Bitcoin Forum
June 18, 2021, 03:14:57 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 [107] 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 ... 400 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Pictures of your mining rigs!  (Read 1805379 times)
batman, not crabman
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 131
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 26, 2013, 12:54:25 PM
 #2121

4 x 6950, 3 of them flashed
1200 W PSU
Cheapest AMD CPU I could find Smiley
Gigabyte 990 FXA-UD3, couldn't get a 5th card to work so it's in my everyday pc.

The case is a 'cage drawer' for a storage unit I bought from Bunnings (hardware store here in Oz)

It gets about 1.8 MHash/s using cgminer and draws around 900 w (some of the cards are overclocked a bit but all stock voltage)



Go-go gadget cable ties

A horse walks into a bar and the barman says "Give me some Bitcoin!"
17TDYWdeL3GU2fsMSpV7itLYS2UJ91dCDx
1623986097
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1623986097

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1623986097
Reply with quote  #2

1623986097
Report to moderator
1623986097
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1623986097

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1623986097
Reply with quote  #2

1623986097
Report to moderator
1623986097
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1623986097

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1623986097
Reply with quote  #2

1623986097
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1623986097
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1623986097

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1623986097
Reply with quote  #2

1623986097
Report to moderator
1623986097
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1623986097

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1623986097
Reply with quote  #2

1623986097
Report to moderator
1623986097
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1623986097

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1623986097
Reply with quote  #2

1623986097
Report to moderator
slarowe86
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 01, 2013, 02:12:50 AM
 #2122

Playing more with powertune now and trying to get the temps down. Seems dropping it and modifying other settings is dropping the temps and keeping the kH/s near constant. Time testing it now I guess to see if it's stable.

You don't need high mem clock for mining, I run all my 7970's at 1125-1140 core with 1000 clock fan auto and I never hit above 80C and hashing at 670-700MH per card
sveetsnelda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 642
Merit: 500


View Profile
May 01, 2013, 02:25:38 AM
 #2123

Seems dropping it and modifying other settings is dropping the temps and keeping the kH/s near constant.

You don't need high mem clock for mining, I run all my 7970's at 1125-1140 core with 1000 clock fan auto and I never hit above 80C and hashing at 670-700MH per card

He's mining LTC.  Yes, you need a high mem clock for LTC mining.

14u2rp4AqFtN5jkwK944nn741FnfF714m7
slarowe86
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 01, 2013, 02:25:58 AM
 #2124

If I'm not watercooling, should I leave the plastic shroud on the GPU? I have 5 7950s running on a Gigabyte UD-5 Motherboard mining LTC with no shrouds. I believe they're rather adequately spaced, and I have a big 20" Lasko Cyclone fan pointed at them, yet I'm always seeming to get mid 80s to 90C on the cards. I know some of them aren't spaced exactly right and that will be changed soon. A friend of mine is making some custom open-air wood frames for me that will be stackable so I can put 4 rigs together (two beside and two on top of them) and get a big construction sized fan to blow air through them.

Cards are Powercolor AX7950s and are voltage locked (I'll be buying unlocked ones next time as I know of some now). Powertune is set to 20 on them. Getting about 535kH/s per card with standard riser cables (not powered, but some are on the way to see if it will boost the kH/s and let me drop the powertune to -5 or -10).

I would love to get the temps down a bit on these without having to pay for expensive watercooling. Soon I'll be renting a place to build 4 more rigs and put all 6 in and let the rigs pay the electric bill (my apartment doesn't have the juice necessary to feed 6 rigs like this). Then I'll slowly accumulate more rigs. Any suggestions would be welcomed to get these temps lower! Thanks!

-Moose

Pic:

http://i84.photobucket.com/albums/k13/CaptainMooseInc/photo_zps91f2430d.jpg

The reason for the unnecessary men clock is it generates heat, also too you wanna spread out the heat in the room those cases are too close together. You might wanna get another case. I wouldn't suggest no more than 3 that close together. I have 5 of the diamond 7970's, 2 of the HIS 7970's and a 5830 running. Each case only has 2 cards. Because the heat from the bottom card will transfer to the top card causing it to run hotter.

I have noticed that the blade fan that the diamond 7970 uses, while yes it is much much louder, does a way better job of staying cool than the HIS's.

Leave the power settings at default. You should be kickin more MH out than that. Also are you running a extra dedicated power supply for those extra cards? A guy at Microcenter told me you can run 3 cards fine without any power issues. Trying to do more you are risking frying the PS/MB/GPUs. Hope that helps a bit.
slarowe86
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 01, 2013, 02:26:48 AM
 #2125

Seems dropping it and modifying other settings is dropping the temps and keeping the kH/s near constant.

You don't need high mem clock for mining, I run all my 7970's at 1125-1140 core with 1000 clock fan auto and I never hit above 80C and hashing at 670-700MH per card

He's mining LTC.  Yes, you need a high mem clock for LTC mining.

Oh, oops sorry lol
batman, not crabman
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 131
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 01, 2013, 10:35:47 AM
 #2126

Seems dropping it and modifying other settings is dropping the temps and keeping the kH/s near constant.

You don't need high mem clock for mining, I run all my 7970's at 1125-1140 core with 1000 clock fan auto and I never hit above 80C and hashing at 670-700MH per card

He's mining LTC.  Yes, you need a high mem clock for LTC mining.

Oh, oops sorry lol

I played around with my 6950s mining LTC, reducing the mem clock from 1250 (or whatever the default was) to 300 and it made no discernible difference to hash rate or power draw (using a Watts Clever meter).
After discovering that I just put it back up to stock speeds.

Maybe different cards respond differently??

A horse walks into a bar and the barman says "Give me some Bitcoin!"
17TDYWdeL3GU2fsMSpV7itLYS2UJ91dCDx
Cereal
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40
Merit: 0



View Profile
May 01, 2013, 10:54:08 AM
 #2127

Could also be that the true mem speed is back to its original/stock setting.

My cards will only accept 150Mhz below GPU clock for instance 1200/1050 GPU/MEM clock, if I set MEM clock to 1049 or lower, it will change back to default (1200).
malevolent
can into space
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2954
Merit: 1560



View Profile
May 01, 2013, 11:55:29 AM
 #2128

I played around with my 6950s mining LTC, reducing the mem clock from 1250 (or whatever the default was) to 300 and it made no discernible difference to hash rate or power draw (using a Watts Clever meter).
After discovering that I just put it back up to stock speeds.
Maybe different cards respond differently??

The power draw and the temperatures should be lower with VRAM at 300 MHz. Open GPU-Z to check the actual clocks.


sveetsnelda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 642
Merit: 500


View Profile
May 01, 2013, 05:24:17 PM
 #2129

Could also be that the true mem speed is back to its original/stock setting.

^This.  It is hard coded into the GPU's BIOS on the 6000/7000 series cards to only allow 150mhz below engine clock.

Dropping a 6000 series card to 300mhz would make the LTC hash rate drop significantly.

14u2rp4AqFtN5jkwK944nn741FnfF714m7
crashoveride54902
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 504


Dream become broken often


View Profile
May 01, 2013, 09:45:04 PM
 #2130

I know this is OT but what would cause a sapphire 7970 to think its default clock is 1100mhz? I mean i've been running it @ 1100mhz for 2 months and with warmer weather coming, i've been lowering that clock down...but if i don't have cgminer running or msi AB it'll stay @ 1100mhz, won't even idle down and it is not even the primary vid card...also tryed uninstalling msi ab and deleting the profile dir.

Did i just burn the card into thinking it is suppose to stay at 1100mhz no matter what? lol...msi AB won't change the clock of it anymore, but cgminer will and trixx but only if i change the clock in msi ab first, then the other one...wonder if something is breaking on the card or just a setting in windows 7 is messed up...its no big deal i guess, just gotta play around more with it when i want to change the engine on it...sorry this is OT but alot of knowledgeable ppl view this thread and i would like to know if anyone has had this happen to them..Thanks

Dreams of cyprto solving everything is slowly slipping away...Replaced by scams/hacks Sad
sveetsnelda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 642
Merit: 500


View Profile
May 02, 2013, 01:53:14 AM
 #2131

It's a setting (not the card).  I know that MSI AB does this, but I can't vouch for Trixx.

14u2rp4AqFtN5jkwK944nn741FnfF714m7
YipYip
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 02, 2013, 04:14:18 AM
 #2132


Beautiful rig setup dude ..real classy

My 10 rigs look like a chinese industrial complex and yours is beverly hills ...lol

Waterblocks are really the way if u can afford the ROI ??

Do u recommend getting chips down that low ... Is it a case of the lower the better I am running everything at 71 c  ??


OBJECT NOT FOUND
Hippie Tech
aka Amenstop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624
Merit: 1001


All cryptos are FIAT digital currency. Do not use.


View Profile WWW
May 02, 2013, 05:54:25 AM
Last edit: May 02, 2013, 06:33:01 AM by Hippie Tech
 #2133

Guess what ! I'm building a farm of 7800s.. lol.. and one 5850...  Tongue

I've doubled my mhash by upgrading me pappa's htpc and by adding a 2nd Msi R7870 and 2 Sapphire 7870xts. The Antec HCP 850w and the Asus 970 r2.0 also helped. Next up is an Antec 1100 because my fans are tire of eating the cat's hair.

7870xt w/black Zalman, 7870 w/red Zalman, 7870 w/stock Twin Frozr III..


The xt seems stable at 1225mhz on the core/ 531 mhash/s, but thanks to the weak stock VRM heatink and the warm weather, I have not had the chance to test it much or see if it can do more.


Pics/ stats of the other rig.. coming soon..

I mean it this time.  Cheesy

pEACe

akipfer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
May 06, 2013, 08:57:25 AM
 #2134


You successfully managed to make Bitcoin mining look epic. Congrats. Smiley

cant see the video, video not available or some like that.

BTC 1LDZwmLNULuEKPANry5DTbH5seLKwph8ua         | [WebSite off] coopersite.com.br | Aceitaremos Moedas como pgto | Procurando franqueados!
LTC  LYMQwZbBHK2kdD7SJnxCnn8NcwbiFAmgnV        | [Twitter] https://twitter.com/allankipfer
[M.B.] Rules - [M.B.]-[Mercado Bitcoin] Esta da hora!   | [Facebook] http://www.facebook.com/allan.kipfer.tbo
melmo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 06, 2013, 01:51:08 PM
 #2135

If I'm not watercooling, should I leave the plastic shroud on the GPU? I have 5 7950s running on a Gigabyte UD-5 Motherboard mining LTC with no shrouds. I believe they're rather adequately spaced, and I have a big 20" Lasko Cyclone fan pointed at them, yet I'm always seeming to get mid 80s to 90C on the cards. I know some of them aren't spaced exactly right and that will be changed soon. A friend of mine is making some custom open-air wood frames for me that will be stackable so I can put 4 rigs together (two beside and two on top of them) and get a big construction sized fan to blow air through them.

Cards are Powercolor AX7950s and are voltage locked (I'll be buying unlocked ones next time as I know of some now). Powertune is set to 20 on them. Getting about 535kH/s per card with standard riser cables (not powered, but some are on the way to see if it will boost the kH/s and let me drop the powertune to -5 or -10).

I would love to get the temps down a bit on these without having to pay for expensive watercooling. Soon I'll be renting a place to build 4 more rigs and put all 6 in and let the rigs pay the electric bill (my apartment doesn't have the juice necessary to feed 6 rigs like this). Then I'll slowly accumulate more rigs. Any suggestions would be welcomed to get these temps lower! Thanks!

-Moose

I would try putting the shroud back on one of those cards and checking if the temperature drops.  With those reference-style coolers, the shroud directs the air through the heatsink and improves the cooling.
scapeoflegends
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 105
Merit: 0



View Profile
May 06, 2013, 06:08:30 PM
 #2136

This is my rig.. I like mine to look nice..

Running 2x 7970 XFX Black Edition..

If anybody willing to help me get 700ish kh/s PM me (Cant get over 500 for some reason  Undecided) Cheesy

1000core/1425mem

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BJlddEmCAAE9E46.jpg:large
scifimike12
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 303
Merit: 250



View Profile
May 06, 2013, 06:41:12 PM
 #2137

Running 2x 7970 XFX Black Edition..

If anybody willing to help me get 700ish kh/s PM me (Cant get over 500 for some reason  Undecided) Cheesy

1000core/1425mem

Try this with CGMiner:

Code:
--thread-concurrency 8192 -I 13 -w 256 -g 2

And keep your core/memory ratio at 0.5757575757....

So with a 1000MHz core, your memory should be ~1737MHz.
Beaflag VonRathburg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 472
Merit: 250



View Profile
May 06, 2013, 06:53:04 PM
 #2138

This is my rig.. I like mine to look nice..

Running 2x 7970 XFX Black Edition..

If anybody willing to help me get 700ish kh/s PM me (Cant get over 500 for some reason  Undecided) Cheesy

1000core/1425mem

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BJlddEmCAAE9E46.jpg:large

Is that a dedicated mining computer?

Here is what worked for me:

Quote from: mmitech
try this  -g 2 -I 13 --shaders 2048 -w256 

use cgminer 2.11.4 do not set thread-concurrency let cgminer detect the best value for your cards
, maybe try the last beta drivers 13.3, i get more than 720 kh/s with core1040/memory1750 with vcore unervolted and vmemory overvolted , i did order Arctic extreme cooler tried it on 1 card and it is amazing I am getting around 67 c°with these setting comparing to the other cards that are running @ 86 c° I did order more coolers for the other cards, it is worth every cent I did give.

This worked very well for me. I went from:

I 20
TC 24000
g 1

to

I 13
TC 10240
g 2

With the core clock staying at 1025, memory at 1800, and voltage at 1.063 each GPU went from 675 KH to 720 KH.

scapeoflegends
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 105
Merit: 0



View Profile
May 06, 2013, 06:55:40 PM
 #2139



Is that a dedicated mining computer?

Here is what worked for me:

-snip-


yes its a dedicated rig.. My first one.. Thus the reason why it looks nice.. haha

But anyways what cards you using? And what program you using to OC?
Beaflag VonRathburg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 472
Merit: 250



View Profile
May 06, 2013, 07:06:36 PM
 #2140



Is that a dedicated mining computer?

Here is what worked for me:

-snip-


yes its a dedicated rig.. My first one.. Thus the reason why it looks nice.. haha

But anyways what cards you using? And what program you using to OC?

Remove the crossfire connectors

CGMiner 2.11.4
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Catalyst 13.3 with included SDK
MSI Afterburner 3.0.0 Beta 8 (Easily allows unofficial overclocking)

Pages: « 1 ... 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 [107] 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 ... 400 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!