Bitcoin Forum
August 21, 2018, 02:27:01 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 [20] 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 ... 73 »
  Print  
Author Topic: CoinTracking - Profit/Loss Portfolio and Tax Reporting for Digital Currencies  (Read 89413 times)
lofydf
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 05, 2017, 08:20:38 PM
 #381

I just tested cointracker and i think it's a pretty awsome piece of work when it comes to cointracking and taxes. Thank you very much, i'm really thinking about going Pro when i figured out the last little tricks Smiley

Currently i'm sturggling on how to correctly enter future trades in a manner where they correctly get processed for the tax report.

Example 1 How would i enter a okc quaterlies long trade with 10x leverage

Day 1
open long position of 100BTC leveraged 10x (using 10BTC of my balance)

Day 2
close long with P/L of lets say 2BTC


Example 2 How would i enter a okc quaterlies short trade with 10x leverage

Day 1
open short position of 100BTC leveraged 10x (using 10BTC of my balance)

Day 2
close short with P/L of lets say 2BTC

With the short i'm selling BTC that i didnt buy prior to the trade, resulting in cointracker complaining that my balance is messed up at that trade.
1534818421
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534818421

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534818421
Reply with quote  #2

1534818421
Report to moderator
1534818421
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534818421

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534818421
Reply with quote  #2

1534818421
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1534818421
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534818421

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534818421
Reply with quote  #2

1534818421
Report to moderator
1534818421
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534818421

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534818421
Reply with quote  #2

1534818421
Report to moderator
moftkhor
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 06, 2017, 02:00:53 PM
 #382

How can I import my XRP address from my hard wallet? There is no 'XRP' ticker in the list of altcoin wallets...
Tap Project
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 171
Merit: 100


Tap Into A World That Is More Than Just Gaming


View Profile WWW
June 06, 2017, 05:31:21 PM
 #383

Looks like a great platform, would of been better than the old excels Cheesy

~www.tapproject.net~ Transferable In-game Multiplatform In-game Currency
Liquid71
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 843
Merit: 1000


There is NO Freedom without Privacy


View Profile
June 07, 2017, 02:21:58 AM
 #384

This looks like a really cool project, I usually avoid this type of thing because of privacy concerns, well that and coin security. What kind of personal info is shared and with whom using this service? Thanks

sgjenks01
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 91
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 07, 2017, 03:15:26 AM
 #385

@liquid71
You would probably rather hear this from a user than the guy trying to get you to buy it, so here goes. You can see what sort of information is being sent to them by looking at an export file, for example. They are plain text csv files with trades from the exchange you are using. They get info like: Date & Time, Symbol and Amount Sold plus symbol that you bought and amount, and any fee the exchange took out of the trade. I'm sure they can look at all this in aggregate or detail to see what you are doing, but why would they care? None of the information about wallets ever leaves your wallet or exchange. I suppose a risk might be that a government could subpoena their records to help them capture tax dodgers, but that's pretty unlikely, because all the data is "hearsay". A government probably wouldn't rely on this data and would be much more likely to go after an exchange. This is exactly what the USA did when they went after Coinbase to get their customers' records.

Steve
sgjenks01
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 91
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 07, 2017, 08:31:38 PM
 #386

Feature Request:
When setting up the automatic imports for BTC and ETH as well as the other Alt Coins, it would be very helpful if you provided a free format "Description" field. I got an email that said I got a deposit in BTC to xyz wallet. The problem is, I had no idea which BTC wallet the import was set up on or where the transaction came from. i had to do some digging to figure out it came from a miner. With a notes/description field, that could have been avoided.

Thanks,

Steve
Bermuda666
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 85
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
June 07, 2017, 09:32:19 PM
 #387

I just tested cointracker and i think it's a pretty awsome piece of work when it comes to cointracking and taxes. Thank you very much, i'm really thinking about going Pro when i figured out the last little tricks Smiley

Currently i'm sturggling on how to correctly enter future trades in a manner where they correctly get processed for the tax report.

Example 1 How would i enter a okc quaterlies long trade with 10x leverage

Day 1
open long position of 100BTC leveraged 10x (using 10BTC of my balance)

Day 2
close long with P/L of lets say 2BTC


Example 2 How would i enter a okc quaterlies short trade with 10x leverage

Day 1
open short position of 100BTC leveraged 10x (using 10BTC of my balance)

Day 2
close short with P/L of lets say 2BTC

With the short i'm selling BTC that i didnt buy prior to the trade, resulting in cointracker complaining that my balance is messed up at that trade.

Hi @lofydf,

thanks for your question. Smiley

You are right, you have margin trades in your account before you even bought the Cryptocurrency.
Because of these circumstances you have warnings coming up. Currently there is no solution for CT to show running margin trades.

We are currently working on a method, so this becomes easier to handle and more efficient. This could probably take a few weeks to implement.
Over the next time we try to integrate more tools especially to make everything easier for traders.

Please be patient while we are working on a solution. Thank you very much.

Best regards,
Keven




CoinTracking.info - Your personal Profit / Loss Portfolio Monitor and Tax Tool for all Digital Coins
- Now over 20% Discount on our Lifetime plans (Limited Time)
- 5% Discount when paying in Bitcoin, plus an additional 10% Discount on all plans by using this link: bit.ly/rebate-ct
Bermuda666
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 85
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
June 07, 2017, 09:39:52 PM
 #388

How can I import my XRP address from my hard wallet? There is no 'XRP' ticker in the list of altcoin wallets...

Hi @moftkhor,

thank you for asking about this.

Currently we are not able to add XRP as a wallet import, because we are working with a Multi-Blokchain-API and we mostly track data from there.
Unless you can name a Blockchain-API source we could implement, where this Coin is already added. In this case we would try to start an integration.

However, we hope the Multi-Blokchain-API is going to add this Coin soon.

For now you could use our bulk importers or the manual import.

Kind regards,
Keven

CoinTracking.info - Your personal Profit / Loss Portfolio Monitor and Tax Tool for all Digital Coins
- Now over 20% Discount on our Lifetime plans (Limited Time)
- 5% Discount when paying in Bitcoin, plus an additional 10% Discount on all plans by using this link: bit.ly/rebate-ct
Bermuda666
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 85
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
June 07, 2017, 09:52:54 PM
 #389

Looks like a great platform, would of been better than the old excels Cheesy

Hey @Tap Project,

thank you for the compliment.

We try our best to make our platform as useful as even possible. We are working on it every single day. Smiley

And yes, it´s probably a lot easier than the old excel files for most of the people.

Wish you happy tracking.

Best regards,
Keven

CoinTracking.info - Your personal Profit / Loss Portfolio Monitor and Tax Tool for all Digital Coins
- Now over 20% Discount on our Lifetime plans (Limited Time)
- 5% Discount when paying in Bitcoin, plus an additional 10% Discount on all plans by using this link: bit.ly/rebate-ct
Bermuda666
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 85
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
June 07, 2017, 10:07:28 PM
 #390

This looks like a really cool project, I usually avoid this type of thing because of privacy concerns, well that and coin security. What kind of personal info is shared and with whom using this service? Thanks

Hey @Liquid71,

thanks for your question. We understand such concerns and take special care about it.

I want to give you some points on our security activities.

- All data is stored secure and only on our own server, plus it will stay there.
- All databases are protected and completely shielded.
- User data is stored fully encrypted.
- The whole website is running on a SSL certification base.
- All data we delete, is deleted directly and forever. No data is left behind.
- You can register completely anonymous, nothing of your personal data is required.
- All user statistics are calculated without personal details.

To name just a few security features.

Hope this is going to help you.

Also @sgjenks01 thanks a lot for submitting an answer. Smiley

Best regards,
Keven

CoinTracking.info - Your personal Profit / Loss Portfolio Monitor and Tax Tool for all Digital Coins
- Now over 20% Discount on our Lifetime plans (Limited Time)
- 5% Discount when paying in Bitcoin, plus an additional 10% Discount on all plans by using this link: bit.ly/rebate-ct
Bermuda666
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 85
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
June 07, 2017, 10:15:11 PM
 #391

Feature Request:
When setting up the automatic imports for BTC and ETH as well as the other Alt Coins, it would be very helpful if you provided a free format "Description" field. I got an email that said I got a deposit in BTC to xyz wallet. The problem is, I had no idea which BTC wallet the import was set up on or where the transaction came from. i had to do some digging to figure out it came from a miner. With a notes/description field, that could have been avoided.

Thanks,

Steve

Hey Steve,

as you know we really appreciate your suggestion and feature requests.

I´ll put this on our todo list as well as your other ideas.
Thanks for contributing. Smiley Happy Tracking.

Greetings,
Keven

CoinTracking.info - Your personal Profit / Loss Portfolio Monitor and Tax Tool for all Digital Coins
- Now over 20% Discount on our Lifetime plans (Limited Time)
- 5% Discount when paying in Bitcoin, plus an additional 10% Discount on all plans by using this link: bit.ly/rebate-ct
spacedoodoopistols
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 09, 2017, 07:04:17 PM
 #392

Is there a way to import gatehub transactions? Or at least manually enter my XRP?
Dario3000
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 744
Merit: 511


CoinTracking - Crypto Portfolio & Tax Management


View Profile WWW
June 09, 2017, 11:40:50 PM
 #393

Is there a way to import gatehub transactions? Or at least manually enter my XRP?
There is currently no gatehub import, but you can of course enter your XRP manually like all other currencies.

Best, Dario

CoinTracking.info - Your Profit / Loss Portfolio Monitor and Tax Calculator for all Digital Currencies
Simply the best way to track your digital assets accurately. Get live data for more than 5000 coins, assets and commodities. Track Gains & Balances from all your exchanges and wallets.
Need help? CoinTracking FAQ
sgjenks01
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 91
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 10, 2017, 12:00:14 AM
 #394

Is there a way to import gatehub transactions? Or at least manually enter my XRP?

Hi, I'm a user here, but can answer your question. I see Dario answered your question, but he is a busy guy and gave you a quick answer. I'm retired, so am not as pressed for time as Dario, so I can give you a little more detailed answer, because there is a lot more to CoinTracking than manual entry, but that's always a way to go.

Hopefully, you have downloaded the free trial so you can see what I'm referring to. On the Menu Bar, there is a link called "Enter Coins", from there you can pick your poison. If you only have a few trades to put in, pick "Overview & Manual Entry". Let's assume you have a lot of transactions to put in. There is not currently a way to automatically load the trades from gatehub so it will have to be a semi-manual effort. To do the import to CoinTracking, you have to be able to download some sort of transaction file from gatehub. If you can do that, it's just a question of manipulating that file to get the data into the right places in CoinTracking. CoinTracking will try to figure out what the columns represent by the header name, but you can fix that before the import. CoinTracking even gives you a preview of what the import will look like before you tell it to proceed. if you have ever imported an address book from one application to another, the process is much the same. A good thing about Cointracking is that you can make a backup of your database before you do anything, so if you create a mess on your first attempt, you can just restore from the backup and start again.

So the best way to be sure this answer works for you is to download the free version, download a transaction file from gatehub (a csv will do fine). Then just see how easy/hard the whole process will be for you.

I hope this helps!

Steve
sgjenks01
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 91
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 10, 2017, 12:31:04 AM
 #395

@ Dario or Kevin,
Hi guys, I've just been "taking profit" on Dash. I say taking profit in quotes because CT tells me I have taken an $18 loss for every DASH sold! I was shocked to see that, so I did some digging. If I chart DASH/USD, the graph is pointing straight up, but if I plot DASH/BTC, the trend is sideways to down. I did some rough calculations and found that my weighted average purchase price is roughly $104/DASH. I also calculated my weighted average sale price and it is about $147/DASH, which represents a $43/DASH gain per DASH sold.  I think the reason for this discrepancy is because DASH has been flat to down vs BTC. I'm just guessing that you are calculating gains and losses vs BTC and then converting those gains/losses to USD rather than calculating the gains/losses vs the USD all the way through. When BTC was trading sideways against the USD, this didn't really make a big difference, but now... Long story short, since you are reporting gains and losses vs the USD, I think gains and losses should be calculated against the USD throughout the process.

I hope you see what I mean. Let me know your thoughts!

Thanks,

Steve
Dario3000
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 744
Merit: 511


CoinTracking - Crypto Portfolio & Tax Management


View Profile WWW
June 10, 2017, 09:06:55 PM
 #396

Hey Steve,

Actually we calculate the value directly in USD.
We do not calculate in BTC and convert the value into USD.

I think I have found the issue.
You have created a manually ShapeShift transaction of:
Buy: 4 DASH
Sell: 0.02731424 BTC

I don't think this is correct and the reason why the PnL is broken.
0.02731424 BTC had a value of 75.67 USD at transaction
and 4 DASH had a value of 570 USD at transaction.

You can see the wrong values on the gains page (https://cointracking.info/gains.php) by opening the 2nd box and typing "dash" into the search box.
You will also find more buy and sell prices for your DASH sales there, which look good to me by the way.
So it's just this one trade you need to fix.

Best,
Dario

CoinTracking.info - Your Profit / Loss Portfolio Monitor and Tax Calculator for all Digital Currencies
Simply the best way to track your digital assets accurately. Get live data for more than 5000 coins, assets and commodities. Track Gains & Balances from all your exchanges and wallets.
Need help? CoinTracking FAQ
sgjenks01
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 91
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 10, 2017, 10:11:36 PM
 #397


0.02731424 BTC had a value of 75.67 USD at transaction
and 4 DASH had a value of 570 USD at transaction.

Dario,
Thank you so much! The BTC quantity had some digits transposed. it was supposed to be 0.207... NOT 0.027, which put me 0.18 BTC short! Big difference! This is an issue I sometimes have with numbers.
It's can be hard for me to spot transposed numbers but much easier to transpose them.

I sure didn't expect you to debug my data entry, but it goes with the territory. I know this because I used to write code that used Excel spreadsheets as input. The users would come to me saying the script was messing up, when, more often than not is was a simple data entry error that they just did not see.

Thanks again!

Steve
Dario3000
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 744
Merit: 511


CoinTracking - Crypto Portfolio & Tax Management


View Profile WWW
June 10, 2017, 10:16:08 PM
 #398

You're welcome.
Yeah, it's much faster to find the issue in an account than just guessing what it could be.

Thank you too for answering user questions here at bitcointalk Smiley
I really appreciate it.
Dario

CoinTracking.info - Your Profit / Loss Portfolio Monitor and Tax Calculator for all Digital Currencies
Simply the best way to track your digital assets accurately. Get live data for more than 5000 coins, assets and commodities. Track Gains & Balances from all your exchanges and wallets.
Need help? CoinTracking FAQ
sgjenks01
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 91
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 11, 2017, 03:49:50 AM
 #399

@ Dario,

You are welcome.

I have another feature request, which I had been meaning to put in, but you beat me to it, sort of. You changed the interface so that if the balances need to be recalculated, you put up a dialog asking the user to push the button. My idea was to have CT do something more automatic. Here's why:  As long as the user is changing the table by manual entry or import, CT should do no recalculating. But as soon as the user asks for a display of the data in any form, except the Data Input Table, CT should check to see whether anything has changed since the last recalculation (which you have always been doing) and if it's needed, just go ahead and recalculate and display the same progress bar that you do now.

Here's why I say that. If I have been adjusting transactions, or putting them in. When I want to see what happened to the results, i will most commonly ask to see the Balance by Exchange report because it gives the sort of sub-totals I want to be sure line up with what is at the exchanges and/or wallets. But here's the thing: I already know a) that I made changes, and b) that to check them, recalculations have to be done. So why ask me? By adjusting and entering transactions and then asking for a report, I know that such action will require a recalculation, so just do it! Smiley

Thanks,

Steve
Bermuda666
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 85
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
June 11, 2017, 06:58:09 AM
 #400

@ Dario,

You are welcome.

I have another feature request, which I had been meaning to put in, but you beat me to it, sort of. You changed the interface so that if the balances need to be recalculated, you put up a dialog asking the user to push the button. My idea was to have CT do something more automatic. Here's why:  As long as the user is changing the table by manual entry or import, CT should do no recalculating. But as soon as the user asks for a display of the data in any form, except the Data Input Table, CT should check to see whether anything has changed since the last recalculation (which you have always been doing) and if it's needed, just go ahead and recalculate and display the same progress bar that you do now.

Here's why I say that. If I have been adjusting transactions, or putting them in. When I want to see what happened to the results, i will most commonly ask to see the Balance by Exchange report because it gives the sort of sub-totals I want to be sure line up with what is at the exchanges and/or wallets. But here's the thing: I already know a) that I made changes, and b) that to check them, recalculations have to be done. So why ask me? By adjusting and entering transactions and then asking for a report, I know that such action will require a recalculation, so just do it! Smiley

Thanks,

Steve

Hey Steve

Thanks again for your suggestion. I just put it on the todo list and we will talk about it.

Wish you good investings.

Best regards,
Keven

CoinTracking.info - Your personal Profit / Loss Portfolio Monitor and Tax Tool for all Digital Coins
- Now over 20% Discount on our Lifetime plans (Limited Time)
- 5% Discount when paying in Bitcoin, plus an additional 10% Discount on all plans by using this link: bit.ly/rebate-ct
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 [20] 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 ... 73 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!