Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 10:32:06 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 [105] 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 ... 390 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Pictures of your mining rigs!  (Read 1625672 times)
CoinHoarder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008

In Cryptocoins I Trust


View Profile
April 08, 2013, 11:49:54 PM
 #2081

35 BFL FPGA Singles Smiley (2 are broken and being sent back to BFL for replacements so there will be 37 hopefully within a week)


Full size: http://i.imgur.com/jKUnQfe.jpg

All were purchased used through these forums... your unit should be above (other than the broken ones) if you sold me one. :p
Not pictured: 2 box fans, 4 large PC-style fans, a shelf full of more power strips and BFL power bricks, and the console (keyboard/mouse/monitor) for the host computer.
This is in a somewhat cramped basement so it was hard to get a picture with everything in it.

Unfortunately I can't take credit for the custom BFL enclosure at the right of the top shelf; this came with my most recent BFL single purchase. Wink (thanks!!)

Host computer is an Intel Atom machine (the box with the bright blue light) but I'm currently having a lot of USB problems (which could actually be due to the units themselves... maybe it's because they're all used, but BFL Singles can be such a pain sometimes) so I'm looking to replace it with a regular computer soon. 

I know that I could power the BFLs from ATX power supplies using custom cables, but it would cost about $1000 US in cables and power supplies, and the Single SC's will require even more power (thicker cables + more power supplies) so I'm holding off until BFL's ASICs are out before I consider alternative power supplies.

I'm considering removing the cases from the units on the bottom shelf and will probably do this if a new host computer doesn't resolve my USB issues.  It almost seems like BFL sacrificed some of the functionality of these things to make them look nice, which I think is a terrible decision considering the purpose of bitcoin mining gear. Wink

Next step: Set up an air conditioner for when summer comes around...

Sick setup, I'm jelly.

I have those same shelves at my place, but unfortunately they're not loaded with FPGAs Grin

1481236326
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481236326

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481236326
Reply with quote  #2

1481236326
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481236326
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481236326

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481236326
Reply with quote  #2

1481236326
Report to moderator
1481236326
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481236326

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481236326
Reply with quote  #2

1481236326
Report to moderator
1481236326
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481236326

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481236326
Reply with quote  #2

1481236326
Report to moderator
BR0KK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
April 09, 2013, 09:40:43 AM
 #2082

Quote
Now I'm virtually all FPGAs and am desperate to get more hashrate (I'm a committed, but very small, miner), but FPGAs are expensive and only compete with GPUs on power consumption - in my experience (best hash per £ GPUs, so 5770, 5830, 5850, 6950 all with special tweaks; and a combination of Ztex's 1.15d and 1.15x FPGAs, so all Spartan-6 units).

I lost out on bASIC Tom even though I considered my due diligence pretty good; he had a record of delivering and didn't send off my risk analyst radar like BFL did. And whilst Avalon *have* delivered ASICs, I can't take days off work glued to my computer, propped up on amphetamines and repeatedly hitting ⌘R on the slim chance that I'll get onto the order webpage - and even then needing the luck to be able to actually *pay* and get a guaranteed build slot. I fear now is far too late anyway and Avalon have already sold their entire short production run, so it's 'start the process again'. I wouldn't be surprised if BFL go the same way, since there are too many rumours of chips not making the cut, and like Avalon they would only have a very limited number of discrete chips to package and test. With all the pre-orders, I'm sure I've missed the boat

Sure, I have the option to spend another £5k on 25 of Stefan's wonderful little boards and build another cool looking rig. It will be ultra-efficient and use little power. But, like the current one, it only has around 5 GH/sec. The ASIC devices are looking like around 50 GH/sec for something around £1k to (probably) £4k. I had a paid-for ASIC order in along with the other early adopters, but unluckily my order was with Tom and not Avalon. So if the ASIC boat has gone, with terahashes of power in various states of assembly at BFL and Avalon (et al) already earmarked for customers, buying as many FPGAs as possible *now* doesn't sound like it'll ever pay off  And that's even if I could get the FPGAs in the first place. Perhaps I should sell my existing FPGA rig for Bitcoins and simply invest (buy and hold only)...

I have no stake in Asics .... i decided not to because even Avalon could have been a scam (default op). I am a small committed miner myself.On my desk i have a beautiful fpga rig (Stefan's boards, 18 Spartans) chugging away 3.9Gh/s. I feel to upgrade but that would be an investment that i can not do at the moment....

Luckily though the current exchange value my investment in this rig will pay of itself in a few month (initially calculated repayment was 4 years!).



 

jml
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238



View Profile
April 09, 2013, 06:52:42 PM
 #2083

Quote
Now I'm virtually all FPGAs and am desperate to get more hashrate (I'm a committed, but very small, miner), but FPGAs are expensive and only compete with GPUs on power consumption - in my experience (best hash per £ GPUs, so 5770, 5830, 5850, 6950 all with special tweaks; and a combination of Ztex's 1.15d and 1.15x FPGAs, so all Spartan-6 units).

I lost out on bASIC Tom even though I considered my due diligence pretty good; he had a record of delivering and didn't send off my risk analyst radar like BFL did. And whilst Avalon *have* delivered ASICs, I can't take days off work glued to my computer, propped up on amphetamines and repeatedly hitting ⌘R on the slim chance that I'll get onto the order webpage - and even then needing the luck to be able to actually *pay* and get a guaranteed build slot. I fear now is far too late anyway and Avalon have already sold their entire short production run, so it's 'start the process again'. I wouldn't be surprised if BFL go the same way, since there are too many rumours of chips not making the cut, and like Avalon they would only have a very limited number of discrete chips to package and test. With all the pre-orders, I'm sure I've missed the boat

Sure, I have the option to spend another £5k on 25 of Stefan's wonderful little boards and build another cool looking rig. It will be ultra-efficient and use little power. But, like the current one, it only has around 5 GH/sec. The ASIC devices are looking like around 50 GH/sec for something around £1k to (probably) £4k. I had a paid-for ASIC order in along with the other early adopters, but unluckily my order was with Tom and not Avalon. So if the ASIC boat has gone, with terahashes of power in various states of assembly at BFL and Avalon (et al) already earmarked for customers, buying as many FPGAs as possible *now* doesn't sound like it'll ever pay off  And that's even if I could get the FPGAs in the first place. Perhaps I should sell my existing FPGA rig for Bitcoins and simply invest (buy and hold only)...

I have no stake in Asics .... i decided not to because even Avalon could have been a scam (default op). I am a small committed miner myself.On my desk i have a beautiful fpga rig (Stefan's boards, 18 Spartans) chugging away 3.9Gh/s. I feel to upgrade but that would be an investment that i can not do at the moment....

Luckily though the current exchange value my investment in this rig will pay of itself in a few month (initially calculated repayment was 4 years!).



 

It is a shame though that Stefan won't be stocking 1.15x for small orders. Now you would need a large order on that to get FPGA boards (I can confirm this). Checking again on the 1.15y, the product page has gone, so I am suspecting that it is either out of stock OR you need to place a large order (unless someone can confirm otherwise).

I only bought 1 1.15x to get into the grind of mining and I can see that it does bring in *some* money in despite the rise of BTC. So I am waiting on CM1 as I have very little faith that ASIC's will make it to the mainstream bitcoin mining market at least for this year.

"Everything is a matter of degree"
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
April 09, 2013, 07:48:26 PM
 #2084

I have very little faith that ASIC's will make it to the mainstream bitcoin mining market at least for this year.
Even if you think BFL is a scam or will just delay another 4-6 weeks, Avalons have been in hands of customers for quote some time.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
crashoveride54902
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728


Dream become broken often


View Profile
April 09, 2013, 09:32:11 PM
 #2085

wouldn't you get lower temps if you stood the unit upright and had the big fan blowing thru the units?

Quote
Now I'm virtually all FPGAs and am desperate to get more hashrate (I'm a committed, but very small, miner), but FPGAs are expensive and only compete with GPUs on power consumption - in my experience (best hash per £ GPUs, so 5770, 5830, 5850, 6950 all with special tweaks; and a combination of Ztex's 1.15d and 1.15x FPGAs, so all Spartan-6 units).

I lost out on bASIC Tom even though I considered my due diligence pretty good; he had a record of delivering and didn't send off my risk analyst radar like BFL did. And whilst Avalon *have* delivered ASICs, I can't take days off work glued to my computer, propped up on amphetamines and repeatedly hitting ⌘R on the slim chance that I'll get onto the order webpage - and even then needing the luck to be able to actually *pay* and get a guaranteed build slot. I fear now is far too late anyway and Avalon have already sold their entire short production run, so it's 'start the process again'. I wouldn't be surprised if BFL go the same way, since there are too many rumours of chips not making the cut, and like Avalon they would only have a very limited number of discrete chips to package and test. With all the pre-orders, I'm sure I've missed the boat

Sure, I have the option to spend another £5k on 25 of Stefan's wonderful little boards and build another cool looking rig. It will be ultra-efficient and use little power. But, like the current one, it only has around 5 GH/sec. The ASIC devices are looking like around 50 GH/sec for something around £1k to (probably) £4k. I had a paid-for ASIC order in along with the other early adopters, but unluckily my order was with Tom and not Avalon. So if the ASIC boat has gone, with terahashes of power in various states of assembly at BFL and Avalon (et al) already earmarked for customers, buying as many FPGAs as possible *now* doesn't sound like it'll ever pay off  And that's even if I could get the FPGAs in the first place. Perhaps I should sell my existing FPGA rig for Bitcoins and simply invest (buy and hold only)...

I have no stake in Asics .... i decided not to because even Avalon could have been a scam (default op). I am a small committed miner myself.On my desk i have a beautiful fpga rig (Stefan's boards, 18 Spartans) chugging away 3.9Gh/s. I feel to upgrade but that would be an investment that i can not do at the moment....

Luckily though the current exchange value my investment in this rig will pay of itself in a few month (initially calculated repayment was 4 years!).
 

Dreams of cyprto solving everything is slowly slipping away...Replaced by scams/hacks Sad
BR0KK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
April 09, 2013, 10:09:07 PM
 #2086

wouldn't you get lower temps if you stood the unit upright and had the big fan blowing thru the units?

Quote
Now I'm virtually all FPGAs and am desperate to get more hashrate (I'm a committed, but very small, miner), but FPGAs are expensive and only compete with GPUs on power consumption - in my experience (best hash per £ GPUs, so 5770, 5830, 5850, 6950 all with special tweaks; and a combination of Ztex's 1.15d and 1.15x FPGAs, so all Spartan-6 units).

I lost out on bASIC Tom even though I considered my due diligence pretty good; he had a record of delivering and didn't send off my risk analyst radar like BFL did. And whilst Avalon *have* delivered ASICs, I can't take days off work glued to my computer, propped up on amphetamines and repeatedly hitting ⌘R on the slim chance that I'll get onto the order webpage - and even then needing the luck to be able to actually *pay* and get a guaranteed build slot. I fear now is far too late anyway and Avalon have already sold their entire short production run, so it's 'start the process again'. I wouldn't be surprised if BFL go the same way, since there are too many rumours of chips not making the cut, and like Avalon they would only have a very limited number of discrete chips to package and test. With all the pre-orders, I'm sure I've missed the boat

Sure, I have the option to spend another £5k on 25 of Stefan's wonderful little boards and build another cool looking rig. It will be ultra-efficient and use little power. But, like the current one, it only has around 5 GH/sec. The ASIC devices are looking like around 50 GH/sec for something around £1k to (probably) £4k. I had a paid-for ASIC order in along with the other early adopters, but unluckily my order was with Tom and not Avalon. So if the ASIC boat has gone, with terahashes of power in various states of assembly at BFL and Avalon (et al) already earmarked for customers, buying as many FPGAs as possible *now* doesn't sound like it'll ever pay off  And that's even if I could get the FPGAs in the first place. Perhaps I should sell my existing FPGA rig for Bitcoins and simply invest (buy and hold only)...

I have no stake in Asics .... i decided not to because even Avalon could have been a scam (default op). I am a small committed miner myself.On my desk i have a beautiful fpga rig (Stefan's boards, 18 Spartans) chugging away 3.9Gh/s. I feel to upgrade but that would be an investment that i can not do at the moment....

Luckily though the current exchange value my investment in this rig will pay of itself in a few month (initially calculated repayment was 4 years!).
 

Yes the Picture is old im currently working on a enclosure for this rig Smiley

jerethdaminer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
April 11, 2013, 09:14:03 PM
 #2087

all these high end machines make me need a cold shower id post a picture of my rig but its not worth looking at compared to yours just a pc
 with a high end card but ive only been mining a week and aftrer needed upgrades im saddly looking at 5btc to recoup my iniitial costs Sad cant imagine having the guts to plonk down 5k£ on hardware in hopes of turning a profit my hats off to you
BBQKorv
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280



View Profile
April 12, 2013, 07:31:32 PM
 #2088



New GPUs in my everyday desktop.
Yes, thats dual 7990s with a 850W 80+ Platinum PSU, pulls 950W from the wall with 1050/684 clocks. Originally had the PSU planned for 3x 7970s but it seems to do fine with these monsters too.
http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/Kingwin-Lazer-Platinum-850-W-Power-Supply-Review/1527/10
god_43
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
April 13, 2013, 05:08:33 PM
 #2089

Quote
Now I'm virtually all FPGAs and am desperate to get more hashrate (I'm a committed, but very small, miner), but FPGAs are expensive and only compete with GPUs on power consumption - in my experience (best hash per £ GPUs, so 5770, 5830, 5850, 6950 all with special tweaks; and a combination of Ztex's 1.15d and 1.15x FPGAs, so all Spartan-6 units).

I lost out on bASIC Tom even though I considered my due diligence pretty good; he had a record of delivering and didn't send off my risk analyst radar like BFL did. And whilst Avalon *have* delivered ASICs, I can't take days off work glued to my computer, propped up on amphetamines and repeatedly hitting ⌘R on the slim chance that I'll get onto the order webpage - and even then needing the luck to be able to actually *pay* and get a guaranteed build slot. I fear now is far too late anyway and Avalon have already sold their entire short production run, so it's 'start the process again'. I wouldn't be surprised if BFL go the same way, since there are too many rumours of chips not making the cut, and like Avalon they would only have a very limited number of discrete chips to package and test. With all the pre-orders, I'm sure I've missed the boat

Sure, I have the option to spend another £5k on 25 of Stefan's wonderful little boards and build another cool looking rig. It will be ultra-efficient and use little power. But, like the current one, it only has around 5 GH/sec. The ASIC devices are looking like around 50 GH/sec for something around £1k to (probably) £4k. I had a paid-for ASIC order in along with the other early adopters, but unluckily my order was with Tom and not Avalon. So if the ASIC boat has gone, with terahashes of power in various states of assembly at BFL and Avalon (et al) already earmarked for customers, buying as many FPGAs as possible *now* doesn't sound like it'll ever pay off  And that's even if I could get the FPGAs in the first place. Perhaps I should sell my existing FPGA rig for Bitcoins and simply invest (buy and hold only)...

I have no stake in Asics .... i decided not to because even Avalon could have been a scam (default op). I am a small committed miner myself.On my desk i have a beautiful fpga rig (Stefan's boards, 18 Spartans) chugging away 3.9Gh/s. I feel to upgrade but that would be an investment that i can not do at the moment....

Luckily though the current exchange value my investment in this rig will pay of itself in a few month (initially calculated repayment was 4 years!).
http://www.abload.de/img/2012-01-1721.24.30whsn9.jpg
http://www.abload.de/img/2012-02-2816.25.363psxf.jpg
http://www.abload.de/img/2012-04-2611.00.121ds5k.jpg
 

It is a shame though that Stefan won't be stocking 1.15x for small orders. Now you would need a large order on that to get FPGA boards (I can confirm this). Checking again on the 1.15y, the product page has gone, so I am suspecting that it is either out of stock OR you need to place a large order (unless someone can confirm otherwise).

I only bought 1 1.15x to get into the grind of mining and I can see that it does bring in *some* money in despite the rise of BTC. So I am waiting on CM1 as I have very little faith that ASIC's will make it to the mainstream bitcoin mining market at least for this year.


where did you get these units (and the board) from? the look like the zte usb units?
im just trying to figure out how i see these massive 28 - 7000 ghs!!! i mean asics are not really out in large numbers yet? bfl still has not shipped any units right?

thanks.
MaGNeT
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


Founder of Orlycoin | O RLY? YA RLY!


View Profile WWW
April 13, 2013, 06:58:15 PM
 #2090

3x HD5870 = 1300Mhash/s



Never rebooted it in 8 days now  Smiley Rock solid @ 3x 437Mhash/s.

2x Gigabyte HD7970 Smiley



And this one is rock solid too Smiley
spinx
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 76



View Profile
April 15, 2013, 08:25:57 AM
 #2091

This is my temporary setup until i get my pci-risers
Running 3 of 5 7950's as for now. Need to finetune it for LTC, work in progress.


CoinHoarder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008

In Cryptocoins I Trust


View Profile
April 19, 2013, 10:47:12 PM
 #2092

My new toy

trippp
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47


View Profile
April 19, 2013, 11:02:26 PM
 #2093

What's that? A "portable" AC unit?
CoinHoarder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008

In Cryptocoins I Trust


View Profile
April 19, 2013, 11:07:46 PM
 #2094

What's that? A "portable" AC unit?

Yes sir. Right... hahah "portable".... It weighs almost 500 pounds, good thing it has wheels.

It should spit out about 36,000 BTUs of cool air while dehumidifying at the same time.  Smiley

I almost wish I would have got his bigger brother... the 60,000 BTU unit. But, it was expensive.. I suppose this'll do for now.

http://www.movincool.com/portable-air-conditioner/officepro36.php

Beaflag VonRathburg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 472



View Profile
April 20, 2013, 03:38:36 AM
 #2095


How many GPUs and in what conditions are you mining with that you need that kind of cooling?

CoinHoarder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008

In Cryptocoins I Trust


View Profile
April 20, 2013, 06:31:51 AM
 #2096

How many GPUs and in what conditions are you mining with that you need that kind of cooling?
It won't be effectively cooling its maximum load for a month or so, but I expect to cool about 11,214 watts of ASICs and GPUs with this based on my research.

I'm not really sure how accurate this number is because there is very little information on the subject, but I plan on adding rigs/ASICs until it can no longer deal with the heat.  Wink

marcus_of_augustus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100



View Profile
April 20, 2013, 10:15:50 AM
 #2097

How many GPUs and in what conditions are you mining with that you need that kind of cooling?
It won't be effectively cooling its maximum load for a month or so, but I expect to cool about 11,214 watts of ASICs and GPUs with this based on my research.

I'm not really sure how accurate this number is because there is very little information on the subject, but I plan on adding rigs/ASICs until it can no longer deal with the heat.  Wink

As far as I'm aware it is very simple ...

electric watts in ~= thermal watts need to be removed

malevolent
can into space
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile
April 20, 2013, 10:53:55 AM
 #2098

As far as I'm aware it is very simple ...
electric watts in ~= thermal watts need to be removed

I think you could substract electromagnetic radiation of wavelengths other than 380-740 nm and sound as these two are also are also as heat are ways that energy is emitted in.

I would be glad if someone more knowledgable confirmed whether I'm right or bullshitting, though.

How many GPUs and in what conditions are you mining with that you need that kind of cooling?
It won't be effectively cooling its maximum load for a month or so, but I expect to cool about 11,214 watts of ASICs and GPUs with this based on my research.
I'm not really sure how accurate this number is because there is very little information on the subject, but I plan on adding rigs/ASICs until it can no longer deal with the heat.  Wink

Are you sure it is going to be worth to run mine the GPUs with the added cost of electricity for cooling them? Have you checked how much do you have to pay for the electricity (+ costs of transmission/distribution + taxes)? It might be OK for now, but expect for the difficulty to increase 5-10x in a year or so if BFL delivers and Avalon continues to deliver.
marcus_of_augustus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100



View Profile
April 20, 2013, 12:39:36 PM
 #2099

Quote
I would be glad if someone more knowledgable confirmed whether I'm right or bullshitting, though.

I'm knowledgeable and you're bullshitting.  Smiley

EM (RF) radiation will be miniscule and probably absorbed and re-radiated as heat in the local vicinity that needs removing anyway, ditto for sound.

Electric watts input will be the same as the heat that needs removing. (This excludes the electric watts to drive the chiller of course)

Protagonus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238



View Profile
April 20, 2013, 03:22:52 PM
 #2100

I've dealt a bit with this stuff as well (cooling, electronics, TE's etc).   Technically, you need MORE cooling watts than heat watts produced.  As, in general, it is harder to cool than to heat.  (E.G it takes to add heat energy and more to subtract heat energy)  In a case with TE's a 250w heatsink was required to remove 100w of actual heat produced (Delta 10%F).  Operational temp of device was 10%F I suppose also, so you wouldn't need 3-4x if a larger delta is fine.

So, to cool 11,2Kw; I would assume, you prolly need around 15Kw of cooling ~ 74F final room temp+/-

(no physics isn't being violated.  You need to compare in J instead.  Essentially much less "time" required to heat than cool.  Also relates to lower energy of cool)
Pages: « 1 ... 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 [105] 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 ... 390 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!