Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 09:18:13 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 [28] 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 »
  Print  
Author Topic: BAMT - Easy persistent USB key based linux for dedicated miners/mining farms  (Read 160988 times)
gnar1ta$
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
December 21, 2011, 03:35:35 AM
 #541

Hello all BAMT users,

I would like to request that we now start a bounty to have cgminer integrated into BAMT as cgminer now has an rpc interface per this thread -> https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=52466.0

I will start the bounty with a 30 btc pledge. I am not sure about the exact specifications of the integration, so if others would like to spec something out, I would appreciate it. I would like for the OP to ultimately host the patch that this upgrade would entail. Maybe he would like to do this work also?
+9

 Total: 39 BTC

I'll do 6 to make it a nice round 45 BTC

Losing hundreds of Bitcoins with the best scammers in the business - BFL, Avalon, KNC, HashFast.
1481361493
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481361493

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481361493
Reply with quote  #2

1481361493
Report to moderator
1481361493
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481361493

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481361493
Reply with quote  #2

1481361493
Report to moderator
1481361493
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481361493

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481361493
Reply with quote  #2

1481361493
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
jamesg
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330


AKA: gigavps


View Profile
December 21, 2011, 03:59:52 AM
 #542

Hello all BAMT users,

I would like to request that we now start a bounty to have cgminer integrated into BAMT as cgminer now has an rpc interface per this thread -> https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=52466.0

I will start the bounty with a 30 btc pledge. I am not sure about the exact specifications of the integration, so if others would like to spec something out, I would appreciate it. I would like for the OP to ultimately host the patch that this upgrade would entail. Maybe he would like to do this work also?
+9

 Total: 39 BTC

I'll do 6 to make it a nice round 45 BTC

Awesome!  Cheesy

Keep them coming.
Definit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 357



View Profile
December 22, 2011, 03:15:04 PM
 #543

i'll donate 10 now if anyone cares to help me over the previous mentioned...

and another 10 or more after :-)


i've tried everything n can only get my 5970's up to 330m/h's

kind of under performing atm...

n i have about 12 rigs moving at that pace... not by choice ofcourse  Roll Eyes
teek
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 664


ASICMINER Official Canadian Distributor


View Profile
December 22, 2011, 06:14:45 PM
 #544

Anyone been able to fix the issue of usb drives with multiple partitions not working on gigabyte boards? 

Transisto
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile WWW
December 22, 2011, 06:51:44 PM
 #545

Anyone been able to fix the issue of usb drives with multiple partitions not working on gigabyte boards? 
Multiple partition ? you mean Sandisk U3 ?   You can usually make it a regular USB with their software,
Transisto
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile WWW
December 22, 2011, 06:57:54 PM
 #546

anyone running BAMT with 3 5970's

what is ur current mh/s per gpu?

im only getting 305 mh/s atm... wondering if thats as high as they will go, i was pushing 380-400 per gpu in win7 with MSI AB...

if u are getting anything near the 400mh/s i'd like to know what is needed to be done to get them there.

If a solution is presented to me, i will provide btc's in return for the helpful insight  Grin


305 mh/s seems low to me, so any help would be great, or reasoning as to why im only able to get them to that.

First you need to check what clock your card are running at,  often time the GPU will fallback to 550mhz for a second when VRM are overheating.

I've two on a rig doing 368 (x4) at 800mhz,   The link from 800mhz to 368 scale linearly with any 5870-clock,

Do you use phatk2 ?, did you apply all fixes ?
teek
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 664


ASICMINER Official Canadian Distributor


View Profile
December 22, 2011, 07:13:44 PM
 #547

Anyone been able to fix the issue of usb drives with multiple partitions not working on gigabyte boards? 
Multiple partition ? you mean Sandisk U3 ?   You can usually make it a regular USB with their software,

No just any USB thumb drive, I have a gigabyte 990FX board, and BAMT will not boot, apparently due to gigabyte not liking usb drives with multiple partitions as noted in this thread..  just wondering if anyone has come up with a fix, I guess I could just do up pxe or something but id rather not use actual sata hard drives..

Transisto
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile WWW
December 22, 2011, 07:19:13 PM
 #548

Anyone been able to fix the issue of usb drives with multiple partitions not working on gigabyte boards? 
Multiple partition ? you mean Sandisk U3 ?   You can usually make it a regular USB with their software,

No just any USB thumb drive, I have a gigabyte 990FX board, and BAMT will not boot, apparently due to gigabyte not liking usb drives with multiple partitions as noted in this thread..  just wondering if anyone has come up with a fix, I guess I could just do up pxe or something but id rather not use actual sata hard drives..
I'm telling you it has nothing to do with Gigabyte, I have about 8 BAMT rig with Gigabyte board.  Never has this issue with any board.
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
December 22, 2011, 07:25:20 PM
 #549

No just any USB thumb drive, I have a gigabyte 990FX board, and BAMT will not boot, apparently due to gigabyte not liking usb drives with multiple partitions as noted in this thread..  just wondering if anyone has come up with a fix, I guess I could just do up pxe or something but id rather not use actual sata hard drives..

I could never get BAMT to boot on an MSI motherboard.  Nothing I did worked.  I don't think it is a gigabyte issue maybe a BIOS/firmware/chipset issue. 
tysat
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952


Keep it real


View Profile
December 22, 2011, 07:42:38 PM
 #550

No just any USB thumb drive, I have a gigabyte 990FX board, and BAMT will not boot, apparently due to gigabyte not liking usb drives with multiple partitions as noted in this thread..  just wondering if anyone has come up with a fix, I guess I could just do up pxe or something but id rather not use actual sata hard drives..

I could never get BAMT to boot on an MSI motherboard.  Nothing I did worked.  I don't think it is a gigabyte issue maybe a BIOS/firmware/chipset issue. 

I had the same issue with MSI for a little bit, just had to get the BIOS updated.
Definit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 357



View Profile
December 22, 2011, 07:44:47 PM
 #551

anyone running BAMT with 3 5970's

what is ur current mh/s per gpu?

im only getting 305 mh/s atm... wondering if thats as high as they will go, i was pushing 380-400 per gpu in win7 with MSI AB...

if u are getting anything near the 400mh/s i'd like to know what is needed to be done to get them there.

If a solution is presented to me, i will provide btc's in return for the helpful insight  Grin


305 mh/s seems low to me, so any help would be great, or reasoning as to why im only able to get them to that.

First you need to check what clock your card are running at,  often time the GPU will fallback to 550mhz for a second when VRM are overheating.

I've two on a rig doing 368 (x4) at 800mhz,   The link from 800mhz to 368 scale linearly with any 5870-clock,

Do you use phatk2 ?, did you apply all fixes ?

i have them at 800mhz on my 5970s

running phatk2+all fixes  Undecided

maybe its too much to have 3 5970's on 1 1300w?



jamesg
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330


AKA: gigavps


View Profile
December 22, 2011, 07:49:17 PM
 #552

anyone running BAMT with 3 5970's

what is ur current mh/s per gpu?

im only getting 305 mh/s atm... wondering if thats as high as they will go, i was pushing 380-400 per gpu in win7 with MSI AB...

if u are getting anything near the 400mh/s i'd like to know what is needed to be done to get them there.

If a solution is presented to me, i will provide btc's in return for the helpful insight  Grin


305 mh/s seems low to me, so any help would be great, or reasoning as to why im only able to get them to that.

First you need to check what clock your card are running at,  often time the GPU will fallback to 550mhz for a second when VRM are overheating.

I've two on a rig doing 368 (x4) at 800mhz,   The link from 800mhz to 368 scale linearly with any 5870-clock,

Do you use phatk2 ?, did you apply all fixes ?

i have them at 800mhz on my 5970s

running phatk2+all fixes  Undecided

maybe its too much to have 3 5970's on 1 1300w?





I run my 3 5970 rigs with 2 1000w PSUs and they were a little finicky at first. I run mine at 825/500 and get about 370Mh/s per core.
Definit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 357



View Profile
December 22, 2011, 08:25:32 PM
 #553

yeah just tried them at that setting n still no budging them past 330m/h

i even tried to take 1 card out just to see if it'd push 2 5970's past that n still nothing...

is the voltage set higher? i got them at 1.125
jamesg
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330


AKA: gigavps


View Profile
December 22, 2011, 08:33:39 PM
 #554

yeah just tried them at that setting n still no budging them past 330m/h

i even tried to take 1 card out just to see if it'd push 2 5970's past that n still nothing...

is the voltage set higher? i got them at 1.125

All of my voltages are stock at 1.05v. You may have purchased cards with crappier GPUs. Would these cards happen to be the $300 deals from newegg.com?
Definit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 357



View Profile
December 22, 2011, 08:48:17 PM
 #555

yeah same cards but didnt get them from newegg.com

and payed 500 for them  Undecided


still tho, i had them at 400 easily on win7 which doesnt make sense to me as to why i cant get them back to that now...
Definit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 357



View Profile
December 22, 2011, 08:57:13 PM
 #556

wow... cant believe this but guess what  Roll Eyes
Definit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 357



View Profile
December 22, 2011, 09:01:00 PM
 #557

so this whole time i thought the v for these was 1.125 (probably because of all the other cards i have that arent 5970's)

and i should've known this, but once i seen u post 1.05v i was like Yuuuup! (Dave Hester like)


sure enough.... 370m/h's

smh...

okay, let me set all this up n build some btc's back up since i just sold a bunch at 4... n u'll have ur donation to get this going  Grin

10 btc's soon, and 10-20btc's in due time haha
jamesg
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330


AKA: gigavps


View Profile
December 22, 2011, 09:02:06 PM
 #558

wow... cant believe this but guess what  Roll Eyes

I gonna guess you have done something embarrassingly simple to fix your problem that you don't want to tell us and you got your shit working.

I am going to guess that it was the over-volting.

If so, plz send 10 btc to 139aeAB5jGeHJhwhWFrJtwTkSmSxeomt5o  Grin

If not, let us know what it was.
Definit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 357



View Profile
December 22, 2011, 09:05:19 PM
 #559

not so much emb about it...as i am pissed at myself tbh...

im a humbled person but im also a man of my word.

give me 24hr's tops
jamesg
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330


AKA: gigavps


View Profile
December 22, 2011, 09:09:46 PM
 #560

not so much emb about it...as i am pissed at myself tbh...

im a humbled person but im also a man of my word.

give me 24hr's tops

I know I have been there more than once.  Cheesy
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 [28] 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!