Bitcoin Forum
January 16, 2019, 05:46:05 PM *
News: The copper membership price will increase by about 300% around Friday.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 [41] 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 »
  Print  
Author Topic: CoinTracking - Profit/Loss Portfolio and Tax Reporting for Digital Currencies  (Read 92587 times)
hgmichna
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 695
Merit: 500


View Profile
December 08, 2017, 10:28:22 AM
Last edit: December 09, 2017, 01:52:55 PM by hgmichna
 #801

English:

A little question about the "CSP-Mode" button:

Is it only about performance or can the wrong choice cause errors?


Deutsch:

Kleine Frage zum Button "CSP-Modus":

Geht es dabei nur um die Performance oder können auch Fehler auftreten, wenn man den falschen Modus verwendet?
1547660765
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547660765

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547660765
Reply with quote  #2

1547660765
Report to moderator
1547660765
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547660765

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547660765
Reply with quote  #2

1547660765
Report to moderator
The forum strives to allow free discussion of any ideas. All policies are built around this principle. This doesn't mean you can post garbage, though: posts should actually contain ideas, and these ideas should be argued reasonably.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1547660765
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547660765

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547660765
Reply with quote  #2

1547660765
Report to moderator
dchou
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 97
Merit: 10


View Profile
December 08, 2017, 03:02:07 PM
 #802

Hi,
Apologies if this has been asked, but what is the best practice for handling Poloniex margin trades?

When i import margin trades it counts the initiation of my long as a btc sell (of which i don't have).

is it recommended to have multiple accounts where you separate out margin and spot trades?

Secondly, when i sell on Polo and transfer to coinbase to sell for fiat, it can't seem to find a basis for my sell.

Thanks for any help in advance...
sbct8876
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 09, 2017, 04:31:50 AM
 #803

Cointracking questions:

1. How do you combine multiple transactions?  I'm using the automatic API from Poloniex and trying to group all my Poloniex lending transactions together since there's thousands of tiny trades.

2. How do you import transactions from a Ledger Blue?  I went to "receive" on my ledger and copied the bitcoin address there then plugged that in to my wallet import and created a new job.  However, it's not syncing any data.

3. How do I prevent overlap if I have multiple wallets and have moved the same coin between each wallet in the past?  For instance, I have a BTC balance on ledger and a BTC balance on poloniex.  And want to prevent them both appearing like I have earned twice the coin, when in fact it's the same coin.  Or does cointracking.info do this automatically for me?

4. How do I enter BCH transactions and trades?  I can't seem to find the option.
leetrongway
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 95
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 09, 2017, 01:29:49 PM
 #804

Can you please extend the csv and xls import template by a column, so that a row can be skipped?
blickbox
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 09, 2017, 06:47:41 PM
 #805

Anyone know how to remove currencies? (non-coin):

I imported all transactions from all exchanges I used and all currencies show correctly. But EUR is listed with a 70% loss for some reason (I used EUR to buy all coins). This ruins the "sum/profit", so I want it gone. When I see the manual entries, I can't find any entry for EUR to delete. Anyone know what to do?
BobBogardus
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 10, 2017, 06:36:21 PM
 #806

Hi,
New to CoinTracking and seeing how it works.
I purchase and transfer BTC from one exchange (withdrawal) to another (deposit) and the "Cost Basis" ends up ZERO on the target exchange.

Example
- Inject $1000 USD with a deposit from my Chase Bank into Abra
- Trade $1000 USD into BTC in Abra (no fee)
- Withdraw all this BTC from Abra (fee)
- ... and deposit BTC into Bittrex
- Use 20% of this BTC in Bittrex to trade for another coin (e.g. SALT)

When I look at the Tax Report, it shows Capital Gains with zero cost basis - I assume for the Bittrex transaction when I sell the transferred BTC to purchase SALT.

1) What do I need to do in CoinTracking to correct the Cost Basis tax report?

2) How does CoinTracking handle multiple BTC purchases - where the basis is different for different amounts? I assume this would use FIFO, but is there anything I need to do to make that work?

Thanks!
Bob Bogardus
Seancbkk
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 11, 2017, 07:57:14 AM
 #807

Hi to the Cointracking team,

This looks like it could be an awesome tool although I'm having issues that unfortunately make it useless at the moment.

I use two exchanges, both of which are supported for importing of trades (yay!)   bx.in.th and bittrex.

I have imported my transactions from both exchanges, with apparently no issues.

However, the resulting balances are completely wrong.

It is showing that I have 0.97 BTC, when I actually have 0.03

It is showing that I have -3013 Burst, when I actually have zero

It is showing that I have -1.73 ETH when I actually have zero

It is showing that I have 0 REP, when I actually have 1.14  (this is maybe because the REP is in Jaxx Wallet)


Can someone please explain why the data is so completely out of whack and what I can do to fix it.

Thanks!
MarketAnarchist
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 11, 2017, 06:29:22 PM
 #808

I'm having pretty much the same problem. I'm assuming with the cost basis of $0, it is wildly inflating my tax liabilities. Would love to fix this ASAP.

Hi,
New to CoinTracking and seeing how it works.
I purchase and transfer BTC from one exchange (withdrawal) to another (deposit) and the "Cost Basis" ends up ZERO on the target exchange.

Example
- Inject $1000 USD with a deposit from my Chase Bank into Abra
- Trade $1000 USD into BTC in Abra (no fee)
- Withdraw all this BTC from Abra (fee)
- ... and deposit BTC into Bittrex
- Use 20% of this BTC in Bittrex to trade for another coin (e.g. SALT)

When I look at the Tax Report, it shows Capital Gains with zero cost basis - I assume for the Bittrex transaction when I sell the transferred BTC to purchase SALT.

1) What do I need to do in CoinTracking to correct the Cost Basis tax report?

2) How does CoinTracking handle multiple BTC purchases - where the basis is different for different amounts? I assume this would use FIFO, but is there anything I need to do to make that work?

Thanks!
Bob Bogardus

smartinuf
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 11, 2017, 11:04:45 PM
 #809

Ive been blocked out of my account, when trying to log in I received the following message: 

"You have been BLOCKED because of evil or suspicious bot behavior.
If you are a human, please let us know and we will unlock you immediately."

Well, here I am doing that, please unblock me.

I think this may have occurred while I was using the iPhone app, does this happen sometimes or do I need to be worried about someone attempting hack?

Galletera
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 13, 2017, 01:19:23 AM
 #810

Hello, guys. Struggling with the Binance API.

I'll go in and manually click "Check Now" and then after it says "Checking for new trades" - and I click "Back to your jobs." Nothing happens.
New trades don't come in even though I've made them (and I give it a solid 30 seconds to load before clicking Back to jobs).

Doesn't happen with Bittrex, but with Binance it happens about 20-30% of the time...then I have to wait another hour to be able to check again.

Another question, besides the number of trades allowed, what's the biggest benefit of upgrading from a PRO account to an Unlimited?

Thanks.
smartinuf
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 13, 2017, 02:10:38 AM
 #811

This is ridiculous! I've been blocked from my account and no response?

I did receive one response from Cointracking facebook page messenger telling me to open a support ticket which of course I cannot do because I cannot access the site. I replied telling them that but have heard nothing in since.

I need access to my info as I'm the process of working on taxes which is why I bought this program to begin with. What a time for this to happen and for Cointracking team to go AWOL here!

I'm all about security measures but when it goes wonky and I can't access my own data there has to be support measures in place. What other recourse do I have other than to complain here?

Im beginning to worry that my data has been compromised. I can't see it but who can?

PLEASE RESPOND
gvtrider
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 13, 2017, 03:33:13 AM
 #812

I tried CoinTracking for the first time today and was able to successfully upload my trades in csv format. However, the csv's with the deposits and withdrawals of Poloniex and Bitfinex are not accepted and give me error messages. I downloaded the csv's from the exchanges today.

Any indication when this can be fixed? Thanks.

Duckly
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 13, 2017, 11:30:30 AM
 #813

Hi All,

Been using Cointracking for a couple of months now and its great. I've always had issues importing trades from BTC Markets though. I understand the CSV won't import Withdrawals and Deposits but even after inputing them manually the balance is not even close to correct.

It's acting as if everything is being doubled.

Anyone got similar issues?
M5M400
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 163
Merit: 100

supportXMR.com


View Profile WWW
December 13, 2017, 01:45:12 PM
 #814

Just ran into the limits of the free account. Really liking the site, so I was totally in for buying a license. But paying 0.3BTC for a lifetime license is ridiculous... that's 5300$ lol

supportXMR.com :: EU(DE) based Monero pool :: 0.6% fee
caz777
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 13, 2017, 04:46:51 PM
 #815

Seems there is a problem in the tracker...

the prices received are wrong currently...

I checked just before 5pm, and saw one result of my coins.

Then I checked 20 min later and the ALTCOIN/BTC rates were much lower (as in all had fallen a lot).

When checking against bittrex prices I can see that for instance I have:

NXT 0.0000429 (bittrex), but only 0.0000391 in the CoinTracking.
MANA 0.00000660 (bittrex), but only 0.00000542 in the CoinTracking.

Looking at the coin charts also show significant (unnatural?) dips at the 1700 data for today....
vid200
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 13, 2017, 06:11:54 PM
 #816

Same here,
prices are 20% off and more to negative.

I hace checked sources based on faq, but those prices were ok.
I have written to support, let's see.why this occured.
caz777
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 13, 2017, 11:37:22 PM
 #817

Seems to be corrected now. Looked like my Bittrex coins were not updating, but my Binance was.
crypto8492
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 14, 2017, 05:05:01 PM
 #818


I'm so confused on how to report on U.S. taxes getting Bitcoin Gold due to hard fork.  I plan on holding the coin for long term (not selling for a few years). 

Do I still need to enter receiving of the token for 2017?  If so, how?

bobby35ny
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 96
Merit: 10


View Profile
December 15, 2017, 01:56:47 AM
 #819

Hello, guys. Struggling with the Binance API.

I'll go in and manually click "Check Now" and then after it says "Checking for new trades" - and I click "Back to your jobs." Nothing happens.
New trades don't come in even though I've made them (and I give it a solid 30 seconds to load before clicking Back to jobs).

Doesn't happen with Bittrex, but with Binance it happens about 20-30% of the time...then I have to wait another hour to be able to check again.

Another question, besides the number of trades allowed, what's the biggest benefit of upgrading from a PRO account to an Unlimited?

Thanks.


I am having the same problem with Binance!!!

-Bobby
discursively
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 15, 2017, 06:38:43 PM
 #820

Thanks for making this awesome website!

I'm having one problem: Stellar prices are reported inaccurately. For example, right now, cointracking.info has Stellar at 0.14499171 USD while Poloniex has it at 0.1878. I can't find anywhere that Stellar is trading at the level reported in cointracking.info, so I'm not sure what's going wrong! Thank you for any help!
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 [41] 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!