Bitcoin Forum
December 02, 2016, 10:27:20 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 [662] 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 ... 744 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1500 TH] p2pool: Decentralized, DoS-resistant, Hop-Proof pool  (Read 2028612 times)
Meuh6879
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078



View Profile
August 11, 2015, 08:11:48 PM
 #13221

time to change the internet box if she can't handle this "not so heavy traffic" compared to connexion on a P2P filesharing software ...  Grin (close to 200-400 connexions per 5s)

French ... but not so much   ---===---   P2P ... it's people at the end   ---===---   P2Pool (10,9 GH/s).
Comment miner des bitcoins ? Un tutoriel est là : https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1114415.0
Bitcoin change everything ... an explain of this fact : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=joITmEr4SjY
Be very wary of relying on JavaScript for security on sites such as blockchain.info and brainwallet.org. The site can change the JavaScript at any time unless you take unusual precautions, and browsers are not generally known for their airtight security.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480717640
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480717640

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480717640
Reply with quote  #2

1480717640
Report to moderator
Meuh6879
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078



View Profile
August 11, 2015, 09:06:48 PM
 #13222

miners can't create reased block if ... nodes don't accept to spread.
P2P is like that.

French ... but not so much   ---===---   P2P ... it's people at the end   ---===---   P2Pool (10,9 GH/s).
Comment miner des bitcoins ? Un tutoriel est là : https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1114415.0
Bitcoin change everything ... an explain of this fact : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=joITmEr4SjY
notbatman
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036



View Profile
August 12, 2015, 02:04:39 AM
 #13223

In your bitcoin.conf you can add:

"coinbase-sig" : "8MB Blocks FTW"

But does it mean For The Win or Fuck The World?

coinbase-sig seems to be a bfgminer setting

Oh yeah, it does go in miner.conf file. For p2pool it seems a bit more tricky, I found this quote:

And if you want your signature in a block, the patch to bitcoind is trivial.  Smiley
How is it done? Cheesy

I use this in the binary for p2pcoin's bitcoind:

Code: (init.cpp)
    const char* pszP2PCOIN = "[P2PCOINv0]";
    COINBASE_FLAGS << std::vector<unsigned char>(pszP2PCOIN, pszP2PCOIN+strlen(pszP2PCOIN));

I also have command line options for -addtag and -addhextag that I use to add my personal tags.  They are done pretty much the same way.
Richy_T
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


1RichyTrEwPYjZSeAYxeiFBNnKC9UjC5k


View Profile
August 12, 2015, 05:36:31 AM
 #13224

time to change the internet box if she can't handle this "not so heavy traffic" compared to connexion on a P2P filesharing software ...  Grin (close to 200-400 connexions per 5s)

I have bittorrent and it is throttled and causes no issue (unless I'm in a hurry and the cap comes off). I could try QOS on the router again but as previously stated, that caused issues with p2pool previously. Though thinking about it, that *may* have actually been a bitcoind thing (I was hashing but not getting shares).

I would consider upping the connection speed *but* it's Comcast with their craptastic 300GB cap and I'm not paying extra for exactly the same amount of data.

1RichyTrEwPYjZSeAYxeiFBNnKC9UjC5k
Richy_T
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


1RichyTrEwPYjZSeAYxeiFBNnKC9UjC5k


View Profile
August 12, 2015, 03:56:53 PM
 #13225

I've just worked out why p2pool might have been escaping my bandwidth limiting efforts. I had edited a copy of tc.sh but was still running the original. D'oh Smiley

I'll post up my version of tc.sh when done in case anyone else can use it. I'll still limit the connections though since fewer connections with more speed per is probably better than many extremely crippled ones.

1RichyTrEwPYjZSeAYxeiFBNnKC9UjC5k
yslyung
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1050


Mine Mine Mine


View Profile
August 12, 2015, 04:14:23 PM
 #13226

time to change the internet box if she can't handle this "not so heavy traffic" compared to connexion on a P2P filesharing software ...  Grin (close to 200-400 connexions per 5s)

I have bittorrent and it is throttled and causes no issue (unless I'm in a hurry and the cap comes off). I could try QOS on the router again but as previously stated, that caused issues with p2pool previously. Though thinking about it, that *may* have actually been a bitcoind thing (I was hashing but not getting shares).

I would consider upping the connection speed *but* it's Comcast with their craptastic 300GB cap and I'm not paying extra for exactly the same amount of data.

imo if you or anyone who have "limits" should not run a pool.

p2pool don't really need such high speed/bandwidth & obviously if one have data limits it's already another limitation even to just keep a full bitcoin wallet running 24/7.

well i could be wrong but if there are speed/data limits ... don't run a pool.

stand to be corrected with my statements above.
jonnybravo0311
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 994


Mine at Jonny's Pool


View Profile WWW
August 12, 2015, 04:52:12 PM
 #13227

ah ha we just hit a block not not shown on my node. maybe an orphaned thing again ?

BITCOIN BLOCK FOUND by 19Crkg7yWfeC4Yp59Qxbh7XZ7E9kc9txmx

https://blockchain.info/block-index/960513/0000000000000000079322b363ff89c45d175d66600f1799567a502bd1f4ac6e


WOW

another one

BITCOIN BLOCK FOUND by 1GUWNoSCnEf1wEiMx4RCGfvmYUYNCRh589

https://blockchain.info/block/00000000000000000b89e695778c12f5438f920547eb6afa66e21c6d91c64dfe

second block was captured & recorded on my node but not the earlier block for today hmmm
Where are you seeing the address that provided the block solution?  My logs don't show that information, they simply show this:
Code:
2015-08-11 02:28:07.549738 GOT BLOCK FROM PEER! Passing to bitcoind! d1f4ac6e bitcoin: https://blockchain.info/block/0000000000000000079322b363ff89c45d175d66600f1799567a502bd1f4ac6e
I suppose I could evaluate the share data ... but that wouldn't work for any blocks found by dead/orphaned shares...

Jonny's Pool - Mine with us and help us grow!  Support a pool that supports Bitcoin, not a hardware manufacturer's pockets!  No SPV cheats.  No empty blocks.
Medow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 295


---- The memeator ----


View Profile
August 12, 2015, 05:14:00 PM
 #13228

Is it possible to point p2pool pool to other pool using stratum protocol ?

I need to point a local p2pool to other pool for some purpose.

Thanks.
Richy_T
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


1RichyTrEwPYjZSeAYxeiFBNnKC9UjC5k


View Profile
August 12, 2015, 06:27:39 PM
 #13229

The issue is really with bursty applications (which bitcoind certainly is and I suspect p2pool is). It is possible to saturate a pipe, causing issues, for relatively short periods of time. Applying a little traffic shaping will often not affect things adversely but provide an improved perception of performance all-round. This is the essence of QOS. There is no point paying huge amounts of money for a smoking-fast internet connection if you are only using that speed for a dozen milliseconds every hour.

Also, many of us are on ADSL where even someone also on ADSL connecting to us can saturate our upstream whilst only taking a small fraction of their own downstream. Bandwidth management is a thing.

1RichyTrEwPYjZSeAYxeiFBNnKC9UjC5k
yslyung
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1050


Mine Mine Mine


View Profile
August 12, 2015, 06:34:41 PM
 #13230

ah ha we just hit a block not not shown on my node. maybe an orphaned thing again ?

BITCOIN BLOCK FOUND by 19Crkg7yWfeC4Yp59Qxbh7XZ7E9kc9txmx

https://blockchain.info/block-index/960513/0000000000000000079322b363ff89c45d175d66600f1799567a502bd1f4ac6e


WOW

another one

BITCOIN BLOCK FOUND by 1GUWNoSCnEf1wEiMx4RCGfvmYUYNCRh589

https://blockchain.info/block/00000000000000000b89e695778c12f5438f920547eb6afa66e21c6d91c64dfe

second block was captured & recorded on my node but not the earlier block for today hmmm
Where are you seeing the address that provided the block solution?  My logs don't show that information, they simply show this:
Code:
2015-08-11 02:28:07.549738 GOT BLOCK FROM PEER! Passing to bitcoind! d1f4ac6e bitcoin: https://blockchain.info/block/0000000000000000079322b363ff89c45d175d66600f1799567a502bd1f4ac6e
I suppose I could evaluate the share data ... but that wouldn't work for any blocks found by dead/orphaned shares...


IRC announcements
rav3n_pl
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1320


Don`t panic! Organize!


View Profile
August 12, 2015, 06:49:40 PM
 #13231

Is it possible to point p2pool pool to other pool using stratum protocol ?

I need to point a local p2pool to other pool for some purpose.

Thanks.
No, it is impossible. P2Pool is feed directly from bitcoind via getblocktemplate.

1Rav3nkMayCijuhzcYemMiPYsvcaiwHni  Bitcoin stuff on my OneDrive
My RPC CoinControl for any coin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=929954
My SatoshDice bot https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=897685
p3yot33at3r
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
August 12, 2015, 07:01:03 PM
 #13232

The issue is really with bursty applications (which bitcoind certainly is and I suspect p2pool is). It is possible to saturate a pipe, causing issues, for relatively short periods of time. Applying a little traffic shaping will often not affect things adversely but provide an improved perception of performance all-round. This is the essence of QOS. There is no point paying huge amounts of money for a smoking-fast internet connection if you are only using that speed for a dozen milliseconds every hour.

Also, many of us are on ADSL where even someone also on ADSL connecting to us can saturate our upstream whilst only taking a small fraction of their own downstream. Bandwidth management is a thing.

I'm afraid you might be doing something wrong with your LAN. I too have a ADSL connection with a measly 3mb down/1 mb up bandwidth, but I am able to run a file server & a mining rig 24/7 that run 2 p2pool nodes & 15 different wallets (including 2 Bitcoin) as well as my daytime PC & a laptop without issue or bottlenecks, here is a screen of my router network usage:



...as can be seen, my usage rarely goes above 40kBs download & 34kBs upload, so running one p2pool node & one Bitcoin wallet is not a problem on even the slowest ADSL line. It's simply a case of setting maxconnections on your wallets & making sure your QOS settings are right, no changes to p2pool connections are needed - I use the standard settings. If you are still having bottleneck issues/slowdowns after checking your settings then it's time to buy a new router...... Wink

Edit: The only time you will drown your network is when you sync your wallets/p2pool (ie: restarts etc).
Medow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 295


---- The memeator ----


View Profile
August 12, 2015, 07:08:25 PM
 #13233

Is it possible to point p2pool pool to other pool using stratum protocol ?

I need to point a local p2pool to other pool for some purpose.

Thanks.
No, it is impossible. P2Pool is feed directly from bitcoind via getblocktemplate.

Thank you.

Do you know which pool software give the ability to point it to other pool?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 12, 2015, 09:05:45 PM
 #13234

Thank you.

Do you know which pool software give the ability to point it to other pool?
ckpool in proxy mode can be pointed at another pool or a p2pool node

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
jonnybravo0311
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 994


Mine at Jonny's Pool


View Profile WWW
August 12, 2015, 09:28:13 PM
 #13235

Pretty sure that's the basis of what nonnakip and OgNasty have done for their NastyPoP implementation.  Every miner connects to the ckpool instance, which directs to the p2pool node underneath.

Jonny's Pool - Mine with us and help us grow!  Support a pool that supports Bitcoin, not a hardware manufacturer's pockets!  No SPV cheats.  No empty blocks.
yslyung
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1050


Mine Mine Mine


View Profile
August 12, 2015, 09:55:27 PM
 #13236

Pretty sure that's the basis of what nonnakip and OgNasty have done for their NastyPoP implementation.  Every miner connects to the ckpool instance, which directs to the p2pool node underneath.

but for miners far from him will have latency issues eh ?

i'm sure that's part of it & prolly he has a way to solve the latency issue ?
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 12, 2015, 10:22:29 PM
 #13237

Pretty sure that's the basis of what nonnakip and OgNasty have done for their NastyPoP implementation.  Every miner connects to the ckpool instance, which directs to the p2pool node underneath.

but for miners far from him will have latency issues eh ?

i'm sure that's part of it & prolly he has a way to solve the latency issue ?
Any remote p2pool node means more latency ... running centralised p2pool nodes like a lot of people do already, means people are getting more rejects than the very high rejects p2pool has by default.

With ckproxy, the added latency is dependent upon where ckproxy is and where the p2pool you are talking to is.

If you are choosing between:
a) running a local ckproxy pointing to a remote p2pool
b) mining to a remote p2pool
Latency will be pretty much the same - the problem is the choice to use a remote p2pool.

If you are choosing between:
a) mining to a ckproxy on the p2pool node
b) mining to the p2pool node
again, latency will be pretty much the same since ckproxy talking to a local p2pool is only a tiny addition to the latency

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
p3yot33at3r
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
August 13, 2015, 12:36:58 AM
 #13238

Another two blocks in 24 hours......Nice!  Smiley
windpath
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile WWW
August 13, 2015, 02:31:47 AM
 #13239

Any remote p2pool node means more latency ... running centralised p2pool nodes like a lot of people do already, means people are getting more rejects than the very high rejects p2pool has by default.

This is absolutely true.

P2Pool is inherently faster and more efficient when run locally. This means you make more money running your own node. If you can, do it!

This is what P2Pool is designed for.

For those that can't, or just want to check it out, mining to a nearby low-latency 0% fee node is a great option.

At this stage of the game, where we are 1% of the hashrate if we are lucky, talking about a "centralized" p2pool node is about the equivalent of discussing a single infantry solders role in the victory of a war.

P2Pool still remains the only 100% trustless solution for pooled mining, it is the only 100% transparent pool where you have full control if you run your own node.

If you mine on someone else's node, then you are trusting them to a small degree to acknowledge your shares and to include what you believe a reasonable amount of transactions in a block.

If you mine on a centralized pool you are trusting them with much more, particularly your earnings.

vulgartrendkill
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile WWW
August 13, 2015, 10:19:46 AM
 #13240

With all this talk of high DOA rates etc, I've been trying to decide what is best for my mining equipment.   I have 3 S5's situated in a Chinese datacentre. I am in the UK.

These miners run through a Miningrigrental pool (main one in EU) which gives me immediate control over switching of nodes should I need to.  I'm currently on Coin Cadence, but I wondered how I can reduce my DOA?

Would it be best to:

1. Choose a node nearest the physical location of my equipment?  For example in China.

2. Choose a node nearest to the miningrigrental server? For example in Europe.

or

3. Choose or create a node nearest to my personal physical location?  For example in The UK .

Or something else?

Sorry for the long question.  I'm quite new to P2pool.

Thanks
Pages: « 1 ... 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 [662] 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 ... 744 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!