Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 06:48:28 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 [710] 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 726 727 728 729 730 731 732 733 734 735 736 737 738 739 740 741 742 743 744 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1500 TH] p2pool: Decentralized, DoS-resistant, Hop-Proof pool  (Read 2028805 times)
notbatman
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036



View Profile
January 18, 2016, 12:50:01 AM
 #14181

almost 1 week since we found a block Sad((

Bitcoin Difficulty:   113,354,299,801
1480747708
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480747708

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480747708
Reply with quote  #2

1480747708
Report to moderator
1480747708
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480747708

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480747708
Reply with quote  #2

1480747708
Report to moderator
1480747708
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480747708

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480747708
Reply with quote  #2

1480747708
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
jedimstr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784



View Profile
January 18, 2016, 03:50:20 AM
 #14182

almost 1 week since we found a block Sad((

Bitcoin Difficulty:   113,354,299,801

And Hashrate hovering around 1.14PH. 

notbatman
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036



View Profile
January 18, 2016, 04:01:02 AM
 #14183

almost 1 week since we found a block Sad((

Bitcoin Difficulty:   113,354,299,801

And Hashrate hovering around 1.14PH. 

...and what happened to Bitfuy's promise to spread the love?
nicklello
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 119


View Profile
January 18, 2016, 12:11:56 PM
 #14184

So....

How do we attract more hashrate to P2Pool ?
Cassey
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 457

Better to have 100 friends than 100 rubles


View Profile
January 18, 2016, 12:43:15 PM
 #14185

You need a LOT more hashrate.  I'm using a 40PH (more or less) pool and on back-luck weeks its variance is barely tolerable.  I fear the only way this will happen is if several major pools die.

I know that mathematically, variance does not matter - in theory, but that theory does not take into account the changing difficulty, does it?

Cassey
notbatman
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036



View Profile
January 18, 2016, 01:20:05 PM
 #14186

So....

How do we attract more hashrate to P2Pool ?




Tibi
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50


View Profile
January 18, 2016, 06:54:28 PM
 #14187

think we have to kill the dog boss.....
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 18, 2016, 09:00:26 PM
 #14188

I know that mathematically, variance does not matter - in theory, but that theory does not take into account the changing difficulty, does it?
You are correct mathematically on the latter part and it's not just a hunch. If you have bad luck for a whole diff and the diff is rising, then you will not on average ever make up the difference after the diff rise. However the opposite is also true - if you have good luck during a period and diff is rising, then on average after the diff change you will remain ahead long term.

The practical side of this for those trying to understand it - if diff continues to rise, then short term luck has more long term effects on your overall returns the smaller the pool is.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Cassey
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 457

Better to have 100 friends than 100 rubles


View Profile
January 18, 2016, 09:08:22 PM
 #14189

Thanks, that makes sense.  However... over the long term, luck should equalize out, since by definition its just statiscal noise.

Cassey
CartmanSPC
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148



View Profile WWW
January 19, 2016, 01:06:12 AM
 #14190

When I attach a miner to the p2pool litecoin version, I get nothing but hash > target errors.

Things are set up according to instructions. Any idea what I am doing wrong?

bney,

This is a Bitcoin thread so discussions on Altcoins are not warmly welcomed. :/

That being said you may be able to fix your problem with Litecoin using the following patches:

https://github.com/CartmanSPC/p2pool/commit/742e97a3ddc4683b3a5bd3b0bc849de9ef8b10d1
https://github.com/CartmanSPC/p2pool/commit/614fb94eb3f9bb77a3a0991bed99fa903cdcf814

Good luck!

p3yot33at3r
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
January 19, 2016, 01:15:09 AM
 #14191

Block!!   Grin
Cassey
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 457

Better to have 100 friends than 100 rubles


View Profile
January 19, 2016, 01:23:21 AM
 #14192

When I attach a miner to the p2pool litecoin version, I get nothing but hash > target errors.

Things are set up according to instructions. Any idea what I am doing wrong?

bney,

This is a Bitcoin thread so discussions on Altcoins are not warmly welcomed. :/

That being said you may be able to fix your problem with Litecoin using the following patches:

https://github.com/CartmanSPC/p2pool/commit/742e97a3ddc4683b3a5bd3b0bc849de9ef8b10d1
https://github.com/CartmanSPC/p2pool/commit/614fb94eb3f9bb77a3a0991bed99fa903cdcf814

Good luck!

And, of course, make sure your equipment can mine with Litecoins Scrypt algo instead of Bitcoins SHA256.  Few ASICs can do both.

Cassey
wariner
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 852


P2Pool.cloud


View Profile
January 19, 2016, 06:24:58 AM
 #14193

When I attach a miner to the p2pool litecoin version, I get nothing but hash > target errors.

Things are set up according to instructions. Any idea what I am doing wrong?

bney,

This is a Bitcoin thread so discussions on Altcoins are not warmly welcomed. :/

That being said you may be able to fix your problem with Litecoin using the following patches:

https://github.com/CartmanSPC/p2pool/commit/742e97a3ddc4683b3a5bd3b0bc849de9ef8b10d1
https://github.com/CartmanSPC/p2pool/commit/614fb94eb3f9bb77a3a0991bed99fa903cdcf814

Good luck!

And, of course, make sure your equipment can mine with Litecoins Scrypt algo instead of Bitcoins SHA256.  Few ASICs can do both.

and be sure to add " --net litecoin "  Wink

P2Pool.cloud - Public Node P2Pool EU/AMERICA Bitcoin 0% fee ITA - ENG

my BTC: 1KiMpRAWscBvhRgLs8jDnqrZEKJzt3Ypfi
notbatman
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036



View Profile
January 19, 2016, 11:31:45 PM
 #14194

So I got p2pool sandboxed and a new web browser that doesn't 'sploit while running boxed. Smooth sailing for a bit but just now the assholes have returned to spamming the mempool full of shit; lopped a 0 off my txfees in response.  Undecided
Richy_T
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


1RichyTrEwPYjZSeAYxeiFBNnKC9UjC5k


View Profile
January 20, 2016, 05:51:44 AM
 #14195

Has anyone else had any trouble with p2pool interfering with their bitcoind?

I run some software which queries the RPC interface periodically and it's been giving 500 read timeout errors. I bumped my rpc threads up to 100 and it helped but it was still doing it. I just killed p2pool and a lot of the read errors stopped but also the requests I was making were coming back a lot faster. Does p2pool hit RPC pretty hard?

1RichyTrEwPYjZSeAYxeiFBNnKC9UjC5k
notbatman
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036



View Profile
January 20, 2016, 07:49:39 AM
 #14196

Has anyone else had any trouble with p2pool interfering with their bitcoind?

I run some software which queries the RPC interface periodically and it's been giving 500 read timeout errors. I bumped my rpc threads up to 100 and it helped but it was still doing it. I just killed p2pool and a lot of the read errors stopped but also the requests I was making were coming back a lot faster. Does p2pool hit RPC pretty hard?

Try sandboxing both p2pool and your web browser. Whatever other app that's online or interacting with bitcoind would also be a good idea. This is just a guess but I think "they" are exploiting a vulnerability in python to cause a memory leak in bitcoind via a ddos mirror attack via multiple entry vectors. Today "they" started screwing with spam tx's to trigger the memory leak now that I've closed off their entry points with sandboxing. Up your mintxfee to filter the spam, that's working for me so far.

localhost
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 389


View Profile
January 20, 2016, 08:52:08 AM
 #14197

I think the reason so few people use it is because, years after the first release, it's still so complicated to set up.
I did configure Bitcoin Core to run that RPC server, here's bitcoin.conf:
Code:
server=1
rpcuser='me'
rpcpassword='youwish'
Then tried to run run_p2pool.exe, but could find no option to configure the rpcuser there. And of course it failed.

In the log I noticed:
Code:
Testing bitcoind RPC connection to 'http://127.0.0.1:8332/' with username ''
So I went back and set rpcuser='' in bitcoin.conf
And I ran p2pool again this way:
Code:
run_p2pool.exe -a myrichwalletiwish youwish
And still it didn't work. So I went back to a normal pool, because I have other things to do today.........

-
trendax
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 135


View Profile WWW
January 20, 2016, 08:58:29 AM
 #14198

I think the reason so few people use it is because, years after the first release, it's still so complicated to set up.
I did configure Bitcoin Core to run that RPC server, here's bitcoin.conf:
Code:
server=1
rpcuser='me'
rpcpassword='youwish'
Then tried to run run_p2pool.exe, but could find no option to configure the rpcuser there. And of course it failed.

In the log I noticed:
Code:
Testing bitcoind RPC connection to 'http://127.0.0.1:8332/' with username ''
So I went back and set rpcuser='' in bitcoin.conf
And I ran p2pool again this way:
Code:
run_p2pool.exe -a myrichwalletiwish youwish
And still it didn't work. So I went back to a normal pool, because I have other things to do today.........


run_p2pool.exe me youwish -a yourbitcoinaddress

EDIT: lack of concentration

localhost
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 389


View Profile
January 20, 2016, 09:27:24 AM
 #14199

run_p2pool.exe me youwish -a yourbitcoinaddress

EDIT: lack of concentration
Thanks, the logs looked better this way (tries to connect with the proper rpcuser, at least)... but still failed.
I ended up running
Code:
run_p2pool.exe --bitcoind-config-path "C:\thisway\to\bitcoin.conf" -a myrichwalletiwish
which finally worked

-
nicklello
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 119


View Profile
January 20, 2016, 09:47:28 AM
 #14200

I think the reason so few people use it is because, years after the first release, it's still so complicated to set up.

Do you think a regularly-updated VM image would help promote pickup ?

I'm thinking something pre-configured (with the exception of the bitcoin wallet and payment address which will be created once the VM starts)
Pages: « 1 ... 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 [710] 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 726 727 728 729 730 731 732 733 734 735 736 737 738 739 740 741 742 743 744 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!