Bitcoin Forum
July 30, 2021, 12:08:58 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 [141] 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 ... 400 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Pictures of your mining rigs!  (Read 1805406 times)
YipYip
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 01, 2013, 05:18:41 AM
 #2801

Which PDUs are those Coinhorder? I have been looking for something similar.

It's an APC AP9571

It can be had on Ebay used for as low as $20

It's definitely one of the most affordable PDUs around, and I've been using them for about a year now with no problems.

I can see where you LTC coin project money went to with the 7 avalons lolz  Cheesy


OBJECT NOT FOUND
1627603738
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1627603738

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1627603738
Reply with quote  #2

1627603738
Report to moderator
1627603738
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1627603738

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1627603738
Reply with quote  #2

1627603738
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1627603738
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1627603738

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1627603738
Reply with quote  #2

1627603738
Report to moderator
1627603738
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1627603738

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1627603738
Reply with quote  #2

1627603738
Report to moderator
1627603738
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1627603738

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1627603738
Reply with quote  #2

1627603738
Report to moderator
CoinHoarder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456
Merit: 1025

In Cryptocoins I Trust


View Profile
August 01, 2013, 06:00:26 AM
 #2802

Which PDUs are those Coinhorder? I have been looking for something similar.

It's an APC AP9571

It can be had on Ebay used for as low as $20

It's definitely one of the most affordable PDUs around, and I've been using them for about a year now with no problems.

I can see where you LTC coin project money went to with the 7 avalons lolz  Cheesy



No, I only own a small percentage of them. I bought them in a group buy.
Jay_Pal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1496
Merit: 1003



View Profile
August 02, 2013, 06:47:35 AM
 #2803

If I'm allowed...
I have a somehow stupid question, but...
But since we all have old psu's, why can't I use one of these to control ASICs?

According to my calculations, it would allow about 0.53 amps in 12 ports.
Besides being meant to be mounted in an inconvenient bay, what's the catch?

Best faucet EVER! - Freebitco.in
Don't Panic... - 1G8zjUzeZBfJpeCbz1MLTc6zQHbLm78vKc
Why not mine from the browser?
notme
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1904
Merit: 1002


View Profile
August 02, 2013, 06:50:07 AM
 #2804

If I'm allowed...
I have a somehow stupid question, but...
But since we all have old psu's, why can't I use one of these to control ASICs?

According to my calculations, it would allow about 0.53 amps in 12 ports.
Besides being meant to be mounted in an inconvenient bay, what's the catch?

You would need USB extension cables because the Block Erupters are too wide.

https://www.bitcoin.org/bitcoin.pdf
While no idea is perfect, some ideas are useful.
12jh3odyAAaR2XedPKZNCR4X4sebuotQzN
Jay_Pal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1496
Merit: 1003



View Profile
August 02, 2013, 06:56:04 AM
 #2805

If I'm allowed...
I have a somehow stupid question, but...
But since we all have old psu's, why can't I use one of these to control ASICs?
http://tctechcrunch2011.files.wordpress.com/2010/08/hub-03-620x465.jpg?w=620&h=465
According to my calculations, it would allow about 0.53 amps in 12 ports.
Besides being meant to be mounted in an inconvenient bay, what's the catch?

You would need USB extension cables because the Block Erupters are too wide.
Yes, but besides that?
There are others, with better port arrangement. This picture is just to illustrate the device. Smiley

Best faucet EVER! - Freebitco.in
Don't Panic... - 1G8zjUzeZBfJpeCbz1MLTc6zQHbLm78vKc
Why not mine from the browser?
zombie112
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 02, 2013, 06:57:22 AM
 #2806

https://i.imgur.com/8vbVydz.jpg

This is it so far, Tongue
hotwired007
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 585
Merit: 500


View Profile
August 02, 2013, 09:58:45 AM
 #2807

If I'm allowed...
I have a somehow stupid question, but...
But since we all have old psu's, why can't I use one of these to control ASICs?
http://tctechcrunch2011.files.wordpress.com/2010/08/hub-03-620x465.jpg?w=620&h=465
According to my calculations, it would allow about 0.53 amps in 12 ports.
Besides being meant to be mounted in an inconvenient bay, what's the catch?

You would need USB extension cables because the Block Erupters are too wide.

Actuallu you could get 7 USB ASICs in that hub if they were staggered properly - i have a similar 8 port in the floppy drive bay that has 4 staggered and a fan blowing over them.

This account was hacked & possibly sold during the period of August 1st and October 24th 2017.
Anything done or said in this period wasnt me.
Many thanks to Cyrus for his help restoring access to my account.
Dougie
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 211
Merit: 100


You are not special.


View Profile
August 02, 2013, 12:28:40 PM
 #2808

I also have 20 USB Block Eruptors on the way, but for now, this is what i have running at work (free power!)
There have been stories of people being sacked for using work computers to mine. Isn't your job worth more to you than some bitcoins?

Lurking since 2011...
1J4DhU3q6RxxCTfAAcg5ExVK6FfxkmzkTH
Jay_Pal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1496
Merit: 1003



View Profile
August 02, 2013, 03:13:08 PM
 #2809

If I'm allowed...
I have a somehow stupid question, but...
But since we all have old psu's, why can't I use one of these to control ASICs?
http://tctechcrunch2011.files.wordpress.com/2010/08/hub-03-620x465.jpg?w=620&h=465
According to my calculations, it would allow about 0.53 amps in 12 ports.
Besides being meant to be mounted in an inconvenient bay, what's the catch?

You would need USB extension cables because the Block Erupters are too wide.

Actuallu you could get 7 USB ASICs in that hub if they were staggered properly - i have a similar 8 port in the floppy drive bay that has 4 staggered and a fan blowing over them.

That's what I thought!!
Nice!!!! Smiley

Best faucet EVER! - Freebitco.in
Don't Panic... - 1G8zjUzeZBfJpeCbz1MLTc6zQHbLm78vKc
Why not mine from the browser?
EasyQuest
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198
Merit: 100


Brony Bitcoin, Litecoin Miner


View Profile
August 02, 2013, 11:58:46 PM
 #2810

My updated setup for bitcoin mining.








Very Small compare to the front liners, but everyone man has a dream. Smiley
DopeLabs
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 0



View Profile WWW
August 03, 2013, 04:54:05 AM
 #2811

I also have 20 USB Block Eruptors on the way, but for now, this is what i have running at work (free power!)
There have been stories of people being sacked for using work computers to mine. Isn't your job worth more to you than some bitcoins?

i do GPU performance and scalability testing.... so it fits =]
stellan0r
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 500


Medical Translations for Bitcoins


View Profile
August 03, 2013, 07:04:25 AM
 #2812

My updated setup for bitcoin mining.


Very Small compare to the front liners, but everyone man has a dream. Smiley


is it stable with 10 BE's on 1 Anker Hub? What PSU do you use?

Allgemeine Gesundheitsberatung gegen Bitcoin-Zahlung. Bei Fragen einfach eine PM schicken!
If you want to send a thank you: BTC "1PZJvKvarRviQRQWejpvXW2j4e1xbT8MZb"
EasyQuest
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198
Merit: 100


Brony Bitcoin, Litecoin Miner


View Profile
August 03, 2013, 12:50:25 PM
 #2813

My updated setup for bitcoin mining.


Very Small compare to the front liners, but everyone man has a dream. Smiley


is it stable with 10 BE's on 1 Anker Hub? What PSU do you use?

It is stable, and I used the stock power supply that came with the Anker USB hubs.

ATM, they are running for about 14 days now and going strong.
arklan
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1778
Merit: 1008



View Profile
August 03, 2013, 06:43:54 PM
 #2814

My updated setup for bitcoin mining.


Very Small compare to the front liners, but everyone man has a dream. Smiley


is it stable with 10 BE's on 1 Anker Hub? What PSU do you use?

It is stable, and I used the stock power supply that came with the Anker USB hubs.

ATM, they are running for about 14 days now and going strong.

same here. i've had en rumming, ten miners to an anker hub, stock power supply, for more then a month.

i don't post much, but this space for rent.
lano1106
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
August 04, 2013, 02:41:43 AM
 #2815

My updated setup for bitcoin mining.


Very Small compare to the front liners, but everyone man has a dream. Smiley


is it stable with 10 BE's on 1 Anker Hub? What PSU do you use?

It is stable, and I used the stock power supply that came with the Anker USB hubs.

ATM, they are running for about 14 days now and going strong.

same here. i've had en rumming, ten miners to an anker hub, stock power supply, for more then a month.

you're lucky. results seems variable. I have 8 BEs on a 10  ports Anker and I have frequent short I/O issues with 1,2,3 BEs where the green light get stuck.

Situation gets resolved by itself.

I'm waiting more BEs with I will test them with an Orico hub. Will see if it performs better.

BTC: 1ABewnrZgCds7w9RH43NwMHX5Px6ex5uNR
Photon939
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 452
Merit: 250



View Profile
August 04, 2013, 06:04:42 AM
 #2816

I got a very long awaited package from the postman today - figured it was a good time to do some tidying.

Hashrate++
Mess--

Now everything is running from a PSU that I had purchased for my GPU bitcoin mining rigs 2 years ago. Saves 5 watts over running them from the original power bricks. Also adds active PFC.



stellan0r
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 500


Medical Translations for Bitcoins


View Profile
August 04, 2013, 08:13:04 AM
 #2817

I got a very long awaited package from the postman today - figured it was a good time to do some tidying.

Hashrate++
Mess--

Now everything is running from a PSU that I had purchased for my GPU bitcoin mining rigs 2 years ago. Saves 5 watts over running them from the original power bricks. Also adds active PFC.


nice! what is that thingy in the top-middle with the cage?

Is the USB Hub also beeing powered from the big PSU?

Allgemeine Gesundheitsberatung gegen Bitcoin-Zahlung. Bei Fragen einfach eine PM schicken!
If you want to send a thank you: BTC "1PZJvKvarRviQRQWejpvXW2j4e1xbT8MZb"
cardedon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100



View Profile
August 04, 2013, 08:47:48 AM
 #2818

Still waiting fans and filters. Now is with half broken fans i had in a drawer







This is the building log
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=243255.0
Trillium
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 04, 2013, 01:27:02 PM
 #2819

Quote

nice! what is that thingy in the top-middle with the cage?


It looks like a (fairly old) variac, which is a variable voltage AC toroidal transformer. They're useful for controlling the power input into simple motors and static-type loads, like heaters. They're also good for blowing up electronics, because they can usually be turned up to give a voltage higher than their mains input.

BTC:1AaaAAAAaAAE2L1PXM1x9VDNqvcrfa9He6
Photon939
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 452
Merit: 250



View Profile
August 04, 2013, 05:39:42 PM
 #2820


nice! what is that thingy in the top-middle with the cage?

Is the USB Hub also beeing powered from the big PSU?


Quote

nice! what is that thingy in the top-middle with the cage?


It looks like a (fairly old) variac, which is a variable voltage AC toroidal transformer. They're useful for controlling the power input into simple motors and static-type loads, like heaters. They're also good for blowing up electronics, because they can usually be turned up to give a voltage higher than their mains input.

Indeed it is, it's a 15A Superior Electric Powerstat, probably from the 1960s. It's a beast

And yep, the hub is powered by the ATX psu. I chopped the barrel plug off the original wall wart and soldered it to a 4 pin floppy drive power connector that I desoldered from a floppy drive in my junk pile. The hub has been modified to handle the higher current draw of the block erupters.
Pages: « 1 ... 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 [141] 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 ... 400 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!