Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 12:11:07 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 »
  Print  
Author Topic: BAMT - Easy persistent USB key based linux for dedicated miners/mining farms  (Read 160854 times)
lodcrappo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
August 27, 2011, 01:07:19 AM
 #281

Its someone else getting this error ?

user@miner:~$ sudo /etc/init.d/mine start
Starting mining processes...: mineYAML Error: Stream does not end with newline character
   Code: YAML_PARSE_ERR_NO_FINAL_NEWLINE
   Line: 0
   Document: 0
 at /usr/share/perl5/YAML.pm line 36


You've messed up the formatting in your bamt.conf somehow.  Check for weird alignment or other strangeness.
Yaml is picky.  Don't honestly know what the formatting rules really are myself, but if you follow the form of the config file that comes with BAMT, you'll do fine.

If you want to support further development of BAMT (http://bamter.org/):  1PoRYaGS56ksQmK7XXLurW3B2zwCAE8PRc
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480810267
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480810267

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480810267
Reply with quote  #2

1480810267
Report to moderator
oo-oo
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile
August 27, 2011, 02:58:47 AM
 #282

Its someone else getting this error ?

user@miner:~$ sudo /etc/init.d/mine start
Starting mining processes...: mineYAML Error: Stream does not end with newline character
   Code: YAML_PARSE_ERR_NO_FINAL_NEWLINE
   Line: 0
   Document: 0
 at /usr/share/perl5/YAML.pm line 36


You've messed up the formatting in your bamt.conf somehow.  Check for weird alignment or other strangeness.
Yaml is picky.  Don't honestly know what the formatting rules really are myself, but if you follow the form of the config file that comes with BAMT, you'll do fine.


I made a new fresh install and i just have a x5 5850 mining rig actually mining after 6 or 7 minutes i wrote the pendrive with BAMT. Simply awasome.

Sending 1 BTC to ur wallet, as soon as i have 2 more i will send it too. Thanks!

BTW, if u have any free time, could u please help with this ? https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=39460.0  , just reading the first post will be fine.
lodcrappo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
August 27, 2011, 08:26:48 AM
 #283



BTW, if u have any free time, could u please help with this ? https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=39460.0  , just reading the first post will be fine.

you are not the first to have similar-ish problems.  in the past, it has always come down to something with the hardware... power is common issue.  bad risers another.  another is just crap cards or motherboard that can't handle the load/timing/something for whatever reason.

best approach is to remove all but one card.  seem how it works, how far it can go to stable.  then add one, and so one.  find out what makes things go down hill.

If you want to support further development of BAMT (http://bamter.org/):  1PoRYaGS56ksQmK7XXLurW3B2zwCAE8PRc
plastic.elastic
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
August 27, 2011, 08:30:10 AM
 #284

In my rig, Xorg keeps crashing ( cause 100% CPU usage). Coldreboot does not work sometimes, and if it does, only one of 2 5850s is recognized after a reboot. I had to manualy switch PSU off for abit then turn the system back on.

What might cause such problem? I know its not the GPU or overclocking.

The rig can mine for couple hrs or so b4 Xorg crashed.

Tips gladly accepted: 1LPaxHPvpzN3FbaGBaZShov3EFafxJDG42
lodcrappo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
August 27, 2011, 08:36:22 AM
 #285

In my rig, Xorg keeps crashing ( cause 100% CPU usage). Coldreboot does not work sometimes, and if it does, only one of 2 5850s is recognized after a reboot. I had to manualy switch PSU off for abit then turn the system back on.

What might cause such problem? I know its not the GPU or overclocking.

The rig can mine for couple hrs or so b4 Xorg crashed.


"I know its not the GPU or overclocking. "

I could say I know it's not BAMT.  I have miners running BAMT with 35 days uptime, and have gotten reports of similar stability from plenty of others.  What is your reason for thinking it isn't your hardware?  I think the most direct approach will be to look at the most likely cause, which given the history of basically every similar issue thats come up in this thread, would be precisely your GPU or overclocking. 

Step 1.  Remove all overclocking.  Does it stop locking up?  We need to know this before proceeding.



If you want to support further development of BAMT (http://bamter.org/):  1PoRYaGS56ksQmK7XXLurW3B2zwCAE8PRc
gnar1ta$
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
August 27, 2011, 03:48:44 PM
 #286

In my rig, Xorg keeps crashing ( cause 100% CPU usage). Coldreboot does not work sometimes, and if it does, only one of 2 5850s is recognized after a reboot. I had to manualy switch PSU off for abit then turn the system back on.

What might cause such problem? I know its not the GPU or overclocking.

The rig can mine for couple hrs or so b4 Xorg crashed.


This sounds familiar...what MB are you using?

Losing hundreds of Bitcoins with the best scammers in the business - BFL, Avalon, KNC, HashFast.
mmartoccia
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
August 27, 2011, 07:14:05 PM
 #287

In my rig, Xorg keeps crashing ( cause 100% CPU usage). Coldreboot does not work sometimes, and if it does, only one of 2 5850s is recognized after a reboot. I had to manualy switch PSU off for abit then turn the system back on.

What might cause such problem? I know its not the GPU or overclocking.

The rig can mine for couple hrs or so b4 Xorg crashed.


This sounds familiar...what MB are you using?

I've had similar issues with my setup.  i.e... one card being recognized, CPU pegged etc... Whenever this happens I just re-image te USB and replace the pool and bamt file.  It has *always* solved the issue for me.
oo-oo
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile
August 28, 2011, 10:05:01 AM
 #288



BTW, if u have any free time, could u please help with this ? https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=39460.0  , just reading the first post will be fine.

you are not the first to have similar-ish problems.  in the past, it has always come down to something with the hardware... power is common issue.  bad risers another.  another is just crap cards or motherboard that can't handle the load/timing/something for whatever reason.

best approach is to remove all but one card.  seem how it works, how far it can go to stable.  then add one, and so one.  find out what makes things go down hill.


Could be that my mother is not so good to handle x 5 card overclocked ?   because individually the card work fine, together not... and i each riser and its OK. 
lodcrappo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
August 29, 2011, 01:00:30 AM
 #289



BTW, if u have any free time, could u please help with this ? https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=39460.0  , just reading the first post will be fine.

you are not the first to have similar-ish problems.  in the past, it has always come down to something with the hardware... power is common issue.  bad risers another.  another is just crap cards or motherboard that can't handle the load/timing/something for whatever reason.

best approach is to remove all but one card.  seem how it works, how far it can go to stable.  then add one, and so one.  find out what makes things go down hill.


Could be that my mother is not so good to handle x 5 card overclocked ?   because individually the card work fine, together not... and i each riser and its OK. 

It's hard to say..  there are two of you having trouble with 5 cards, not sure if both on the exact same MB.

What we know and questions..

Things work fine with 1 card  (btw how many cards does it take before things break?)
It's probably something do with the motherboard, I think we've done enough to rule out power or thermal issues
There are some motherboards that working fine with 5 gpus, but don't know what model(s) that is either
Could it even be related to the specific GPU?  Like would 5 5830s work, but 5 6950s not?  Anyone got a big enough farm and one of these boards with issues that can test stuff like that?

Maybe it would help if people posted the motherboard and GPUs that they have tried and what the results were.. I'll start

MSI 870-G45 - 3 GPUs, works fine with 5830s, 6870s or 6950s
MSI 870A-G54 - 3 GPUs, works fine with 5830s, 6870s or 6950s
Dell SC420 mb (don't laugh) - 2 GPUs, works fine with 5830s, 6870s or 6950s



If you want to support further development of BAMT (http://bamter.org/):  1PoRYaGS56ksQmK7XXLurW3B2zwCAE8PRc
jamesg
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330


AKA: gigavps


View Profile
August 29, 2011, 01:28:27 AM
 #290

The Big A Miner Thing is a custom linux designed specifically for dedicated mining rigs. It boots from a 2GB or larger USB key and is persistent. The base is plain old Debian, and every effort has been taken to remain a "normal" debian system. You can add software with apt and do most anything else you could do on a regular debian box in the usual way.  BAMT supports both 32 and 64 bit systems.

Included are all the drivers, programs, and scripts necessary to very quickly deploy a dedicated machine that will automatically start mining when turned on. This is not an OS you will enjoy using to surf the web or write a term paper. Don't even think about asking why you can't print or where the mp3 player is. This is for miners.

Individual mining processes are started in screen sessions, and so can be viewed remotely via SSH or on the console. Realtime status is displayed on the local console, and performance graphs are available remotely via a web dashboard. Munin node is setup with custom mining extensions and can be connected to from a central server to gather mining metrics from several mining rigs.

New in version 0.3

All configuration done in a single file, including overclocking, kernel parameters, etc. Each GPU can be monitored for temperature, load, mhash/s rate, and share accepted rate and the system can generate an alert email if a GPU is not within your defined normal range. Miners now have dead/weak pool detection, hung Phoenix detection, and can failover to an unlimted number of backup pools. Web console updated. Supermodified Thunder Phoenix with all the latest kernel tweaks for insane hash rates. Maybe other stuff.

New in version 0.4

Centralized config management. Control the configurations of an entire mining farm from one central point. Switch an unlimited number of rigs/GPUs to a new pool with one command. Monitor the status of your entire farm on one web page.  Various other optimizations and improvements.

New in version 0.4b
All fixes through #11 preinstalled

main web page:  http://aaronwolfe.com/bamt/

download
http://aaronwolfe.com/bamt/bamt_v0.4b.torrent

miner dashboard screenshot http://i.imgur.com/zgtAd.jpg

farm dashboard screenshot http://i.imgur.com/sl17b.png

BAMT chat -
#bamt on freenode, or click for web thing


donations to:  1PoRYaGS56ksQmK7XXLurW3B2zwCAE8PRc  
thanks



lodcrappo thanks for BAMT. It is the easiest way to setup a mining farm and I am very grateful for all of you work. Please keep it up. BTC is on the way.
gnar1ta$
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
August 29, 2011, 01:33:55 AM
 #291

All 6950's non-ref
--MSI 890FXA-GD70 - 3 on board, very stable.  Can't run with even 1 on extender/riser (xorg crash)
--MSI 990FXA-GD65 - exact same CPU, RAM, PS, and cards - 5 working on extenders (still tweaking for stability)

Losing hundreds of Bitcoins with the best scammers in the business - BFL, Avalon, KNC, HashFast.
jamesg
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330


AKA: gigavps


View Profile
August 29, 2011, 10:24:32 AM
 #292

All 6950's non-ref
--MSI 890FXA-GD70 - 3 on board, very stable.  Can't run with even 1 on extender/riser (xorg crash)
--MSI 990FXA-GD65 - exact same CPU, RAM, PS, and cards - 5 working on extenders (still tweaking for stability)

I have three boxes running 5 6950s (non-ref) each with 16x extenders and 1-16x extenders. I use these 2 motherboards:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157262
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157248

I don't have any issues with extender cables or the MBs recognizing the cards.
lodcrappo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
August 29, 2011, 10:53:24 AM
 #293

Thanks for the feedback, adding all the reports to the wiki under hardware compatibility list

https://github.com/aaronwolfe/Big-A-Miner-Thing/wiki



If you want to support further development of BAMT (http://bamter.org/):  1PoRYaGS56ksQmK7XXLurW3B2zwCAE8PRc
jamesg
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330


AKA: gigavps


View Profile
August 29, 2011, 11:39:03 AM
 #294

Thanks for the feedback, adding all the reports to the wiki under hardware compatibility list

https://github.com/aaronwolfe/Big-A-Miner-Thing/wiki




lodcrappo you can also add 5 5830s with the same asrock motherboards. Should be able to update you regarding 5970s later this week.  Cool
gnar1ta$
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
August 29, 2011, 01:45:49 PM
 #295

All 6950's non-ref
--MSI 890FXA-GD70 - 3 on board, very stable.  Can't run with even 1 on extender/riser (xorg crash)
--MSI 990FXA-GD65 - exact same CPU, RAM, PS, and cards - 5 working on extenders (still tweaking for stability)

I have three boxes running 5 6950s (non-ref) each with 16x extenders and 1-16x extenders. I use these 2 motherboards:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157262
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157248

I don't have any issues with extender cables or the MBs recognizing the cards.

Are you running BAMT from USB or HDD? And what clocks?

Losing hundreds of Bitcoins with the best scammers in the business - BFL, Avalon, KNC, HashFast.
jamesg
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330


AKA: gigavps


View Profile
August 29, 2011, 06:22:41 PM
 #296

All 6950's non-ref
--MSI 890FXA-GD70 - 3 on board, very stable.  Can't run with even 1 on extender/riser (xorg crash)
--MSI 990FXA-GD65 - exact same CPU, RAM, PS, and cards - 5 working on extenders (still tweaking for stability)

I have three boxes running 5 6950s (non-ref) each with 16x extenders and 1-16x extenders. I use these 2 motherboards:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157262
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157248

I don't have any issues with extender cables or the MBs recognizing the cards.

Are you running BAMT from USB or HDD? And what clocks?

BAMT from USB. Two of these boxes are clocked at 875/500 and one is at 865/500. 875 produces 357Mh/s and 865 is at 354Mh/s.
gnar1ta$
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
August 29, 2011, 07:10:41 PM
 #297


BAMT from USB. Two of these boxes are clocked at 875/500 and one is at 865/500. 875 produces 357Mh/s and 865 is at 354Mh/s.

phatk2 gets me 370Mhs/s @ 900/775 with 3 on the board (BFI_INT VECTORS FASTLOOP=false WORKSIZE=128 AGGRESSION=13 -a 5).  Still testing with the 5 card rig.  How did you get the mem clocks down?

Losing hundreds of Bitcoins with the best scammers in the business - BFL, Avalon, KNC, HashFast.
jamesg
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330


AKA: gigavps


View Profile
August 30, 2011, 12:05:26 AM
 #298


phatk2 gets me 370Mhs/s @ 900/775 with 3 on the board (BFI_INT VECTORS FASTLOOP=false WORKSIZE=128 AGGRESSION=13 -a 5).  Still testing with the 5 card rig.  How did you get the mem clocks down?

900 has proved very unstable for the cards I am using. I haven't used BAMT to it's full extent yet to fully optimize my Mh/s as stability has been more important since I don't have remote power cycling capabilities yet.
jamesg
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330


AKA: gigavps


View Profile
August 30, 2011, 12:15:55 PM
 #299

lodcrappo: Is the failover feature in BAMT supposed to move back to the original pool if it comes back online?

Arsbitcoin.com went down last night for about 1.5 hours and all of my miners switched to my backup pool, which I am very grateful for. Only one phoenix instance out of 50 was mining at ars when I awoke this morning so I am not sure if that one instance never switched over or if it was the only instance which switched back.
tysat
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952


Keep it real


View Profile
August 30, 2011, 12:20:12 PM
 #300

lodcrappo: Is the failover feature in BAMT supposed to move back to the original pool if it comes back online?

Arsbitcoin.com went down last night for about 1.5 hours and all of my miners switched to my backup pool, which I am very grateful for. Only one phoenix instance out of 50 was mining at ars when I awoke this morning so I am not sure if that one instance never switched over or if it was the only instance which switched back.


It should try to go back to the original after however many shares you set for it.

Link your pools configuration file for the miners (I assume it's the same or very similar).  Just blank out any usernames/passwords you need to.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!