Bitcoin Forum
April 09, 2020, 08:35:34 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.19.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 [105] 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 ... 400 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Pictures of your mining rigs!  (Read 1805215 times)
CoinHoarder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456
Merit: 1025

In Cryptocoins I Trust


View Profile
April 19, 2013, 11:07:46 PM
 #2081

What's that? A "portable" AC unit?

Yes sir. Right... hahah "portable".... It weighs almost 500 pounds, good thing it has wheels.

It should spit out about 36,000 BTUs of cool air while dehumidifying at the same time.  Smiley

I almost wish I would have got his bigger brother... the 60,000 BTU unit. But, it was expensive.. I suppose this'll do for now.

http://www.movincool.com/portable-air-conditioner/officepro36.php
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1586464534
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1586464534

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1586464534
Reply with quote  #2

1586464534
Report to moderator
Beaflag VonRathburg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 472
Merit: 250



View Profile
April 20, 2013, 03:38:36 AM
 #2082


How many GPUs and in what conditions are you mining with that you need that kind of cooling?

CoinHoarder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456
Merit: 1025

In Cryptocoins I Trust


View Profile
April 20, 2013, 06:31:51 AM
 #2083

How many GPUs and in what conditions are you mining with that you need that kind of cooling?
It won't be effectively cooling its maximum load for a month or so, but I expect to cool about 11,214 watts of ASICs and GPUs with this based on my research.

I'm not really sure how accurate this number is because there is very little information on the subject, but I plan on adding rigs/ASICs until it can no longer deal with the heat.  Wink
marcus_of_augustus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3150
Merit: 1366



View Profile
April 20, 2013, 10:15:50 AM
 #2084

How many GPUs and in what conditions are you mining with that you need that kind of cooling?
It won't be effectively cooling its maximum load for a month or so, but I expect to cool about 11,214 watts of ASICs and GPUs with this based on my research.

I'm not really sure how accurate this number is because there is very little information on the subject, but I plan on adding rigs/ASICs until it can no longer deal with the heat.  Wink

As far as I'm aware it is very simple ...

electric watts in ~= thermal watts need to be removed

malevolent
can into space
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2534
Merit: 1383



View Profile
April 20, 2013, 10:53:55 AM
 #2085

As far as I'm aware it is very simple ...
electric watts in ~= thermal watts need to be removed

I think you could substract electromagnetic radiation of wavelengths other than 380-740 nm and sound as these two are also are also as heat are ways that energy is emitted in.

I would be glad if someone more knowledgable confirmed whether I'm right or bullshitting, though.

How many GPUs and in what conditions are you mining with that you need that kind of cooling?
It won't be effectively cooling its maximum load for a month or so, but I expect to cool about 11,214 watts of ASICs and GPUs with this based on my research.
I'm not really sure how accurate this number is because there is very little information on the subject, but I plan on adding rigs/ASICs until it can no longer deal with the heat.  Wink

Are you sure it is going to be worth to run mine the GPUs with the added cost of electricity for cooling them? Have you checked how much do you have to pay for the electricity (+ costs of transmission/distribution + taxes)? It might be OK for now, but expect for the difficulty to increase 5-10x in a year or so if BFL delivers and Avalon continues to deliver.

marcus_of_augustus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3150
Merit: 1366



View Profile
April 20, 2013, 12:39:36 PM
 #2086

Quote
I would be glad if someone more knowledgable confirmed whether I'm right or bullshitting, though.

I'm knowledgeable and you're bullshitting.  Smiley

EM (RF) radiation will be miniscule and probably absorbed and re-radiated as heat in the local vicinity that needs removing anyway, ditto for sound.

Electric watts input will be the same as the heat that needs removing. (This excludes the electric watts to drive the chiller of course)

Protagonus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 100



View Profile
April 20, 2013, 03:22:52 PM
 #2087

I've dealt a bit with this stuff as well (cooling, electronics, TE's etc).   Technically, you need MORE cooling watts than heat watts produced.  As, in general, it is harder to cool than to heat.  (E.G it takes to add heat energy and more to subtract heat energy)  In a case with TE's a 250w heatsink was required to remove 100w of actual heat produced (Delta 10%F).  Operational temp of device was 10%F I suppose also, so you wouldn't need 3-4x if a larger delta is fine.

So, to cool 11,2Kw; I would assume, you prolly need around 15Kw of cooling ~ 74F final room temp+/-

(no physics isn't being violated.  You need to compare in J instead.  Essentially much less "time" required to heat than cool.  Also relates to lower energy of cool)
CoinHoarder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456
Merit: 1025

In Cryptocoins I Trust


View Profile
April 20, 2013, 09:03:26 PM
 #2088

How many GPUs and in what conditions are you mining with that you need that kind of cooling?
It won't be effectively cooling its maximum load for a month or so, but I expect to cool about 11,214 watts of ASICs and GPUs with this based on my research.

I'm not really sure how accurate this number is because there is very little information on the subject, but I plan on adding rigs/ASICs until it can no longer deal with the heat.  Wink

To get this number I used a very safe (IMO) formula of every watt producing 3.21 BTUs

I expect to be able to cool more, especially since there's already a 5000 BTU A/C window unit there.
crazyearner
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1820
Merit: 1001



View Profile
April 21, 2013, 12:36:00 AM
 #2089

NIce to see but inefficient as hell.... If you just use the water for this; let it run through the system and right into the drain; it's just a bad example of water usage Sad ...

Letting the neighbours pay for your mining isn't nice too :/


BTT:

Dam you I love the 5870s I have 1 and they blow all other gpus I currently have need to get more of them or I get higher ones or wait for other hardware.

=
  R E B E L L I O U S 
  ▄▀▀▀▀▀▄▄                           ▄▄▀▀▀▀▀▄
▄▀        █▄▄                     ▄▄█        ▀▄
█            █████████████████████            █
█▄          ██       ██ ██       ██          ▄█
█        █            █            █        █
  █    █               █               █    █
   █ ██               █ █               ██ █
    █ █               █ █               █ █
    █ ███▄  █████▄   ██ ██   ▄█████  ▄███ █
    █     ███     █         █     ███     █
     █   █   ▀███ █  █   █  █ ███▀   █   █
     █   █      █ █  █   █  █ █      █   █
     █   █      ██  █     █  ██      █   █
      █  █     ██  █       █  ██     █  █
      █  █    ██  █ ███████ █  ██    █  █
      █ ███   ██  █         █  ██   ███ █
       █   ▀███      █   █      ███▀   █
        █     ██       █       ██     █
         █      █   ▄▄███▄▄   █      █
          ███   ███▀       ▀███   ███
             █████           █████
                  ███████████
  ▄▀▀▀▀▀▄▄                           ▄▄▀▀▀▀▀▄
▄▀        █▄▄                     ▄▄█        ▀▄
█            █████████████████████            █
█▄          ██       ██ ██       ██          ▄█
█        █            █            █        █
  █    █               █               █    █
   █ ██               █ █               ██ █
    █ █               █ █               █ █
    █ ███▄  █████▄   ██ ██   ▄█████  ▄███ █
    █     ███     █         █     ███     █
     █   █   ▀███ █  █   █  █ ███▀   █   █
     █   █      █ █  █   █  █ █      █   █
     █   █      ██  █     █  ██      █   █
      █  █     ██  █       █  ██     █  █
      █  █    ██  █ ███████ █  ██    █  █
      █ ███   ██  █         █  ██   ███ █
       █   ▀███      █   █      ███▀   █
        █     ██       █       ██     █
         █      █   ▄▄███▄▄   █      █
          ███   ███▀       ▀███   ███
             █████           █████
                  ███████████
  R E B E L L I O U S
NetcodePool
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 147
Merit: 100



View Profile
April 21, 2013, 03:18:47 PM
 #2090

Some nice setups in here.

netcodepool.org
svennand
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 250



View Profile
April 21, 2013, 06:17:24 PM
 #2091

My hobby rig=)

sodabox left: 1x7970, 3x7850 Seasonic 1250w
sodabox middle: 2x6970 3x6870 Enermax MaxEvo 1500w
sodabox right: 4x 5870 Corsair 800w
Main computer: 2x7970 (got overheat issue with 4x7970 in same case=P) Seasonic 1250w.

As of now im stopped by the fuse breaker and heat for that room. 16amp at 230v only gives me 3680w total.


tosku
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 368
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
April 21, 2013, 06:34:47 PM
 #2092

What are the towels doing under the front table legs?

Skude.se/BTC - an easier way to request your daily free coins!
ribal
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 217
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 21, 2013, 06:51:30 PM
 #2093

What are the towels doing under the front table legs?

maybe the floor isn't level?
svennand
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 250



View Profile
April 21, 2013, 06:53:36 PM
 #2094

What are the towels doing under the front table legs?

Hehe havent got concrete on the floore jet, so its to get the table in level=)
induktor
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 712
Merit: 502



View Profile
April 23, 2013, 01:00:20 AM
 #2095

Hello, This is my first mining rig, done entirely in aluminium 3mm thick, screws are all 1/8 directly screwed to the aluminium (previously threaded) (is that well said?, english not my first language, don't know how to explain it properly).

The original plan was to put 5 boards, but I'm pretty close to the power consumption of the power supply (750W PSU, and I'm using 450W for 4x7850 and the sempron processor).
the HD is temporary as I plan to boot from a flash thumb drive.

This gear gives 1GHash/s (BTC) at stock speeds and eats 450W, I know, small for what i have seen here Smiley but it's my first attempt, hope u like it.



other view:


side, with only one card and the cablesaurus extender (they are great!)


BTC addr: 1vTGnFgaM2WJjswwmbj6N2AQBWcHfimSc
Marrs
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 23, 2013, 02:30:49 AM
 #2096

Hello, This is my first mining rig, done entirely in aluminium 3mm thick, screws are all 1/8 directly screwed to the aluminium (previously threaded) (is that well said?, english not my first language, don't know how to explain it properly).

I think it looks great!

The motherboard looks like it's resting on top of some aluminum (?) pegs. Did you make those or buy them?

This gear gives 1GHash/s (BTC) at stock speeds and eats 450W, I know, small for what i have seen here Smiley but it's my first attempt, hope u like it.

1 Gh/s sounds low for four 7850s. I have two 7850s, one gets 320Mh/s at 1050 and the other gets 350Mh/s at 1150. Are you running at stock?
induktor
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 712
Merit: 502



View Profile
April 23, 2013, 02:46:11 AM
 #2097

I think it looks great!
The motherboard looks like it's resting on top of some aluminum (?) pegs. Did you make those or buy them?
Thanks  Smiley
I buy them, they are for electronics (not PC), I actually had them from a previous project Smiley they are quite expensive, like 0,4 U$D each.


1 Gh/s sounds low for four 7850s. I have two 7850s, one gets 320Mh/s at 1050 and the other gets 350Mh/s at 1150. Are you running at stock?


Yes I know Sad, I am runing at stock (860 Mhz)  I will love to get more juice from them, but i don't want to destroy any, GPU's are expensive here and have no warranty in my country.

The hottest card (the one closest to the PSU) runs at 60 C, so I think that i am ok with the temperature so far, but not sure how safe will be to OC them.

BTC addr: 1vTGnFgaM2WJjswwmbj6N2AQBWcHfimSc
QuiveringGibbage
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 619
Merit: 515


http://idontALT.com


View Profile WWW
April 23, 2013, 07:46:12 AM
 #2098

http://imgur.com/a/mRbMZ#OPCoPxr

QG

Bitcoin is at the tippity top of the mountain...but it's really only half way up.. Wink
klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918
Merit: 1001

ASIC Wannabe


View Profile
April 23, 2013, 08:06:02 AM
 #2099

I think it looks great!
The motherboard looks like it's resting on top of some aluminum (?) pegs. Did you make those or buy them?
Thanks  Smiley
I buy them, they are for electronics (not PC), I actually had them from a previous project Smiley they are quite expensive, like 0,4 U$D each.


1 Gh/s sounds low for four 7850s. I have two 7850s, one gets 320Mh/s at 1050 and the other gets 350Mh/s at 1150. Are you running at stock?


Yes I know Sad, I am runing at stock (860 Mhz)  I will love to get more juice from them, but i don't want to destroy any, GPU's are expensive here and have no warranty in my country.

The hottest card (the one closest to the PSU) runs at 60 C, so I think that i am ok with the temperature so far, but not sure how safe will be to OC them.


best technique is to underclock the memory a bit, as that reduces the heat production and is uneccessary to mining, and increase the core speeds slightly. If noise is not as issue, you can manually increase the fan speed setting as well to get a few degrees drop to temps. So long as the card runs smoothly and at a constant temperature and load, up to 65C is not an issue. (some drive thier cards up close to 80C, but that is risky IMO for the reasons you mentioned)

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 501



View Profile
April 23, 2013, 04:14:14 PM
 #2100



MSI H77MA-G43 board, Celeron G540@1.6GHz, 2GB RAM, Powercolor HD6970@880/1375, Powercolor HD5870@stock, 80GB Seagate HDD, 500W OCZ CoreXtreme PSU, Windows 7 Pro N.

So far, so good.  Waiting on a beefier PSU arriving.  Smoke hasn't got out of this little 500W unit so far, which is pretty good.  Love OCZ PSUs. Smiley

Upgrades waiting to go on - Zalman 1000W PSU (used off eBay), 64GB SSD boot drive (less power consumption than the ancient Seagate), 4GB RAM.

Running at just under 790MH/s.  Not bad for a machine made out of scrap and eBay cheap parts.
Pages: « 1 ... 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 [105] 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 ... 400 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!