Bitcoin Forum
December 02, 2016, 06:15:34 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 [128] 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 ... 389 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Pictures of your mining rigs!  (Read 1621132 times)
Mr.V
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
June 25, 2013, 12:38:33 AM
 #2541

hey guys seen a lot of nice rigs in this thread, some in crates some in open case frames. My question is what are you guys putting under the MOBO, are you guys just laying it on the plastic or metal?

BTC:1NwEE7C2hVLSNGwSrFvsYgTrKddCvfhRwY
1480702534
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480702534

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480702534
Reply with quote  #2

1480702534
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
systic
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84



View Profile
June 25, 2013, 12:57:22 AM
 #2542

I just taped down the silver plastic bag the mobo came in.
crashoveride54902
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728


Dream become broken often


View Profile
June 25, 2013, 01:05:48 AM
 #2543

hey guys seen a lot of nice rigs in this thread, some in crates some in open case frames. My question is what are you guys putting under the MOBO, are you guys just laying it on the plastic or metal?

either is bad...metal will short out mobo and plastic/cardboard can start on fire because if your running a mobo with 4 vid cards the mobo is supplying alot of juice unless you have powered raisers...i suggest using metal standoffs that are in your case...then nothing is touching the mobo and gets some air on the bottom Smiley but make sure you use all holes for the standoffs...2 or more vid cards weigh alot and don't want to sag your mobo

Dreams of cyprto solving everything is slowly slipping away...Replaced by scams/hacks Sad
vapourminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 888

what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?


View Profile
June 25, 2013, 01:49:02 AM
 #2544

I just taped down the silver plastic bag the mobo came in.

thats the antistatic bag. not good, its mildly conductive. thats why its antistatic.

Mr.V
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
June 25, 2013, 02:18:56 AM
 #2545

hey guys seen a lot of nice rigs in this thread, some in crates some in open case frames. My question is what are you guys putting under the MOBO, are you guys just laying it on the plastic or metal?

either is bad...metal will short out mobo and plastic/cardboard can start on fire because if your running a mobo with 4 vid cards the mobo is supplying alot of juice unless you have powered raisers...i suggest using metal standoffs that are in your case...then nothing is touching the mobo and gets some air on the bottom Smiley but make sure you use all holes for the standoffs...2 or more vid cards weigh alot and don't want to sag your mobo
Is this what most ppl are using?

http://www.amazon.com/StarTech-4-Inch-Self-Adhesive-Rubber-RUBBERFEET/dp/B00032Q30Q/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1372125141&sr=8-4&keywords=self-adhesive+rubber+feet

BTC:1NwEE7C2hVLSNGwSrFvsYgTrKddCvfhRwY
nexus99
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728


View Profile
June 25, 2013, 05:57:46 AM
 #2546

My rig. 7.8 Gh/s sec. About 20 bucks per day as of now. Running off a raspberry Pi.




wow that is just lovely...drooling my gum out now.  does it mine at that rate pretty steadily?  how much was your raspi setup and how much setup time did you put into it?  Was there a difficult curve in getting it going?

The Raspi was about 65 bucks with a case, SD card, and power plug.
I downloaded minepeon and imaged the SD card.
I was already test mining so I had all my workers, etc configured.
So maybe 30 minutes to unpack everything and have it running.
It was SUPER easy. The hard part was waiting a year for my pre-order....
Zon44
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
June 25, 2013, 07:28:00 AM
 #2547

my three gracas water-cooled through a heat exchanger connected to heat pump of the house
http://www.sonnenstein.net/3.jpg
http://www.sonnenstein.net/4.jpg
tom_o
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


View Profile
June 25, 2013, 08:05:02 AM
 #2548

hey guys seen a lot of nice rigs in this thread, some in crates some in open case frames. My question is what are you guys putting under the MOBO, are you guys just laying it on the plastic or metal?

either is bad...metal will short out mobo and plastic/cardboard can start on fire because if your running a mobo with 4 vid cards the mobo is supplying alot of juice unless you have powered raisers...i suggest using metal standoffs that are in your case...then nothing is touching the mobo and gets some air on the bottom Smiley but make sure you use all holes for the standoffs...2 or more vid cards weigh alot and don't want to sag your mobo
Is this what most ppl are using?

http://www.amazon.com/StarTech-4-Inch-Self-Adhesive-Rubber-RUBBERFEET/dp/B00032Q30Q/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1372125141&sr=8-4&keywords=self-adhesive+rubber+feet


Noooo, these; http://www.maplin.co.uk/motherboard-screwnut-standoff-x-50-37594
Global BTC
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 529



View Profile WWW
June 25, 2013, 09:45:58 AM
 #2549

my three gracas water-cooled through a heat exchanger connected to heat pump of the house
http://www.sonnenstein.net/3.jpg
http://www.sonnenstein.net/4.jpg
So you are actually using the heat produced by the miner to heat your house? Beautiful! There's another guy waaaay back in this thread who were using the heat from the GPU:s to heat his bathroom floor.

Kavre
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 64


View Profile
June 25, 2013, 11:13:34 AM
 #2550

my three gracas water-cooled through a heat exchanger connected to heat pump of the house
http://www.sonnenstein.net/3.jpg
http://www.sonnenstein.net/4.jpg

Nice work there  Smiley
What's the temperature differnece on gpu1 and gpu3?
And are you mining your gpu on stock clock or OC?  Wink


For support:
- BTC: 143JzbV9RC4r5uLDsQQnVWay6fJfRyYgjS
Zon44
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
June 25, 2013, 02:39:17 PM
 #2551

>So you are actually using the heat produced by the miner to heat your house?
>Beautiful!
not really, I actually using my heat pump to cool my GraCa Smiley
you can't compare - for the normal flat you need above 20 kWt,
and GraCa s produse only 1 kWt - you barelly notice it.
they just stay at the collant temp, even the pump is heating,
it is only about 44 grad C.

>Nice work there  Smiley
not finished - the coolant stays, if the heat pump pumps,
so backup pump is needed.

>What's the temperature differnece on gpu1 and gpu3?
2-3 grad C
44-46-49

>And are you mining your gpu on stock clock or OC?
noway! I'm mining at 1147-1225
on 7870 3d club
cards set in series, beqause in parallel one always was to hot,
even with 2 waku pums
LaserHorse
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile
June 25, 2013, 07:22:31 PM
 #2552

Tasty PiMiner Sandwich Recipe:

    • 1 USB Hub
    • 1 Raspberry Pi
    • 1 LCD+Keypad Kit
    • 4 Block Erupter USBs

Best served chilled …



Discussion thread here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=241504.0

Instructions for building your own here: http://learn.adafruit.com/piminer-raspberry-pi-bitcoin-miner/initial-setup-and-assembly

PiMiner - control & monitor your miners with Raspberry Pi   •   BTC: 1AV5JekeEVET5u2jTsLDMRsTtagrBnNTBR
Beastlymac
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630


Miner Setup And Reviews. WASP Rep.


View Profile
June 28, 2013, 07:22:22 AM
 #2553

Here is a video of a nice looking setup. Skip to the end.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tQP6_anWnec

Message me if you have any problems
Morbid
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022



View Profile
June 28, 2013, 09:47:40 AM
 #2554

built it yesterday for litecoin. turns out it munches more than 1200W so have to install a 1500W PSU for it. four asus 7970s, athlon 215 CPU. i pulled some industrial mechanical switches from a '60s generator control box - power red & reset yellow. need to find analogue amper gauge for it too. took a whole day to cut out this weatherproof electrical meters box. another day to assemble. hardest was to make IO shield fit with MB. im tired.














"between 'lives' we all have a great laugh about the parts we have performed in the 'play', and look forward to and have great fun preparing the next chapters to act out."
pink
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
June 28, 2013, 09:57:15 AM
 #2555

built it yesterday for litecoin. turns out it munches more than 1200W so have to install a 1500W PSU for it. four asus 7970s, athlon 215 CPU. i pulled some industrial mechanical switches from a '60s generator control box. need to find analogue amper gauge for it too. took a whole day to cut out this weatherproof electrical meters box. another day to assemble. im tired.

can you share your temperature log? (ambient and gpu)
I'm quite curious to see how hot will be in there Smiley
Morbid
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022



View Profile
June 28, 2013, 10:01:25 AM
 #2556

built it yesterday for litecoin. turns out it munches more than 1200W so have to install a 1500W PSU for it. four asus 7970s, athlon 215 CPU. i pulled some industrial mechanical switches from a '60s generator control box. need to find analogue amper gauge for it too. took a whole day to cut out this weatherproof electrical meters box. another day to assemble. im tired.

can you share your temperature log? (ambient and gpu)
I'm quite curious to see how hot will be in there Smiley

these direct cu gpus are the coolest 7970s out there. i did only one day of testing - couldnt run psu at 110% for too long. but at stock clocks it did 60 to 70 C. overclocked one card peaked at 75 others about 70. oddly enough it ran cooler with door closed hence creating airflow i pressume.

"between 'lives' we all have a great laugh about the parts we have performed in the 'play', and look forward to and have great fun preparing the next chapters to act out."
pink
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
June 28, 2013, 10:24:48 AM
 #2557

these direct cu gpus are the coolest 7970s out there. i did only one day of testing - couldnt run psu at 110% for too long. but at stock clocks it did 60 to 70 C. overclocked one card peaked at 75 others about 70. oddly enough it ran cooler with door closed hence creating airflow i pressume.

Forced ventilation is (almost) always better than open air Smiley
But, what's your ambient temperature?
Intake temp is a priority to properly understand the airflow efficiency.

Thank you!
Morbid
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022



View Profile
June 28, 2013, 10:31:02 AM
 #2558

these direct cu gpus are the coolest 7970s out there. i did only one day of testing - couldnt run psu at 110% for too long. but at stock clocks it did 60 to 70 C. overclocked one card peaked at 75 others about 70. oddly enough it ran cooler with door closed hence creating airflow i pressume.

Forced ventilation is (almost) always better than open air Smiley
But, what's your ambient temperature?
Intake temp is a priority to properly understand the airflow efficiency.

Thank you!

to be honest i didnt pay much attention to that. i had limited time to tinker with it since my current meter was going above 5A. i left this for now until i get 1500W PSU. i did my design based on many reviews saying 7970 dont go above 250W. though the current off the wall tells otherwise.

"between 'lives' we all have a great laugh about the parts we have performed in the 'play', and look forward to and have great fun preparing the next chapters to act out."
mazedk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 440


View Profile
June 28, 2013, 10:48:21 AM
 #2559

these direct cu gpus are the coolest 7970s out there. i did only one day of testing - couldnt run psu at 110% for too long. but at stock clocks it did 60 to 70 C. overclocked one card peaked at 75 others about 70. oddly enough it ran cooler with door closed hence creating airflow i pressume.

Forced ventilation is (almost) always better than open air Smiley
But, what's your ambient temperature?
Intake temp is a priority to properly understand the airflow efficiency.

Thank you!

to be honest i didnt pay much attention to that. i had limited time to tinker with it since my current meter was going above 5A. i left this for now until i get 1500W PSU. i did my design based on many reviews saying 7970 dont go above 250W. though the current off the wall tells otherwise.

Try doing a lower voltage, might help you out in that
Morbid
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022



View Profile
June 28, 2013, 11:14:40 AM
 #2560

Try doing a lower voltage, might help you out in that

i tried downlclocking but still im not comfortable at running psu at even 90% 24/7. ill buy 3 rog matrix 7970 gpus soon - will use them in this enclosure, 1200W should be enough for them more powerful cards. for these four normal 7970s ill build another one of these boxes and have 1500W psu juicing them.

"between 'lives' we all have a great laugh about the parts we have performed in the 'play', and look forward to and have great fun preparing the next chapters to act out."
Pages: « 1 ... 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 [128] 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 ... 389 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!