Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 09:40:55 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 [54] 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANNOUNCE] Electrum - Lightweight Bitcoin Client  (Read 243201 times)
marcus_of_augustus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100



View Profile
August 24, 2012, 10:38:47 PM
 #1061

ThomasV : how far along is the code towards being able to reference multiple servers? (e.g. I want my client to connect with at least m of n selected servers before doing anything)

or genjix maybe knows this better ... is there any dev work underway to achieve this? 

1481319655
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481319655

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481319655
Reply with quote  #2

1481319655
Report to moderator
1481319655
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481319655

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481319655
Reply with quote  #2

1481319655
Report to moderator
1481319655
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481319655

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481319655
Reply with quote  #2

1481319655
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481319655
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481319655

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481319655
Reply with quote  #2

1481319655
Report to moderator
1481319655
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481319655

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481319655
Reply with quote  #2

1481319655
Report to moderator
1481319655
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481319655

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481319655
Reply with quote  #2

1481319655
Report to moderator
Tachikoma
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile WWW
August 24, 2012, 10:45:41 PM
 #1062

ThomasV : how far along is the code towards being able to reference multiple servers? (e.g. I want my client to connect with at least m of n selected servers before doing anything)

or genjix maybe knows this better ... is there any dev work underway to achieve this? 

As far as I know nobody is working on this just now. Only work on the server connection that is planned is making it less obtrusive. Basically as a casual user it will connect to servers and reconnect to different ones if one stops working without user interaction.

Feel free to send in a pull request though if you feel like coding up something.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks | Bytesized Seedboxes BTC/LTC supported
Tuxavant
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


Bitcoin Mayor of Las Vegas


View Profile WWW
August 24, 2012, 10:49:37 PM
 #1063

ThomasV : how far along is the code towards being able to reference multiple servers? (e.g. I want my client to connect with at least m of n selected servers before doing anything)

or genjix maybe knows this better ... is there any dev work underway to achieve this? 

I have indicated that I would like to work on this problem, but haven't been graced with free cycles lately. I think it's a significant problem too. I will free up some time and try to make it happen sooner than later.

Generation Bitcoin | G+ | FB | Bitcoins In Vegas | CoinBus.com | TOR Exit Operator 1MVTPATVCKBMfALRHJsXpHfKJu7GyL7nAc
Tachikoma
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile WWW
August 24, 2012, 11:12:42 PM
 #1064

ThomasV : how far along is the code towards being able to reference multiple servers? (e.g. I want my client to connect with at least m of n selected servers before doing anything)

or genjix maybe knows this better ... is there any dev work underway to achieve this? 

I have indicated that I would like to work on this problem, but haven't been graced with free cycles lately. I think it's a significant problem too. I will free up some time and try to make it happen sooner than later.

Awesome! This is a very welcome feature, it's just something out of my current comfort zone. I'm glad you are stepping up Smiley

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks | Bytesized Seedboxes BTC/LTC supported
marcus_of_augustus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100



View Profile
August 25, 2012, 01:17:18 AM
 #1065

ThomasV : how far along is the code towards being able to reference multiple servers? (e.g. I want my client to connect with at least m of n selected servers before doing anything)

or genjix maybe knows this better ... is there any dev work underway to achieve this? 

As far as I know nobody is working on this just now. Only work on the server connection that is planned is making it less obtrusive. Basically as a casual user it will connect to servers and reconnect to different ones if one stops working without user interaction.

Feel free to send in a pull request though if you feel like coding up something.

Ok, thanks ... I will feel free at your behest.

adamas
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


VIS ET LIBERTAS


View Profile WWW
August 25, 2012, 07:15:53 AM
 #1066

A new logo proposal with an orbit circle:

     

"Es ist kein Zeichen geistiger Gesundheit, gut angepasst an eine kranke Gesellschaft zu sein."
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
August 25, 2012, 08:45:01 AM
 #1067

ThomasV : how far along is the code towards being able to reference multiple servers? (e.g. I want my client to connect with at least m of n selected servers before doing anything)

or genjix maybe knows this better ... is there any dev work underway to achieve this?  

I think it is reasonably easy to do.
It will increase traffic and workload on the servers, but I think that eventually server operators will find a way to handle this.

another extension that I did not have time to work on is client authentication at a server; this would open the door to commercial servers.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
August 26, 2012, 07:33:58 PM
 #1068

signmessage / verifymessage don't seem to work for me, verify always produces False - could someone else test as well?


I am aware of the issue; there are two problems:
 - a module was mising in setup.py this is fixed in git  (see recent commits)
 - verifymessage fails with compressed keys (the new format used by the satoshi client). the result is that it will return False on a string signed by the satoshi client using a recent wallet. this was reported by nanotube. it is not fixed yet.


Verifymessage still seems to always fail for me... I'm not using compressed keys, I'm just trying a basic test, signing and verifying myself.

Does it work on Linux?

What's the status on this? Can anyone verify that verifymessage works? Doesn't seem to do it for me.

EDIT: I'm not using compressed keys.

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
Tachikoma
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile WWW
August 26, 2012, 07:59:52 PM
 #1069

signmessage / verifymessage don't seem to work for me, verify always produces False - could someone else test as well?


I am aware of the issue; there are two problems:
 - a module was mising in setup.py this is fixed in git  (see recent commits)
 - verifymessage fails with compressed keys (the new format used by the satoshi client). the result is that it will return False on a string signed by the satoshi client using a recent wallet. this was reported by nanotube. it is not fixed yet.


Verifymessage still seems to always fail for me... I'm not using compressed keys, I'm just trying a basic test, signing and verifying myself.

Does it work on Linux?

What's the status on this? Can anyone verify that verifymessage works? Doesn't seem to do it for me.

EDIT: I'm not using compressed keys.

Code:
electrum signmessage 1EPtpYzA43o3Mj66Hd18TFUjHc6eReqfDq HelloAll
--> G+ueV7eOuAkLcPgdy99cL2v+tRBv+oFDqPUTjJtBxyeL8dNWHKSYAvQBt2BF7ZwFh6eeuvqzxfqmZzCRNFAROEo=

electrum verifymessage 1EPtpYzA43o3Mj66Hd18TFUjHc6eReqfDq G+ueV7eOuAkLcPgdy99cL2v+tRBv+oFDqPUTjJtBxyeL8dNWHKSYAvQBt2BF7ZwFh6eeuvqzxfqmZzCRNFAROEo= HelloAll
--> True

Try it yourself. If you want to lead or end a string with extra spaces or want to use double spaces inside a string make sure to quote it. I.e. "Hello  All", " Hello All " etc.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks | Bytesized Seedboxes BTC/LTC supported
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
August 26, 2012, 08:51:16 PM
 #1070

Hmm, returns False for me... Seems to be a windows-specific issue then. I'll try to determine if it has something to do with my build process.

Code:
electrum verifymessage 1EPtpYzA43o3Mj66Hd18TFUjHc6eReqfDq G+ueV7eOuAkLcPgdy99cL2v+tRBv+oFDqPUTjJtBxyeL8dNWHKSYAvQBt2BF7ZwFh6eeuvqzxfqmZzCRNFAROEo= HelloAll

False


1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
Tachikoma
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile WWW
August 26, 2012, 09:26:49 PM
 #1071

Spoke about it with Thomas and he mentioned that there is a possible exception that can be raised in wallet.verify_message. Look at line 501 in wallet.py.

Probably the easiest way to debug is to remove lines 535 and 538 and let it raise the exception if it happens.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks | Bytesized Seedboxes BTC/LTC supported
Tachikoma
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile WWW
August 26, 2012, 09:36:37 PM
 #1072

I just made this commit. Could you merge it into your 1.0 branch and see if that helps you diagnose the problem?

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks | Bytesized Seedboxes BTC/LTC supported
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
August 26, 2012, 09:47:00 PM
 #1073

I just made this commit. Could you merge it into your 1.0 branch and see if that helps you diagnose the problem?

Thanks!

I'm getting a more explicit error message now.

> electrum verifymessage 1EPtpYzA43o3Mj66Hd18TFUjHc6eReqfDq G+ueV7eOuAkLcPgdy99cL2v+tRBv+oFDqPUTjJtBxyeL8dNWHKSYAvQBt2BF7ZwFh6eeuvqzxf
qmZzCRNFAROEo= HelloAll

Verification error: Incorrect padding
False

>

Not sure what the problem is, at this stage...

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
August 26, 2012, 09:51:00 PM
 #1074

I just made this commit. Could you merge it into your 1.0 branch and see if that helps you diagnose the problem?

Thanks!

I'm getting a more explicit error message now.

> electrum verifymessage 1EPtpYzA43o3Mj66Hd18TFUjHc6eR
eqfDq G+ueV7eOuAkLcPgdy99cL2v+tRBv+oFDqPUTjJtBxyeL8dNWHKSYAvQBt2BF7ZwFh6eeuvqzxf
qmZzCRNFAROEo= HelloAll

Verification error: Incorrect padding
False

>

Not sure what the problem is, at this stage...

it means that there is a problem with the format of the signature, not that the signature itself is wrong.
try to add quotes around the signature.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
August 26, 2012, 09:58:12 PM
 #1075

I just made this commit. Could you merge it into your 1.0 branch and see if that helps you diagnose the problem?

Thanks!

I'm getting a more explicit error message now.

> electrum verifymessage 1EPtpYzA43o3Mj66Hd18TFUjHc6eR
eqfDq G+ueV7eOuAkLcPgdy99cL2v+tRBv+oFDqPUTjJtBxyeL8dNWHKSYAvQBt2BF7ZwFh6eeuvqzxf
qmZzCRNFAROEo= HelloAll

Verification error: Incorrect padding
False

>

Not sure what the problem is, at this stage...

it means that there is a problem with the format of the signature, not that the signature itself is wrong.
try to add quotes around the signature.


Thanks, it worked with the quotes!

In the meantime I found that it also works (without using quotes) if you simply type "python electrum verifymessage ..." instead of just "electrum verifymessage ..."

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
molecular
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2142



View Profile
September 02, 2012, 09:13:39 PM
 #1076

don't know wether this is know, but just discovered a bug in the amount entry field. to reproduce.

  • enter 1.456
  • hit cursor left 3 times
  • enter "123"
  • see "0.145623" instead of the expected "0.123456"

The cursor is always put to the end of the text after entering something. Same for "fee" textbox.

PGP key molecular F9B70769 fingerprint 9CDD C0D3 20F8 279F 6BE0  3F39 FC49 2362 F9B7 0769
DiThi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 157

Firstbits: 1dithi


View Profile
September 03, 2012, 11:22:37 PM
 #1077

don't know wether this is know, but just discovered a bug in the amount entry field. to reproduce.

  • enter 1.456
  • hit cursor left 3 times
  • enter "123"
  • see "0.145623" instead of the expected "0.123456"

The cursor is always put to the end of the text after entering something. Same for "fee" textbox.

I just wanted to say this. It's very annoying and can lead to sending wrong quantities. Using Ubuntu 12.04 64 bits.

1DiThiTXZpNmmoGF2dTfSku3EWGsWHCjwt
Tachikoma
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile WWW
September 04, 2012, 07:15:15 AM
 #1078

don't know wether this is know, but just discovered a bug in the amount entry field. to reproduce.

  • enter 1.456
  • hit cursor left 3 times
  • enter "123"
  • see "0.145623" instead of the expected "0.123456"

The cursor is always put to the end of the text after entering something. Same for "fee" textbox.

Thanks for the report. I've created an issue on Github and I will make sure it's fixed in the next release.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks | Bytesized Seedboxes BTC/LTC supported
Sovereign108
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
September 07, 2012, 05:13:46 PM
 #1079

Hi, am  correct to assume that electrum can't run with Python32? Just am stuck in the python dependency hell in windows an am beginning to hate Python! ;( flatfly has been helpful with his windows port however Smiley
ehmdjii
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350


View Profile
September 07, 2012, 10:22:02 PM
 #1080

i am getting "Not enough funds" when attempting a transaction. there should be more than enough funds in the wallet and i even set a free. but whatever balance i type in the send field it is immediately shown red and i cant send any coins at all.

BTC: 1LsD5HpnX1Kfyti7CnHiVB1rjUEXGqmR2H
LTC: LQbpdMZmYyJa9bJG6NweBNxkSTfgZorkrG
Pages: « 1 ... 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 [54] 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!