Bitcoin Forum
November 26, 2022, 03:31:27 PM *
News: Reminder: do not keep your money in online accounts
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Warning: One or more bitcointalk.org users have reported that they strongly believe that the creator of this topic is a scammer. (Login to see the detailed trust ratings.) While the bitcointalk.org administration does not verify such claims, you should proceed with extreme caution.
Pages: « 1 ... 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 [82] 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 ... 386 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Nexus - Pure SHA3 + CPU/GPU + nPoS + 15 Active Innovations + More to Come  (Read 785268 times)
Supercomputing
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 278
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 27, 2014, 12:32:53 AM
 #1621

Has anyone experienced nvcc taking a long time to complete on linux?  Mine has been going for over an hour now and has till not finished. The process appears to be running fine but at 100% CPU.

In your Makefile, replace the NVCC command with the one below and see if it makes a difference:

$(NVCC) -g -O3 -I . -Xptxas "-v" -arch=compute_50 --ptxas-options=-v $(JANSSON_INCLUDES) -o $@ -c $<

Also, do not forget to change the compute capability to match your GPU's.

Electrical Engineering & Computer Science
http://www.eecs.mit.edu/
1669476687
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1669476687

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1669476687
Reply with quote  #2

1669476687
Report to moderator
1669476687
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1669476687

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1669476687
Reply with quote  #2

1669476687
Report to moderator
1669476687
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1669476687

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1669476687
Reply with quote  #2

1669476687
Report to moderator
Each block is stacked on top of the previous one. Adding another block to the top makes all lower blocks more difficult to remove: there is more "weight" above each block. A transaction in a block 6 blocks deep (6 confirmations) will be very difficult to remove.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
Supercomputing
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 278
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 27, 2014, 12:38:32 AM
 #1622

AMD GPU miner??? Angry Angry Angry


the GPU mining channel draws way more power on my 780Ti's, so I am back to the CPU channel with our nonpublic GPU miner. Wink
Rig runs quieter and cooler now.

here's what 36 hours on the GPU channel got me (on Linux, thanks Supercomputing for the makefiles):
98.5 MH/s | 98 Blks ACC=82 REJ=16 | Height = 28862 | Diff = 35 0-bits | 35:44:32

lots of rejects though.

Christian


The GTX 750 Ti is the most efficient card for mining on the GPU channel at this time. It also may prove itself to be the most efficient for mining on both channels.

Electrical Engineering & Computer Science
http://www.eecs.mit.edu/
djm34
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400
Merit: 1050


View Profile WWW
October 27, 2014, 01:12:55 AM
 #1623

Has anyone experienced nvcc taking a long time to complete on linux?  Mine has been going for over an hour now and has till not finished. The process appears to be running fine but at 100% CPU.
if you compile for compute 30 up to compute 50 (or more) it may takes some time...
alternatively you can remove the pragma unroll in the main loop of skein, it will be real fast, however power consumption will be higher and it won't run faster...

djm34 facebook page
BTC: 1NENYmxwZGHsKFmyjTc5WferTn5VTFb7Ze
Pledge for neoscrypt ccminer to that address: 16UoC4DmTz2pvhFvcfTQrzkPTrXkWijzXw
Poena
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 27, 2014, 01:16:48 AM
 #1624

Working now! Got 3 blocks in a few hours, but 1 rejected. Using two 750ti for a total of 33500kh/s.
paulthetafy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 820
Merit: 1000


View Profile
October 27, 2014, 01:42:06 AM
 #1625

Has anyone experienced nvcc taking a long time to complete on linux?  Mine has been going for over an hour now and has till not finished. The process appears to be running fine but at 100% CPU.
if you compile for compute 30 up to compute 50 (or more) it may takes some time...
alternatively you can remove the pragma unroll in the main loop of skein, it will be real fast, however power consumption will be higher and it won't run faster...

Thanks for the tips everyone.  Removing the unroll's made the difference, but now I have a compiled (and running) version I'll keep playing with the compiler options and retrying with the pragma unroll's back in.

Incidentally when compiled with sm_35 the miner is reporting a MH/s value that I think should be KH/s...

Code:
[MASTER] Coinshield Network: New Block 29091
367528.1 MH/s | 0 Blks ACC=0 REJ=0 | Height = 29091 | Diff = 35 0-bits | 00:03:17
365121.1 MH/s | 0 Blks ACC=0 REJ=0 | Height = 29091 | Diff = 35 0-bits | 00:03:28

When compiled with sm_30 it reports correctly around the 28 MH/s mark, but with sm_35 it gives this.  Should I be concerned?
Supercomputing
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 278
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 27, 2014, 01:55:35 AM
 #1626


Thanks for the tips everyone.  Removing the unroll's made the difference, but now I have a compiled (and running) version I'll keep playing with the compiler options and retrying with the pragma unroll's back in.

Incidentally when compiled with sm_35 the miner is reporting a MH/s value that I think should be KH/s...

Code:
[MASTER] Coinshield Network: New Block 29091
367528.1 MH/s | 0 Blks ACC=0 REJ=0 | Height = 29091 | Diff = 35 0-bits | 00:03:17
365121.1 MH/s | 0 Blks ACC=0 REJ=0 | Height = 29091 | Diff = 35 0-bits | 00:03:28

When compiled with sm_30 it reports correctly around the 28 MH/s mark, but with sm_35 it gives this.  Should I be concerned?


Your GPU's compute capability is not set correctly in the Makefile and the kernel is not being launched correctly. please see the link below:

https://developer.nvidia.com/cuda-gpus

Also please note that the application currently only works on GPUs with compute capability 3.5 or greater.

Electrical Engineering & Computer Science
http://www.eecs.mit.edu/
paulthetafy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 820
Merit: 1000


View Profile
October 27, 2014, 02:21:22 AM
 #1627


Thanks for the tips everyone.  Removing the unroll's made the difference, but now I have a compiled (and running) version I'll keep playing with the compiler options and retrying with the pragma unroll's back in.

Incidentally when compiled with sm_35 the miner is reporting a MH/s value that I think should be KH/s...

Code:
[MASTER] Coinshield Network: New Block 29091
367528.1 MH/s | 0 Blks ACC=0 REJ=0 | Height = 29091 | Diff = 35 0-bits | 00:03:17
365121.1 MH/s | 0 Blks ACC=0 REJ=0 | Height = 29091 | Diff = 35 0-bits | 00:03:28

When compiled with sm_30 it reports correctly around the 28 MH/s mark, but with sm_35 it gives this.  Should I be concerned?


Your GPU's compute capability is not set correctly in the Makefile and the kernel is not being launched correctly. please see the link below:

https://developer.nvidia.com/cuda-gpus

Also please note that the application currently only works on GPUs with compute capability 3.5 or greater.
Thanks for the quick reply. Changed it back to 30 and all is working fine... I hope
Code:
[MASTER] Coinshield Network: New Block 29127
24.0 MH/s | 0 Blks ACC=0 REJ=0 | Height = 29127 | Diff = 36 0-bits | 00:04:09
24.0 MH/s | 0 Blks ACC=0 REJ=0 | Height = 29127 | Diff = 36 0-bits | 00:04:20
24.0 MH/s | 0 Blks ACC=0 REJ=0 | Height = 29127 | Diff = 36 0-bits | 00:04:31
skunk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 329
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 27, 2014, 02:44:33 AM
 #1628


Thanks for the tips everyone.  Removing the unroll's made the difference, but now I have a compiled (and running) version I'll keep playing with the compiler options and retrying with the pragma unroll's back in.

Incidentally when compiled with sm_35 the miner is reporting a MH/s value that I think should be KH/s...

Code:
[MASTER] Coinshield Network: New Block 29091
367528.1 MH/s | 0 Blks ACC=0 REJ=0 | Height = 29091 | Diff = 35 0-bits | 00:03:17
365121.1 MH/s | 0 Blks ACC=0 REJ=0 | Height = 29091 | Diff = 35 0-bits | 00:03:28

When compiled with sm_30 it reports correctly around the 28 MH/s mark, but with sm_35 it gives this.  Should I be concerned?


Your GPU's compute capability is not set correctly in the Makefile and the kernel is not being launched correctly. please see the link below:

https://developer.nvidia.com/cuda-gpus

Also please note that the application currently only works on GPUs with compute capability 3.5 or greater.
Thanks for the quick reply. Changed it back to 30 and all is working fine... I hope
Code:
[MASTER] Coinshield Network: New Block 29127
24.0 MH/s | 0 Blks ACC=0 REJ=0 | Height = 29127 | Diff = 36 0-bits | 00:04:09
24.0 MH/s | 0 Blks ACC=0 REJ=0 | Height = 29127 | Diff = 36 0-bits | 00:04:20
24.0 MH/s | 0 Blks ACC=0 REJ=0 | Height = 29127 | Diff = 36 0-bits | 00:04:31

ehmmm... you missed:

Also please note that the application currently only works on GPUs with compute capability 3.5 or greater.

you'll not find any block ever...

paulthetafy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 820
Merit: 1000


View Profile
October 27, 2014, 03:00:42 AM
 #1629


Thanks for the tips everyone.  Removing the unroll's made the difference, but now I have a compiled (and running) version I'll keep playing with the compiler options and retrying with the pragma unroll's back in.

Incidentally when compiled with sm_35 the miner is reporting a MH/s value that I think should be KH/s...

Code:
[MASTER] Coinshield Network: New Block 29091
367528.1 MH/s | 0 Blks ACC=0 REJ=0 | Height = 29091 | Diff = 35 0-bits | 00:03:17
365121.1 MH/s | 0 Blks ACC=0 REJ=0 | Height = 29091 | Diff = 35 0-bits | 00:03:28

When compiled with sm_30 it reports correctly around the 28 MH/s mark, but with sm_35 it gives this.  Should I be concerned?


Your GPU's compute capability is not set correctly in the Makefile and the kernel is not being launched correctly. please see the link below:

https://developer.nvidia.com/cuda-gpus

Also please note that the application currently only works on GPUs with compute capability 3.5 or greater.
Thanks for the quick reply. Changed it back to 30 and all is working fine... I hope
Code:
[MASTER] Coinshield Network: New Block 29127
24.0 MH/s | 0 Blks ACC=0 REJ=0 | Height = 29127 | Diff = 36 0-bits | 00:04:09
24.0 MH/s | 0 Blks ACC=0 REJ=0 | Height = 29127 | Diff = 36 0-bits | 00:04:20
24.0 MH/s | 0 Blks ACC=0 REJ=0 | Height = 29127 | Diff = 36 0-bits | 00:04:31

ehmmm... you missed:

Also please note that the application currently only works on GPUs with compute capability 3.5 or greater.

you'll not find any block ever...
You're absolutely right, in my haste I did miss that!  I'll switch off until the kernel is rewritten to support sm_30.
mumus
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 291
Merit: 250



View Profile
October 27, 2014, 11:22:43 AM
 #1630

GTX 760 is an sm_30 GPU and the application only seems to work on GPUs with greater compute capability for now.
so is there a chance to get it fixed?
ps: could somebody tell if sm_30 cards are finding any block under windows?

I didn't find any on testnet with a 660.
I am looking into a new kernel for the compute_30 cards (they don't have enough registers for the current one... )
but I have many things on my plate at the moment...
(I might have something... but the diff on testnet is a bit too high to get a fast answer... so it tells you already it won't be fast...)

so would lowering minimal difficulty on testnet help?
@viz: are you about to release a c release of the wallet? could you also please consider lowering the diff. in this release?
i consider donating the first 24h (or more if asked) of mining with a fixed sm_30 miner if this would help as a incentive for your (or anybody else) time...
thank you.

edit: djm34, if you have a roughly idea about which code parameters needs to be changed to fix this, please explain what i should try so i could do a trial/error loop myself until a fix is found. i'm not a software developer, but i've enough programming knowledge to perform simple code read and modifications...

If you just want to "simulate" a lower difficulty in the code then just simply do this in MinerThread.cpp (-> MinerThread::SK1024Miner() function)
            CBigNum target;
            target.SetCompact(m_pBLOCK->GetBits());            
            target.SetCompact(0x7e003fff); //simulate lower difficulty

With this setting my single 750ti "finds" a "block" every couple of seconds. Of course submission will fail but you can check that the mining algo code is working. 
thank you mumus, there are no submission attempts thus confirming the mining code is actually not working...
i've blindly tried to enable SKEIN_ERR_CHECK into hash/skein.h but nothing changed, do you know if there's something that could eventually be tuned in the code that could help fixing it?

Try to lower the const int throughput = 512*8 * 512 * 4; in sk1024.cu, for example to 512* 8 * 512 * 1 or just 512 *  512. Let me know if it worked or not. I'm trying to understand the code and now I'm playing now with another parameter that can be related and it may help. I'm a beginner in cuda coding and I definitely don't understand the code crypto algorithm yet.
unfortunately still no submission attempts, even not with just 512...
It isn't related to the throughput.
I need to rewrite the kernel for skein for compute_30 and I don't have time at the moment to work on that task...

Yes, slowly but I realized that isn't related to any parameter. I've also found one of my old compute_20 card and it doesn't works on it either.
djm34
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400
Merit: 1050


View Profile WWW
October 27, 2014, 12:13:06 PM
 #1631

GTX 760 is an sm_30 GPU and the application only seems to work on GPUs with greater compute capability for now.
so is there a chance to get it fixed?
ps: could somebody tell if sm_30 cards are finding any block under windows?

I didn't find any on testnet with a 660.
I am looking into a new kernel for the compute_30 cards (they don't have enough registers for the current one... )
but I have many things on my plate at the moment...
(I might have something... but the diff on testnet is a bit too high to get a fast answer... so it tells you already it won't be fast...)

so would lowering minimal difficulty on testnet help?
@viz: are you about to release a c release of the wallet? could you also please consider lowering the diff. in this release?
i consider donating the first 24h (or more if asked) of mining with a fixed sm_30 miner if this would help as a incentive for your (or anybody else) time...
thank you.

edit: djm34, if you have a roughly idea about which code parameters needs to be changed to fix this, please explain what i should try so i could do a trial/error loop myself until a fix is found. i'm not a software developer, but i've enough programming knowledge to perform simple code read and modifications...

If you just want to "simulate" a lower difficulty in the code then just simply do this in MinerThread.cpp (-> MinerThread::SK1024Miner() function)
            CBigNum target;
            target.SetCompact(m_pBLOCK->GetBits());            
            target.SetCompact(0x7e003fff); //simulate lower difficulty

With this setting my single 750ti "finds" a "block" every couple of seconds. Of course submission will fail but you can check that the mining algo code is working. 
thank you mumus, there are no submission attempts thus confirming the mining code is actually not working...
i've blindly tried to enable SKEIN_ERR_CHECK into hash/skein.h but nothing changed, do you know if there's something that could eventually be tuned in the code that could help fixing it?

Try to lower the const int throughput = 512*8 * 512 * 4; in sk1024.cu, for example to 512* 8 * 512 * 1 or just 512 *  512. Let me know if it worked or not. I'm trying to understand the code and now I'm playing now with another parameter that can be related and it may help. I'm a beginner in cuda coding and I definitely don't understand the code crypto algorithm yet.
unfortunately still no submission attempts, even not with just 512...
It isn't related to the throughput.
I need to rewrite the kernel for skein for compute_30 and I don't have time at the moment to work on that task...

Yes, slowly but I realized that isn't related to any parameter. I've also found one of my old compute_20 card and it doesn't works on it either.
don't hold your breath for a compute_20 cards version of the algorithm

djm34 facebook page
BTC: 1NENYmxwZGHsKFmyjTc5WferTn5VTFb7Ze
Pledge for neoscrypt ccminer to that address: 16UoC4DmTz2pvhFvcfTQrzkPTrXkWijzXw
hero18688
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 27, 2014, 12:59:11 PM
 #1632

There is no buy orders at coinswap

SRBOOTH
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 309
Merit: 250



View Profile
October 27, 2014, 07:41:10 PM
 #1633

Anyone having wallet sync issues? I added a conf file for known good nodes from another wallet I have on another comp. Still only showing 2 connections and no status bar at bottom, arrows in corner are spinning....any thoughts??
SnjafSnjaf
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 27, 2014, 08:02:38 PM
 #1634

When is AMD GPU miner expected? That would attract more miners and it would expose this coin to the masses...
hoze
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 92
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 27, 2014, 08:41:20 PM
Last edit: October 27, 2014, 09:04:43 PM by hoze
 #1635

Need more exchanges !!!   Sad
yampi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 433
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 27, 2014, 08:52:21 PM
 #1636

Private gpu miners for cpu channel, gpu channel has no amd miner.

clap( speed = 0.1 );
djm34
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400
Merit: 1050


View Profile WWW
October 27, 2014, 09:33:39 PM
 #1637

Private gpu miners for cpu channel, gpu channel has no amd miner.

clap( speed = 0.1 );
and what miner did you write ? (if complaining was equivalent of writing code, I am pretty sure you'd had lots of private miners by now that you
would probably not share with other complainer)
Yeah that's pretty easy to complain, but in case you didn't realize yet, those things doesn't appear from themselves out of nowhere...

So you can keep complaining,  that won't speed up anything and actually that may delay things because instead of focusing on it,
I am reading your stupid post.

djm34 facebook page
BTC: 1NENYmxwZGHsKFmyjTc5WferTn5VTFb7Ze
Pledge for neoscrypt ccminer to that address: 16UoC4DmTz2pvhFvcfTQrzkPTrXkWijzXw
SnjafSnjaf
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 27, 2014, 10:19:23 PM
 #1638

Private gpu miners for cpu channel, gpu channel has no amd miner.

clap( speed = 0.1 );
and what miner did you write ? (if complaining was equivalent of writing code, I am pretty sure you'd had lots of private miners by now that you
would probably not share with other complainer)
Yeah that's pretty easy to complain, but in case you didn't realize yet, those things doesn't appear from themselves out of nowhere...

So you can keep complaining,  that won't speed up anything and actually that may delay things because instead of focusing on it,
I am reading your stupid post.

Djm you are working on miner?
bigreddmachine
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 193
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 27, 2014, 10:49:51 PM
 #1639

Private gpu miners for cpu channel, gpu channel has no amd miner.

clap( speed = 0.1 );
and what miner did you write ? (if complaining was equivalent of writing code, I am pretty sure you'd had lots of private miners by now that you
would probably not share with other complainer)
Yeah that's pretty easy to complain, but in case you didn't realize yet, those things doesn't appear from themselves out of nowhere...

So you can keep complaining,  that won't speed up anything and actually that may delay things because instead of focusing on it,
I am reading your stupid post.

Great reply.

Just wondering... I have been thinking about trying to work on a personal miner or improving the current Nvidia GPU miner.  I have already been familiarizing myself with CUDA C and have experience with programming in general, but I was wondering if you might have a suggestion on where might be easiest to start.  As in, are there any CUDA resources that you particularly like over others?

Thanks
Videlicet
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 866
Merit: 1056


Creator of Nexus http://www.nexusearth.com


View Profile WWW
October 27, 2014, 11:53:12 PM
 #1640

Update to Core 1.0.1c: You'll be Happy You Did


Ubuntu 1.0.1c
Windows 1.0.1c

Statistics on Debug Window Mean Such:
Reserves: The CSD Released for that Channel
Total Supply: The Total CSD in Circulation.

The % shows the inflation from target.
100% = No Inflation.
101% = 1% Global Inflation.
99% = 1% Global Deflation.


The Target is at ~60% So far, this will equalize at 100% as soon as the CSD in the Hashing Reserve is Depleted

Change Log 1.0.1c:


Mining LLP:
+ Add SET_COINBASE Command to Mining LLP. Allows for Custom Coinbase TX
+ Run a Static Counter for Addresses that allow each of the last two coinbase tx's to be used consecutively.
+ Added LLP Command ClearMaps() to allow Miner to Clear their Wallet's Block Map Manually.
+ Moved Automatic Block Clearing into GetHeight Command to allow backwards compatibility with all miners.


Core:
+ Add Proof of Stake Check where Channel 0 has to be Proof of Stake Block.
+ Remove Version 1 Block Checks, as Version 2 Checks work just the same in Accept Block.
+ Update Got Inventory Debug Output for Tx Hash to be the lower 512 bits.
+ Update GetDifficulty in difficulty.cpp to give accurate decimal representation of the Hashing Difficulty.
+ Only do Coinbase Checks when not Initial Block Download
+ Update Version to 1.0.1c - Release in version.cpp


Unified Time:
+ Change Maximum Clock Drift to 20 Seconds
+ Reset Unified Time Average if Majority Sample Changes Time MAX_UNIFIED_DRIFT
+ Regulate the Clock while Waiting to check new seeds. Reset Unified Clock if Local Clock Changes.
+ Only wait 10 seconds to Try new Connection if there is more than 1 Failure for Unified Time Core LLP.


Network:
+ Added Statistics to the Debug Window. Tracks Difficulty, Reserves, and Supply %.
+ Updated RPC Commands getmininginfo, getinfo, and getdifficulty to return the difficulty of both Mining Channels.
+ Make Maximum Wait time for a Message to 10 minutes. This will fix dropped connections.



Core 1.0.1c Support Thread: Click Here.

Viz.

[Nexus] Created by Viz. [Videlicet] : "videre licet - it may be seen; evidently; clearly"
Pages: « 1 ... 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 [82] 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 ... 386 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!