Bitcoin Forum
September 25, 2017, 04:43:59 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 [45] 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 ... 269 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Gridcoin (GRC) - first coin utilizing BOINC - Official Thread  (Read 502959 times)
Ardolafat
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


Autonio token sale starts September 22


View Profile
December 28, 2013, 09:46:02 PM
 #881

It looks like we have a microdust flooding vulnerability, i can't see any fees hardcoded in gridcoin client.

Solution: https://github.com/bitcoin/bitcoin/pull/2577

|
  
 
░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░░░░███░░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░░░█████░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░░███████░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░█████████░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░███████████░░░░░░░
░░░░░░█▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀█░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░███░░░░░░░░░███░░░░
░░░█████░░░░░░░█████░░░
░░███████░░░░░███████░░
█████████░░░█████████
██████████████████████
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
AUTONIO
  
  
 
  
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀

WEBSITE / WHITEPAPER
TWITTER / FACEBOOK / ANN

▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀

|
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1506314639
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506314639

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506314639
Reply with quote  #2

1506314639
Report to moderator
Gridcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile WWW
December 29, 2013, 12:27:18 AM
 #882

New version available at http://www.gridcoin.us/download/gridcoin.msi
Release notes (1.1.4.9/6.4/49):

1. This version will need to be installed from the MSI; you will need to delete your program files (x86)\gridcoin directory before installing
   otherwise the installation will succeed and fail later.
2. We will be expanding the installer; however this release includes cgminer3.4 in cgminer.zip,
   a new query analyzer, and a new SQL server database.
3. An optional feature has been added for users who do not want any command line interfaces closed by gridcoin:
   Add the following key to your gridcoin.conf file: closeconhost=false
3b. More optional features: Set key closeguiminer=false to prevent guiminer from being closed (or closecgminer=false or closreaper=false).
    Note: Only add keys in step 3 or step 3b if your system requires it. 
4. We have removed the cgminer files since they show as a virus, now we zip up cgminer 3.4 - the master version is installed in the AppDir.
4b. OPTIONAL: If you would like to replace Gridcoin's cgminer version with your own version
   (Please see Con Colivas's downloads at :
       http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/
   )
   download the appropriate version and test it thoroughly (verify it supports scrypt also),
   then zip your version of cgminer
   as "cgminer.zip" and place it in your DataDir, and gridcoin will prefer that version when creating new instances in Mining | Configuration | GPU Miner Settings.
   Note: You should only include the EXE, kernel files (.cl files) and DLLs as we do in example file "cgminer.zip" (located in your gridcoin appdir).

5.  We Added scantime=7 to the cgminer create instance function,
   for quicker detection of new blocks when using cgminer.
6.  When adding a cgminer instance, gridcoin will unzip the cgminer.zip into the "cgminerX"
   instance directory and create the cgmX file.
7.  For our upcoming features related to 3rd party API checks, transaction confirms, CPU-only mining for boinc users,
   and scrypt_sleep, We decided to use SqlLite instead of MySql,
   due to packaging size considerations (MySQL is a 300 meg download
   and it requires the MySQL connector for each OS; we didnt want to add 306megs to the
   core program, and replicate that size to our future userbase of 25,000 machines Wink

   So far, SQL Lite has been solid; we tested the standard insert update delete and order by;
    devs- please test an inner join.
8.  Added the Gridcoin sql query analyzer (it's still in its infancy). 
   You may access it by clicking "SQL Query Analyzer" from the main page.
8a.  So far, we have only added a few test tables: System, Blocks, and Peers. To keep from using system resources
   we insert one gridcoin block into the database every 10 seconds.  The peers are loaded once every half an hour.
   To do a sample query from query analyzer:
   Select * from Blocks
   Etc.  Or other ansi-92 standard queries.
   Inserts/updates do work, but will not be stored in the database after you click close.
   Note: Gridcoin has a master lock on the database, so you only receive a snapshot of the
   database when inside query analyzer, (this is to protect from errors during inserts by gridcoin),
   you will have to close the query analyzer window and re-open it to see new blocks.
8b.  The Results pane contains a data grid of the data; eventually we will make it copy and paste into excel, etc.
8c.  Note: For speed, you can type a query and press F5 instead of execute Smiley
9.  TribalBob: Please let us know if 4.3 fixes the cgminer version problem that you experienced;
    and also let us know if this fixes the virus scanner test.

Good luck!

Rob Halford

Gridcoin: scientia humana libertas
k33k
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
December 29, 2013, 12:34:15 AM
 #883

Wow, quite a few improvements there! That's the sort of development I like to see for altcoins.

PPC: PK33KM7UfwRbf5MNufrp9ax6iqNPcwy1Wk | BTC: 14Tv2iSg135aszrGphjtk3qRAUYueajNqL
WDC: WWtbztaFgonfUPLJiR3SPa3JHvM9DUFkSY | Poor irl. Pls send halp.
TribalBob
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


Autonio token sale starts September 22


View Profile
December 29, 2013, 11:16:32 AM
 #884

New version available at http://www.gridcoin.us/download/gridcoin.msi
Release notes (1.1.4.9/6.4/49):

1. This version will need to be installed from the MSI; you will need to delete your program files (x86)\gridcoin directory before installing
   otherwise the installation will succeed and fail later.
2. We will be expanding the installer; however this release includes cgminer3.4 in cgminer.zip,
   a new query analyzer, and a new SQL server database.
3. An optional feature has been added for users who do not want any command line interfaces closed by gridcoin:
   Add the following key to your gridcoin.conf file: closeconhost=false
3b. More optional features: Set key closeguiminer=false to prevent guiminer from being closed (or closecgminer=false or closreaper=false).
    Note: Only add keys in step 3 or step 3b if your system requires it. 
4. We have removed the cgminer files since they show as a virus, now we zip up cgminer 3.4 - the master version is installed in the AppDir.
4b. OPTIONAL: If you would like to replace Gridcoin's cgminer version with your own version
   (Please see Con Colivas's downloads at :
       http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/
   )
   download the appropriate version and test it thoroughly (verify it supports scrypt also),
   then zip your version of cgminer
   as "cgminer.zip" and place it in your DataDir, and gridcoin will prefer that version when creating new instances in Mining | Configuration | GPU Miner Settings.
   Note: You should only include the EXE, kernel files (.cl files) and DLLs as we do in example file "cgminer.zip" (located in your gridcoin appdir).

5.  We Added scantime=7 to the cgminer create instance function,
   for quicker detection of new blocks when using cgminer.
6.  When adding a cgminer instance, gridcoin will unzip the cgminer.zip into the "cgminerX"
   instance directory and create the cgmX file.
7.  For our upcoming features related to 3rd party API checks, transaction confirms, CPU-only mining for boinc users,
   and scrypt_sleep, We decided to use SqlLite instead of MySql,
   due to packaging size considerations (MySQL is a 300 meg download
   and it requires the MySQL connector for each OS; we didnt want to add 306megs to the
   core program, and replicate that size to our future userbase of 25,000 machines Wink

   So far, SQL Lite has been solid; we tested the standard insert update delete and order by;
    devs- please test an inner join.
8.  Added the Gridcoin sql query analyzer (it's still in its infancy). 
   You may access it by clicking "SQL Query Analyzer" from the main page.
8a.  So far, we have only added a few test tables: System, Blocks, and Peers. To keep from using system resources
   we insert one gridcoin block into the database every 10 seconds.  The peers are loaded once every half an hour.
   To do a sample query from query analyzer:
   Select * from Blocks
   Etc.  Or other ansi-92 standard queries.
   Inserts/updates do work, but will not be stored in the database after you click close.
   Note: Gridcoin has a master lock on the database, so you only receive a snapshot of the
   database when inside query analyzer, (this is to protect from errors during inserts by gridcoin),
   you will have to close the query analyzer window and re-open it to see new blocks.
8b.  The Results pane contains a data grid of the data; eventually we will make it copy and paste into excel, etc.
8c.  Note: For speed, you can type a query and press F5 instead of execute Smiley
9.  TribalBob: Please let us know if 4.3 fixes the cgminer version problem that you experienced;
    and also let us know if this fixes the virus scanner test.

Good luck!

Rob Halford


Hi Rob,

Chrome still marks the download as malicious because of the packaged miners, any miners will likely cause the download to be flagged...

I will test with the packaged cgminer today when I get the chance and will let you know how it goes!

|
   
 
░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░░░░███░░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░░░█████░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░░███████░░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░█████████░░░░░░░░
░░░░░░░███████████░░░░░░░
░░░░░░█▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀█░░░░░░
░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░
░░░░███░░░░░░░░░███░░░░
░░░█████░░░░░░░█████░░░
░░███████░░░░░███████░░
█████████░░░█████████
██████████████████████
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
AUTONIO
   
   
 
   
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀

WEBSITE / WHITEPAPER
TWITTER / FACEBOOK / ANN

▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀

|
asdlolciterquit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546

12hZnyXAJum8N1RTbs7AMr2NNE8Vr4FFcN


View Profile WWW
December 29, 2013, 11:42:31 AM
 #885

@TribalBob: thx man for the suggestion, but nothing change Sad


With the new scheme I think it has to be showing around 50-60 under full load and the other half comes from the averages over time. That is my understanding of it.

thanks! a little step forward.

Now, cgminer works fine, but i have boinc utilizzation 66% when it would be 100% and, also, i see no hashrate on cgminer API in Grindcoin mining module.

I red the posts before, and i've already tried to write lodctr /r from an elevated prompt, and restart gridcoin-qt, but nothing changed.

I'm missing something...but what?

edit: my boinc thread counter is 4, and that's correct, and my boinc avg daily credits is 339...

Are you running Gridcoin as admin?

do you mean gridcoin-qt.exe? no.., but now i try running it as admin but nothing change Sad
same exactly values i had before Sad

do i need to run as admin aslo cgminer?

You don't need to run cgminer as admin but you do need to run gridcoin-qt.exe as admin.

All your BOINC info is displaying correctly then, yes...?

You are just missing cgminer hashrate info...? Are you running cgminer from inside the gridcoin client or are you starting an external instance of cgminer...?

ok, i understand. I run gridcoin-qt.exe as admin, but boinc utilizzation 66% instead of 100%, and i don't see cgminer hashrate info.

I use an external instance of cgminer..

so do you have my problem too?? and if i find a block, i'll get 150 coins or not?

ghuijnen
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile
December 29, 2013, 01:36:18 PM
 #886


My taskmanager says I'm using 100% CPU, but Boinc says 53.
Is this correct?

Regards,
Guido
asdlolciterquit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546

12hZnyXAJum8N1RTbs7AMr2NNE8Vr4FFcN


View Profile WWW
December 29, 2013, 02:34:04 PM
 #887


My taskmanager says I'm using 100% CPU, but Boinc says 53.
Is this correct?

Regards,
Guido

and gridcoin what does it say?

ghuijnen
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile
December 29, 2013, 03:01:36 PM
 #888

Sorry ment Boinc in the Gridcoin client.
asdlolciterquit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546

12hZnyXAJum8N1RTbs7AMr2NNE8Vr4FFcN


View Profile WWW
December 29, 2013, 03:29:51 PM
 #889

Sorry ment Boinc in the Gridcoin client.

uhm, so i'm not the only one with this problem. How many coins do you get for one block?

Gridcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile WWW
December 29, 2013, 03:59:43 PM
 #890

Anyone having trouble with the boinc processing power number:


50% weight goes to the"Boinc Avg Daily Credits":  if you are lower than 1000,that is the culprit and is dragging down your total.  To get to 100, you need to increase those.

Other technical solutions:

-Ensure you are running gridcoin as admin
-for a very rare issue when performance counters are corrupted:
lodctr /r
from the command prompt
-Try adding projects such as milkyway, world community grid, rosetta

The system is working for 100 users, so rest assured the problem can be solved.

Thanks,
Grid


Gridcoin: scientia humana libertas
Gridcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile WWW
December 29, 2013, 04:00:31 PM
 #891

Sorry ment Boinc in the Gridcoin client.

uhm, so i'm not the only one with this problem. How many coins do you get for one block?
You receive 1.5 * the boinc processing power # on the mining console.

Thanks!

Grid

Gridcoin: scientia humana libertas
Doublelucky
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74


View Profile
December 29, 2013, 04:04:29 PM
 #892

Hey guys.. not sure if it's been discussed yet here, but is GRC going to be hitting any exchanges soon? Or coinmarketcap?
Or is there still a bit of promo and debugging to be done first?
ghuijnen
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile
December 29, 2013, 04:17:10 PM
 #893

Hi Rob,

Thanks for your reply. But can I check the Boinc power? The Gridcoin wallet shows 53, but where is that coming from?

Guido
Gridcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile WWW
December 29, 2013, 04:18:31 PM
 #894

Regarding the exchange:
We were told http://www.ecrypto.net/ started trading gridcoin however I just went to the site and see a big cow on the front page; I hope for the sake of anyone who deposited BTC there they were not scammed.

We e-mailed all the exchanges who have more than 15 pairs.  We received a message from coins-e that they are considering gridcoin.

A cryptsy forum link @ the top of page 1.

Have not heard from Vircurex yet.

Thanks!

Grid

Gridcoin: scientia humana libertas
Gridcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile WWW
December 29, 2013, 04:20:04 PM
 #895

Hi Rob,

Thanks for your reply. But can I check the Boinc power? The Gridcoin wallet shows 53, but where is that coming from?

Guido
Look @ the release notes a few pages back for "homogenized boinc calculation"

Its 50% from 1/10th of your boinc avg daily credits that are on the screen, and 50% from your total boinc thread utilization.

Thanks!
Grid

Gridcoin: scientia humana libertas
ghuijnen
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile
December 29, 2013, 04:28:54 PM
 #896

Hi Rob,

Thanks for your reply. But can I check the Boinc power? The Gridcoin wallet shows 53, but where is that coming from?

Guido
Look @ the release notes a few pages back for "homogenized boinc calculation"

Its 50% from 1/10th of your boinc avg daily credits that are on the screen, and 50% from your total boinc thread utilization.

Thanks!
Grid


Hi Rob,

Can I use other PC's to increase the average?
Gridcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile WWW
December 29, 2013, 04:36:42 PM
 #897

It looks like we have a microdust flooding vulnerability, i can't see any fees hardcoded in gridcoin client.

Solution: https://github.com/bitcoin/bitcoin/pull/2577

We already added the litecoin IsDust() function and you cant send any dust for less than .02 grc.  If you send .0001 for example, the fee is .02grc.

Best Regards,
Rob

Gridcoin: scientia humana libertas
Gridcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile WWW
December 29, 2013, 04:37:59 PM
 #898

Hi Rob,

Thanks for your reply. But can I check the Boinc power? The Gridcoin wallet shows 53, but where is that coming from?

Guido
Look @ the release notes a few pages back for "homogenized boinc calculation"

Its 50% from 1/10th of your boinc avg daily credits that are on the screen, and 50% from your total boinc thread utilization.

Thanks!
Grid


Hi Rob,

Can I use other PC's to increase the average?
No, sorry, it goes by the host daily_avg_credits (determined by the official project API);  so each host is separate.

Thanks!

Grid

Gridcoin: scientia humana libertas
traderman
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile
December 29, 2013, 04:52:49 PM
 #899

Now that all the issues seem to have been worked out we should be ready for addition.

Hey guys.. not sure if it's been discussed yet here, but is GRC going to be hitting any exchanges soon? Or coinmarketcap?
Or is there still a bit of promo and debugging to be done first?
traderman
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile
December 29, 2013, 04:54:40 PM
 #900

Make sure to join Team Gridcoin @ the world community grid. http://www.worldcommunitygrid.org/team/viewTeamInfo.do?teamId=BBNGDQS832

You can join directly from Boinc too.

We have already jumped a few thousand spots with all the recent influx of new people joining. The higher we go, the better!

Join Today!
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 [45] 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 ... 269 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!