Bitcoin Forum
September 25, 2017, 04:44:09 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 [25] 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 ... 269 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Gridcoin (GRC) - first coin utilizing BOINC - Official Thread  (Read 502967 times)
A L I E N
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728

Better now than never.


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 05:38:24 AM
 #481


Regarding pool mining Alien, yes you can pool mine with that setting and it is for GPU only use; no cpu calculations at all.  There is a thread Aysyr started on cryptocointalk with a lot of poolmining posts.


Did you say the gpu/cpu part backwards?

CHANGE FINANCE First Decentralised Global Crypto Bank
LINK TO ICO | LINK TO DISCUSSION
1506314649
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506314649

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506314649
Reply with quote  #2

1506314649
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1506314649
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506314649

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506314649
Reply with quote  #2

1506314649
Report to moderator
1506314649
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506314649

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506314649
Reply with quote  #2

1506314649
Report to moderator
aysyr
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 05:44:56 AM
 #482

I just looked at my rig, and it said that I have "Found Block on pool 0" Pic related: http://sdrv.ms/1ffanah
Does this mean I have found a block? It's not showing up in my wallet.

From what I read that doesn't particularly mean you found a block. It's confusing I know. If you find a block it would probably say accepted under your summary in guiminer as below

http://i42.tinypic.com/257n91v.jpg

Are you pool mining btw?

Trade at C-Cex, my favorite exchange!          Aysyr Reputation Thread
Dalekmun2010
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 06:05:07 AM
 #483

I just looked at my rig, and it said that I have "Found Block on pool 0" Pic related: http://sdrv.ms/1ffanah
Does this mean I have found a block? It's not showing up in my wallet.

From what I read that doesn't particularly mean you found a block. It's confusing I know. If you find a block it would probably say accepted under your summary in guiminer as below

http://i42.tinypic.com/257n91v.jpg

Are you pool mining btw?

Not pool mining, none accepted. How long does it usually take for you to find a block at your speed?
Gridcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile WWW
December 10, 2013, 06:05:16 AM
 #484


Regarding pool mining Alien, yes you can pool mine with that setting and it is for GPU only use; no cpu calculations at all.  There is a thread Aysyr started on cryptocointalk with a lot of poolmining posts.


Did you say the gpu/cpu part backwards?
Hi,

No-- its for GPU users.  

 Rob H.

TribalBob-- Excellent.  I had similar results after I sent my coins out to my other node and cleared the wallet.  Thinking that wallets bigger than 1 meg are a problem, but will be testing that further.


Gridcoin: scientia humana libertas
aysyr
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 06:17:29 AM
 #485

Dalekmun,

To find out approx. how long it'll take you to find a block do this. First look at either explorer.gridcoin.us or type getmininginfo in your Debug console to get the total network hashrate. Currently it's 28,000 kh/s (or 28 mh/s). Then, divide your hashrate by the network hashrate and just convert it to a fraction that's 1/x

Let's say your hashrate is 300kh/s. So 300/28,000 = 1/93.3 so you'll find approx 1 block out of ever 94. Each block is 2.5 min so 94 * 2.5 = 235 min = 3 hour 55 min.

Trade at C-Cex, my favorite exchange!          Aysyr Reputation Thread
Dalekmun2010
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 06:28:31 AM
 #486

Dalekmun,

To find out approx. how long it'll take you to find a block do this. First look at either explorer.gridcoin.us or type getmininginfo in your Debug console to get the total network hashrate. Currently it's 28,000 kh/s (or 28 mh/s). Then, divide your hashrate by the network hashrate and just convert it to a fraction that's 1/x

Let's say your hashrate is 300kh/s. So 300/28,000 = 1/93.3 so you'll find approx 1 block out of ever 94. Each block is 2.5 min so 94 * 2.5 = 235 min = 3 hour 55 min.

Ah, Thanks! That's really helpful!
Dalekmun2010
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 06:42:56 AM
 #487

Dalekmun,

To find out approx. how long it'll take you to find a block do this. First look at either explorer.gridcoin.us or type getmininginfo in your Debug console to get the total network hashrate. Currently it's 28,000 kh/s (or 28 mh/s). Then, divide your hashrate by the network hashrate and just convert it to a fraction that's 1/x

Let's say your hashrate is 300kh/s. So 300/28,000 = 1/93.3 so you'll find approx 1 block out of ever 94. Each block is 2.5 min so 94 * 2.5 = 235 min = 3 hour 55 min.

Wait, it said my other 2 shares (Or whatever they're called) where stale. Anything I can do about this? http://sdrv.ms/1byJLQK
I'm guessing it means I solved the block, but someone beat me to it, or my network connection was too slow.
C. Bergmann
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 663


Bitcoin.de-Blog


View Profile WWW
December 10, 2013, 09:23:05 AM
 #488

Hi,

I write the blog for bitcoin.de. About a month ago I mentioned gridcoin and received great interest. Does some dev want to give me a short interview via pm about inspiration, technical problems and actual progess?

traderman
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile
December 10, 2013, 12:28:49 PM
 #489

I guess Gridcoin himself would be the only person qualified for that one. Or maybe Aysyr.

Hi,

I write the blog for bitcoin.de. About a month ago I mentioned gridcoin and received great interest. Does some dev want to give me a short interview via pm about inspiration, technical problems and actual progess?
Gridcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile WWW
December 10, 2013, 01:51:38 PM
 #490

Hi,

I write the blog for bitcoin.de. About a month ago I mentioned gridcoin and received great interest. Does some dev want to give me a short interview via pm about inspiration, technical problems and actual progess?
I'd be glad to do the article, please send me an e-mail at contact@gridcoin.us or PM me and we'll get started.

Best Regards,
Rob H.

Gridcoin: scientia humana libertas
lmue
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 125


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 02:10:26 PM
 #491



I just set up a chinese chating group (QQ) for GRC supporting up to 500 people. Any chinese friends who love GRC are welcome.

We believe the future of GRC and everybody should contribute to that.

Gridcoin交流群 (GRC) 群号是258951963

GRC: GAcm1qG5XAjZGh8FJ7X5jSUFBM49Kom9Et

C-cex, 交易GRC

Coins-e, 其他虚拟货币

<a target="_blank" href="http://shang.qq.com/wpa/qunwpa?idkey=02e66be6eb2de2a31ec26119d488a63ae31ad726787f7ef44a979839fd855232"><img border="0" src="http://pub.idqqimg.com/wpa/images/group.png" alt="Gridcoin交流群 (GRC)" title="Gridcoin交流群 (GRC)"></a>
btbat
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 02:24:55 PM
 #492

Good Grid coin.
I want to get and work for it.

LottoCoin - LOT - the coin that's a game! lottocoin.org
katsoo
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 02:30:02 PM
 #493

after figuring every thing out, I stilllll can't get my wallet to sync, and adding the one addnode I found isn't helping.. Huh

FROZEN:F8U9uNX8XQQLLtDyaTnVSQB9MbAgfAia6n
GET 60 FREE SMARTCOINS BEFORE 01/27/2014





- USDe - Best coin of 2014!


KlondikeCoin - KDC - Join the Gold rush!





microCoin [MRC]

Globe - Economically viable, Fast, Stable. Join the revolution! - Globe




UFO - COMING FROM OUTER SPACE
Pandacoin is the first coin with block reward decreasing every day! Pandacoin giveaway: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=409109.0
NOBLE   9ephfLvWYcy8BPaPBuJ1TQ12AK88k5HTLu
Tips       EJ1o1tqeE9wtBK5Gn9cayrt6GkUFcjPRHE
Frozen   F8U9uNX8XQQLLtDyaTnVSQB9MbAgfAia6n
lmue
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 125


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 02:38:41 PM
 #494

Hi,

I write the blog for bitcoin.de. About a month ago I mentioned gridcoin and received great interest. Does some dev want to give me a short interview via pm about inspiration, technical problems and actual progess?
I'd be glad to do the article, please send me an e-mail at contact@gridcoin.us or PM me and we'll get started.

Best Regards,
Rob H.


Total coins: Gridcoin is scheduled to produce 84 million currency units.

I disagree on that. Even with 100GRC per block, it should be 168 millioni currency units. Am I right or I misunderstood.

GRC: GAcm1qG5XAjZGh8FJ7X5jSUFBM49Kom9Et

C-cex, 交易GRC

Coins-e, 其他虚拟货币

<a target="_blank" href="http://shang.qq.com/wpa/qunwpa?idkey=02e66be6eb2de2a31ec26119d488a63ae31ad726787f7ef44a979839fd855232"><img border="0" src="http://pub.idqqimg.com/wpa/images/group.png" alt="Gridcoin交流群 (GRC)" title="Gridcoin交流群 (GRC)"></a>
aysyr
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 02:46:34 PM
 #495

after figuring every thing out, I stilllll can't get my wallet to sync, and adding the one addnode I found isn't helping.. Huh

What's it doing exactly? Is it just getting stuck while syncing, or are the blocks not matching up? Do you have the latest version 1.1.3.9?

Trade at C-Cex, my favorite exchange!          Aysyr Reputation Thread
katsoo
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 02:54:47 PM
 #496

It's showing tiny transactions coming thru, just 0 active connections on my wallet. I have NO idea how i managed to make it work, I suppose it's just really great tutorials!

FROZEN:F8U9uNX8XQQLLtDyaTnVSQB9MbAgfAia6n
GET 60 FREE SMARTCOINS BEFORE 01/27/2014





- USDe - Best coin of 2014!


KlondikeCoin - KDC - Join the Gold rush!





microCoin [MRC]

Globe - Economically viable, Fast, Stable. Join the revolution! - Globe




UFO - COMING FROM OUTER SPACE
Pandacoin is the first coin with block reward decreasing every day! Pandacoin giveaway: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=409109.0
NOBLE   9ephfLvWYcy8BPaPBuJ1TQ12AK88k5HTLu
Tips       EJ1o1tqeE9wtBK5Gn9cayrt6GkUFcjPRHE
Frozen   F8U9uNX8XQQLLtDyaTnVSQB9MbAgfAia6n
aysyr
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 03:09:57 PM
 #497

So it's working now? That's great! Just make sure that the blocks you have (it'll tell you if you hover your mouse over the green check mark on the bottom right) match up with the blocks on explorer.gridcoin.us

Trade at C-Cex, my favorite exchange!          Aysyr Reputation Thread
Inrideo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 130


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 04:54:03 PM
 #498

I don't think I reported this particular error before, though I've been getting it regularly:

System error: CDB(): can't open database file wallet.dat, error -30974

Even when I use my backup wallet to recover that will pop up again after a bit.

There should be a gridcoin bug bounty program Cheesy

Gridcoin :: GGEijprFRgB8LFVDLbdKQK9CcysFXAXRop
Gridcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile WWW
December 10, 2013, 05:10:07 PM
 #499

I don't think I reported this particular error before, though I've been getting it regularly:

System error: CDB(): can't open database file wallet.dat, error -30974

Even when I use my backup wallet to recover that will pop up again after a bit.

There should be a gridcoin bug bounty program Cheesy
As TribalBob suggested, doing the
gridcoin-qt -salvagewallet
command may work for you.

This bug is affecting about 10% of the wallets and seems to go away when you delete your data folder and start a new wallet.  Im working on diagnosing it.  I certainly believe it has something to do with the wallet file, and/or if something is being stored in there making it bigger (that we are not aware of at this time)!

Rest assured Ill be working on this next.

Grid

Gridcoin: scientia humana libertas
traderman
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile
December 10, 2013, 05:43:46 PM
 #500

Yes, I have that same suspicion. It seems the wallet gets larger and then some kind of synching problem occurs. One the -salvagewallet command is run and a new wallet is made everything seem to run fine.

Could it be something with the boinc hash or any of that stuff?

I don't think I reported this particular error before, though I've been getting it regularly:

System error: CDB(): can't open database file wallet.dat, error -30974

Even when I use my backup wallet to recover that will pop up again after a bit.

There should be a gridcoin bug bounty program Cheesy
As TribalBob suggested, doing the
gridcoin-qt -salvagewallet
command may work for you.

This bug is affecting about 10% of the wallets and seems to go away when you delete your data folder and start a new wallet.  Im working on diagnosing it.  I certainly believe it has something to do with the wallet file, and/or if something is being stored in there making it bigger (that we are not aware of at this time)!

Rest assured Ill be working on this next.

Grid

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 [25] 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 ... 269 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!