Bitcoin Forum
June 24, 2021, 10:24:34 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 [106] 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 ... 400 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Pictures of your mining rigs!  (Read 1805379 times)
avive
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0



View Profile
April 23, 2013, 11:14:03 PM
 #2101

My first and only 1 Ghash mining rig

Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z77x-D3H
CPU: Intel G645
PSU: Seasonic X Gold 850W
GPUs: 1 x 5870, 2 x 5830

Mining at ~ 1070 Mhash

http://s7.postimg.org/c1dfj6nt7/2013_04_21_17_35_26.jpg
1624530274
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1624530274

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1624530274
Reply with quote  #2

1624530274
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Tigggger
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1093
Merit: 1000



View Profile
April 23, 2013, 11:29:33 PM
 #2102

The motherboard looks like it's resting on top of some aluminum (?) pegs. Did you make those or buy them?

My cheap solution was to use a bolt and two nuts for each leg.

Use the holes in the motherboard that are for case mounting, one nut below to rest on, one on top to tighten.


superdork
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 100



View Profile
April 24, 2013, 12:14:24 AM
 #2103

how do I post a pic on here?  I would love to post my little baby one here, it is the first computer I have ever built!

I don't use snapfish or photo bucket, but I have an iPhone... is there a really easy way to do this?


feel free to leave a tip in my daughter's college fund if you found my posts helpful 1HiCE3vX7yr7Yqy4yHf36x4w1cmSEsrTbM

(or if you just want some good karma!)
Hippie Tech
aka Amenstop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624
Merit: 1001


All cryptos are FIAT digital currency. Do not use.


View Profile WWW
April 24, 2013, 01:00:40 AM
 #2104

how do I post a pic on here?  I would love to post my little baby one here, it is the first computer I have ever built!

I don't use snapfish or photo bucket, but I have an iPhone... is there a really easy way to do this?



TechPowerup is free and easy. Smiley

http://www.techpowerup.org/upload.php

milazi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43
Merit: 0



View Profile
April 24, 2013, 04:28:22 AM
 #2105

wow,it's so great,but it's also expensive.
scifimike12
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 303
Merit: 250



View Profile
April 24, 2013, 05:00:00 PM
 #2106

After a couple of weeks of no mining, I'm back.  Sold off a few parts and got an electrician to install some more outlets in my basement (been procrastinating 6+ years for this).  Pardon the poor lighting - that is next in my to-do list.   Grin









crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000



View Profile
April 24, 2013, 05:23:16 PM
 #2107

After a couple of weeks of no mining, I'm back.  Sold off a few parts and got an electrician to install some more outlets in my basement (been procrastinating 6+ years for this).  Pardon the poor lighting - that is next in my to-do list.   Grin

[img]http://oi35.tinypic.com/nya4c0.jpg[/ img]

[img]http://oi33.tinypic.com/1586m8p.jpg[/ img]

[img]http://oi33.tinypic.com/2unxbir.jpg[/ img]

[img]http://oi38.tinypic.com/2h7nu9v.jpg[/ img]

[img]http://oi38.tinypic.com/25kpoo6.jpg[/ img]
Bad lighting? Looks like your camera ate that up with no issues. What kinda camera you got?

Those look like 4x 7970s? What block/cooler are you using on that 4th card?

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
scifimike12
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 303
Merit: 250



View Profile
April 24, 2013, 05:54:48 PM
 #2108

Bad lighting? Looks like your camera ate that up with no issues. What kinda camera you got?

Those look like 4x 7970s? What block/cooler are you using on that 4th card?

It's a Nikon D90 with the stock 18-105mm lens.

And it's actually 3x 7970s and 1x 7950 in that rig.  The cooler is a Thermaltake Water 2.0 Pro.  The other rig has a Corsair H110 cooling a 7950.
cptmooseinc
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 396
Merit: 250



View Profile
April 24, 2013, 10:51:35 PM
 #2109

If I'm not watercooling, should I leave the plastic shroud on the GPU? I have 5 7950s running on a Gigabyte UD-5 Motherboard mining LTC with no shrouds. I believe they're rather adequately spaced, and I have a big 20" Lasko Cyclone fan pointed at them, yet I'm always seeming to get mid 80s to 90C on the cards. I know some of them aren't spaced exactly right and that will be changed soon. A friend of mine is making some custom open-air wood frames for me that will be stackable so I can put 4 rigs together (two beside and two on top of them) and get a big construction sized fan to blow air through them.

Cards are Powercolor AX7950s and are voltage locked (I'll be buying unlocked ones next time as I know of some now). Powertune is set to 20 on them. Getting about 535kH/s per card with standard riser cables (not powered, but some are on the way to see if it will boost the kH/s and let me drop the powertune to -5 or -10).

I would love to get the temps down a bit on these without having to pay for expensive watercooling. Soon I'll be renting a place to build 4 more rigs and put all 6 in and let the rigs pay the electric bill (my apartment doesn't have the juice necessary to feed 6 rigs like this). Then I'll slowly accumulate more rigs. Any suggestions would be welcomed to get these temps lower! Thanks!

-Moose

Pic:


The Moose's Tip Jar: BTC - 1HoTm9ZqrEmD5Tvs5qAdPM311agyN3eHra
LTC - LPg9svS4dcK5Kzy6HUoef8icrnDxED3ZVA
Marrs
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 24, 2013, 11:11:39 PM
 #2110

Powertune is set to 20 on them. Getting about 535kH/s per card with standard riser cables (not powered, but some are on the way to see if it will boost the kH/s and let me drop the powertune to -5 or -10).


Why are you setting powertune to 20? Are you overclocking?
cptmooseinc
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 396
Merit: 250



View Profile
April 24, 2013, 11:32:54 PM
 #2111

To get some more kH/s out of the cards. I've got the engine set to 1078 and the memclock to 1490

The Moose's Tip Jar: BTC - 1HoTm9ZqrEmD5Tvs5qAdPM311agyN3eHra
LTC - LPg9svS4dcK5Kzy6HUoef8icrnDxED3ZVA
ryantc
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 329
Merit: 250


Bitcoin may be the TCP/IP of money.


View Profile
April 24, 2013, 11:44:00 PM
 #2112

After a couple of weeks of no mining, I'm back.  Sold off a few parts and got an electrician to install some more outlets in my basement (been procrastinating 6+ years for this).  Pardon the poor lighting - that is next in my to-do list.   Grin


Just wondering what temp do you get with that 480 rad?
I am planning to water cool my 3 7950 rig with a 360 rad + Koolance 450 pump
I'm not sure the rad is big enough.
Marrs
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 25, 2013, 12:11:38 AM
 #2113

To get some more kH/s out of the cards. I've got the engine set to 1078 and the memclock to 1490

You only need to raise powertune if your overclocked system isn't stable. If that's why you did it, then fine, but if it was just part of a copy-paste of someone else's settings, try lowering powertune. That should lower your temperatures.
cptmooseinc
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 396
Merit: 250



View Profile
April 25, 2013, 02:14:59 AM
 #2114

Playing more with powertune now and trying to get the temps down. Seems dropping it and modifying other settings is dropping the temps and keeping the kH/s near constant. Time testing it now I guess to see if it's stable.

The Moose's Tip Jar: BTC - 1HoTm9ZqrEmD5Tvs5qAdPM311agyN3eHra
LTC - LPg9svS4dcK5Kzy6HUoef8icrnDxED3ZVA
scifimike12
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 303
Merit: 250



View Profile
April 25, 2013, 02:19:54 AM
 #2115

Just wondering what temp do you get with that 480 rad?
I am planning to water cool my 3 7950 rig with a 360 rad + Koolance 450 pump
I'm not sure the rad is big enough.

I have them hooked up to two 480 rads.  My temps are 36­°C, 38°C, and 39°C respectively.  The lonely 7950 on the end is 41°C (not half bad considering).

btcminer021
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98
Merit: 10


Mine hard!


View Profile
April 25, 2013, 03:21:11 AM
 #2116


Raise your Intensity to 11 or 13

▲▼▲▼▲▼▲▼  No.1 Bitcoin Binary Options and Double Dice  ▲▼▲▼▲▼▲▼
████████████████████████████████  sec◔nds trade  ████████████████████████████████
↑↓ Instant Bets ↑↓ Flexible 1~720 minutes Expiry time ↑↓ Highest Reward 190% ↑↓ 16 Assets [btc, forex, gold, 1% edge double dice] ↑↓
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000



View Profile
April 25, 2013, 06:04:51 AM
 #2117

Umm no. I: 7 is just fine for BTC mining.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
sveetsnelda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 642
Merit: 500


View Profile
April 25, 2013, 07:16:56 AM
 #2118


Correct (for Windows anyways).  If you're using the Diablo kernel, 7 is fine.  If you're using poclbm under Windows, that's still fine.  If you're using poclbm in Linux though -- you'll need 11.

14u2rp4AqFtN5jkwK944nn741FnfF714m7
noname6520
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 25, 2013, 02:27:50 PM
 #2119

I've dealt a bit with this stuff as well (cooling, electronics, TE's etc).   Technically, you need MORE cooling watts than heat watts produced.  As, in general, it is harder to cool than to heat.  (E.G it takes to add heat energy and more to subtract heat energy)  In a case with TE's a 250w heatsink was required to remove 100w of actual heat produced (Delta 10%F).  Operational temp of device was 10%F I suppose also, so you wouldn't need 3-4x if a larger delta is fine.

So, to cool 11,2Kw; I would assume, you prolly need around 15Kw of cooling ~ 74F final room temp+/-

(no physics isn't being violated.  You need to compare in J instead.  Essentially much less "time" required to heat than cool.  Also relates to lower energy of cool)

this is a direct consequence of the second law of thermodynamics I believe.
ryantc
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 329
Merit: 250


Bitcoin may be the TCP/IP of money.


View Profile
April 25, 2013, 02:50:20 PM
 #2120

Just wondering what temp do you get with that 480 rad?
I am planning to water cool my 3 7950 rig with a 360 rad + Koolance 450 pump
I'm not sure the rad is big enough.

I have them hooked up to two 480 rads.  My temps are 36­°C, 38°C, and 39°C respectively.  The lonely 7950 on the end is 41°C (not half bad considering).


impressive, it seems I need more rad or adjust my expectation Cheesy
I'll be happy if I can keep the temp below 70 during the summer with one 360 rad.
Pages: « 1 ... 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 [106] 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 ... 400 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!