Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 12:24:35 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 »
  Print  
Author Topic: BAMT - Easy persistent USB key based linux for dedicated miners/mining farms  (Read 160886 times)
tysat
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952


Keep it real


View Profile
July 28, 2011, 12:16:25 AM
 #81

then, try this:

chown user.user /home/user
rm /etc/X11/xorg.conf*
coldreboot

and see if that makes everything ok.  (those commands plus the fixes should be enough to deal with every weird thing I've heard of, so far at least)


Just got to work and turned of my machine before I left, so I'll try it in the morning.

Thanks for all the help.
1481027075
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481027075

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481027075
Reply with quote  #2

1481027075
Report to moderator
1481027075
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481027075

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481027075
Reply with quote  #2

1481027075
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481027075
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481027075

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481027075
Reply with quote  #2

1481027075
Report to moderator
1481027075
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481027075

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481027075
Reply with quote  #2

1481027075
Report to moderator
gnar1ta$
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
July 28, 2011, 03:23:56 AM
 #82


We do like pushing the limits of overclocking, and blaming others when it all comes crashing down.  The pre and post oc commands work great.  Any plans on adding more pools for API?

yes, have added mtred and bithasher.  I can add anything that provides an api, just let me know which pools you'd like and I'll throw em in.

NoFeeMining.com???

Losing hundreds of Bitcoins with the best scammers in the business - BFL, Avalon, KNC, HashFast.
tysat
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952


Keep it real


View Profile
July 28, 2011, 11:09:26 AM
 #83

then, try this:

chown user.user /home/user
rm /etc/X11/xorg.conf*
coldreboot

and see if that makes everything ok.  (those commands plus the fixes should be enough to deal with every weird thing I've heard of, so far at least)


Just got to work and turned of my machine before I left, so I'll try it in the morning.

Thanks for all the help.

Tried that out and still nothing... my xorg.conf looks pretty normal after I remove it then do coldreboot.
fitty
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
July 28, 2011, 11:43:43 AM
 #84

So finally had time to get my mining rig fixed up (mobo fried, RMAed it, been busy with work and such) and I've got this kind of working.... weird issue going on though.

I get through bios/can select what to boot into through the BAMT screen, then it does it's loading stuff.... and then no more monitor!  None of the graphics cards (5 5830s) display anything if I plug them in.  I am able to SSH into the machine just fine.

I had similar issues with 5830s and Linux. Nothing would appear on the monitor (from any video card) until it finished booting into X. Not exactly sure why, but it did show up eventually.

I'm pretty sure the problem is your overclocking. Most of my 5830s (I have 15) are not stable at 970. In windows with Trixx where I can bump up the voltage a little they are stable at 970. But at stock voltages the majority of mine (sapphire extremes) were not stable. 

If one card doesn't like being at 970, it will mess up the entire system. I'd put them all to 900 just to get things working. After it's run for a few hours then I'd put it at 950. That's where I found all my cards worked fine at stock voltages and still got 304 mhash.

Also what kind of power supply do you have? Have you run this system on Windows? As in you know all the hardware works fine and it's a BAMT issue.

tysat
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952


Keep it real


View Profile
July 28, 2011, 01:20:03 PM
 #85

Also what kind of power supply do you have? Have you run this system on Windows? As in you know all the hardware works fine and it's a BAMT issue.

Positive the hardware is fine, it worked in win7.  I have a 1200w PSU.
lodcrappo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
July 28, 2011, 02:05:28 PM
 #86

Also what kind of power supply do you have? Have you run this system on Windows? As in you know all the hardware works fine and it's a BAMT issue.

Positive the hardware is fine, it worked in win7.  I have a 1200w PSU.

might you just have a bunk usb key?  I had a couple of those, seemed like certain files would just disappear or become unwriteable.


If you want to support further development of BAMT (http://bamter.org/):  1PoRYaGS56ksQmK7XXLurW3B2zwCAE8PRc
tysat
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952


Keep it real


View Profile
July 28, 2011, 02:20:19 PM
 #87

Also what kind of power supply do you have? Have you run this system on Windows? As in you know all the hardware works fine and it's a BAMT issue.

Positive the hardware is fine, it worked in win7.  I have a 1200w PSU.

might you just have a bunk usb key?  I had a couple of those, seemed like certain files would just disappear or become unwriteable.



Have been using an older one... I might try to swing by the store and pick up a new one today.
lodcrappo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
July 28, 2011, 02:22:08 PM
 #88

Also what kind of power supply do you have? Have you run this system on Windows? As in you know all the hardware works fine and it's a BAMT issue.

Positive the hardware is fine, it worked in win7.  I have a 1200w PSU.

might you just have a bunk usb key?  I had a couple of those, seemed like certain files would just disappear or become unwriteable.



Have been using an older one... I might try to swing by the store and pick up a new one today.

worth a shot.. other than that, if you can set up ssh access I'll login and take a look.  not sure what else to try.

If you want to support further development of BAMT (http://bamter.org/):  1PoRYaGS56ksQmK7XXLurW3B2zwCAE8PRc
lodcrappo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
July 28, 2011, 05:21:35 PM
 #89

Fix 11 adds more pools to gpumon and fixes things for systems with GPUs that can't report fan rpms.  This should take care of things for folks who had problems after the shift to using atitweak.  If you're having trouble and using an older gpu, this might just may it all better.




If you want to support further development of BAMT (http://bamter.org/):  1PoRYaGS56ksQmK7XXLurW3B2zwCAE8PRc
dweomer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
July 28, 2011, 05:29:23 PM
 #90

Love BAMT. Shows a ton of promise and is the easiest setup I've used yet. Certainly easier than setting up Ubuntu manually.

I have 2 issues at the moment (installed all fixes including up to fix #11).

1. I have 4 GPU and the stats page shows 2 broken images for 4th gpu. Munin does not have a service for 4th gpu as far as I can tell.

2. munin-node does not start on boot. I have to manually exec at boot via ssh: /etc/init.d/munin-node start

Thanks!
lodcrappo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
July 28, 2011, 05:31:42 PM
 #91

Love BAMT. Shows a ton of promise and is the easiest setup I've used yet. Certainly easier than setting up Ubuntu manually.

I have 2 issues at the moment (installed all fixes including up to fix #11).

1. I have 4 GPU and the stats page shows 2 broken images for 4th gpu. Munin does not have a service for 4th gpu as far as I can tell.

2. munin-node does not start on boot. I have to manually exec at boot via ssh: /etc/init.d/munin-node start

Thanks!

thanks, yeah, munin stuff isn't well done.  adding 4th gpu and higher is pretty easy but left as an exercise for the user, for now.  next version will be more polished.

If you want to support further development of BAMT (http://bamter.org/):  1PoRYaGS56ksQmK7XXLurW3B2zwCAE8PRc
dweomer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
July 28, 2011, 05:50:21 PM
 #92

Ok was able to fix both issues w/ your help. For the forum:

1. To enable more than 3 gpu graphing:

in  /etc/munin/plugins  copy and edit gpuhashX gpurejX and gputempX files from one of the existing ones to new files.

2. To make munin start on boot I used the pre_oc_cmd option in /etc/bamt/bamt.conf:

gpu0:
  pre_oc_cmd: /etc/init.d/munin-node restart


fitty
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
July 28, 2011, 10:29:29 PM
 #93

Also what kind of power supply do you have? Have you run this system on Windows? As in you know all the hardware works fine and it's a BAMT issue.

Positive the hardware is fine, it worked in win7.  I have a 1200w PSU.

Try one card. Clock it at 900 core. Can you get into X? Will it mine?
sabe
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 55


View Profile
July 28, 2011, 10:47:41 PM
 #94

I tried burning the image to my usb drives (several kinds) which were confirmed to be working with Ubuntu. I used the win32diskimager tool as suggested on the BAMT site.

I am unable to boot from any of them at all though the files show I fine when I check them in Windows.

Any idea what might be going wrong?

Found my post helpful? Please donate to: 135t2FmsNQA9uKNxFwewFHYQKTvVMUza8W
jh1523
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
July 28, 2011, 11:00:04 PM
 #95

BIOS settings - are they correct? In many cases you have to enable manually booting from a USB device, and set it with a priority higher than other devices (HDD, CDROM etc)

If you feel I have helped you, consider donating to 1BFLDATk4iE6R2hYTfqNjxBZYctU9eshCM
lodcrappo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
July 28, 2011, 11:01:02 PM
 #96

I tried burning the image to my usb drives (several kinds) which were confirmed to be working with Ubuntu. I used the win32diskimager tool as suggested on the BAMT site.

I am unable to boot from any of them at all though the files show I fine when I check them in Windows.

Any idea what might be going wrong?

If win32diskimager completed the write without errors, you're probably doing everything right.  Some motherboards, especially gigabyte, just have trouble booting from USB.  You may be able to get it working by updating bios to a newer version, that has worked for some people.  Or, it may just not work with your system.  Since I haven't found any systems here that don't work, I'm not able to do much to troubleshoot why some mbs don't work.

If you want to support further development of BAMT (http://bamter.org/):  1PoRYaGS56ksQmK7XXLurW3B2zwCAE8PRc
fitty
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
July 29, 2011, 12:03:51 AM
 #97

then, try this:

chown user.user /home/user
rm /etc/X11/xorg.conf*
coldreboot

and see if that makes everything ok.  (those commands plus the fixes should be enough to deal with every weird thing I've heard of, so far at least)


Just got to work and turned of my machine before I left, so I'll try it in the morning.

Thanks for all the help.

Forgot to mention, I have the same mobo and 4x 5830s. I'm 99% sure it's because you're running 970 core. When I went up to 960 core I had a ton of problems and X wouldn't boot for me either. It just takes 1 of the cards to be unstable at 970 and you're screwed. If you have an instant messenger pop me a private message we can compare configs and hopefully I can help get you going. I have a 1000 watt 4x5830 (sapphire extreme) running BAMT for about 3 weeks and it's been up for 8 days straight at 99% gpu load and I haven't had to touch it.
tysat
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952


Keep it real


View Profile
July 29, 2011, 12:27:22 AM
 #98

then, try this:

chown user.user /home/user
rm /etc/X11/xorg.conf*
coldreboot

and see if that makes everything ok.  (those commands plus the fixes should be enough to deal with every weird thing I've heard of, so far at least)


Just got to work and turned of my machine before I left, so I'll try it in the morning.

Thanks for all the help.

Forgot to mention, I have the same mobo and 4x 5830s. I'm 99% sure it's because you're running 970 core. When I went up to 960 core I had a ton of problems and X wouldn't boot for me either. It just takes 1 of the cards to be unstable at 970 and you're screwed. If you have an instant messenger pop me a private message we can compare configs and hopefully I can help get you going. I have a 1000 watt 4x5830 (sapphire extreme) running BAMT for about 3 weeks and it's been up for 8 days straight at 99% gpu load and I haven't had to touch it.

The only thing is the problem happens before I even try to do any OCing.  It could easily be the USB drive as it's an old one... we'll see what happens after I go pick a new one up and try it in the morning.
WebMonkey
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 100



View Profile WWW
July 29, 2011, 12:40:20 AM
 #99

i'll jump in for some help

=]

shuttlex box (athlon xp 1200) (512meg o ram)
agp bus hd4650 1gig

bamt boots and pops up the desktop and then the screen goes black/blank (monitor 'signal present' light is still lit)

if i reset, when the desktop pops up i have just enough time to navigate to a terminal window and then; black/blank.

dunno

thanks for any help

'monkey

Team Calvary Racing

support the ministry
BTC: 1KXvwsDwRM2RUdwtnff3feuYrHH2a1JHnR
LTC: LWdf2pnmQqBkg7GP7rmfGYCZaAQrjsu2Yx
lodcrappo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
July 29, 2011, 12:47:05 AM
 #100

i'll jump in for some help

=]

shuttlex box (athlon xp 1200) (512meg o ram)
agp bus hd4650 1gig

bamt boots and pops up the desktop and then the screen goes black/blank (monitor 'signal present' light is still lit)

if i reset, when the desktop pops up i have just enough time to navigate to a terminal window and then; black/blank.

dunno

thanks for any help

'monkey


press ctrl-alt-1 as soon as you see the mouse cursor, after X is starting but even before you see the desktop draw is ok.
then install fixer and apply all fixes. coldreboot and it may be fine.

If you want to support further development of BAMT (http://bamter.org/):  1PoRYaGS56ksQmK7XXLurW3B2zwCAE8PRc
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!