Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 12:05:43 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 [108] 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 ... 390 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Pictures of your mining rigs!  (Read 1625918 times)
malevolent
can into space
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile
May 01, 2013, 11:55:29 AM
 #2141

I played around with my 6950s mining LTC, reducing the mem clock from 1250 (or whatever the default was) to 300 and it made no discernible difference to hash rate or power draw (using a Watts Clever meter).
After discovering that I just put it back up to stock speeds.
Maybe different cards respond differently??

The power draw and the temperatures should be lower with VRAM at 300 MHz. Open GPU-Z to check the actual clocks.

1481285143
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481285143

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481285143
Reply with quote  #2

1481285143
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
sveetsnelda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
May 01, 2013, 05:24:17 PM
 #2142

Could also be that the true mem speed is back to its original/stock setting.

^This.  It is hard coded into the GPU's BIOS on the 6000/7000 series cards to only allow 150mhz below engine clock.

Dropping a 6000 series card to 300mhz would make the LTC hash rate drop significantly.

14u2rp4AqFtN5jkwK944nn741FnfF714m7
crashoveride54902
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728


Dream become broken often


View Profile
May 01, 2013, 09:45:04 PM
 #2143

I know this is OT but what would cause a sapphire 7970 to think its default clock is 1100mhz? I mean i've been running it @ 1100mhz for 2 months and with warmer weather coming, i've been lowering that clock down...but if i don't have cgminer running or msi AB it'll stay @ 1100mhz, won't even idle down and it is not even the primary vid card...also tryed uninstalling msi ab and deleting the profile dir.

Did i just burn the card into thinking it is suppose to stay at 1100mhz no matter what? lol...msi AB won't change the clock of it anymore, but cgminer will and trixx but only if i change the clock in msi ab first, then the other one...wonder if something is breaking on the card or just a setting in windows 7 is messed up...its no big deal i guess, just gotta play around more with it when i want to change the engine on it...sorry this is OT but alot of knowledgeable ppl view this thread and i would like to know if anyone has had this happen to them..Thanks

Dreams of cyprto solving everything is slowly slipping away...Replaced by scams/hacks Sad
sveetsnelda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
May 02, 2013, 01:53:14 AM
 #2144

It's a setting (not the card).  I know that MSI AB does this, but I can't vouch for Trixx.

14u2rp4AqFtN5jkwK944nn741FnfF714m7
YipYip
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
May 02, 2013, 04:14:18 AM
 #2145


Beautiful rig setup dude ..real classy

My 10 rigs look like a chinese industrial complex and yours is beverly hills ...lol

Waterblocks are really the way if u can afford the ROI ??

Do u recommend getting chips down that low ... Is it a case of the lower the better I am running everything at 71 c  ??


OBJECT NOT FOUND
Hippie Tech
aka Amenstop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414


www.occupationmovie.com


View Profile WWW
May 02, 2013, 05:54:25 AM
 #2146

Guess what ! I'm building a farm of 7800s.. lol.. and one 5850...  Tongue

I've doubled my mhash by upgrading me pappa's htpc and by adding a 2nd Msi R7870 and 2 Sapphire 7870xts. The Antec HCP 850w and the Asus 970 r2.0 also helped. Next up is an Antec 1100 because my fans are tire of eating the cat's hair.

7870xt w/black Zalman, 7870 w/red Zalman, 7870 w/stock Twin Frozr III..


The xt seems stable at 1225mhz on the core/ 531 mhash/s, but thanks to the weak stock VRM heatink and the warm weather, I have not had the chance to test it much or see if it can do more.


Pics/ stats of the other rig.. coming soon..

I mean it this time.  Cheesy

pEACe

akipfer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile WWW
May 06, 2013, 08:57:25 AM
 #2147


You successfully managed to make Bitcoin mining look epic. Congrats. Smiley

cant see the video, video not available or some like that.

BTC 1LDZwmLNULuEKPANry5DTbH5seLKwph8ua         | [WebSite off] coopersite.com.br | Aceitaremos Moedas como pgto | Procurando franqueados!
LTC  LYMQwZbBHK2kdD7SJnxCnn8NcwbiFAmgnV        | [Twitter] https://twitter.com/allankipfer
[M.B.] Rules - [M.B.]-[Mercado Bitcoin] Esta da hora!   | [Facebook] http://www.facebook.com/allan.kipfer.tbo
melmo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213


View Profile
May 06, 2013, 01:51:08 PM
 #2148

If I'm not watercooling, should I leave the plastic shroud on the GPU? I have 5 7950s running on a Gigabyte UD-5 Motherboard mining LTC with no shrouds. I believe they're rather adequately spaced, and I have a big 20" Lasko Cyclone fan pointed at them, yet I'm always seeming to get mid 80s to 90C on the cards. I know some of them aren't spaced exactly right and that will be changed soon. A friend of mine is making some custom open-air wood frames for me that will be stackable so I can put 4 rigs together (two beside and two on top of them) and get a big construction sized fan to blow air through them.

Cards are Powercolor AX7950s and are voltage locked (I'll be buying unlocked ones next time as I know of some now). Powertune is set to 20 on them. Getting about 535kH/s per card with standard riser cables (not powered, but some are on the way to see if it will boost the kH/s and let me drop the powertune to -5 or -10).

I would love to get the temps down a bit on these without having to pay for expensive watercooling. Soon I'll be renting a place to build 4 more rigs and put all 6 in and let the rigs pay the electric bill (my apartment doesn't have the juice necessary to feed 6 rigs like this). Then I'll slowly accumulate more rigs. Any suggestions would be welcomed to get these temps lower! Thanks!

-Moose

I would try putting the shroud back on one of those cards and checking if the temperature drops.  With those reference-style coolers, the shroud directs the air through the heatsink and improves the cooling.
scapeoflegends
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26



View Profile
May 06, 2013, 06:08:30 PM
 #2149

This is my rig.. I like mine to look nice..

Running 2x 7970 XFX Black Edition..

If anybody willing to help me get 700ish kh/s PM me (Cant get over 500 for some reason  Undecided) Cheesy

1000core/1425mem

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BJlddEmCAAE9E46.jpg:large

If I helped you, or you are just being generous. You are welcome to donate Cheesy
BTC: 1J6tShk8L7Jyea996s1Rg2RFUGz1K2gapS
LTC: Le5c2e76ddC9qJPTBrBYt8jiiXtikeQTP2
scifimike12
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 304



View Profile
May 06, 2013, 06:41:12 PM
 #2150

Running 2x 7970 XFX Black Edition..

If anybody willing to help me get 700ish kh/s PM me (Cant get over 500 for some reason  Undecided) Cheesy

1000core/1425mem

Try this with CGMiner:

Code:
--thread-concurrency 8192 -I 13 -w 256 -g 2

And keep your core/memory ratio at 0.5757575757....

So with a 1000MHz core, your memory should be ~1737MHz.
Beaflag VonRathburg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 472



View Profile
May 06, 2013, 06:53:04 PM
 #2151

This is my rig.. I like mine to look nice..

Running 2x 7970 XFX Black Edition..

If anybody willing to help me get 700ish kh/s PM me (Cant get over 500 for some reason  Undecided) Cheesy

1000core/1425mem

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BJlddEmCAAE9E46.jpg:large

Is that a dedicated mining computer?

Here is what worked for me:

Quote from: mmitech
try this  -g 2 -I 13 --shaders 2048 -w256 

use cgminer 2.11.4 do not set thread-concurrency let cgminer detect the best value for your cards
, maybe try the last beta drivers 13.3, i get more than 720 kh/s with core1040/memory1750 with vcore unervolted and vmemory overvolted , i did order Arctic extreme cooler tried it on 1 card and it is amazing I am getting around 67 c°with these setting comparing to the other cards that are running @ 86 c° I did order more coolers for the other cards, it is worth every cent I did give.

This worked very well for me. I went from:

I 20
TC 24000
g 1

to

I 13
TC 10240
g 2

With the core clock staying at 1025, memory at 1800, and voltage at 1.063 each GPU went from 675 KH to 720 KH.

scapeoflegends
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26



View Profile
May 06, 2013, 06:55:40 PM
 #2152



Is that a dedicated mining computer?

Here is what worked for me:

-snip-


yes its a dedicated rig.. My first one.. Thus the reason why it looks nice.. haha

But anyways what cards you using? And what program you using to OC?

If I helped you, or you are just being generous. You are welcome to donate Cheesy
BTC: 1J6tShk8L7Jyea996s1Rg2RFUGz1K2gapS
LTC: Le5c2e76ddC9qJPTBrBYt8jiiXtikeQTP2
Beaflag VonRathburg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 472



View Profile
May 06, 2013, 07:06:36 PM
 #2153



Is that a dedicated mining computer?

Here is what worked for me:

-snip-


yes its a dedicated rig.. My first one.. Thus the reason why it looks nice.. haha

But anyways what cards you using? And what program you using to OC?

Remove the crossfire connectors

CGMiner 2.11.4
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Catalyst 13.3 with included SDK
MSI Afterburner 3.0.0 Beta 8 (Easily allows unofficial overclocking)

molecular
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2142



View Profile
May 06, 2013, 07:07:51 PM
 #2154

What are the towels doing under the front table legs?

wherever you go, always take a towel.

PGP key molecular F9B70769 fingerprint 9CDD C0D3 20F8 279F 6BE0  3F39 FC49 2362 F9B7 0769
scapeoflegends
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26



View Profile
May 06, 2013, 08:38:45 PM
 #2155


Remove the crossfire connectors

CGMiner 2.11.4
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Catalyst 13.3 with included SDK
MSI Afterburner 3.0.0 Beta 8 (Easily allows unofficial overclocking)


Im running the same now.. besides Win 7 home prem

Code:
cgminer.exe --scrypt -o http://ltc.nushor.net:8998 -u scape373.1 -p x -g 2 -I 13 --shaders 2048 -w 256

But im getting massive HW errors.. Meh...

http://gyazo.com/d284e27b57b5e1f3b76bcb2b52275f6a.png

If I helped you, or you are just being generous. You are welcome to donate Cheesy
BTC: 1J6tShk8L7Jyea996s1Rg2RFUGz1K2gapS
LTC: Le5c2e76ddC9qJPTBrBYt8jiiXtikeQTP2
Beaflag VonRathburg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 472



View Profile
May 06, 2013, 08:53:44 PM
 #2156


Remove the crossfire connectors

CGMiner 2.11.4
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Catalyst 13.3 with included SDK
MSI Afterburner 3.0.0 Beta 8 (Easily allows unofficial overclocking)


Im running the same now.. besides Win 7 home prem

Code:
cgminer.exe --scrypt -o http://ltc.nushor.net:8998 -u scape373.1 -p x -g 2 -I 13 --shaders 2048 -w 256

But im getting massive HW errors.. Meh...

http://gyazo.com/d284e27b57b5e1f3b76bcb2b52275f6a.png

Setup afterburner as such:


Set your clocks, close afterburner, and CCC. Leaving afterburner open for me causes the hash rate to immediately drop and cause weird GPU usage issues. Open cgminer folder, delete config file, and scrypt binary file. The binary file will be named something like: scrypt130302Tahitiglg2tc10240w256l4.bin . Start cgminer with the command line you used above:
Code:
cgminer.exe --scrypt -o http://ltc.nushor.net:8998 -u scape373.1 -p x -g 2 -I 13 --shaders 2048 -w 256

Press S and W to write a new config file. Close cgminer, open the new config, and edit it for your pool information, fan settings, etc... I've done this with 3 rigs, that each use different GPUs, motherboards, etc... and all of the 7970s, but one get 720 KH/S. The one that doesn't overheats so I have it turned down to 550 KH/s. I've also used the same method on 4x Tahiti based 7870s, but they are a little whacky.

EDIT: My desktop I am using now:

GPU1 is my display card and I turn it down sometimes depending on what I am doing.

akipfer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile WWW
May 07, 2013, 04:36:40 AM
 #2157

NEVER use a SATA to PCIe connector - don't know who the hell thought of that idea but that is just asking for a problem since the SATA connectors were never designed to deliver that much power.
How much power is SATA cable rated for?
I have 5830's that's undervolted, and was thinking of using SATA to PCI-E power cables.
why would u do that? the power supply doesn't provide enough power to your PCIe card?

i bought a ahell of a psu, OCZ ZX series 1000W 80+ Gold...
i'm sure she won't deny power to my gpus.
right?

or i'm not sure about what u guys are talking about

BTC 1LDZwmLNULuEKPANry5DTbH5seLKwph8ua         | [WebSite off] coopersite.com.br | Aceitaremos Moedas como pgto | Procurando franqueados!
LTC  LYMQwZbBHK2kdD7SJnxCnn8NcwbiFAmgnV        | [Twitter] https://twitter.com/allankipfer
[M.B.] Rules - [M.B.]-[Mercado Bitcoin] Esta da hora!   | [Facebook] http://www.facebook.com/allan.kipfer.tbo
2Kool4Skewl
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


Suretified Jeanius


View Profile
May 07, 2013, 08:52:05 AM
 #2158

Could also be that the true mem speed is back to its original/stock setting.

^This.  It is hard coded into the GPU's BIOS on the 6000/7000 series cards to only allow 150mhz below engine clock.

Dropping a 6000 series card to 300mhz would make the LTC hash rate drop significantly.

Anyone know of a bios rom to flash to allow a 7950 to drop its memory more than 150mhz under core?

Is there a bios editor to edit the rom that comes on the card to allow this?

philips
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686



View Profile
May 07, 2013, 10:44:12 AM
 #2159

Could also be that the true mem speed is back to its original/stock setting.

^This.  It is hard coded into the GPU's BIOS on the 6000/7000 series cards to only allow 150mhz below engine clock.

Dropping a 6000 series card to 300mhz would make the LTC hash rate drop significantly.

Anyone know of a bios rom to flash to allow a 7950 to drop its memory more than 150mhz under core?

Is there a bios editor to edit the rom that comes on the card to allow this?

How low?
zenrog
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
May 07, 2013, 05:53:30 PM
 #2160

What is the best PSU for 3x 7870 XT?
And for 6970 x3?
Thanks.

BTC - 1LVvdXu7XA6TqwVUuweAmDk1pSnDEBAeon  Thank   FTC - 6o6YkSQ1GQs2ysfca3BLbS4Thg8tuxNd9A   
LTC - LdxXMTWKHXvXB4X2yk6SmpzFmiQkmTP73c    YOU    CNC - CQwxHLXmuZmc3bS1eSyHus7RC8ux76ipzL
Pages: « 1 ... 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 [108] 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 ... 390 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!