Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 06:29:30 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 ... 96 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANNOUNCE] Electrum - Lightweight Bitcoin Client  (Read 243120 times)
slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358



View Profile WWW
January 02, 2012, 10:24:17 PM
 #301

New Electrum server appeared at electrum.bitcoin.cz:50000 few minutes ago. Ports 80/443 are not configured yet.

1481178570
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481178570

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481178570
Reply with quote  #2

1481178570
Report to moderator
According to NIST and ECRYPT II, the cryptographic algorithms used in Bitcoin are expected to be strong until at least 2030. (After that, it will not be too difficult to transition to different algorithms.)
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481178570
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481178570

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481178570
Reply with quote  #2

1481178570
Report to moderator
1481178570
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481178570

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481178570
Reply with quote  #2

1481178570
Report to moderator
Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
January 02, 2012, 10:36:28 PM
 #302

Red Emerald: yes, it's only a warning and can be ignored.
What about it continually prompting for the rpcuser and pass? I thought that should have been read from the config at /etc/electrum.conf

slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358



View Profile WWW
January 02, 2012, 10:50:20 PM
 #303

Yes, it failed in reading from config for some reason. jsonrpc library then try to ask on standard input... Unfortunately have no idea what you're doing wrong...

slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358



View Profile WWW
January 02, 2012, 10:51:39 PM
 #304

ThomasV, maybe you should mention somewhere that electrum.py needs disabled 'magic quotes' feature of PHP. I think it's default in PHP, at least in some distributions, so I needed to add "php_flag magic_quotes_gpc Off" to my .htaccess file.

Edit: bottom line - ports 80 and 443 are working on electrum.bitcoin.cz, too.

Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
January 02, 2012, 11:24:39 PM
 #305

Yes, it failed in reading from config for some reason. jsonrpc library then try to ask on standard input... Unfortunately have no idea what you're doing wrong...

So the username was missing a character in /etc/electrum.conf.  Looks like vim and copy/paste didn't play nice.

It might be a good idea to log something like "username/password failed."  However, even when I put the proper values into the prompt, it doesn't work.  I just get the prompt again.  It might be better to abort when the values from the config are wrong since the prompt seems to be ignored.

ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
January 03, 2012, 12:01:17 AM
 #306

hello and happy new year.

my server at ecdsa.org is currently not working; bitcoind fails to connect to the network.
I suspended the electrum server until this is resolved.
I guess we should have a way to detect non-working servers automatically.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
January 03, 2012, 02:12:23 AM
 #307

I think my server is working (electrum.stitthappens.com).  I don't have a client setup yet, so I can't test.  I wish the server could log a little more verbosely.

I'm leaning back towards python over node (bitcoinjs) even though my client will still be javascript. Plus, this development process is much more open, which I like.

Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
January 03, 2012, 02:18:55 AM
 #308

New Electrum server appeared at electrum.bitcoin.cz:50000 few minutes ago. Ports 80/443 are not configured yet.
How are you doing 80/443?  Are you forwarding them to 50000? I didn't see anything about this in ovidiusoft's guide.

slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358



View Profile WWW
January 03, 2012, 02:33:59 AM
 #309

How are you doing 80/443?  Are you forwarding them to 50000? I didn't see anything about this in ovidiusoft's guide.

There's electrum.php in repository. Just put this to /electrum.php and configure URL inside the script (to tcp connection to localhost). I also encourage you to increase the buffer from 2048 to at least 20480. ThomasV changed that on his node already, but obviously forgot to commit it yet...

Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
January 11, 2012, 12:25:17 AM
 #310

I rebooted my server and moved it behind a different firewall.  When I went to restart electrum-server, I got an error from mysql.

Code:
$ electrum-server
starting Electrum server
cache: yes
No handlers could be found for logger "Abe.DataStore"
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/home/user/.virtualenvs/electrum/bin/electrum-server", line 726, in <module>
    memorypool_update(store)
  File "/home/user/.virtualenvs/electrum/bin/electrum-server", line 594, in memorypool_update
    store.import_tx(tx, False)
  File "/home/user/.virtualenvs/electrum/bin/electrum-server", line 75, in import_tx
    tx_id = super(MyStore, self).import_tx(tx, is_coinbase)
  File "/home/user/.virtualenvs/electrum/lib/python2.6/site-packages/Abe/DataStore.py", line 1798, in import_tx
    store.intin(tx['lockTime']), len(tx['tx'])))
  File "/home/user/.virtualenvs/electrum/lib/python2.6/site-packages/Abe/DataStore.py", line 403, in sql
    store.cursor.execute(cached, params)
  File "/home/user/.virtualenvs/electrum/lib/python2.6/site-packages/MySQLdb/cursors.py", line 174, in execute
    self.errorhandler(self, exc, value)
  File "/home/user/.virtualenvs/electrum/lib/python2.6/site-packages/MySQLdb/connections.py", line 36, in defaulterrorhandler
    raise errorclass, errorvalue
IntegrityError: (1062, "Duplicate entry '2' for key 'PRIMARY'")

I imagine that rebuilding the database will fix this, but thats ages.  Anyone have any suggestions?  I have the torrent of the database that slush put up (I think it was him), so that may be easiest.

ovidiusoft
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
January 11, 2012, 12:37:40 AM
 #311

New Electrum server appeared at electrum.bitcoin.cz:50000 few minutes ago. Ports 80/443 are not configured yet.
How are you doing 80/443?  Are you forwarding them to 50000? I didn't see anything about this in ovidiusoft's guide.

I updated the guide, should be in the main tree soon.
ovidiusoft
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
January 11, 2012, 12:38:49 AM
 #312

Quote
I imagine that rebuilding the database will fix this, but thats ages.  Anyone have any suggestions?  I have the torrent of the database that slush put up (I think it was him), so that may be easiest.

I had that happen to me too. I had to rebuild the database.
slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358



View Profile WWW
January 11, 2012, 12:47:17 AM
 #313

You can use my torrent file, it will speed up rebuilding the index a lot (it saved ~three days on my VPS Wink.

ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
January 11, 2012, 04:00:29 PM
 #314

How are you doing 80/443?  Are you forwarding them to 50000? I didn't see anything about this in ovidiusoft's guide.

There's electrum.php in repository. Just put this to /electrum.php and configure URL inside the script (to tcp connection to localhost). I also encourage you to increase the buffer from 2048 to at least 20480. ThomasV changed that on his node already, but obviously forgot to commit it yet...

This file is deprecated now.
The server uses json over http, and apache is not needed anymore.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
January 13, 2012, 12:16:49 PM
 #315

I just released version 0.36

changes:
* json protocol over http (still experimental)
* during wallet creation, a dialog proposes a list of active servers

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
January 15, 2012, 08:47:47 PM
 #316

version 0.37 was released.

Changelog:
 * Bitcoin URIs can be passed to the client. To configure your browser, see http://ecdsa.org/bitcoin_URIs.html

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
Deafboy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 484



View Profile WWW
January 17, 2012, 07:31:20 AM
 #317

Quote
I imagine that rebuilding the database will fix this, but thats ages.  Anyone have any suggestions?  I have the torrent of the database that slush put up (I think it was him), so that may be easiest.
If you let abe build the database itself it's faster. When blocks are imported, stop abe, start electrum.
MadSweeney
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 163



View Profile
January 20, 2012, 02:53:52 AM
 #318

version 0.37 was released.

Changelog:
 * Bitcoin URIs can be passed to the client. To configure your browser, see http://ecdsa.org/bitcoin_URIs.html


To configure Chrome on Ubuntu 10.04 or maybe later versions to handle bitcoin URIs, do this first on the command-line:



$ gconftool-2 -t string -s /desktop/gnome/url-handlers/bitcoin/command "/path/to/electrum.py %s"
$ gconftool-2 -t bool -s /desktop/gnome/url-handlers/bitcoin/needs_terminal false
$ gconftool-2 -t bool -s /desktop/gnome/url-handlers/bitcoin/enabled true



This tells Gnome what to do with bitcoin URLs, and Chrome picks that up from Gnome.


ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
January 20, 2012, 05:54:33 AM
 #319

To configure Chrome on Ubuntu 10.04 or maybe later versions to handle bitcoin URIs, do this first on the command-line:



$ gconftool-2 -t string -s /desktop/gnome/url-handlers/bitcoin/command "/path/to/electrum.py %s"
$ gconftool-2 -t bool -s /desktop/gnome/url-handlers/bitcoin/needs_terminal false
$ gconftool-2 -t bool -s /desktop/gnome/url-handlers/bitcoin/enabled true



This tells Gnome what to do with bitcoin URLs, and Chrome picks that up from Gnome.

nice, thanks! I'll update the page

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
January 27, 2012, 01:43:04 PM
 #320

The Electrum server at ecdsa.org has had an outage last night, because its bitcoin daemon died;
As a result, some users might have experienced problems, because the database was not updated
for several hours. I restarted it this morning, and the database is now up to date.

Sorry about the inconvenience. In the future I will implement a detection of this kind of situation;
the Electrum client should switch to a different server when its default server is not up to date.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 ... 96 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!