Bitcoin Forum
December 12, 2017, 03:05:39 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 [79] 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 ... 586 »
  Print  
Author Topic: HashFast announces specs for new ASIC: 400GH/s  (Read 875115 times)
DPoS
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462



View Profile
October 21, 2013, 03:47:24 PM
 #1561

I haven't heard other BTC rig manufacturers did.



which is why I lowered the fans to get 5-7C cooler   Cheesy


~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~Play Boardgames for Bitcoins!!~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~ Something I say help? Donate BTC! 1KN1K1xStzsgfYxdArSX4PEjFfcLEuYhid
1513047939
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513047939

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513047939
Reply with quote  #2

1513047939
Report to moderator
1513047939
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513047939

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513047939
Reply with quote  #2

1513047939
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Puppet
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966


View Profile
October 21, 2013, 03:50:01 PM
 #1562

I spend quite a lot of time in a datacenter, and the back of a rack is most certainly accessible by opening the door in the warm corridor. (Otherwise how would you attach power and network cables to the servers?)

I didnt say it was totally inaccessible, but no one wants to through the back, and wade through the cable mess, move cable management arms and get your fingers cut just to turn a machine on or off, or reset it.
cedivad
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134



View Profile
October 21, 2013, 03:51:42 PM
 #1563

Hashfast, any proof that you have something to deliver pretty soon would be appreciated for our mood. I'm getting more sad every time i visit the thread.

My anger against what is wrong in the Bitcoin community is productive:
Bitcointa.lk - Replace "Bitcointalk.org" with "Bitcointa.lk" in this url to see how this page looks like on a proper forum (Announcement Thread)
Hashfast.org - Wiki for screwed customers
Speakeron
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47


View Profile
October 21, 2013, 05:12:17 PM
 #1564

I spend quite a lot of time in a datacenter, and the back of a rack is most certainly accessible by opening the door in the warm corridor. (Otherwise how would you attach power and network cables to the servers?)

I didnt say it was totally inaccessible, but no one wants to through the back, and wade through the cable mess, move cable management arms and get your fingers cut just to turn a machine on or off, or reset it.

My racks are very neat and tidy at the back. But you do have a point if you're somewhere like this:  Grin

jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862


View Profile
October 21, 2013, 05:34:10 PM
 #1565

According to Hashfast, their chips draw .65W/GH/sec, so: .65 * 400 * 3 = 780W.  Let's round it off to 900W to make up for fans, pumps & fluff.  Sea Sonic, the company Hashfast has entered into some sort of a deal with (PR release is unclear), has platinum-rated 1000W gizmos available @ Newegg @$239.

As far as running two power supplies in parallel, it might work, and it might be fireworks/one PS "loafing" at idle & not adding to the fun -- depending on the output circuitry of the PS.  It's possible to bridge switching PS, but not worth the effort.
Hope this helps.

First of all, I was incorrect...  it is not 1400, but 1300 which is why they want enough PSU to handle minimum of 1560W

Second.  you can mix and match pci power cables anyway you want.. it is just a direct power feed from the PSU.  dont know what you mean by loafing

Third.  Now I remember why i had you on ignore... welcome back to the iggy button.


I have dug up the relevent post about this...  it was a little difficult given all the bullshit posts by trolls.


Why two power supplies?  How are 3 modules connected to two power supplies?  Are they producing redundancy?  If so how is that achieved? Is each power supply connected to each board (would imply two power connections pwe board)?  Wouldn't one large power supply be sufficient, cheaper, and take up less space?

For our mining rigs we have chosen to specify power supplies that are rated 20% higher than the highest wattage we expect even including significant overclocking. The GN chip uses 250W at nominal, and we have designed all the systems to handle upto 350W. When the mini motherboard is supplying 350W to the chip (this level of overclock should result in up to 540GH/s) the mini motherboard may consume up to 411W of 12v, due to losses in the VRM. Add 25W for fans, and you get to 436W per mini-motherboard. Multiply by 3 chips in the Sierra, and you get about 1300W. We've added a safety margin of 20% extra on top of this - so we needed power supplies that were rated to a minimum of 1560W @ 12v to meet these specifications, and maintain the headroom and margin we desired to ensure reliable, efficient long term operation.

There are very few manufacturers who make single 1600W supplies, and we didn't find a single unit from a high quality vendor. In addition this size of supply is more expensive than 2 smaller supplies. The Sea Sonic supplies are really well built, and even significantly overbuilt. In all tests they are capable of supplying power well above their ratings, and the output regulation is very accurate and smooth. They handle hot operating environments very well. Please go read the reviews of the supplies in the Sierra - the Sea Sonic X-850FM3.

http://hardocp.com/article/2013/04/04/seasonic_xseries_x850_power_supply_review/9#.UmDCKVCcc5g
http://www.kitguru.net/components/power-supplies/zardon/seasonic-x-series-850w-km3-power-supply-review/7/

Each GN chip is on it's own mini-motherboard, and each mini-motherboard has 2 separate 6 pin PCI-E power connectors. Each of the supplies feeds 3 of these connectors.

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
Syke
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464


View Profile
October 21, 2013, 05:41:19 PM
 #1566

Second.  you can mix and match pci power cables anyway you want.. it is just a direct power feed from the PSU.  dont know what you mean by loafing

You don't want to mix-n-match cables. If you have 2 power supplies feeding to a single board and one power supply dies, the board will try to pull double the load from the other power supply. Bad things happen.

Buy & Hold
Puppet
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966


View Profile
October 21, 2013, 05:41:39 PM
 #1567

My racks are very neat and tidy at the back.


Even if its tidy. For instance if you have a bunch of these in your rack:



And somewhere hidden inbetween those is a sierra that needs a power cycle (using 2 PSU switches no less).
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862


View Profile
October 21, 2013, 06:01:43 PM
 #1568

Second.  you can mix and match pci power cables anyway you want.. it is just a direct power feed from the PSU.  dont know what you mean by loafing

You don't want to mix-n-match cables. If you have 2 power supplies feeding to a single board and one power supply dies, the board will try to pull double the load from the other power supply. Bad things happen.

Syke.  I didn't say bad things couldn't happen.. I was trying to enlighten the dude that said running PSUs in parallel might work and then said something about fireworks and loafing...


From a long time gpu miner with many, many Seasonics.  I have powered gpus on seperate rigs with one psu. I have powered a gpu from a 220 psu to a rig powered by 110.  I have powered one gpu from 2 PSUs...  my point was the PCI cable is just an extension cord for DC voltage.

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
crumbs
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210



View Profile
October 21, 2013, 06:22:58 PM
 #1569

...
First of all, I was incorrect...  it is not 1400, but 1300 which is why they want enough PSU to handle minimum of 1560W

Second.  you can mix and match pci power cables anyway you want.. it is just a direct power feed from the PSU.  dont know what you mean by loafing

Third.  Now I remember why i had you on ignore... welcome back to the iggy button.


I have dug up the relevent post about this...  it was a little difficult given all the bullshit posts by trolls.

First of all, you were incorrect....  It's not 1400, and also not 1300.  It is, as i have suggested, 780, as could be easily calculated from the product description here.  Each chip is 400 GH/s, there are 3 chips for 1200 GH/s total.  At advertised .65W/GH, that totals to 780W.  Any other number you arrive at directly contradicts the company claims.

Second.  you can mix and match PCI power cables anyway you want..  AS LONG AS THEY ARE FROM THE SAME POWER SUPPLY.  You would have to plug two different PS into the same board to evenly split the power from 2 PS between three boards.  You don't know what i mean because you're stupid.

Third.  Now you understand why you will continue to fail at life, iggy button or no.

You have dug up an irrelevant post here...  It was a little difficult because your last remaining neurons are fused together by a syphilis germ.

I'm a kind & patient guy, i've generously given of myself to educate you, please don't make me regret it. Angry

Edit:  Ask your mom to buy some outlet childproofing blockoffs, and install them throughout your house.  She'll understand why. Smiley

Gyrsur
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1834


#BEL+++


View Profile WWW
October 21, 2013, 06:26:25 PM
 #1570


how did you do that? serious question.
crumbs
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210



View Profile
October 21, 2013, 06:31:06 PM
 #1571


 To divert some of the air over the VRMs? Possibly confused by the the thermal pic?
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862


View Profile
October 21, 2013, 06:32:07 PM
 #1572

/*repeats to meself:  I will not feed the trolls, I will not feed the trolls..

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
Speakeron
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47


View Profile
October 21, 2013, 06:39:01 PM
 #1573

And somewhere hidden inbetween those is a sierra that needs a power cycle (using 2 PSU switches no less).

I think that looks pretty neat. Each CMA is sitting right behind its PE1950 and just takes 1U (although the power sockets on the left are a bit tight). A Sierra would just be a 4U hole in that. I'd surprised if that mix actually occurred in the real world though!

I think though, if you've got the miner in a DC and it need a hardware power cycle you've got more problems than just reaching into the back of the rack (you've actually got to go to the DC or pay some dude to do it! And it raises concerns over the equipment's reliability). And anyway, DC costs are going to bite into the miserable ROI. Who would even think of doing that unless they had some free space?
Gyrsur
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1834


#BEL+++


View Profile WWW
October 21, 2013, 06:52:35 PM
 #1574


 To divert some of the air over the VRMs? Possibly confused by the the thermal pic?

no I mean is it possible to move the fans lower easy. put pressure on top of the fans or how did he do it?

EDIT: he has to fix the fans somehow or not?  Huh don't try at home kids! Cheesy
crumbs
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210



View Profile
October 21, 2013, 06:59:53 PM
 #1575

...
no I mean is it possible to move the fans lower easy. put pressure on top of the fans or how did he do it?

EDIT: he has to fix the fans somehow or not?  Huh don't try at home kids! Cheesy

Sorry, misunderstood you.  Can't read Embarrassed  
DPoS
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462



View Profile
October 21, 2013, 07:38:30 PM
 #1576



no I mean is it possible to move the fans lower easy. put pressure on top of the fans or how did he do it?

EDIT: he has to fix the fans somehow or not?  Huh don't try at home kids! Cheesy

As we KNCers all know, the way they had the fans on fell off anyway in transit..  and if you built a lot of PC rigs you seem to see that airflow around the CHIP is what matters, not just cooling some bare metal inches away

and yes, the extra airflow around the PCB for the VRMs is very nice as well

to do this, just lay the fan on the crossbar and slightly push the tip of the shroud top in the 4th opening of the heatsink fins - stays happy.  You could add some electrical tape if you like




For Hashfasters, it is good to think what's best for your miner's airflow when you get it and not rely on what they think is best..I doubt they will have tested one for 10 days running straight and rather they ship it as soon as it hashes a share   Tongue

~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~Play Boardgames for Bitcoins!!~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~ Something I say help? Donate BTC! 1KN1K1xStzsgfYxdArSX4PEjFfcLEuYhid
Minor Miner
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050



View Profile
October 21, 2013, 07:40:23 PM
 #1577

Has anyone tried calling Hashfast lately?   I wanted to get some information and maybe buy a November machine (and make sure it is still a November machine) and all I got was voicemail after some really strange transfers on the phone system.

tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile
October 21, 2013, 07:48:28 PM
 #1578

I still haven't heard back from Samantha about employment... I'll probably forward my resume to Amy later today and try and figure out what's going on and if they still want me for support.

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
DPoS
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462



View Profile
October 21, 2013, 07:51:50 PM
 #1579

I still haven't heard back from Samantha about employment... I'll probably forward my resume to Amy later today and try and figure out what's going on and if they still want me for support.

what type of support?  local in TX? or just comment jockey?

~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~Play Boardgames for Bitcoins!!~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~ Something I say help? Donate BTC! 1KN1K1xStzsgfYxdArSX4PEjFfcLEuYhid
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile
October 21, 2013, 08:01:13 PM
 #1580

I still haven't heard back from Samantha about employment... I'll probably forward my resume to Amy later today and try and figure out what's going on and if they still want me for support.

what type of support?  local in TX? or just comment jockey?

Comment jockey, although I also offered to go down to CIARA to report back on the progress on the boards and assembly there

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
Pages: « 1 ... 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 [79] 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 ... 586 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!