Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 08:39:05 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 [58] 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 ... 168 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Blockchain.info - Bitcoin Block explorer & Currency Statistics  (Read 414215 times)
FreeMoney
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


Strength in numbers


View Profile WWW
July 17, 2012, 07:54:39 PM
 #1141

I did this again and this time I got the bonus, but it went back to the address I sent from! That needs a warning for sure.

To be clear, only the bonus went back, the principle is landing in the destination address now.

Play Bitcoin Poker at sealswithclubs.eu. We're active and open to everyone.
1480927145
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480927145

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480927145
Reply with quote  #2

1480927145
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480927145
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480927145

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480927145
Reply with quote  #2

1480927145
Report to moderator
1480927145
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480927145

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480927145
Reply with quote  #2

1480927145
Report to moderator
jixapori
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46


View Profile
July 17, 2012, 08:30:58 PM
 #1142

I did this again and this time I got the bonus, but it went back to the address I sent from! That needs a warning for sure.

To be clear, only the bonus went back, the principle is landing in the destination address now.
Obviously it goes to sender because the sender is providing the bitcoins. It's only function isn't sending btc to yourself but also to others anonymously.
FreeMoney
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


Strength in numbers


View Profile WWW
July 17, 2012, 09:20:59 PM
 #1143

I did this again and this time I got the bonus, but it went back to the address I sent from! That needs a warning for sure.

To be clear, only the bonus went back, the principle is landing in the destination address now.
Obviously it goes to sender because the sender is providing the bitcoins. It's only function isn't sending btc to yourself but also to others anonymously.

I wouldn't say it is obvious at all considering that the first time I used it the bonus was paid to the destination address.

It really doesn't make sense for the coin to go back where it came from. At the very least there needs to be a warning to not send from a web wallet.

Now I see what you mean though. If I want to send 20BTC to Joe I'll accidently overpay if the bonus is included. But this isn't a good way to pay someone looking for a specific amount anyway because it gets broken up. Plus even now that the bonus is not included it doesn't equal exactly the full amount so you'll be short on any specific amount. This service (as currently set up) is for sending to yourself or to a site that doesn't care about the exact amount, deposit to poker site etc.

Play Bitcoin Poker at sealswithclubs.eu. We're active and open to everyone.
minimalB
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 627


View Profile
July 17, 2012, 09:29:24 PM
 #1144

Plus even now that the bonus is not included it doesn't equal exactly the full amount so you'll be short on any specific amount. This service (as currently set up) is for sending to yourself or to a site that doesn't care about the exact amount, deposit to poker site etc.

+1

It would be great if receiving address could get exact amount. That would be very useful for paying merchants.
dooglus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988



View Profile
July 18, 2012, 07:54:11 PM
 #1145

Is this the right thread for discussing blockchain.info's wallet service?

I was just trying to answer [uri=http://bitcoin.stackexchange.com/questions/4198/how-can-i-retrieve-my-bitcoins-when-the-client-crashes-as-soon-as-it-begins-sync]this question[/url] by suggesting that they sign up for blockchain.info's wallet service, add the address as a 'watch only' address, and then when they want to spend from it, it will prompt for the private key.

In writing the answer I wanted to give step-by-step signup instructions, so I signed up for a new wallet to see how that works these days.  I tried 3 or 4 times and every time I got stuck at the "proceed to login" button that appears after typing the password and captcha, and optionally typing an email address and nickname.  I would click the "proceed to login" button and nothing would happen.  I tried in chromium and firefox and got the same result every time.  I just tried again now, and it's working again.

Hmmm.

dooglus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988



View Profile
July 19, 2012, 05:57:37 AM
 #1146

Something seems to be going wrong with the blockchain.info database.

Searching for transaction 32c43975286013906f49f76f9403788616fc36cfcb0f6542449d93f7eac5a96f shows me a page saying that it was "Included in blocks   189704 (2012-07-18 21:16:19 +2 minutes)" but has "Confirmations:   0 confirmations".  The transaction was to my gox account, and showed up there hours ago.  Gox requires 6 confirmations.

http://blockchain.info/search?search=32c43975286013906f49f76f9403788616fc36cfcb0f6542449d93f7eac5a96f

I took a screenshot showing the incorrect page, along with recent block numbers.  Notice the weird "recent transaction" with a time thousands of hours ago.


BTC-engineer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 338



View Profile
July 19, 2012, 08:24:52 AM
 #1147

Something seems to be going wrong with the blockchain.info database.

Yes, I can confirm this. It looks like ALL transactions are showing up as "Unconfirmed Transaction".
I've checked this with different old and definitively confirmed transactions.
For me it's a clearly, temporary misbehavior of blockchain.info   
scribe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 295



View Profile WWW
July 19, 2012, 08:46:22 AM
 #1148

I'm now seeing 0 transactions and 0 BTC in my wallet. Oop.

blocknois.es Bitcoin music label. ~ New release: This Is Art

Read: Bitcoin Life | Wear: FUTUREECONOMY
minimalB
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 627


View Profile
July 19, 2012, 08:52:08 AM
 #1149

+1

Yup, something is wrong...  0 BTC, 0 transactions here also.
kangasbros
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 811



View Profile
July 19, 2012, 08:53:45 AM
 #1150

All the blocks seem to be orphaned... This is the end of bitcoin, goverment has taken over. Sell while you can, if someone accepts zero confirmations.

Well, just kidding, blockexplorer and everything else is working properly. Seems to be blockchain.info bug.

piuk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 910



View Profile WWW
July 19, 2012, 09:52:00 AM
 #1151

Apologies for the downtime. It's something to do with Bitcoind, every morning I wake up and it's consuming 8GB RAM and 100% CPU.

kangasbros
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 811



View Profile
July 19, 2012, 10:19:14 AM
 #1152

Apologies for the downtime. It's something to do with Bitcoind, every morning I wake up and it's consuming 8GB RAM and 100% CPU.

My solution: create a script which kills and restarts it periodically Cheesy

dooglus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988



View Profile
July 19, 2012, 10:32:40 AM
 #1153

Apologies for the downtime. It's something to do with Bitcoind, every morning I wake up and it's consuming 8GB RAM and 100% CPU.

My solution: create a script which kills and restarts it periodically Cheesy

It probably takes a long time to restart, breaking things while it's down.

piuk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 910



View Profile WWW
July 19, 2012, 02:29:22 PM
 #1154

My solution: create a script which kills and restarts it periodically Cheesy

Good idea, This seems like the best solution for the time being. It's strange though because until recently bitcoind would run fine for a week or more without a restart.

It probably takes a long time to restart, breaking things while it's down.

The site runs several instances so as long as they are not all restarted at the same time there shouldn't be any issues.

HostFat
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2282


I support freedom of choice


View Profile WWW
July 19, 2012, 02:46:16 PM
 #1155

Can you also add a public page with a status of all these instances ( up and running or down ) and counts-down to the restart on all of them?

Eternity Wall: Messages lasting forever - The Rock Trading (ref): A good exchange / gateway Ripple, with support for multisig, since 2007. 
https://bitcointa.lk: Bitcointalk backup if offline - Bitcoin Foundation Italia - Blog: http://theupwind.blogspot.it
ripper234
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260


Ron Gross


View Profile WWW
July 19, 2012, 03:31:09 PM
 #1156

While I'm sure this message from the chrome extension is benign, it's still a bit scary.

Why does the extension now require these permissions?


Please do not pm me, use ron@bitcoin.org.il instead
Mastercoin Executive Director
Co-founder of the Israeli Bitcoin Association
ErebusBat
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560

I am the one who knocks


View Profile
July 19, 2012, 04:12:00 PM
 #1157

While I'm sure this message from the chrome extension is benign, it's still a bit scary.

Why does the extension now require these permissions?


So it can read the page contents on those domains to verify the JS hasn't changed.

It is fine.

░▒▓█ Coinroll.it - 1% House Edge Dice Game █▓▒░ • Coinroll Thread • *FREE* 100 BTC Raffle

Signup for CEX.io BitFury exchange and get GHS Instantly!  Don't wait for shipping, mine NOW!
Stephen Gornick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988



View Profile
July 19, 2012, 06:22:57 PM
 #1158

There is an issue that appears to needlessly persist.

From the bitcoin-development mailing list is the thread "Accepting broken QRcodes":

Quote
blockchain.info generates non-BIP-compliant URIs in its QRcodes, as does its iPhone app. They are of the form bitcoin://address not bitcoin:address.

 - http://sourceforge.net/mailarchive/message.php?msg_id=29543672

Here is the QR code that Blockchain.info presents when I click Request Payment in Blockchain.info/wallet:



When that QR code is scanned, it yields the text string:

 "bitcoin://12JgkLNB2MAd2cpmpU25MVEUiBH3tivkyL"

It kind of looks like a URI, but it isn't.  As Gary points out in his reply to that thread on the mailing list:
"looking at RFC 3986 #10 (http://tools.ietf.org/html/rfc3986#page-10) it's pretty clear that introducing a false hierarchy is breaking the specification"

Consider this.  There is a URI for e-mail addresses (using "mailto:").

For that I would use mailto:username@domain.com   not mailto://username@domain.com.   People make mistakes and you'll occasionally find links with the mailto://username@domain.com.  

But because people make these mistakes doesn't mean browser developers have helped make it easier for those who make this mistake.

For instance, when I click on the incorrect mailto, in the following, my browser will launch my mail client, but the To: line is empty, meaning it didn't recognize the format of the URI.
  http://result.dabblet.com/gist/3145742/17b36e8590ef6c7f23f5782cd3ae84d255f718db

However, BitcoinSpinner and other Android bitcoin clients went out of their way to accommodate this broken URI format ( bitcoin:// ).

And, now Mike is further supporting this broken format by adding support for it in BitcoinJ.

Blockchain.info's Blockchain for Android app supports the correct format already, and there are no clients that I'm aware of that don't support the correct format.

Here is a QR code with the correct format:



When scanned, the text string decoded is:

 "bitcoin:12JgkLNB2MAd2cpmpU25MVEUiBH3tivkyL"

So, by simply changing a line or two of code in Blockchain.info's source code, this entire issue could be resolved, right?

Is there any reason Blockchain.info should continue displaying a QR code that contains a broken URI?

RandomQ
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616



View Profile
July 19, 2012, 07:06:41 PM
 #1159

Feature Request

When Sending coin from your wallet and using the custom option


The Default Setting on
"Return Change:" is "New Address"
If i'm sending alot of transactions and I don't change it it spams my wallet with a bunch of accounts.
All i'm requesting is a option to set the default Return Change address to the Sending Address

Bitcoin To Cash LLC Receive cash in the mail for Bitcoin!
[CryptoStocks] GREEN - GreenBTC - Mining Company on CryptoStocks
2weiX
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1638


View Profile
July 19, 2012, 07:25:31 PM
 #1160

Feature Request

When Sending coin from your wallet and using the custom option


The Default Setting on
"Return Change:" is "New Address"
If i'm sending alot of transactions and I don't change it it spams my wallet with a bunch of accounts.
All i'm requesting is a option to set the default Return Change address to the Sending Address


+1
Pages: « 1 ... 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 [58] 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 ... 168 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!