Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 12:21:00 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 [29] 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 »
  Print  
Author Topic: BAMT - Easy persistent USB key based linux for dedicated miners/mining farms  (Read 160885 times)
Definit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 357



View Profile
December 22, 2011, 09:11:47 PM
 #561

also one other question since im a n00b with linux

is there a way to update the amd drivers to the latest version,

if so would it matter in the performance of the cards that much?
1481026860
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481026860

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481026860
Reply with quote  #2

1481026860
Report to moderator
1481026860
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481026860

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481026860
Reply with quote  #2

1481026860
Report to moderator
1481026860
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481026860

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481026860
Reply with quote  #2

1481026860
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481026860
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481026860

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481026860
Reply with quote  #2

1481026860
Report to moderator
Definit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 357



View Profile
December 22, 2011, 09:14:00 PM
 #562

not so much emb about it...as i am pissed at myself tbh...

im a humbled person but im also a man of my word.

give me 24hr's tops

I know I have been there more than once.  Cheesy

i think we all have tho, its a unique learning process with almost only trial & error to learn from...

mine was more so alot of trial due to a minor but major error

lol
jamesg
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330


AKA: gigavps


View Profile
December 22, 2011, 09:17:48 PM
 #563

also one other question since im a n00b with linux

is there a way to update the amd drivers to the latest version,

if so would it matter in the performance of the cards that much?

I would not touch anything else because if you upgrade or change other things on BAMT and the USB stick dies, you will need to redo it all. It's better to leave good enough alone at this point.

Just make sure to down clock your CPUs if you can to save some power.
Transisto
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile WWW
December 23, 2011, 03:22:39 PM
 #564

yeah just tried them at that setting n still no budging them past 330m/h

i even tried to take 1 card out just to see if it'd push 2 5970's past that n still nothing...

is the voltage set higher? i got them at 1.125

I had a 5970 that had problem going past 750 on one core,

As for power ... I had two 5970 rinning perfectly on a 600w, then moved to a 650w (EA650)

Two on a 1300w and Three on a 2000w , wtf?? use you amp meter.
lodcrappo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
December 24, 2011, 12:31:40 AM
 #565

So... I finally picked up a usb wireless dongle thing cheap and plugged it into a bamt machine.
Making it work is very easy.

edit rc.local, add:

iwconfig wlan0 essid your_ssid
iwconfig wlan0 key your_key
ifconfig wlan0 up
ifconfig wlan0 1.2.3.4
ip route add default via 1.1.1.1

(season to taste)

reboot or just run /etc/rc.local once to get going.

If you want to support further development of BAMT (http://bamter.org/):  1PoRYaGS56ksQmK7XXLurW3B2zwCAE8PRc
Definit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 357



View Profile
December 24, 2011, 04:35:44 PM
 #566

wow... cant believe this but guess what  Roll Eyes

I gonna guess you have done something embarrassingly simple to fix your problem that you don't want to tell us and you got your shit working.

I am going to guess that it was the over-volting.

If so, plz send 10 btc to 139aeAB5jGeHJhwhWFrJtwTkSmSxeomt5o  Grin

If not, let us know what it was.

10.0001 sent to that address.  Grin


Definit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 357



View Profile
December 24, 2011, 04:38:18 PM
 #567

So... I finally picked up a usb wireless dongle thing cheap and plugged it into a bamt machine.
Making it work is very easy.

edit rc.local, add:

iwconfig wlan0 essid your_ssid
iwconfig wlan0 key your_key
ifconfig wlan0 up
ifconfig wlan0 1.2.3.4
ip route add default via 1.1.1.1

(season to taste)

reboot or just run /etc/rc.local once to get going.


i tested this and it works, too bad i purchased everything for LAN, lol...

in that case... i have 12 Wireless USB dongle things for sale, accepting BTC's as payment. they are Rosewill brand.
norulezapply
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 475


View Profile
December 24, 2011, 05:30:40 PM
 #568

What's the status on adding cgminer to BAMT? Smiley

If my post helped, I'll happily accept a few bitmills!   15rGg6A1JFZV3b7TTbtpAaiYGdUD1e1oAm
Definit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 357



View Profile
December 24, 2011, 07:37:01 PM
 #569

What's the status on adding cgminer to BAMT? Smiley

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=52466.0


proudly accepting donations, feel free to add towards the growing total to make it happen  Shocked
lodcrappo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
December 25, 2011, 05:46:57 AM
 #570

What's the status on adding cgminer to BAMT? Smiley

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=52466.0


proudly accepting donations, feel free to add towards the growing total to make it happen  Shocked

It's funny... a lot more pledged towards that little feature than I ever made in the entire history of donations for BAMT itself.

I seem to remember the author of cgminer stating something very similar when you were campaigning for the rpc interface there.

Not really sure what to think about that....  He makes cgminer and I make BAMT, and we both get essentially nothing for all our work.. then somebody just ties the two together and might actually make a livable wage for the time they spend doing it.

Such is life I guess.  Good luck to your efforts.

If you want to support further development of BAMT (http://bamter.org/):  1PoRYaGS56ksQmK7XXLurW3B2zwCAE8PRc
jamesg
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330


AKA: gigavps


View Profile
December 25, 2011, 01:52:19 PM
 #571


It's funny... a lot more pledged towards that little feature than I ever made in the entire history of donations for BAMT itself.

I seem to remember the author of cgminer stating something very similar when you were campaigning for the rpc interface there.

Not really sure what to think about that....  He makes cgminer and I make BAMT, and we both get essentially nothing for all our work.. then somebody just ties the two together and might actually make a livable wage for the time they spend doing it.

Such is life I guess.  Good luck to your efforts.


lodcrappo,

It is unfortunate that you expectations were set so high and your were let down so much. BAMT is an awesome piece of software.

Now that cgminer has an rpc interface, what would you charge to integrate it into BAMT?

Looks like we currently have a 49 btc (~$200) bounty for it to be integrated.

Thanks,
gigavps
lodcrappo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
December 25, 2011, 02:09:05 PM
 #572


It's funny... a lot more pledged towards that little feature than I ever made in the entire history of donations for BAMT itself.

I seem to remember the author of cgminer stating something very similar when you were campaigning for the rpc interface there.

Not really sure what to think about that....  He makes cgminer and I make BAMT, and we both get essentially nothing for all our work.. then somebody just ties the two together and might actually make a livable wage for the time they spend doing it.

Such is life I guess.  Good luck to your efforts.


lodcrappo,

It is unfortunate that you expectations were set so high and your were let down so much. BAMT is an awesome piece of software.

I don't think this is an accurate representation of my experience with BAMT.  Perhaps I have given some wrong impressions.  I don't feel let down.  I am... puzzled by some of the things that have happened, that is all.  Humans are a funny bunch, especially when it comes to money.

Now that cgminer has an rpc interface, what would you charge to integrate it into BAMT?

Looks like we currently have a 49 btc (~$200) bounty for it to be integrated.

I'm not interested, but I do hope someone will do the work for you.  I think it would be great if someone would take the work I did in bamt and develop it further in all kinds of ways.  My observation was simply that if someone fulfills your bounty, they will make more than the author of cgminer has, and more than I have for bamt, just for putting the two together.   Perhaps I should keep that kind of thing to myself Smiley

edit - PS merry christmas bamt folks

If you want to support further development of BAMT (http://bamter.org/):  1PoRYaGS56ksQmK7XXLurW3B2zwCAE8PRc
Chooseusername
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 97


View Profile WWW
December 27, 2011, 11:30:15 AM
 #573

Lodcrappo, you really saved me a few days and some nerves, thank you very much. Roll Eyes
This video represents my current feelings a lot http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wxrozAw1PM0&feature=related because it just works! And all this because my windows-based miner hdd has been ruined to death.
mitak64
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 236


View Profile
December 29, 2011, 01:09:25 PM
 #574

Lodcrappo,

5 BTC coming your way, well deserved by the way.
Happy holidays !!!
chunglam
Donator
Full Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 221



View Profile
December 29, 2011, 01:30:11 PM
 #575

Lodcrappo, 4 BTC sent, thank you for BAMT and happy new year.
lodcrappo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
December 29, 2011, 01:31:58 PM
 #576

Thanks guys, that's very kind.  Best wishes for the new year.

If you want to support further development of BAMT (http://bamter.org/):  1PoRYaGS56ksQmK7XXLurW3B2zwCAE8PRc
jaybones
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 80


View Profile
December 30, 2011, 03:52:49 AM
 #577

Quote
adding 4th gpu and higher is pretty easy but left as an exercise for the user, for now.  next version will be more polished.

I tried two times to get 4+ gpu running with bamt..
aticonfig see them all, but i get errors and i'm new to linux..

Is there a walk throw on how to add another gpu from stock 3?
or is there any plans on next version if project continues..

thanks,
jay
lodcrappo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
December 30, 2011, 04:05:15 AM
 #578

Quote
adding 4th gpu and higher is pretty easy but left as an exercise for the user, for now.  next version will be more polished.

I tried two times to get 4+ gpu running with bamt..
aticonfig see them all, but i get errors and i'm new to linux..

Is there a walk throw on how to add another gpu from stock 3?
or is there any plans on next version if project continues..

thanks,
jay

just copy the gpu0 section, paste it into config, change the 0 in the gpu0: line to 3,4,5,6 or whatever # you want.  edit the new section as desired.  there is nothing any different for gpus beyond 3 than there is for the first 3, i just didn't copy the section a bunch of times since most people don't need it.  copy and paste, no harder on linux than windows or any other.



If you want to support further development of BAMT (http://bamter.org/):  1PoRYaGS56ksQmK7XXLurW3B2zwCAE8PRc
jaybones
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 80


View Profile
December 30, 2011, 04:13:42 AM
 #579

i tried that.
didn't work.  i think its my 1x exenders.  like i said aticonfig saw them..
but when i tried to reboot must time the gui wouldn't load and when it finally did
it keep telling my x wasn't config right..
i gave up and just  have 3 cards on each board for now.. i prefer max them out 5 each.
i settle for 4..
I have another 5970 coming so that be 4gpu

jay
gnar1ta$
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
December 30, 2011, 04:21:01 AM
 #580

i tried that.
didn't work.  i think its my 1x exenders.  like i said aticonfig saw them..
but when i tried to reboot must time the gui wouldn't load and when it finally did
it keep telling my x wasn't config right..
i gave up and just  have 3 cards on each board for now.. i prefer max them out 5 each.
i settle for 4..
I have another 5970 coming so that be 4gpu

jay

There is some discussion in this thread about 4+ cards and it always ends up being hardware.  The extenders and MB have a lot to do with xorg crashing.  I tried several different extenders, and finally ended up swapping MB to get a 6 card BAMT rig.  Search the forum on proper settings for you MB. 

Losing hundreds of Bitcoins with the best scammers in the business - BFL, Avalon, KNC, HashFast.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 [29] 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!