Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 12:04:19 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 [39] 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 ... 96 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANNOUNCE] Electrum - Lightweight Bitcoin Client  (Read 242942 times)
Lumpy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 237


View Profile
June 10, 2012, 02:00:07 PM
 #761

Yup, install script completes successfully now on Windows.
1480809859
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480809859

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480809859
Reply with quote  #2

1480809859
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480809859
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480809859

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480809859
Reply with quote  #2

1480809859
Report to moderator
1480809859
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480809859

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480809859
Reply with quote  #2

1480809859
Report to moderator
1480809859
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480809859

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480809859
Reply with quote  #2

1480809859
Report to moderator
Tuxavant
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


Bitcoin Mayor of Las Vegas


View Profile WWW
June 10, 2012, 02:04:12 PM
 #762

Tipped (from my vanity). Lovin it!

Generation Bitcoin | G+ | FB | Bitcoins In Vegas | CoinBus.com | TOR Exit Operator 1MVTPATVCKBMfALRHJsXpHfKJu7GyL7nAc
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
June 10, 2012, 02:07:59 PM
 #763

Tipped (from my vanity). Lovin it!
thanks!

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
Tuxavant
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


Bitcoin Mayor of Las Vegas


View Profile WWW
June 10, 2012, 02:14:08 PM
 #764

Another feature for the roadmap...

Update notifications. Perhaps a popup when you start and some feature/fix notes in the server wall?

Generation Bitcoin | G+ | FB | Bitcoins In Vegas | CoinBus.com | TOR Exit Operator 1MVTPATVCKBMfALRHJsXpHfKJu7GyL7nAc
Lumpy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 237


View Profile
June 10, 2012, 04:27:50 PM
 #765

Could you add an at-a-glance way to see the current block number -- perhaps in the lower right corner?
anu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


P2P Everything


View Profile WWW
June 10, 2012, 04:40:42 PM
 #766

So you just saying google predicted how many estimated titles their are? I can throw out a big number too (sarcasum)

So then the average user probubly have nothing to worry about as not many people to my knowledge have access to search against the google book database with bitcoin seeds and i doubt those who have the entire google book database will only attack those wallets with high amounts of value in it(which if this is the case i doubt someone/entity would use a sentence from a book and would instead use a randomly generated password that is like a million characters in length)

I am saying it is not safe to use a sentence from a book as your seed. Do not do that. Never.

Do not trust people who tell you that you can safely derive the seed yourself. Train your memory and learn a purely random seed.

Great idea. How about:

สมาค lobebæren Nabla Uhuru 日本 agricola למים playa voiture βουνό paßßword bäd

Surely, no one will ever remove those Bitcoins from their address again. Not even me.

Seriously, it's easy to find something as secure as your stuff, Thomas, or even more so:  Just find 2 sentences that relate to you and only you. Then add some garbage, such as spelling errors. Or replace one word of your sentence by it's 17031988*md5sum, where 17.03.1988 is your birthdate. Or come up with some other source of noise that's easy to remember for you, but impossible to guess for a cracker.


Zero Reserve - A distributed Bitcoin Exchange

Install - Getting Started - BitcoinTalk Thread - Github Source
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
June 10, 2012, 05:13:45 PM
 #767

Could you add an at-a-glance way to see the current block number -- perhaps in the lower right corner?

Yeah, this. And if possible, it would be real nice to also include this info for each server,
in the connection dialog. So we can easily tell if a server isn't up to date.

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
June 10, 2012, 05:45:06 PM
 #768

There's a cosmetic bug with the context menu sometimes popping up in a random screen location (outside of the electrum GUI window)...  I've encountered it twice already. Anyone else had this too?

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
June 10, 2012, 06:25:56 PM
 #769

There's a cosmetic bug with the context menu sometimes popping up in a random screen location (outside of the electrum GUI window)...  I've encountered it twice already. Anyone else had this too?

I never had that.
how did you trigger the menu? with the mouse, by pressing enter, or with the menu key?

edit: oh, ok, I get it. with enter, when the current item is not visible below the screen.
edit2: ok, that's fixed. thanks for reporting it.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
June 10, 2012, 06:49:04 PM
 #770

There's a cosmetic bug with the context menu sometimes popping up in a random screen location (outside of the electrum GUI window)...  I've encountered it twice already. Anyone else had this too?

I never had that.
how did you trigger the menu? with the mouse, by pressing enter, or with the menu key?

edit: oh, ok, I get it. with enter, when the current item is not visible below the screen.
edit2: ok, that's fixed. thanks for reporting it.

Hmm seems the bug is still there... And seems specific to the History tab.

Here's how I can reproduce it (on Windows):
1. exit Electrum if it's running
2. launch Electrum
3. just right-click on a history entry

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
June 10, 2012, 06:55:53 PM
 #771

Great idea. How about:

สมาค lobebæren Nabla Uhuru 日本 agricola למים playa voiture βουνό paßßword bäd

Surely, no one will ever remove those Bitcoins from their address again. Not even me.

Seriously, it's easy to find something as secure as your stuff, Thomas, or even more so:  Just find 2 sentences that relate to you and only you. Then add some garbage, such as spelling errors. Or replace one word of your sentence by it's 17031988*md5sum, where 17.03.1988 is your birthdate. Or come up with some other source of noise that's easy to remember for you, but impossible to guess for a cracker.



Tell me, what's your goal, exactly?
I guess you are not requesting a new feature, because it's already possible to do what you say with the current client.

So, perhaps you want me to say "yes, users can derive their seed themselves, and this method is officially approved by the developers"? Is that what you want? or are you just a troll?

I did not say that you cannot derive a seed that can resist an attack. But I hope that you will agree with me that there exists a fraction of users that are not as smart as you are. Some of these users could, by following your principles, end up being robbed. Do they deserve to lose their money just because they are not as smart as you?

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
June 10, 2012, 07:01:08 PM
 #772

Hmm seems the bug is still there... And seems specific to the History tab.

Here's how I can reproduce it (on Windows):
1. exit Electrum if it's running
2. launch Electrum
3. just right-click on a history entry

I cannot reproduce that.
question: on fresh startup, is there an item highlighted in the list?

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
June 10, 2012, 07:05:32 PM
 #773

Hmm seems the bug is still there... And seems specific to the History tab.

Here's how I can reproduce it (on Windows):
1. exit Electrum if it's running
2. launch Electrum
3. just right-click on a history entry

I cannot reproduce that.
question: on fresh startup, is there an item highlighted in the list?

Yes, at startup, the top history entry is highlighted.

Perhaps this will help you find the root cause:
If I switch to another tab (for instance, contacts), right-click an item there,
then come back to the history tab and right-click an item, the menu appears at the normal position.

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
June 10, 2012, 07:12:13 PM
 #774

Yes, at startup, the top history entry is highlighted.

Perhaps this will help you find the root cause:
If I switch to another tab (for instance, contacts), right-click an item there,
then come back to the history tab and right-click an item, the menu appears at the normal position.

no idea what causes that; I do not see this problem on linux.

if thats too much of an annoyance, you can replace MyTreeWidget with the parent class QTreeWidget

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
June 10, 2012, 07:22:43 PM
 #775

Yes, at startup, the top history entry is highlighted.

Perhaps this will help you find the root cause:
If I switch to another tab (for instance, contacts), right-click an item there,
then come back to the history tab and right-click an item, the menu appears at the normal position.

no idea what causes that; I do not see this problem on linux.

if thats too much of an annoyance, you can replace MyTreeWidget with the parent class QTreeWidget


thanks, will try that.

EDIT: couldn't fix it (yet)

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
anu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


P2P Everything


View Profile WWW
June 10, 2012, 08:31:28 PM
 #776


Tell me, what's your goal, exactly?
I guess you are not requesting a new feature, because it's already possible to do what you say with the current client.

So, perhaps you want me to say "yes, users can derive their seed themselves, and this method is officially approved by the developers"? Is that what you want? or are you just a troll?

I did not say that you cannot derive a seed that can resist an attack. But I hope that you will agree with me that there exists a fraction of users that are not as smart as you are. Some of these users could, by following your principles, end up being robbed. Do they deserve to lose their money just because they are not as smart as you?


Just feel free to give me more ad hominem if that pleases you.

Zero Reserve - A distributed Bitcoin Exchange

Install - Getting Started - BitcoinTalk Thread - Github Source
Lumpy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 237


View Profile
June 10, 2012, 08:36:13 PM
 #777

I can confirm what flatfly found regarding the menu. Maybe it's a Windows-only issue?
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
June 10, 2012, 08:40:13 PM
 #778

I can confirm what flatfly found regarding the menu. Maybe it's a Windows-only issue?

maybe.
what happens if you pick an item in that menu (for example 'edit description')?
specifically, does it edit the transaction where your mouse clicked, or the first of the list, or another one?

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
June 10, 2012, 09:12:18 PM
 #779

I can confirm what flatfly found regarding the menu. Maybe it's a Windows-only issue?

maybe.
what happens if you pick an item in that menu (for example 'edit description')?
specifically, does it edit the transaction where your mouse clicked, or the first of the list, or another one?

it edits the highlighted transaction, as expected.
another finding: just simply switching to the contacts tab and then back to the history tab fixes the behavior. (it has to be the contacts tab specifically)

There has to be something that the contacts tab is doing that the history tab isn't.

Note that the behavior is exactly the same whether the context menu is triggered by mouse or keyboard.

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
June 10, 2012, 09:35:02 PM
 #780

it edits the highlighted transaction, as expected.
highlighted by the mouse click I guess, not highlighted before?

Quote
another finding: just simply switching to the contacts tab and then back to the history tab fixes the behavior. (it has to be the contacts tab specifically)

There has to be something that the contacts tab is doing that the history tab isn't.

Note that the behavior is exactly the same whether the context menu is triggered by mouse or keyboard.

there are two ways to trigger the menu from keyboard: the menu key and the enter key
(the purpose of MyTreeWidget is to launch it with the enter key)
do you observe a difference between these two methods?


Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 [39] 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 ... 96 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!