Bitcoin Forum
August 17, 2017, 07:44:37 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 [49] 50 51 52 53 54 »
  Print  
Author Topic: BAMT - Easy persistent USB key based linux for dedicated miners/mining farms  (Read 164783 times)
lodcrappo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


View Profile
February 21, 2012, 10:26:20 PM
 #961



So I got a new 5850 today, and my load is staying at ~80%

I copied the config over and removed all overclocking besides memclock.  What am I doing wrong? o.o

Update on my situation:

Found out the 5850 is using 50% cpu (two cores)

My box is 100% updated.  Has anyone had this bug before?

100% cpu (or 100% of a core) often happens when GPU hangs.  normal cpu load is very low, maybe 1-2%.

reduce or turn off overclocking, coldreboot, see if its better.

1502999077
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1502999077

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1502999077
Reply with quote  #2

1502999077
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1502999077
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1502999077

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1502999077
Reply with quote  #2

1502999077
Report to moderator
1502999077
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1502999077

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1502999077
Reply with quote  #2

1502999077
Report to moderator
1502999077
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1502999077

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1502999077
Reply with quote  #2

1502999077
Report to moderator
lodcrappo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


View Profile
February 21, 2012, 10:28:09 PM
 #962

I've never used anything but windows on my dedicated miners. My mining rigs are all on wireless adapters, will I be able to install drivers to get them working? I know they support ubuntu.

I don't think BAMT would be a good choice for this situation.  There is some wireless support but it requires linux experience to make use of it.

On that note, if anyone knows of a way to make wireless stuff easier for non linux folks, I'd be happy to include it in the upcoming 0.5 image if it doesn't cause problems.



Just a note to say 0.5 will include a gui network manager that should allow noobs to get their wireless stuff working more easily.  "coming soon"
lodcrappo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


View Profile
February 21, 2012, 10:28:47 PM
 #963

Anyone getting BAMT to work on GA-990XA-UD3 bios version F8 version 1.1? I can't seem to boot from the USB, downloading linuxcoin but I would rather have BAMT working, there is a BIOS update that supports
Support Quick Boost function which is version F10G but I need a workable USB drive to update the BIOS? can anyone confirm that this will fix my issue to get BAMT to boot?

That motherboard does not work with BAMT.

https://github.com/aaronwolfe/Big-A-Miner-Thing/wiki/Hardware-compatibility-list

cmg5461
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 374



View Profile
February 21, 2012, 11:06:18 PM
 #964



underclocked to 350mhz and got 88% :/

Do I have a bad GPU?

If I've helped: 1CmguJhwW4sbtSMFsyaafikJ8jhYS61quz

Sold: 5850 to lepenguin. Quick, easy and trustworthy.
lodcrappo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


View Profile
February 21, 2012, 11:09:42 PM
 #965



underclocked to 350mhz and got 88% :/

Do I have a bad GPU?

I doubt it, maybe but probably something else. 

High CPU use is troubling.  That should not happen.  Try this:

mine stop

(stops all mining)

in one window or ssh session:

wrapper 2

(this starts mining only on gpu 2)

watch for any errors.  use second window to check cpu load.  verify gpu is getting the o/c you think it is using atitweak.  verify it is getting the kernel params you think it is using: ps -a | grep DEVICE

cmg5461
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 374



View Profile
February 21, 2012, 11:16:19 PM
 #966

-Stopped all miners

-Started two ssh connections

-wrapper 2

-top

showing 25% cpu usage at 88% gpu usage underclocked to 350mhz

verify clocks now

If I've helped: 1CmguJhwW4sbtSMFsyaafikJ8jhYS61quz

Sold: 5850 to lepenguin. Quick, easy and trustworthy.
lodcrappo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


View Profile
February 21, 2012, 11:18:04 PM
 #967

-Stopped all miners

-Started two ssh connections

-wrapper 2

-top

showing 25% cpu usage at 88% gpu usage underclocked to 350mhz

verify clocks now

dont forget to make sure kernel params in ps are same as what you think they should be
cmg5461
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 374



View Profile
February 21, 2012, 11:22:49 PM
 #968

I'm not sure weather I'm doing this right, but I don't get any params.  I just get a bunch of sh, pheonix.py and bash returned


If I've helped: 1CmguJhwW4sbtSMFsyaafikJ8jhYS61quz

Sold: 5850 to lepenguin. Quick, easy and trustworthy.
lodcrappo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


View Profile
February 21, 2012, 11:23:43 PM
 #969

I'm not sure weather I'm doing this right, but I don't get any params.  I just get a bunch of sh, pheonix.py and bash returned



type:

ps a | grep DEVICE

and paste what comes back here
cmg5461
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 374



View Profile
February 21, 2012, 11:25:51 PM
 #970

removed Smiley thank you

If I've helped: 1CmguJhwW4sbtSMFsyaafikJ8jhYS61quz

Sold: 5850 to lepenguin. Quick, easy and trustworthy.
lodcrappo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


View Profile
February 21, 2012, 11:28:31 PM
 #971

removed

You have a typo in your kernel parameters.  Aggression has 2 Gs.  

recommend to delete postings of image with your email addr in them, unless like me you have given up and post it everywhere.

cmg5461
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 374



View Profile
February 21, 2012, 11:31:05 PM
 #972



Thank you very much!

That's what i get for typing it on SSH.  Is there an easy way to copy/paste with vi?

If I've helped: 1CmguJhwW4sbtSMFsyaafikJ8jhYS61quz

Sold: 5850 to lepenguin. Quick, easy and trustworthy.
lodcrappo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


View Profile
February 21, 2012, 11:32:18 PM
 #973



Thank you very much!

That's what i get for typing it on SSH.  Is there an easy way to copy/paste with vi?

you'll probably find nano easier than vi.  copy paste is done with your ssh client, which looks like putty. 
cmg5461
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 374



View Profile
February 21, 2012, 11:34:29 PM
 #974

Neat, thanks. I'll play around with it.  Learning more about linux every day Cheesy  This is what makes BAMT so great; the awesome support behind it Cheesy

If I've helped: 1CmguJhwW4sbtSMFsyaafikJ8jhYS61quz

Sold: 5850 to lepenguin. Quick, easy and trustworthy.
Splirow
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 164


View Profile
February 22, 2012, 12:58:00 AM
 #975

lodcrappo I got my web mgpumon to work.

However, the reason it worked was because I opened a mgpumon status monitor using only: mgpumon /etc/bamt/mgpumon.conf

Every time I close the mgpumon status monitor it stops showing up on the web.

why?
BitMinerN8
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 626


Mining since May 2011.


View Profile
February 22, 2012, 01:54:57 AM
 #976

lodcrappo I got my web mgpumon to work.

However, the reason it worked was because I opened a mgpumon status monitor using only: mgpumon /etc/bamt/mgpumon.conf

Every time I close the mgpumon status monitor it stops showing up on the web.

why?

It needs to stay running. You can modify the /etc/bamt/mgpumon.conf (nano /etc/bamt/mgpumon.conf) and change the 0 to a 1 on the first variable "screen", that way you will have something to look at, kind of like gpumon.
Splirow
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 164


View Profile
February 22, 2012, 02:04:50 AM
 #977

lodcrappo I got my web mgpumon to work.

However, the reason it worked was because I opened a mgpumon status monitor using only: mgpumon /etc/bamt/mgpumon.conf

Every time I close the mgpumon status monitor it stops showing up on the web.

why?

It needs to stay running. You can modify the /etc/bamt/mgpumon.conf (nano /etc/bamt/mgpumon.conf) and change the 0 to a 1 on the first variable "screen", that way you will have something to look at, kind of like gpumon.

I have screen set at 1 already.

If (mgpumon /etc/bamt/mgpumon.conf) needs to start and be running, then how can I have it run at boot up or reboot?

thanks
BitMinerN8
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 626


Mining since May 2011.


View Profile
February 22, 2012, 02:19:54 AM
 #978

lodcrappo I got my web mgpumon to work.

However, the reason it worked was because I opened a mgpumon status monitor using only: mgpumon /etc/bamt/mgpumon.conf

Every time I close the mgpumon status monitor it stops showing up on the web.

why?

It needs to stay running. You can modify the /etc/bamt/mgpumon.conf (nano /etc/bamt/mgpumon.conf) and change the 0 to a 1 on the first variable "screen", that way you will have something to look at, kind of like gpumon.

I have screen set at 1 already.

If (mgpumon /etc/bamt/mgpumon.conf) needs to start and be running, then how can I have it run at boot up or reboot?

thanks

I believe you could put in in /etc/init.d/rc.local but then you have to hunt down the process to kill it if you should need to stop/start it. If you are going to run it all the time, I'd remove the option to display to the screen.
TheHarbinger
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


Why is it so damn hot in here?


View Profile
February 22, 2012, 03:08:51 AM
 #979

I've never used anything but windows on my dedicated miners. My mining rigs are all on wireless adapters, will I be able to install drivers to get them working? I know they support ubuntu.

I don't think BAMT would be a good choice for this situation.  There is some wireless support but it requires linux experience to make use of it.

On that note, if anyone knows of a way to make wireless stuff easier for non linux folks, I'd be happy to include it in the upcoming 0.5 image if it doesn't cause problems.



Just a note to say 0.5 will include a gui network manager that should allow noobs to get their wireless stuff working more easily.  "coming soon"


This "noob" thanks you.   Grin

12Um6jfDE7q6crm1s6tSksMvda8s1hZ3Vj
cmg5461
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 374



View Profile
February 22, 2012, 04:27:49 AM
 #980



This has been going on for awhile now, and I've decided to try and fix it.  The graphs used to work until I updated BAMT.  The hashrate graphs don't show on the status.pl page either. I've searched for a few hours on google and can't seem to find anything relating to the error.  Anyone know what to do?

If I've helped: 1CmguJhwW4sbtSMFsyaafikJ8jhYS61quz

Sold: 5850 to lepenguin. Quick, easy and trustworthy.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 [49] 50 51 52 53 54 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!