can't give you the details, but even if you restore the wallet I wouldn't count on your coins being there because it really sounds like you hit a hard fork.

Yeah, but I shutdown gridcoin and rebuilt the block chain multiple times over the past few days.  Was I continually mining on a forked chain for days?  And like I said I was checking the block explorer to be sure I was synced.  If that is the case I can't be the only one who found themselves on the forked chain, and apparently the block explorer was following it on and off as well.

Yeah, sorry I hadn't seen the post where you said that when i typed that, I edited my OP as such...

If you were on the correct block-chain then you should be able to restore your wallet from the .bak file but I am not certain how to do so since I have no personal experience. I would assume it is probably as simple as opening a CMD, navigating to Program Files (x86)\Gridcoin and running "gridcoin-qt.exe -restorewallet timestamp.bak" or something along those lines.



                                         ▄
                 ▄▄████████▄▄         ▄▄██
 ▄▄           ▄██▀▀        ▀▀██▄    ▄███▀
 ▀███▄▄     ▄█▀                ▀█▄▄█████▀
  ▀██████▄▄█▀                ▄▄███████▀
   ▐█████████▄           ▄▄███████████
     ▀█████████▄▄      ▄█████████████
       ▀██████████    ███████████████
        ▐▀█████████  █████████████▀ ▐▌
        ▐▌ ▀▀██████ ▐███████████▀   ▐▌
        ▐▌      ▀██ ▐█████████▀     ▐▌
         █        ▀  ██████         █
         ▐█          ▐█████▄       █▌
          ▀█▄         ▀██████▄   ▄█▀
            ▀█▄         ▀█████▌▄█▀
              ▀██▄▄       ▀▄▄██▀
                ▀▀████████▀▀
T
.ANGEL TOKEN.
[]

                                         ▄
                 ▄▄████████▄▄         ▄▄██
 ▄▄           ▄██▀▀        ▀▀██▄    ▄█▀█▀
 ▀█▀█▄▄     ▄█▀                ▀█▄▄█  ▄█▀
  ▀█  ▀▀█▄▄█▀                ▄▄██░   █▀
   ▐▄▄  ░░░▀█▄           ▄▄█▀▀░░░   ▄█
     ▀█▄ ░░░▒▒█▄▄      ▄██▒▒▒▒▒░    █
       ▀▄▄ ░░▒▒▒▓█    ██▒▒▒▒▒▒░   ▄▄█
        ▐▀█▄░░▒▒▓██  █▓▒▒▒▒▒▒░  ▄█▀ ▐▌
        ▐▌ ▀▀█▒▓███░▐█▓▒▒▒▒░░ ▄█▀   ▐▌
        ▐▌      ▀██ ▐█▓▓▒▒▄▄▄█▀     ▐▌
         █        ▀  █▓█▀▀█         █
         ▐█          ▐▄▓░ █▄       █▌
          ▀█▄         ▀█▒░ ▀█▄   ▄█▀
            ▀█▄         ▀█▄▄▄█▌▄█▀
              ▀██▄▄       ▀▄▄██▀
                 ▀▀████████▀▀
TribalBob
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 03:25:42 PM
 #1099

Do you have any backups of your wallet files? I backup once per month.

I had the same thing happen to me once, when I used my backup everything re synched and was back to normal.

Btw what is your hasing speed? over the last 36-48 hours.

I fall out of sync 1-2 times a day, that 6K was mined over the last 36-48 hrs or so, I was periodically checking the block explorer and rebuilding the block chain as needed, so I know I wasn't forked for 2 days or something.

Hashing speed was around 2400Khs.  I do have a backup from a few days ago.  This is something I SHOULD know by now, but I have never dealt with it before, is it okay to use a wallet backup from before I mined those blocks?

Absolutely, in fact it would be preferable to using the one that might be corrupted.



                                         ▄
                 ▄▄████████▄▄         ▄▄██
 ▄▄           ▄██▀▀        ▀▀██▄    ▄███▀
 ▀███▄▄     ▄█▀                ▀█▄▄█████▀
  ▀██████▄▄█▀                ▄▄███████▀
   ▐█████████▄           ▄▄███████████
     ▀█████████▄▄      ▄█████████████
       ▀██████████    ███████████████
        ▐▀█████████  █████████████▀ ▐▌
        ▐▌ ▀▀██████ ▐███████████▀   ▐▌
        ▐▌      ▀██ ▐█████████▀     ▐▌
         █        ▀  ██████         █
         ▐█          ▐█████▄       █▌
          ▀█▄         ▀██████▄   ▄█▀
            ▀█▄         ▀█████▌▄█▀
              ▀██▄▄       ▀▄▄██▀
                ▀▀████████▀▀
T
.ANGEL TOKEN.
[]

                                         ▄
                 ▄▄████████▄▄         ▄▄██
 ▄▄           ▄██▀▀        ▀▀██▄    ▄█▀█▀
 ▀█▀█▄▄     ▄█▀                ▀█▄▄█  ▄█▀
  ▀█  ▀▀█▄▄█▀                ▄▄██░   █▀
   ▐▄▄  ░░░▀█▄           ▄▄█▀▀░░░   ▄█
     ▀█▄ ░░░▒▒█▄▄      ▄██▒▒▒▒▒░    █
       ▀▄▄ ░░▒▒▒▓█    ██▒▒▒▒▒▒░   ▄▄█
        ▐▀█▄░░▒▒▓██  █▓▒▒▒▒▒▒░  ▄█▀ ▐▌
        ▐▌ ▀▀█▒▓███░▐█▓▒▒▒▒░░ ▄█▀   ▐▌
        ▐▌      ▀██ ▐█▓▓▒▒▄▄▄█▀     ▐▌
         █        ▀  █▓█▀▀█         █
         ▐█          ▐▄▓░ █▄       █▌
          ▀█▄         ▀█▒░ ▀█▄   ▄█▀
            ▀█▄         ▀█▄▄▄█▌▄█▀
              ▀██▄▄       ▀▄▄██▀
                 ▀▀████████▀▀
traderman
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile
January 08, 2014, 03:26:09 PM
 #1100

Use the backup and rebuild the blockchain from the start and see what happens.

Do you have any backups of your wallet files? I backup once per month.

I had the same thing happen to me once, when I used my backup everything re synched and was back to normal.

Btw what is your hasing speed? over the last 36-48 hours.

I fall out of sync 1-2 times a day, that 6K was mined over the last 36-48 hrs or so, I was periodically checking the block explorer and rebuilding the block chain as needed, so I know I wasn't forked for 2 days or something.
Yes use your backup and rebuild the blockchain from the start and see what happens.


Hashing speed was around 2400Khs.  I do have a backup from a few days ago.  This is something I SHOULD know by now, but I have never dealt with it before, is it okay to use a wallet backup from before I mined those blocks?
Pages: « 1 ... 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 [55] 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 ... 275 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!