Bitcoin Forum
November 20, 2017, 11:49:44 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 [28] 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 ... 275 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Gridcoin (GRC) - first coin utilizing BOINC - Official Thread  (Read 553429 times)
Inrideo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 130


View Profile
December 12, 2013, 05:49:08 PM
 #541

Will pools need to be specialized for Gridcoin/BOINC?
I think I'm going to do some research into pool operation Smiley

Gridcoin :: GGEijprFRgB8LFVDLbdKQK9CcysFXAXRop
1511221784
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511221784

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511221784
Reply with quote  #2

1511221784
Report to moderator
1511221784
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511221784

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511221784
Reply with quote  #2

1511221784
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
A L I E N
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


Better now than never.


View Profile
December 12, 2013, 05:55:06 PM
 #542

Ok somebody really needs to explain this now http://i.imgur.com/MvzQyVH.png

The image clearly shows that I had recieved a block (which was my 2nd block) at a certain timestamp in the guiminer, however the transaction just disappeared after that from the wallet (after initiallty appearing in the transactions)!!

Is this a security bug or something ?

Make sure you are on the same last block as the block explorer: http://explorer.gridcoin.us/
Also make sure you have the latest wallet/client from gridcoin.us (use the QT-beta download on the lower right) here: www.gridcoin.us/download/gridcoin-beta.msi

A L I E N
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


Better now than never.


View Profile
December 12, 2013, 05:56:57 PM
 #543

Will pools need to be specialized for Gridcoin/BOINC?
I think I'm going to do some research into pool operation Smiley


Yes, there is a native pool available by setting poolmining=true in the gridcoin.conf (I have not used it myself)

powdabam
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52


View Profile
December 12, 2013, 06:20:15 PM
 #544

Couldn't Bitcoin just implement Boinc?
A L I E N
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


Better now than never.


View Profile
December 12, 2013, 06:31:08 PM
 #545

Couldn't Bitcoin just implement Boinc?

Well for one the Sha256 algorithm is maintained by a massive network of ASIC.   These specialized miners would be unable to participate in BOINC research and they do not have an onboard cpu that could participate either.  That's why scrypt was chosen since almost all scrypt mining rigs (not FPGAs) have both gpus and cpus that could be used for hashing and Boinc research in tandem.

thenoblebot
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294


View Profile
December 12, 2013, 06:31:48 PM
 #546

Ok somebody really needs to explain this now http://i.imgur.com/MvzQyVH.png

The image clearly shows that I had recieved a block (which was my 2nd block) at a certain timestamp in the guiminer, however the transaction just disappeared after that from the wallet (after initiallty appearing in the transactions)!!

Is this a security bug or something ?

Make sure you are on the same last block as the block explorer: http://explorer.gridcoin.us/
Also make sure you have the latest wallet/client from gridcoin.us (use the QT-beta download on the lower right) here: www.gridcoin.us/download/gridcoin-beta.msi



I am on the latest block and even mined a block after that (hopefully that doesnt disappear). Cant understand why it happened.

Can anyone explain ? Or else this could possibly be a major flaw ?
A L I E N
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


Better now than never.


View Profile
December 12, 2013, 06:33:36 PM
 #547

Ok somebody really needs to explain this now http://i.imgur.com/MvzQyVH.png

The image clearly shows that I had recieved a block (which was my 2nd block) at a certain timestamp in the guiminer, however the transaction just disappeared after that from the wallet (after initiallty appearing in the transactions)!!

Is this a security bug or something ?

Make sure you are on the same last block as the block explorer: http://explorer.gridcoin.us/
Also make sure you have the latest wallet/client from gridcoin.us (use the QT-beta download on the lower right) here: www.gridcoin.us/download/gridcoin-beta.msi



I am on the latest block and even mined a block after that (hopefully that doesnt disappear). Cant understand why it happened.

Can anyone explain ? Or else this could possibly be a major flaw ?

Does your mining console say Version:33?

thenoblebot
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294


View Profile
December 12, 2013, 06:37:42 PM
 #548

Does your mining console say Version:33?

Yes it does. Somebody really needs to check this.
A L I E N
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


Better now than never.


View Profile
December 12, 2013, 06:42:04 PM
 #549

Does your mining console say Version:33?

Yes it does.

It was most likely an orphan which happens occasionally when solo-ming.  This is when someone solves the block on the network just before you do. Your wallet shows you mined the block but once it is check with the network it is invalidated and shows up as a "?" and usually disappears once you restart you wallet or reindex to the blockchain.  Have you tried the internal pool yet? (setting poolmining=true in your config)

thenoblebot
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294


View Profile
December 12, 2013, 06:46:47 PM
 #550

It was most likely an orphan which happens occasionally when solo-ming.  This is when someone solves the block on the network just before you do. Your wallet shows you mined the block but once it is check with the network it is invalidated and shows up as a "?" and usually disappears once you restart you wallet or reindex to the blockchain.  Have you tried the internal pool yet? (setting poolmining=true in your config)

No I have not. Is the payout proportional to the hashrate or something ? And any more settings besides poolmining=true to be set ?
I was under the impression its only solo mining.
A L I E N
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


Better now than never.


View Profile
December 12, 2013, 06:56:26 PM
 #551

It was most likely an orphan which happens occasionally when solo-ming.  This is when someone solves the block on the network just before you do. Your wallet shows you mined the block but once it is check with the network it is invalidated and shows up as a "?" and usually disappears once you restart you wallet or reindex to the blockchain.  Have you tried the internal pool yet? (setting poolmining=true in your config)

No I have not. Is the payout proportional to the hashrate or something ? And any more settings besides poolmining=true to be set ?
I was under the impression its only solo mining.

https://cryptocointalk.com/topic/1995-pooled-mining/?p=15597


thenoblebot
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294


View Profile
December 12, 2013, 07:02:15 PM
 #552

It was most likely an orphan which happens occasionally when solo-ming.  This is when someone solves the block on the network just before you do. Your wallet shows you mined the block but once it is check with the network it is invalidated and shows up as a "?" and usually disappears once you restart you wallet or reindex to the blockchain.  Have you tried the internal pool yet? (setting poolmining=true in your config)

No I have not. Is the payout proportional to the hashrate or something ? And any more settings besides poolmining=true to be set ?
I was under the impression its only solo mining.

https://cryptocointalk.com/topic/1995-pooled-mining/?p=15597



Thanks for that .. will wait and watch Smiley
traderman
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile
December 12, 2013, 09:39:34 PM
 #553

Does anyone here need any paypal? i need btc or ltc.
Jcsarokin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
December 12, 2013, 10:45:48 PM
 #554

Is there an easy way to purchase Gridcoin at the moment? A thread for buying / selling perhaps?

I also have BOINC open on one of my computers from the XRP giveaway, how many Gridcoin can be mined per day on an average machine?

Love the concept - would like to get involved soon Smiley

- J

traderman
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile
December 12, 2013, 10:47:10 PM
 #555

What kind of graphics card do you have?

Is there an easy way to purchase Gridcoin at the moment? A thread for buying / selling perhaps?

I also have BOINC open on one of my computers from the XRP giveaway, how many Gridcoin can be mined per day on an average machine?




Love the concept - would like to get involved soon Smiley

- J


Inrideo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 130


View Profile
December 13, 2013, 12:35:34 AM
 #556

Alien, I know about that Tongue

I mean when the coin takes off even more and we see the trend towards independent pools turning up.

Will pools need to be specialized for Gridcoin/BOINC?
I think I'm going to do some research into pool operation Smiley


Yes, there is a native pool available by setting poolmining=true in the gridcoin.conf (I have not used it myself)

Gridcoin :: GGEijprFRgB8LFVDLbdKQK9CcysFXAXRop
A L I E N
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


Better now than never.


View Profile
December 13, 2013, 01:40:07 AM
 #557

Alien, I know about that Tongue

I mean when the coin takes off even more and we see the trend towards independent pools turning up.

Will pools need to be specialized for Gridcoin/BOINC?
I think I'm going to do some research into pool operation Smiley


Yes, there is a native pool available by setting poolmining=true in the gridcoin.conf (I have not used it myself)

Yeah, I'm sure it would have to be a lot more sophisticated than a typical pool.  Hopefully he will chime in with his predictions on the future pools..

traderman
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile
December 13, 2013, 04:16:07 PM
 #558

You can still setup a traditional pool, it will be without the Boinc subsidy however.

Alien, I know about that Tongue

I mean when the coin takes off even more and we see the trend towards independent pools turning up.

Will pools need to be specialized for Gridcoin/BOINC?
I think I'm going to do some research into pool operation Smiley

I think if the cpu mining thing works good, that would be great. You can still mine in a traditional pool just without the Boinc subsidy.


Yes, there is a native pool available by setting poolmining=true in the gridcoin.conf (I have not used it myself)

Yeah, I'm sure it would have to be a lot more sophisticated than a typical pool.  Hopefully he will chime in with his predictions on the future pools..
TribalBob
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


View Profile
December 13, 2013, 04:37:04 PM
 #559

You can still setup a traditional pool, it will be without the Boinc subsidy however.

I'm not so sure about that.

I mentioned this earlier in the thread that when I was mining on my laptop, if I had BOINC running and an instance of pooler's cpuminer working through the loopback address, I was able to use my my gpu+cgminer from my desktop pc and was still earning BOINC subsidies when the gpu miner found a block.

I stopped though because I knew this was not how Gridcoin was intended to work.



                                         ▄
                 ▄▄████████▄▄         ▄▄██
 ▄▄           ▄██▀▀        ▀▀██▄    ▄███▀
 ▀███▄▄     ▄█▀                ▀█▄▄█████▀
  ▀██████▄▄█▀                ▄▄███████▀
   ▐█████████▄           ▄▄███████████
     ▀█████████▄▄      ▄█████████████
       ▀██████████    ███████████████
        ▐▀█████████  █████████████▀ ▐▌
        ▐▌ ▀▀██████ ▐███████████▀   ▐▌
        ▐▌      ▀██ ▐█████████▀     ▐▌
         █        ▀  ██████         █
         ▐█          ▐█████▄       █▌
          ▀█▄         ▀██████▄   ▄█▀
            ▀█▄         ▀█████▌▄█▀
              ▀██▄▄       ▀▄▄██▀
                ▀▀████████▀▀
T
.ANGEL TOKEN.
[]

                                         ▄
                 ▄▄████████▄▄         ▄▄██
 ▄▄           ▄██▀▀        ▀▀██▄    ▄█▀█▀
 ▀█▀█▄▄     ▄█▀                ▀█▄▄█  ▄█▀
  ▀█  ▀▀█▄▄█▀                ▄▄██░   █▀
   ▐▄▄  ░░░▀█▄           ▄▄█▀▀░░░   ▄█
     ▀█▄ ░░░▒▒█▄▄      ▄██▒▒▒▒▒░    █
       ▀▄▄ ░░▒▒▒▓█    ██▒▒▒▒▒▒░   ▄▄█
        ▐▀█▄░░▒▒▓██  █▓▒▒▒▒▒▒░  ▄█▀ ▐▌
        ▐▌ ▀▀█▒▓███░▐█▓▒▒▒▒░░ ▄█▀   ▐▌
        ▐▌      ▀██ ▐█▓▓▒▒▄▄▄█▀     ▐▌
         █        ▀  █▓█▀▀█         █
         ▐█          ▐▄▓░ █▄       █▌
          ▀█▄         ▀█▒░ ▀█▄   ▄█▀
            ▀█▄         ▀█▄▄▄█▌▄█▀
              ▀██▄▄       ▀▄▄██▀
                 ▀▀████████▀▀
thenoblebot
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294


View Profile
December 13, 2013, 05:35:46 PM
 #560

Ok my client seems to be stuck on block 30603 while synchronizing ... what do I do now ? (I already tried adding the nodes and also tried upgrade command (which fails) along with restarting the client ....... none seem to work)
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 [28] 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 ... 275 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!