Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 09:15:11 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 [50] 51 52 53 54 »
  Print  
Author Topic: BAMT - Easy persistent USB key based linux for dedicated miners/mining farms  (Read 160987 times)
BitMinerN8
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 626


Mining since May 2011.


View Profile
February 22, 2012, 04:30:09 AM
 #981



This has been going on for awhile now, and I've decided to try and fix it.  The graphs used to work until I updated BAMT.  The hashrate graphs don't show on the status.pl page either. I've searched for a few hours on google and can't seem to find anything relating to the error.  Anyone know what to do?

Did you change your port? (666?)
1481361311
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481361311

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481361311
Reply with quote  #2

1481361311
Report to moderator
1481361311
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481361311

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481361311
Reply with quote  #2

1481361311
Report to moderator
1481361311
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481361311

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481361311
Reply with quote  #2

1481361311
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481361311
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481361311

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481361311
Reply with quote  #2

1481361311
Report to moderator
1481361311
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481361311

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481361311
Reply with quote  #2

1481361311
Report to moderator
lodcrappo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
February 22, 2012, 04:34:12 AM
 #982



This has been going on for awhile now, and I've decided to try and fix it.  The graphs used to work until I updated BAMT.  The hashrate graphs don't show on the status.pl page either. I've searched for a few hours on google and can't seem to find anything relating to the error.  Anyone know what to do?

is your miner_id set to something other than exactly 'rig_1' ?

If you want to support further development of BAMT (http://bamter.org/):  1PoRYaGS56ksQmK7XXLurW3B2zwCAE8PRc
cmg5461
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 374



View Profile
February 22, 2012, 04:39:25 AM
 #983

is your miner_id set to something other than exactly 'rig_1' ?


Nope, exactly that.

edit:


I poked around in the directory and found that

If I've helped: 1CmguJhwW4sbtSMFsyaafikJ8jhYS61quz

Sold: 5850 to lepenguin. Quick, easy and trustworthy.
lodcrappo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
February 22, 2012, 04:45:20 AM
 #984



This has been going on for awhile now, and I've decided to try and fix it.  The graphs used to work until I updated BAMT.  The hashrate graphs don't show on the status.pl page either. I've searched for a few hours on google and can't seem to find anything relating to the error.  Anyone know what to do?

the /munin directory is a vdir to /tmp/munin/html/

so, if you: ls /tmp/munin/html/

you should see there a directory rig_1, and inside an index.html

do you?

if so.. did you break the vdir? maybe when switching the port?

if not, munin-update or one of its sub processes isn't working properly.  look at /tmp/munin/log/* for clues.

If you want to support further development of BAMT (http://bamter.org/):  1PoRYaGS56ksQmK7XXLurW3B2zwCAE8PRc
abracadabra
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 946



View Profile
February 22, 2012, 04:47:58 AM
 #985

Neat, thanks. I'll play around with it.  Learning more about linux every day Cheesy  This is what makes BAMT so great; the awesome support behind it Cheesy

don't forget to tip the awesome support Wink

cmg5461
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 374



View Profile
February 22, 2012, 04:50:47 AM
 #986

the /munin directory is a vdir to /tmp/munin/html/

so, if you: ls /tmp/munin/html/

you should see there a directory rig_1, and inside an index.html

do you?

if so.. did you break the vdir? maybe when switching the port?

if not, munin-update or one of its sub processes isn't working properly.  look at /tmp/munin/log/* for clues.




Nothing there :/

All I have is 3 "connection timed out" warnings in the log.  Is there a command to re-install munin with the same settings?

If I've helped: 1CmguJhwW4sbtSMFsyaafikJ8jhYS61quz

Sold: 5850 to lepenguin. Quick, easy and trustworthy.
lodcrappo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
February 22, 2012, 04:54:01 AM
 #987

the /munin directory is a vdir to /tmp/munin/html/

so, if you: ls /tmp/munin/html/

you should see there a directory rig_1, and inside an index.html

do you?

if so.. did you break the vdir? maybe when switching the port?

if not, munin-update or one of its sub processes isn't working properly.  look at /tmp/munin/log/* for clues.




Nothing there :/

All I have is 3 "connection timed out" warnings in the log.  Is there a command to re-install munin with the same settings?

is munin-node running?  if it is not, you will see the connection timed out, and will get the results you seem to be getting.


if it isn't (ps x | grep munin   doesn't show a running munin-node, like /usr/sbin/munin-node on at least one line), do:

/etc/init.d/munin-node start

and look for errors

If you want to support further development of BAMT (http://bamter.org/):  1PoRYaGS56ksQmK7XXLurW3B2zwCAE8PRc
cmg5461
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 374



View Profile
February 22, 2012, 04:58:33 AM
 #988

It is running.  That's good I think.  Is there a config option to tell it to monitor?


I tried to cycle it. I will report back with results.

edit: Still no luck, but


It just stays like that.  It hasn't worked since I updated bamt.  Before that it did.  Maybe it was something with the munin update?

So, is there anyway to redo an update?



So, according to this, it can't find my plugins? ><

If I've helped: 1CmguJhwW4sbtSMFsyaafikJ8jhYS61quz

Sold: 5850 to lepenguin. Quick, easy and trustworthy.
BinaryMage
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


Ad astra.


View Profile
February 22, 2012, 06:50:27 AM
 #989

It is running.  That's good I think.  Is there a config option to tell it to monitor?


I tried to cycle it. I will report back with results.

edit: Still no luck, but


It just stays like that.  It hasn't worked since I updated bamt.  Before that it did.  Maybe it was something with the munin update?

So, is there anyway to redo an update?



So, according to this, it can't find my plugins? ><

I have the exact same issue. Cropped up awhile ago but it never bothered me enough to do anything about it. Reinstalled BAMT for another reason a few days ago though, and the same problem happened again. It worked fresh without any fixes, but once I had installed all the fixes I got the same error cmg did. Google didn't pull up much of use, any ideas?

-- BinaryMage -- | OTC | PGP
lodcrappo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
February 22, 2012, 06:56:40 AM
 #990

It is running.  That's good I think.  Is there a config option to tell it to monitor?


I tried to cycle it. I will report back with results.

edit: Still no luck, but


It just stays like that.  It hasn't worked since I updated bamt.  Before that it did.  Maybe it was something with the munin update?

So, is there anyway to redo an update?



So, according to this, it can't find my plugins? ><

I have the exact same issue. Cropped up awhile ago but it never bothered me enough to do anything about it. Reinstalled BAMT for another reason a few days ago though, and the same problem happened again. It worked fresh without any fixes, but once I had installed all the fixes I got the same error cmg did. Google didn't pull up much of use, any ideas?

well, first of all the templates in /opt/bamt/munin are not intended to be executed directly, they will fail, that is normal.  so these screenshots unfortunately mean nothing.  the error you are seeing is perfectly normal, as running a template is not supposed to work.

second... please just copy and paste text, there is no need to take screenshots of an ssh session.

you need to be looking at the files in /tmp/munin/log
these will contain the answer.


If you want to support further development of BAMT (http://bamter.org/):  1PoRYaGS56ksQmK7XXLurW3B2zwCAE8PRc
TheHarbinger
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


Why is it so damn hot in here?


View Profile
February 22, 2012, 02:13:31 PM
 #991




Mine just did this also.  :/

12Um6jfDE7q6crm1s6tSksMvda8s1hZ3Vj
lodcrappo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
February 22, 2012, 02:35:37 PM
 #992




Mine just did this also.  :/


perhaps the web interface is on strike until at least minimum wage is earned by the developer?

somebody will need to read the logs or post them here.  I can't just guess.

If you want to support further development of BAMT (http://bamter.org/):  1PoRYaGS56ksQmK7XXLurW3B2zwCAE8PRc
Splirow
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 164


View Profile
February 22, 2012, 02:44:04 PM
 #993

Lodcrappo,

Did u get my PM?
TheHarbinger
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


Why is it so damn hot in here?


View Profile
February 22, 2012, 03:03:43 PM
 #994




Mine just did this also.  :/


perhaps the web interface is on strike until at least minimum wage is earned by the developer?

somebody will need to read the logs or post them here.  I can't just guess.


I didn't grab the logs, but it happened shortly after I changed the miners name and location.  A restart fixed it, so it was probably something just temporary in my case, so no need to worry.

Minimum wage in which country?  Wink

12Um6jfDE7q6crm1s6tSksMvda8s1hZ3Vj
lodcrappo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
February 22, 2012, 03:11:24 PM
 #995




Mine just did this also.  :/


perhaps the web interface is on strike until at least minimum wage is earned by the developer?

somebody will need to read the logs or post them here.  I can't just guess.


I didn't grab the logs, but it happened shortly after I changed the miners name and location.  A restart fixed it, so it was probably something just temporary in my case, so no need to worry.

Minimum wage in which country?  Wink

it is normal for the rig's index to be missing for up to 5 minutes after boot or name change.

and... sadly, comparing current donations to current hours worked, I think you can pick any country you'd like and still find a wide margin.  

i'd probably do better building ipads for foxconn Smiley

If you want to support further development of BAMT (http://bamter.org/):  1PoRYaGS56ksQmK7XXLurW3B2zwCAE8PRc
BinaryMage
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


Ad astra.


View Profile
February 22, 2012, 03:56:46 PM
 #996

well, first of all the templates in /opt/bamt/munin are not intended to be executed directly, they will fail, that is normal.  so these screenshots unfortunately mean nothing.  the error you are seeing is perfectly normal, as running a template is not supposed to work.

second... please just copy and paste text, there is no need to take screenshots of an ssh session.

you need to be looking at the files in /tmp/munin/log
these will contain the answer.

/tmp/munin/logs/munin-node.log is empty.
/tmp/munin/logs/munin-limits.log repeats this message:
Code:
2012/02/22 10:14:01 Opened log file
2012/02/22 10:14:01 [INFO] Starting munin-limits, getting lock /tmp/munin/run/munin-limits.lock
2012/02/22 10:14:01 [INFO] Process 26941 is dead, stealing lock, removing file
2012/02/22 10:14:01 Fatal error: Could not open "/tmp/munin/db/limits" for writing: No such file or directory at /usr/share/perl5/Munin/Master/LimitsOld.pm line 124
/tmp/munin/logs/munin-update.log had normal messages except for the following:
Code:
2012/02/22 15:20:03 [WARNING] Config node minerOne listed no services for minerOne.  Please see http://munin-monitoring.org/wiki/FAQ_no_graphs for further information.

Checked the webpage as listed, applied the suggested fixes to no avail.

Code:
root@minerOne:~# su - munin --shell=/bin/bash
munin@minerOne:~$ /usr/share/munin/munin-update --nofork --debug
2012/02/22 15:51:19 [DEBUG] Lock /tmp/munin/run/munin-update.lock already exists, checking process
2012/02/22 15:51:19 [DEBUG] Lock contained pid '4587'
2012/02/22 15:51:19 [INFO] Process 4587 is dead, stealing lock, removing file
2012/02/22 15:51:19 [DEBUG] Creating new lock file /tmp/munin/run/munin-update.lock
2012/02/22 15:51:19 [DEBUG] Creating lock : /tmp/munin/run/munin-update.lock succeeded
2012/02/22 15:51:19 [WARNING] Could not open STATS to /tmp/munin/db/munin-update.stats.tmp: No such file or directory
2012/02/22 15:51:19 [INFO]: Starting munin-update
2012/02/22 15:51:19 [DEBUG] Creating new lock file /tmp/munin/run/munin-minerOne-minerOne.lock
2012/02/22 15:51:19 [DEBUG] Creating lock : /tmp/munin/run/munin-minerOne-minerOne.lock succeeded
2012/02/22 15:51:19 [DEBUG] Reading from socket to minerOne: "# munin node at minerOne".
2012/02/22 15:51:19 TLS set to "disabled".
2012/02/22 15:51:19 [DEBUG] Negotiating capabilities
2012/02/22 15:51:19 [DEBUG] Writing to socket: "cap multigraph
".
2012/02/22 15:51:19 [DEBUG] Reading from socket to minerOne: "cap multigraph dirtyconfig".
2012/02/22 15:51:19 [DEBUG] Node says /cap multigraph dirtyconfig/
2012/02/22 15:51:19 [DEBUG] Writing to socket: "list minerOne
".
2012/02/22 15:51:19 [DEBUG] Reading from socket to minerOne: "".
2012/02/22 15:51:19 [WARNING] Config node minerOne listed no services for minerOne.  Please see http://munin-monitoring.org/wiki/FAQ_no_graphs for further information.
2012/02/22 15:51:19 [DEBUG] Lock /tmp/munin/run/munin-datafile.lock already exists, checking process
2012/02/22 15:51:19 [DEBUG] Lock contained pid '4587'
2012/02/22 15:51:19 [INFO] Process 4587 is dead, stealing lock, removing file
2012/02/22 15:51:19 [DEBUG] Creating new lock file /tmp/munin/run/munin-datafile.lock
2012/02/22 15:51:19 [DEBUG] Creating lock : /tmp/munin/run/munin-datafile.lock succeeded
Fatal error: Could not open '/tmp/munin/db/datafile' for writing: No such file or directory at /usr/share/munin/munin-update line 38
munin@minerOne:~$ No such file or directory at /usr/share/munin/munin-update line 38

That's what I got for one of the suggested steps. I know nearly nothing about Munin, so I'm afraid I'm not sure what to do at this point. Googling the error messages didn't get much.

-- BinaryMage -- | OTC | PGP
lodcrappo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
February 22, 2012, 04:06:23 PM
 #997

well, first of all the templates in /opt/bamt/munin are not intended to be executed directly, they will fail, that is normal.  so these screenshots unfortunately mean nothing.  the error you are seeing is perfectly normal, as running a template is not supposed to work.

second... please just copy and paste text, there is no need to take screenshots of an ssh session.

you need to be looking at the files in /tmp/munin/log
these will contain the answer.

Code:
2012/02/22 15:51:19 [DEBUG] Reading from socket to minerOne: "".
2012/02/22 15:51:19 [WARNING] Config node minerOne listed no services for minerOne.  Please see http://munin-monitoring.org/wiki/FAQ_no_graphs for further information.

That's what I got for one of the suggested steps. I know nearly nothing about Munin, so I'm afraid I'm not sure what to do at this point. Googling the error messages didn't get much.


get rid of the capital letter O in your miner id.  lower case only.  it will start working.

If you want to support further development of BAMT (http://bamter.org/):  1PoRYaGS56ksQmK7XXLurW3B2zwCAE8PRc
BinaryMage
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


Ad astra.


View Profile
February 22, 2012, 11:11:57 PM
 #998

get rid of the capital letter O in your miner id.  lower case only.  it will start working.

Man, do I feel stupid. Roll Eyes Thanks, that fixed the problem.

-- BinaryMage -- | OTC | PGP
lodcrappo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
February 23, 2012, 12:21:42 AM
 #999

get rid of the capital letter O in your miner id.  lower case only.  it will start working.

Man, do I feel stupid. Roll Eyes Thanks, that fixed the problem.

do not feel stupid.  its my mistake for not realizing there were requirements on the miner_id until it was already out in the wild, and then I never bothered to really document it.

fwiw:

miner_id = hostname = munin_id

but only ever set miner_id, the rest will be managed for you.

best to use only lower case letters, numbers and dashes (-).

If you want to support further development of BAMT (http://bamter.org/):  1PoRYaGS56ksQmK7XXLurW3B2zwCAE8PRc
cmg5461
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 374



View Profile
February 23, 2012, 12:30:58 AM
 #1000

Underscores don't work either.  I changed mine to a (-) and it works now.

If I've helped: 1CmguJhwW4sbtSMFsyaafikJ8jhYS61quz

Sold: 5850 to lepenguin. Quick, easy and trustworthy.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 [50] 51 52 53 54 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!