Bitcoin Forum
February 19, 2017, 02:24:32 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.2  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 [96]
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANNOUNCE] Electrum - Lightweight Bitcoin Client  (Read 250000 times)
TheButterZone
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694


Nemo me impune lacessit


View Profile WWW
March 30, 2016, 07:20:21 PM
 #1901

Is it only me or are all electrum servers way behind in blocks? I noticed the past couple of days that I get told someone sent already though when I check then I see nothing in electrum but on the blockchain there are already, maybe, 2 hours of confirmations.

Only as info, is work done on the performance of the electrum servers?

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=85475.0;all

ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ! I sell stuff for BTC here here and here | Skirts & Kilts & Violin For Sale | Voiceover for BTC | Copy editing for BTC | THE Bitcoin Sound is here.
gpg_identity=http://pgp.thebutterzone.com | WoT feedback here & eBay feedback here | Buy BTC in San Diego, CA, or worldwide! | Get paid for taking surveys!
Change my name! "I am __ Satoshi __." | PayPal: Bitcoinese for "FU, I'm getting a chargeback up to 365 days later!" | Bitcoin voice chat
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1487514272
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1487514272

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1487514272
Reply with quote  #2

1487514272
Report to moderator
BitcoinSupremo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
March 31, 2016, 10:14:33 AM
 #1902

Is it only me or are all electrum servers way behind in blocks? I noticed the past couple of days that I get told someone sent already though when I check then I see nothing in electrum but on the blockchain there are already, maybe, 2 hours of confirmations.

Only as info, is work done on the performance of the electrum servers?

I guess it is only you , as in my Electrum 2.5.4 on Linux (Debian based, old version of operating system) works just like it should, once it appears on blockchain, it also appears on my Electrum wallet too.

SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708


Free Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
April 06, 2016, 06:54:26 PM
 #1903

Thanks for the link, didn't know that thread yet. And I think I found the problem. It seems electrum is not able to handle sleep modi of windows. It seems the wallet runs normally, it connects to different servers and establishes connections but for some reason it is not on the newest level of updates all the time. The only solution I found till now is restarting electrum every time the computer comes form sleep mode.

                                                                       
    ▄▄███████▄▄                           ▄      ▄
   ██████████████▄                       ███    ███
  ███▀ ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄ ▀████                     ███    ███
  █████████████▄ ▀███                    ███    ███   █▄ ▄▄
   ▀████▄  ▄▄███  ▀███                   ███    ███  ▄████
   ▄███████████   ▄███                  ███    ███  ▀▀███▀▀
   ███           ▄███         ▄▄▄▄      ███    ███     █    ▄▄  ▄▄▄▄
  ▄███     ▄▄▄▄█████        ▄█████▄    ▄██▀   ▄██▀    ███   █████████
  ███▄    ████████         ▄███▀▀███   ███    ███    ███▀   █████▀████
   ███     ▀▀█████▄      ▄█████▄ ███   ███    ███    ███    ████   ███
   ███         ▀███▄     ███▀███ ███  ███▀   ███▀    ███    ███▀   ███
   ███           ███▄    ███  ▀▀ ███  ███    ███    ███▀   ▄███    ███
   ▀██▄           ███    ███▄  ▄███   ███    ███    ███    ███    ███▀
    ███           ▀███▄   ████████    ███    ███    ███    ███    ███
    ▀██            ▀████   ▀████▀      ██     ██    ▀██    ▀█▀    ▀█▀


.
.
.
        ▄▄▀                ▀▄▄
     ▄ ▀▀                    ▀▀ ▄
   ▄ ▀▀▀                      ▀▀▀ ▄
  ▄▀▀▀                          ▀▀▀▄
 ▀█▄▄                            ▄▄█▀
▄█  ▄                            ▄  █▄
▀█ █▀                            ▀█ █▀
█▄  ▄                            ▄  ▄█
▀█ █                              █ █▀
█▄   █                          █   ▄█
 ██▄█▀                          ▀█▄██
  ▀▀  ▄█                      █▄  ▀▀
  ▀██▄ ▀  █▄              ▄█  ▀ ▄██▀
    ▀▀▀   ██  █▄      ▄█  ██   ▀▀▀
     ▀███▄▄▀  ███    ███  ▀▄▄███▀
        ▀▀▀▀▄▄▄▄▀    ▀▄▄▄▄▀▀▀▀
          ▀▀█████▀▀▀▀█████▀▀
.
.
Free Bitcoins
Chat Lottery & Games
Level Up System with Rewards
▄████████▄  ▄████████▄
██      ██  ██      ██
██      ██  ██      ██
██      ██  ██      ██
██      ██  ██      ██
 ████████    ████████
██      ██  ██      ██
██      ██  ██      ██
██      ██  ██      ██
██      ██  ██      ██
▀████████▀  ▀████████▀
.
BadAss.Sx
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


Bulletproof VPS/VPN/Email @ BadAss.Sx


View Profile WWW
May 08, 2016, 05:44:05 PM
 #1904

I have bought a Trezor and want it to connect to my Electrum wallet, but i can only find tutorials with Trezor and creating a new wallet. So i have a few questions:

- Can i use Trezor with excisting Electrum wallet?
- If not, can i create a new wallet with Electrum and Trezor and that it creates 2000 new btc addresses again? If so, how can i do that?

Hopefully someone can point me to the right direction.

Need BadAss Bulletproof VPS or Bulletproof VPN or why not just mail safe with Safe-Mail. We care about your privacy.
nerioseole
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 529


View Profile
May 09, 2016, 06:23:35 AM
 #1905

I have bought a Trezor and want it to connect to my Electrum wallet, but i can only find tutorials with Trezor and creating a new wallet. So i have a few questions:

- Can i use Trezor with excisting Electrum wallet?
Better not.  The Electrum wallet on your computer is a file that contains private keys that may have been compromised by the simple fact that they were inside a file sitting on your computer...   The private keys in your Trezor will never see the light of day.  You invested $100 to safeguard your bitcoins?  Start on the right foot - create new private keys.  To do so, initialize your Trezor with mytrezor.com (write your seed words !). Now that you have created your private keys inside your Trezor, let Electrum know of your corresponding public keys: Start Electrum, and create a new wallet (File --> New/Restore --> give a name to your new Electrum/Trezor "public" wallet --> Create New Wallet & Hardware Wallet -->  Initialize a new Wallet & Trezor).  Electrum will create a new Trezor wallet on your computer, but it will contain only public information, like public keys and transaction information - no private keys whatsoever - the private keys always remain within the Trezor H/W.

A transfer of your old Electrum wallet BTC to the new Trezor addresses, using the bitcoin network, is the best "transfer" solution.

- If not, can i create a new wallet with Electrum and Trezor and that it creates 2000 new btc addresses again? If so, how can i do that?
You failed to mention why you would need 2000 addresses - You obviously have a special requirement that you didn't explain.  Electrum/Trezor will function the same way that Electrum alone functioned, and it will create new keys as required (beyond the initial 20 addresses), once you used them up.     If you really want 2000 new BTC addresses from the start, you can increase the gap limit from default 20 addresses to 2000.  But if you do - be careful about recovering from seed - make sure you write next to your seed words that you did that.  

So if you really really have to create 2000 addresses from the start - do this in the Electrum console tab:

Quote
wallet.change_gap_limit(2000)

... and then check the long list of addresses in the Address tab.   But again, if you recover your wallet from seed and don't increase the gap limit again to 2000, you will think that you are missing some bitcoins  - don't complain!

BadAss.Sx
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


Bulletproof VPS/VPN/Email @ BadAss.Sx


View Profile WWW
May 09, 2016, 09:45:25 AM
 #1906

Thanks for your answer Smiley

Need BadAss Bulletproof VPS or Bulletproof VPN or why not just mail safe with Safe-Mail. We care about your privacy.
SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708


Free Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
June 03, 2016, 11:52:06 AM
 #1907

I think it's still the right thread to ask in since the other thread seems to be about electrum code and the server code especially.

Some minutes ago I had a bad experience. Yesterday when I opened two of my portable electrum wallets. Strangely they opened up normally but in task bar they were grouped like for example all notepads are grouped. No problems since both wallets could be reached.

Now I started both wallets and both showed the content of one of them. Somehow the data was overwritten or so. Luckily I now found that one of the wallets has a "recently open" showing a second default_wallet. When I open this then I can open the missing wallet.

I'm not sure what happened.

                                                                       
    ▄▄███████▄▄                           ▄      ▄
   ██████████████▄                       ███    ███
  ███▀ ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄ ▀████                     ███    ███
  █████████████▄ ▀███                    ███    ███   █▄ ▄▄
   ▀████▄  ▄▄███  ▀███                   ███    ███  ▄████
   ▄███████████   ▄███                  ███    ███  ▀▀███▀▀
   ███           ▄███         ▄▄▄▄      ███    ███     █    ▄▄  ▄▄▄▄
  ▄███     ▄▄▄▄█████        ▄█████▄    ▄██▀   ▄██▀    ███   █████████
  ███▄    ████████         ▄███▀▀███   ███    ███    ███▀   █████▀████
   ███     ▀▀█████▄      ▄█████▄ ███   ███    ███    ███    ████   ███
   ███         ▀███▄     ███▀███ ███  ███▀   ███▀    ███    ███▀   ███
   ███           ███▄    ███  ▀▀ ███  ███    ███    ███▀   ▄███    ███
   ▀██▄           ███    ███▄  ▄███   ███    ███    ███    ███    ███▀
    ███           ▀███▄   ████████    ███    ███    ███    ███    ███
    ▀██            ▀████   ▀████▀      ██     ██    ▀██    ▀█▀    ▀█▀


.
.
.
        ▄▄▀                ▀▄▄
     ▄ ▀▀                    ▀▀ ▄
   ▄ ▀▀▀                      ▀▀▀ ▄
  ▄▀▀▀                          ▀▀▀▄
 ▀█▄▄                            ▄▄█▀
▄█  ▄                            ▄  █▄
▀█ █▀                            ▀█ █▀
█▄  ▄                            ▄  ▄█
▀█ █                              █ █▀
█▄   █                          █   ▄█
 ██▄█▀                          ▀█▄██
  ▀▀  ▄█                      █▄  ▀▀
  ▀██▄ ▀  █▄              ▄█  ▀ ▄██▀
    ▀▀▀   ██  █▄      ▄█  ██   ▀▀▀
     ▀███▄▄▀  ███    ███  ▀▄▄███▀
        ▀▀▀▀▄▄▄▄▀    ▀▄▄▄▄▀▀▀▀
          ▀▀█████▀▀▀▀█████▀▀
.
.
Free Bitcoins
Chat Lottery & Games
Level Up System with Rewards
▄████████▄  ▄████████▄
██      ██  ██      ██
██      ██  ██      ██
██      ██  ██      ██
██      ██  ██      ██
 ████████    ████████
██      ██  ██      ██
██      ██  ██      ██
██      ██  ██      ██
██      ██  ██      ██
▀████████▀  ▀████████▀
.
kurniawaN
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
August 09, 2016, 02:01:25 AM
 #1908

I have bought a Trezor and want it to connect to my Electrum wallet, but i can only find tutorials with Trezor and creating a new wallet. So i have a few questions:

- Can i use Trezor with excisting Electrum wallet?
Better not.  The Electrum wallet on your computer is a file that contains private keys that may have been compromised by the simple fact that they were inside a file sitting on your computer...   The private keys in your Trezor will never see the light of day.  You invested $100 to safeguard your bitcoins?  Start on the right foot - create new private keys.  To do so, initialize your Trezor with mytrezor.com (write your seed words !). Now that you have created your private keys inside your Trezor, let Electrum know of your corresponding public keys: Start Electrum, and create a new wallet (File --> New/Restore --> give a name to your new Electrum/Trezor "public" wallet --> Create New Wallet & Hardware Wallet -->  Initialize a new Wallet & Trezor).  Electrum will create a new Trezor wallet on your computer, but it will contain only public information, like public keys and transaction information - no private keys whatsoever - the private keys always remain within the Trezor H/W.

A transfer of your old Electrum wallet BTC to the new Trezor addresses, using the bitcoin network, is the best "transfer" solution.

- If not, can i create a new wallet with Electrum and Trezor and that it creates 2000 new btc addresses again? If so, how can i do that?
You failed to mention why you would need 2000 addresses - You obviously have a special requirement that you didn't explain.  Electrum/Trezor will function the same way that Electrum alone functioned, and it will create new keys as required (beyond the initial 20 addresses), once you used them up.     If you really want 2000 new BTC addresses from the start, you can increase the gap limit from default 20 addresses to 2000.  But if you do - be careful about recovering from seed - make sure you write next to your seed words that you did that.  

So if you really really have to create 2000 addresses from the start - do this in the Electrum console tab:

Quote
wallet.change_gap_limit(2000)

... and then check the long list of addresses in the Address tab.   But again, if you recover your wallet from seed and don't increase the gap limit again to 2000, you will think that you are missing some bitcoins  - don't complain!



The private key of electrum is in form of file right? But if we set password it will be encrypted right?
So is it really safe using electrum? or should I remove my electrum completely so I do not have to change my private key
BadAss.Sx
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


Bulletproof VPS/VPN/Email @ BadAss.Sx


View Profile WWW
August 29, 2016, 03:03:23 PM
 #1909

Is "CoinShuffle" being implemented into the client?

Need BadAss Bulletproof VPS or Bulletproof VPN or why not just mail safe with Safe-Mail. We care about your privacy.
OmegaStarScream
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840



View Profile
August 29, 2016, 03:51:26 PM
 #1910

Is "CoinShuffle" being implemented into the client?

Where you got this from ? I searched both repository and documentations and couldn't find anything about it. I guess you are mixing Electrum with Mycelium : https://twitter.com/myceliumcom/status/765214573616037888 (It's not implemented yet but they are working on it)

BitcoinNewsMagazine
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 700



View Profile WWW
August 31, 2016, 08:36:57 PM
 #1911

I have bought a Trezor and want it to connect to my Electrum wallet, but i can only find tutorials with Trezor and creating a new wallet. So i have a few questions:

- Can i use Trezor with excisting Electrum wallet?
Better not.  The Electrum wallet on your computer is a file that contains private keys that may have been compromised by the simple fact that they were inside a file sitting on your computer...   The private keys in your Trezor will never see the light of day.  You invested $100 to safeguard your bitcoins?  Start on the right foot - create new private keys.  To do so, initialize your Trezor with mytrezor.com (write your seed words !). Now that you have created your private keys inside your Trezor, let Electrum know of your corresponding public keys: Start Electrum, and create a new wallet (File --> New/Restore --> give a name to your new Electrum/Trezor "public" wallet --> Create New Wallet & Hardware Wallet -->  Initialize a new Wallet & Trezor).  Electrum will create a new Trezor wallet on your computer, but it will contain only public information, like public keys and transaction information - no private keys whatsoever - the private keys always remain within the Trezor H/W.

A transfer of your old Electrum wallet BTC to the new Trezor addresses, using the bitcoin network, is the best "transfer" solution.

- If not, can i create a new wallet with Electrum and Trezor and that it creates 2000 new btc addresses again? If so, how can i do that?
You failed to mention why you would need 2000 addresses - You obviously have a special requirement that you didn't explain.  Electrum/Trezor will function the same way that Electrum alone functioned, and it will create new keys as required (beyond the initial 20 addresses), once you used them up.     If you really want 2000 new BTC addresses from the start, you can increase the gap limit from default 20 addresses to 2000.  But if you do - be careful about recovering from seed - make sure you write next to your seed words that you did that.  

So if you really really have to create 2000 addresses from the start - do this in the Electrum console tab:

Quote
wallet.change_gap_limit(2000)

... and then check the long list of addresses in the Address tab.   But again, if you recover your wallet from seed and don't increase the gap limit again to 2000, you will think that you are missing some bitcoins  - don't complain!



The private key of electrum is in form of file right? But if we set password it will be encrypted right?
So is it really safe using electrum? or should I remove my electrum completely so I do not have to change my private key

There are bitcoin stealing malware that keylog your passphrase and steal your wallet.dat. Using a password is important, but the safest way to use Electrum is to get your private keys offline. You can do cold storage using two computers, there are directions at the Electrum website. Of course you have to keep one computer offline forever if you go that route. That is why hardware wallets like Trezor that integrate well with Electrum have become popular.

sbtctalk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
September 26, 2016, 11:20:40 AM
 #1912

Hi developers,

There is an android version of Electrum wallet on Playstore. Can I confirm this is by your team too:


OmegaStarScream
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840



View Profile
September 26, 2016, 01:32:23 PM
 #1913

Hi developers,

There is an android version of Electrum wallet on Playstore. Can I confirm this is by your team too:


It's their app but almost no one use it (to confirm next time , visit their official website https://electrum.org/#download and confirm the signature). Instead , you may want to take a look at Mycelium which is probably the most used Android wallet out there (and more awesome features are coming soon as well) . Electrum is more used for Desktop instead , android version isn't that good.

BitcoinNewsMagazine
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 700



View Profile WWW
September 26, 2016, 02:08:51 PM
 #1914

Mycelium is a must if you want to use a hardware wallet with your Android phone, but Breadwallet is worth taking a look at also.

ThomasV
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1806



View Profile WWW
October 03, 2016, 06:07:40 AM
 #1915

Hi developers,

There is an android version of Electrum wallet on Playstore. Can I confirm this is by your team too:


Yes, this is Electrum for Android.
It is running the same code as the desktop version, only the GUI is different.


Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
sbtctalk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
October 03, 2016, 05:12:09 PM
 #1916

Hi developers,

There is an android version of Electrum wallet on Playstore. Can I confirm this is by your team too:


Yes, this is Electrum for Android.
It is running the same code as the desktop version, only the GUI is different.




Hi Thomas. Thanks. i was initially worried but your assurance matters a lot. I will download to use it as a form of cold wallet with spare phone.
nelson4lov
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112

Bitcointalk Addict| Altcoin Trader|


View Profile WWW
January 26, 2017, 01:59:48 PM
 #1917

Hello Can anyone help me? I'm using Electrum 2.7.17 for windows and I get an error

Quote
R6034

An Application has made an attempt to load the C runtime library incorrectly. Please Contact the application support team for more information.
When I run electrum as an administrator, It still shows the error but when I click OK in error dialogue, It thens opens my wallet. anyway to stop this? I downloaded the windows standalone wallet for my windows 8.1


Edit: I see that thread has been inactive for months.

EDGELESS.IO — New Era Of Casino  || ICO || DISCUSSION
molecular
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2212



View Profile
January 26, 2017, 06:54:36 PM
 #1918

Hi developers,

There is an android version of Electrum wallet on Playstore. Can I confirm this is by your team too:


Yes, this is Electrum for Android.
It is running the same code as the desktop version, only the GUI is different.



Does that mean it supports trezor?

PGP key molecular F9B70769 fingerprint 9CDD C0D3 20F8 279F 6BE0  3F39 FC49 2362 F9B7 0769
OmegaStarScream
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840



View Profile
January 26, 2017, 07:01:06 PM
 #1919

Does that mean it supports trezor?

That should be the case according to the SatoshiLabs documentations : https://doc.satoshilabs.com/trezor-apps/electrum.html On the platform field It clearly says "Windows, Linux, OSX, Android".

ThomasV
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1806



View Profile WWW
January 27, 2017, 08:46:17 AM
 #1920

Hi developers,

There is an android version of Electrum wallet on Playstore. Can I confirm this is by your team too:


Yes, this is Electrum for Android.
It is running the same code as the desktop version, only the GUI is different.



Does that mean it supports trezor?


the current APK does not support hardware wallets. we are working on this.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
Pages: « 1 ... 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 [96]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!