Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 06:27:59 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 [24] 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 ... 96 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANNOUNCE] Electrum - Lightweight Bitcoin Client  (Read 243117 times)
NothinG
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560



View Profile
May 07, 2012, 03:11:58 PM
 #461

I guess this is the straw that broke the camel's back. Upgrading this server to CentOS 6.2. Thanks for the knudge.
May I ask what version of CentOS you where using prior to the upgrade?

1481178479
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481178479

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481178479
Reply with quote  #2

1481178479
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Tuxavant
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


Bitcoin Mayor of Las Vegas


View Profile WWW
May 07, 2012, 03:38:36 PM
 #462

May I ask what version of CentOS you where using prior to the upgrade?

5.7

Generation Bitcoin | G+ | FB | Bitcoins In Vegas | CoinBus.com | TOR Exit Operator 1MVTPATVCKBMfALRHJsXpHfKJu7GyL7nAc
Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
May 07, 2012, 03:53:56 PM
 #463

I guess this is the straw that broke the camel's back. Upgrading this server to CentOS 6.2. Thanks for the knudge.
I think Centos 6 has python 2.6, so you still don't have 2.7.  At least it is better than 2.4 though.

flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
May 07, 2012, 07:11:55 PM
 #464

Today, I've had a (tiny, for testing) transaction take more than 4 hours to get its 1st confirmation.
Then the 2nd confirmation came about 10 minutes afterwards, as usual.
Could the initial delay be due to the fact that the fee I paid was just 0.0001 ?  
Out of curiosity, I'd like to know how Electrum servers prioritize transactions...


The details are here:

http://blockchain.info/tx-index/5038159/43ea11b0d2e728f78fee0e7c4172a9ba032c6089b611b2365f0c48f76f2b15d6

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
May 07, 2012, 10:02:52 PM
 #465

Today, I've had a (tiny, for testing) transaction take more than 4 hours to get its 1st confirmation.
Then the 2nd confirmation came about 10 minutes afterwards, as usual.
Could the initial delay be due to the fact that the fee I paid was just 0.0001 ?  
That's exactly correct.  Only the first confirmation can be delayed because of insufficient fees.

ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
May 07, 2012, 10:26:02 PM
 #466

Out of curiosity, I'd like to know how Electrum servers prioritize transactions...
Electrum servers do not prioritize transactions.
They simply broadcast your transaction to the Bitcoin network.
At that point, the time to get a confirmation depends on the fee you paid.

The long delay you experienced might be caused by the current traffic caused by the SatoshiDice frenzy.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
May 08, 2012, 09:48:57 AM
 #467

This SatoshiDice thing could turn out to be a VERY good thing for Electrum...
With the blockchain size now at almost 2GB and increasing faster than ever before,
I think there is a golden opportunity for many new users to try out Electrum. They
just to need to find out about it...

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
Tuxavant
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


Bitcoin Mayor of Las Vegas


View Profile WWW
May 08, 2012, 01:05:09 PM
 #468

electrum is -><- close to being my offline wallet. Last night I just played with moving the seedless wallet to an online computer for syncing and back. Pretty darn awesome and easy to do.

Here's another feature request... once the wallet file gets sync'd, can the balance function be modified to display the "cached" balance if it detects no network connection?

Generation Bitcoin | G+ | FB | Bitcoins In Vegas | CoinBus.com | TOR Exit Operator 1MVTPATVCKBMfALRHJsXpHfKJu7GyL7nAc
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
May 08, 2012, 03:40:54 PM
 #469

Another little issue: when several transactions are in a pending state, they get listed in a strange order (not chronologically, like previously confirmed transactions). Once they are confirmed, they remain in that order, which leads to strange balance values, including negative balances, when looking at the history. Could you have a look at this screenshot?  Look at the negative balances toward the bottom.


1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
May 09, 2012, 12:14:30 PM
 #470

Another little issue: when several transactions are in a pending state, they get listed in a strange order (not chronologically, like previously confirmed transactions). Once they are confirmed, they remain in that order, which leads to strange balance values, including negative balances, when looking at the history. Could you have a look at this screenshot?  Look at the negative balances toward the bottom.

indeed, transactions that belong in the same block are not displayed chronologically.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
May 10, 2012, 08:29:51 AM
 #471

electrum is -><- close to being my offline wallet. Last night I just played with moving the seedless wallet to an online computer for syncing and back. Pretty darn awesome and easy to do.

Here's another feature request... once the wallet file gets sync'd, can the balance function be modified to display the "cached" balance if it detects no network connection?

yes, I guess I can add that.
in the mean time, note that it is possible to display the balance of your wallet wile offline, using the command line 'history':
Code:
electrum history

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
Tuxavant
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


Bitcoin Mayor of Las Vegas


View Profile WWW
May 10, 2012, 12:01:54 PM
 #472


Code:
electrum history

Well crap, I need to get out and play more. That's perfect for my needs. Forget it then... Spend your time on some other awesome feature (hint: like a currency calculator, a better installation system for android).

2 BTC sent to donations. 25790e039002bd832b2725e3872565aa1f94491e677dae37916f66ee144e1906

Generation Bitcoin | G+ | FB | Bitcoins In Vegas | CoinBus.com | TOR Exit Operator 1MVTPATVCKBMfALRHJsXpHfKJu7GyL7nAc
Tuxavant
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


Bitcoin Mayor of Las Vegas


View Profile WWW
May 10, 2012, 02:04:09 PM
 #473

Is there a way to extend the deterministic sequence of wallets to have more keys (without having to backup the wallet)?

Generation Bitcoin | G+ | FB | Bitcoins In Vegas | CoinBus.com | TOR Exit Operator 1MVTPATVCKBMfALRHJsXpHfKJu7GyL7nAc
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
May 10, 2012, 02:16:25 PM
 #474


Code:
electrum history

Well crap, I need to get out and play more. That's perfect for my needs. Forget it then... Spend your time on some other awesome feature (hint: like a currency calculator, a better installation system for android).

2 BTC sent to donations. 25790e039002bd832b2725e3872565aa1f94491e677dae37916f66ee144e1906

thanks!!!

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
May 10, 2012, 02:22:16 PM
 #475

Is there a way to extend the deterministic sequence of wallets to have more keys (without having to backup the wallet)?

it depends on what you need.


if you only occasionally need a few more keys, use the last address of your list each time you need to receive a payment;
when you receive that payment the wallet will generate 5 new keys (instead of just 1 if you use the first unused address of your list.)


if you systematically need more, you can change the gap_limit parameter in wallet.py
you will not have to backup the wallet, but when you restore it you'll need to remember the new value.
(the gap limit used to be a user preference, but I removed it from prefs for safety)


Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
May 10, 2012, 03:24:50 PM
 #476

version 0.48 is released.
There is no new feature, only the install procedure was modified.
it is now possible to install Electrum with easy_install:
Code:
sudo easy_install http://ecdsa.org/electrum/Electrum-latest.tar.gz

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
May 10, 2012, 03:47:05 PM
 #477

Are you sure about the Electrum module in 0.48? Shouldn't it be lib?

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
May 10, 2012, 03:55:24 PM
 #478

Are you sure about the Electrum module in 0.48? Shouldn't it be lib?

the 'lib' directory is installed as a python package with the name 'electrum'
I think you should be able to install it as a package in windows (run "python setup.py install" )

if you cannot do this, I guess you'll need to call 'lib'

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
May 10, 2012, 04:07:04 PM
 #479

Are you sure about the Electrum module in 0.48? Shouldn't it be lib?

the 'lib' directory is installed as a python package with the name 'electrum'
I think you should be able to install it as a package in windows (run "python setup.py install" )

if you cannot do this, I guess you'll need to call 'lib'

Thanks, I will try that

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
May 10, 2012, 04:56:31 PM
 #480

Are you sure about the Electrum module in 0.48? Shouldn't it be lib?

the 'lib' directory is installed as a python package with the name 'electrum'
I think you should be able to install it as a package in windows (run "python setup.py install" )

if you cannot do this, I guess you'll need to call 'lib'

Thanks, I will try that

Couldn't do it using setup.py (too many dependencies missing, no time to fix that now)
so I will just call lib for now...

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 [24] 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 ... 96 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!