Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 06:13:04 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 [107] 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 ... 390 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Pictures of your mining rigs!  (Read 1627407 times)
scifimike12
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 304



View Profile
April 24, 2013, 05:54:48 PM
 #2121

Bad lighting? Looks like your camera ate that up with no issues. What kinda camera you got?

Those look like 4x 7970s? What block/cooler are you using on that 4th card?

It's a Nikon D90 with the stock 18-105mm lens.

And it's actually 3x 7970s and 1x 7950 in that rig.  The cooler is a Thermaltake Water 2.0 Pro.  The other rig has a Corsair H110 cooling a 7950.
1481436784
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481436784

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481436784
Reply with quote  #2

1481436784
Report to moderator
1481436784
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481436784

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481436784
Reply with quote  #2

1481436784
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481436784
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481436784

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481436784
Reply with quote  #2

1481436784
Report to moderator
cptmooseinc
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 396



View Profile
April 24, 2013, 10:51:35 PM
 #2122

If I'm not watercooling, should I leave the plastic shroud on the GPU? I have 5 7950s running on a Gigabyte UD-5 Motherboard mining LTC with no shrouds. I believe they're rather adequately spaced, and I have a big 20" Lasko Cyclone fan pointed at them, yet I'm always seeming to get mid 80s to 90C on the cards. I know some of them aren't spaced exactly right and that will be changed soon. A friend of mine is making some custom open-air wood frames for me that will be stackable so I can put 4 rigs together (two beside and two on top of them) and get a big construction sized fan to blow air through them.

Cards are Powercolor AX7950s and are voltage locked (I'll be buying unlocked ones next time as I know of some now). Powertune is set to 20 on them. Getting about 535kH/s per card with standard riser cables (not powered, but some are on the way to see if it will boost the kH/s and let me drop the powertune to -5 or -10).

I would love to get the temps down a bit on these without having to pay for expensive watercooling. Soon I'll be renting a place to build 4 more rigs and put all 6 in and let the rigs pay the electric bill (my apartment doesn't have the juice necessary to feed 6 rigs like this). Then I'll slowly accumulate more rigs. Any suggestions would be welcomed to get these temps lower! Thanks!

-Moose

Pic:


The Moose's Tip Jar: BTC - 1HoTm9ZqrEmD5Tvs5qAdPM311agyN3eHra
LTC - LPg9svS4dcK5Kzy6HUoef8icrnDxED3ZVA
Marrs
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
April 24, 2013, 11:11:39 PM
 #2123

Powertune is set to 20 on them. Getting about 535kH/s per card with standard riser cables (not powered, but some are on the way to see if it will boost the kH/s and let me drop the powertune to -5 or -10).


Why are you setting powertune to 20? Are you overclocking?
cptmooseinc
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 396



View Profile
April 24, 2013, 11:32:54 PM
 #2124

To get some more kH/s out of the cards. I've got the engine set to 1078 and the memclock to 1490

The Moose's Tip Jar: BTC - 1HoTm9ZqrEmD5Tvs5qAdPM311agyN3eHra
LTC - LPg9svS4dcK5Kzy6HUoef8icrnDxED3ZVA
ryantc
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 290



View Profile
April 24, 2013, 11:44:00 PM
 #2125

After a couple of weeks of no mining, I'm back.  Sold off a few parts and got an electrician to install some more outlets in my basement (been procrastinating 6+ years for this).  Pardon the poor lighting - that is next in my to-do list.   Grin


Just wondering what temp do you get with that 480 rad?
I am planning to water cool my 3 7950 rig with a 360 rad + Koolance 450 pump
I'm not sure the rad is big enough.
Marrs
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
April 25, 2013, 12:11:38 AM
 #2126

To get some more kH/s out of the cards. I've got the engine set to 1078 and the memclock to 1490

You only need to raise powertune if your overclocked system isn't stable. If that's why you did it, then fine, but if it was just part of a copy-paste of someone else's settings, try lowering powertune. That should lower your temperatures.
cptmooseinc
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 396



View Profile
April 25, 2013, 02:14:59 AM
 #2127

Playing more with powertune now and trying to get the temps down. Seems dropping it and modifying other settings is dropping the temps and keeping the kH/s near constant. Time testing it now I guess to see if it's stable.

The Moose's Tip Jar: BTC - 1HoTm9ZqrEmD5Tvs5qAdPM311agyN3eHra
LTC - LPg9svS4dcK5Kzy6HUoef8icrnDxED3ZVA
scifimike12
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 304



View Profile
April 25, 2013, 02:19:54 AM
 #2128

Just wondering what temp do you get with that 480 rad?
I am planning to water cool my 3 7950 rig with a 360 rad + Koolance 450 pump
I'm not sure the rad is big enough.

I have them hooked up to two 480 rads.  My temps are 36­°C, 38°C, and 39°C respectively.  The lonely 7950 on the end is 41°C (not half bad considering).

btcminer021
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


Mine hard!


View Profile
April 25, 2013, 03:21:11 AM
 #2129


Raise your Intensity to 11 or 13

▲▼▲▼▲▼▲▼  No.1 Bitcoin Binary Options and Double Dice  ▲▼▲▼▲▼▲▼
████████████████████████████████  sec◔nds trade  ████████████████████████████████
↑↓ Instant Bets ↑↓ Flexible 1~720 minutes Expiry time ↑↓ Highest Reward 190% ↑↓ 16 Assets [btc, forex, gold, 1% edge double dice] ↑↓
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
April 25, 2013, 06:04:51 AM
 #2130

Umm no. I: 7 is just fine for BTC mining.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
sveetsnelda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
April 25, 2013, 07:16:56 AM
 #2131


Correct (for Windows anyways).  If you're using the Diablo kernel, 7 is fine.  If you're using poclbm under Windows, that's still fine.  If you're using poclbm in Linux though -- you'll need 11.

14u2rp4AqFtN5jkwK944nn741FnfF714m7
noname6520
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
April 25, 2013, 02:27:50 PM
 #2132

I've dealt a bit with this stuff as well (cooling, electronics, TE's etc).   Technically, you need MORE cooling watts than heat watts produced.  As, in general, it is harder to cool than to heat.  (E.G it takes to add heat energy and more to subtract heat energy)  In a case with TE's a 250w heatsink was required to remove 100w of actual heat produced (Delta 10%F).  Operational temp of device was 10%F I suppose also, so you wouldn't need 3-4x if a larger delta is fine.

So, to cool 11,2Kw; I would assume, you prolly need around 15Kw of cooling ~ 74F final room temp+/-

(no physics isn't being violated.  You need to compare in J instead.  Essentially much less "time" required to heat than cool.  Also relates to lower energy of cool)

this is a direct consequence of the second law of thermodynamics I believe.
ryantc
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 290



View Profile
April 25, 2013, 02:50:20 PM
 #2133

Just wondering what temp do you get with that 480 rad?
I am planning to water cool my 3 7950 rig with a 360 rad + Koolance 450 pump
I'm not sure the rad is big enough.

I have them hooked up to two 480 rads.  My temps are 36­°C, 38°C, and 39°C respectively.  The lonely 7950 on the end is 41°C (not half bad considering).


impressive, it seems I need more rad or adjust my expectation Cheesy
I'll be happy if I can keep the temp below 70 during the summer with one 360 rad.
batman, not crabman
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 131


View Profile
April 26, 2013, 12:54:25 PM
 #2134

4 x 6950, 3 of them flashed
1200 W PSU
Cheapest AMD CPU I could find Smiley
Gigabyte 990 FXA-UD3, couldn't get a 5th card to work so it's in my everyday pc.

The case is a 'cage drawer' for a storage unit I bought from Bunnings (hardware store here in Oz)

It gets about 1.8 MHash/s using cgminer and draws around 900 w (some of the cards are overclocked a bit but all stock voltage)



Go-go gadget cable ties

A horse walks into a bar and the barman says "Give me some Bitcoin!"
17TDYWdeL3GU2fsMSpV7itLYS2UJ91dCDx
slarowe86
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
May 01, 2013, 02:12:50 AM
 #2135

Playing more with powertune now and trying to get the temps down. Seems dropping it and modifying other settings is dropping the temps and keeping the kH/s near constant. Time testing it now I guess to see if it's stable.

You don't need high mem clock for mining, I run all my 7970's at 1125-1140 core with 1000 clock fan auto and I never hit above 80C and hashing at 670-700MH per card
sveetsnelda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
May 01, 2013, 02:25:38 AM
 #2136

Seems dropping it and modifying other settings is dropping the temps and keeping the kH/s near constant.

You don't need high mem clock for mining, I run all my 7970's at 1125-1140 core with 1000 clock fan auto and I never hit above 80C and hashing at 670-700MH per card

He's mining LTC.  Yes, you need a high mem clock for LTC mining.

14u2rp4AqFtN5jkwK944nn741FnfF714m7
slarowe86
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
May 01, 2013, 02:25:58 AM
 #2137

If I'm not watercooling, should I leave the plastic shroud on the GPU? I have 5 7950s running on a Gigabyte UD-5 Motherboard mining LTC with no shrouds. I believe they're rather adequately spaced, and I have a big 20" Lasko Cyclone fan pointed at them, yet I'm always seeming to get mid 80s to 90C on the cards. I know some of them aren't spaced exactly right and that will be changed soon. A friend of mine is making some custom open-air wood frames for me that will be stackable so I can put 4 rigs together (two beside and two on top of them) and get a big construction sized fan to blow air through them.

Cards are Powercolor AX7950s and are voltage locked (I'll be buying unlocked ones next time as I know of some now). Powertune is set to 20 on them. Getting about 535kH/s per card with standard riser cables (not powered, but some are on the way to see if it will boost the kH/s and let me drop the powertune to -5 or -10).

I would love to get the temps down a bit on these without having to pay for expensive watercooling. Soon I'll be renting a place to build 4 more rigs and put all 6 in and let the rigs pay the electric bill (my apartment doesn't have the juice necessary to feed 6 rigs like this). Then I'll slowly accumulate more rigs. Any suggestions would be welcomed to get these temps lower! Thanks!

-Moose

Pic:

http://i84.photobucket.com/albums/k13/CaptainMooseInc/photo_zps91f2430d.jpg

The reason for the unnecessary men clock is it generates heat, also too you wanna spread out the heat in the room those cases are too close together. You might wanna get another case. I wouldn't suggest no more than 3 that close together. I have 5 of the diamond 7970's, 2 of the HIS 7970's and a 5830 running. Each case only has 2 cards. Because the heat from the bottom card will transfer to the top card causing it to run hotter.

I have noticed that the blade fan that the diamond 7970 uses, while yes it is much much louder, does a way better job of staying cool than the HIS's.

Leave the power settings at default. You should be kickin more MH out than that. Also are you running a extra dedicated power supply for those extra cards? A guy at Microcenter told me you can run 3 cards fine without any power issues. Trying to do more you are risking frying the PS/MB/GPUs. Hope that helps a bit.
slarowe86
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
May 01, 2013, 02:26:48 AM
 #2138

Seems dropping it and modifying other settings is dropping the temps and keeping the kH/s near constant.

You don't need high mem clock for mining, I run all my 7970's at 1125-1140 core with 1000 clock fan auto and I never hit above 80C and hashing at 670-700MH per card

He's mining LTC.  Yes, you need a high mem clock for LTC mining.

Oh, oops sorry lol
batman, not crabman
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 131


View Profile
May 01, 2013, 10:35:47 AM
 #2139

Seems dropping it and modifying other settings is dropping the temps and keeping the kH/s near constant.

You don't need high mem clock for mining, I run all my 7970's at 1125-1140 core with 1000 clock fan auto and I never hit above 80C and hashing at 670-700MH per card

He's mining LTC.  Yes, you need a high mem clock for LTC mining.

Oh, oops sorry lol

I played around with my 6950s mining LTC, reducing the mem clock from 1250 (or whatever the default was) to 300 and it made no discernible difference to hash rate or power draw (using a Watts Clever meter).
After discovering that I just put it back up to stock speeds.

Maybe different cards respond differently??

A horse walks into a bar and the barman says "Give me some Bitcoin!"
17TDYWdeL3GU2fsMSpV7itLYS2UJ91dCDx
Cereal
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40



View Profile
May 01, 2013, 10:54:08 AM
 #2140

Could also be that the true mem speed is back to its original/stock setting.

My cards will only accept 150Mhz below GPU clock for instance 1200/1050 GPU/MEM clock, if I set MEM clock to 1049 or lower, it will change back to default (1200).

Tips welcome: 1PJxXv4dHLdTMu5Krm98T4KtrMzhhgXd1k
Pages: « 1 ... 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 [107] 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 ... 390 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!