Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 01:56:51 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 [61] 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANNOUNCE] Electrum - Lightweight Bitcoin Client  (Read 242918 times)
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
November 28, 2012, 09:20:03 PM
 #1201

ok, I'm on windows xp and this is my installation steps:

downloaded pyton 3.3 and installed,
downloaded pyqt 4.9.5 for python 3.3 and installed
downloaded electrum 1.5.3, extracted and type "python electrum" on cmd and I'm getting:

Error: python-ecdsa does not seem to be installed. Try 'sudo pip install ecdsa'

am I missing anything?

If I'm not mistaken, Electrum (as most production software) requires Python 2.7, not 3.x

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
1480773411
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480773411

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480773411
Reply with quote  #2

1480773411
Report to moderator
1480773411
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480773411

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480773411
Reply with quote  #2

1480773411
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480773411
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480773411

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480773411
Reply with quote  #2

1480773411
Report to moderator
1480773411
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480773411

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480773411
Reply with quote  #2

1480773411
Report to moderator
1480773411
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480773411

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480773411
Reply with quote  #2

1480773411
Report to moderator
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
November 28, 2012, 09:26:29 PM
 #1202

looks like I'm missing something, on the electrum site has:

Install Electrum-1.5.3.zip

What exactly this mean? how am I supposed to intall a zip file?

Just extract its contents to a folder of your choice. "Install" is probably
not the best word choice in this case, as there is no actual Windows installer.

That said, if you want to quickly try out version 1.4 (which is fairly stable)
without going through any Python dependency hoops, you can try my
compact builds for Windows XP, Vista & 7 - the link can be found towards the bottom of the official Download page.

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
Michael_S
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 277


Bitcoin-Note-and-Voucher-Printing-Empowerer


View Profile
November 28, 2012, 11:10:49 PM
 #1203

So, the behaviour was that the non-prioritized address (1D) was "flushed" and its change was sent to the (prioritized!) (change-)address 1F, although my Electrum client was configured not to use change addresses.

In general, my understanding is that by prioritizing an address I should flush it (i.e. new balance = 0 BTC) if the transaction size is big enough. However, here the opposite happened: After the transaction, the prioritized address' balance was higher than before the transaction.

It seems as if the Electrum client...
...ignored my setting "do not use change addresses"
...ignored the "prioritize" label (or used the given address as "prioritized change address" instead of "prioritized address to debit bitcoins from")

Hope this lengthy description was anyway clear and helpful.

The change has to go somewhere. If you deselect 'use change addresses', it means that a new address will not be created for the change, so the change gets sent back to one of the input addresses used. (the first of the list)
I see, so this works as designed and is not a bug in principle. Then my concrete suggestion would be to change the behaviour as follows, if this is easily possible, to make the behaviour more similar to what would be expected by the user:
If 'use change address' is deselected and the number of transmit addresses of a transaction is > 1, then the change of this transaction goes to the first address in the list that satisfies two conditions:
1) it is NOT prioritized (no "P")
2) it is labelled as change address ("C")
If none of the involved addresses fulfills both conditions, then use the first address in the list that fulfills only condition 1.
If no involved address fulfills condition 1, then use the first address that fulfills only conditon 2.
If no involved address fulfills condition 2 either, then just use the first address in the list.

all right, I made that change here: https://github.com/spesmilo/electrum/commit/e87ed44f8494e0a665ff917bda8325d64b0f4c4b
it will send change to the last address of the list of inputs, so it will not be prioritized if there are unprioritized inputs
--> I just tried it - excellent! Thank you! This makes exactly the difference, now the change (if "use change_addr"==off) does NOT go the the prioritized address any more if there are also non-prioritized addresses amongst the sending addresses! This way a prioritized address always gets "emptied" to the maximum extend, as one would expect, so now I feel I really have full control over what's happening.
--------
Do you have any opinion about the History-Tab related issues that I was mentioning in
  • post #1193 (transaction only shows up after re-start of the client, otherwise showing "Synchronizing..." all the time after having done a transaction, but only if connected to a server in "full" mode), and in
  • post #1195 ("FIrst part" --> still clock icon shown although already 6 confirmations (after restart correct icon shown in the list then), and "Another thing" about the context menu --> showing "-1" confirmation and no icon while actually already 5 confirmations achieved)?
    (for post #1195, unfortunately I do not remember if this was also depending on what type of server (full or pruning) I was connected to)
    update I just re-tested this: About the "-1 confirmations", I could not reproduce this one, now after 20 minutes or so I had 1 and then 2 confirmations in electrum's transaction details window and also on blockchain.info. But the "icon-bug" was there again: There was no icon in this transaction line (the "gears" icon disappeared but the "clock" icon did not show up). Only when closing and restarting the client, the icon (a red "clock"-icon) showed up correctly. I was connected to a "full" server for this test - don't know whether this would have also happened if I had been connected to a "pruning" server. I know this is a rather cosmetic bug, but I wanted to report it anyway.

Deafboy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 484



View Profile WWW
November 29, 2012, 01:00:25 PM
 #1204

Hi, I have created new deb package.
It was tested on Ubuntu 12.04 and 12.10. If you are installing through Ubuntu Software Center, give it some time.
This package works as wrapper around pip install, so if I get hit by a bus tomorrow, you can still upgrade via pip install to latest version without breaking anything.
Feel free to report any issue.
ThomasV and Genjix, please do not put this package on the website yet. I still need to update my repository and create package which will automatically install the deb line to sources.list and download the key.
BRules
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 293


View Profile
November 29, 2012, 06:31:37 PM
 #1205

flatfly, tks for you answer, it solved my problem

I think electrum developers should add the python version requirement to the site.

Michael_S
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 277


Bitcoin-Note-and-Voucher-Printing-Empowerer


View Profile
November 29, 2012, 11:18:04 PM
 #1206

flatfly, tks for you answer, it solved my problem

I think electrum developers should add the python version requirement to the site.
+1

(python 2.5.2 seems to be too old and python 3.x too new, so this info would be very useful. And for the user to add a hint: type "python" in a terminal window to find out what your version of python is [at least for Linux...] )

(note: e.g. for my part, I have installed a virtual machine with ubuntu 10.04 for using Electrum, since my guest system, ubuntu 8.04, is too old [python 2.5.2])

ThomasV
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
November 30, 2012, 07:13:46 PM
 #1207

Do you have any opinion about the History-Tab related issues that I was mentioning in
  • post #1193 (transaction only shows up after re-start of the client, otherwise showing "Synchronizing..." all the time after having done a transaction, but only if connected to a server in "full" mode), and in
  • post #1195 ("FIrst part" --> still clock icon shown although already 6 confirmations (after restart correct icon shown in the list then), and "Another thing" about the context menu --> showing "-1" confirmation and no icon while actually already 5 confirmations achieved)?
    (for post #1195, unfortunately I do not remember if this was also depending on what type of server (full or pruning) I was connected to)
    update I just re-tested this: About the "-1 confirmations", I could not reproduce this one, now after 20 minutes or so I had 1 and then 2 confirmations in electrum's transaction details window and also on blockchain.info. But the "icon-bug" was there again: There was no icon in this transaction line (the "gears" icon disappeared but the "clock" icon did not show up). Only when closing and restarting the client, the icon (a red "clock"-icon) showed up correctly. I was connected to a "full" server for this test - don't know whether this would have also happened if I had been connected to a "pruning" server. I know this is a rather cosmetic bug, but I wanted to report it anyway.

no, I cannot reproduce these bugs. I would need a simple and reliable way to reproduce them

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358



View Profile WWW
November 30, 2012, 07:31:46 PM
 #1208

  • post #1193 (transaction only shows up after re-start of the client, otherwise showing "Synchronizing..." all the time after having done a transaction, but only if connected to a server in "full" mode), and in

Can you please check if there's any exception/error in the console when this happen? You need to run Electrum from terminal window to see it.

I had same issues (Electrum freezed in Synchronizing... and only restart helped) with older Electrum versions, however everything has been fixed for me in 1.5.x.

ThomasV
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
December 01, 2012, 05:03:21 PM
 #1209

I just released versions 1.5.4

new features were added to the classic gui:
 * signmessage/verifymessage functions are available in the gui (Azelphur)
 * a "point of sale" display mode in the receiving tab.
when this mode is activated, the client displays invoices with QR code on a separate window, that can be shown to the customer
you can set the internal variable "merchant_name" if you want to change the labels that are added to your invoices.
Example:
Code:
electrum set merchant_name "Room 77"
(this example is purely fictional)

Windows builds from flatfly and Azelphur will be available soon

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358



View Profile WWW
December 01, 2012, 05:30:16 PM
 #1210

* a "point of sale" display mode in the receiving tab.

Nice idea and minimalistic design. Is there any documentation for "set <something>" and other "magic" electrum parameters?

Now just implement RPC connections which will allow creating invoices (amoun + message) from some common POS software and we're ready :-).

flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
December 01, 2012, 05:32:48 PM
 #1211

OK, my build is ready - available at http://dre.redmartian.org/elecwin.htm as usual.

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358



View Profile WWW
December 01, 2012, 05:42:24 PM
 #1212

While testing of the latest version (from git):

Code:
Exception in thread Thread-3:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/threading.py", line 551, in __bootstrap_inner
    self.run()
  File "/home/marekp/projekty/electrum/lib/wallet.py", line 1280, in run
    rs = requested_histories.pop(addr)
KeyError: u'<My address>'

ripper234
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260


Ron Gross


View Profile WWW
December 04, 2012, 09:44:56 PM
 #1213

Finally tried out Electrum again.

Opened three bugs:
1. Can't view QR code
2. Retry when passwords don't match
3. Display what is happenning to connection status

Also my client was stuck on "Disconnected" / "Synchronizing" for a long time for over 5 minutes. I thought the whole point is that synch on Electrum is instant, no? What am I missing?

Please do not pm me, use ron@bitcoin.org.il instead
Mastercoin Executive Director
Co-founder of the Israeli Bitcoin Association
prezbo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 422


View Profile
December 04, 2012, 10:29:24 PM
 #1214

Also my client was stuck on "Disconnected" / "Synchronizing" for a long time for over 5 minutes. I thought the whole point is that synch on Electrum is instant, no? What am I missing?

This sometimes happens... a restart might fix it, otherwise change servers.
slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358



View Profile WWW
December 04, 2012, 11:04:43 PM
 #1215


This is already resolved in git (I reported it few days ago).

Quote

Hm, valid point.

Quote

Do you know which server did you used? Server manipulation/switchover is not user friendly :-/ still I have instant startup on any tested servers.

slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358



View Profile WWW
December 05, 2012, 12:01:19 AM
 #1216


I just made pull request fixing this issue.

ripper234
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260


Ron Gross


View Profile WWW
December 05, 2012, 07:37:08 AM
 #1217

Thanks for the quick response.

I think my biggest mental issue preventing me from switching to Electrum is this:

I have two major kinds of wallets:

1. bitcoin-qt - most of my funds, bad usability (I start it up every few months), but high security (I trust it completely).
2. blockchain.info - some funds, great usability, relatively high security - I trust it has a lot of users.

Now, Electrum can't replace any of these slots:
1. It is not as secure than bitcoin-qt, simply because it's used and reviewed by less people, I have to trust its build process doesn't introduce any new maelware (same is true for bitcoin-qt, but everyone and their sister users bitcoin-qt, so I trust in it).

2. Its usability is less good than blockchain.info, and it might be theoretically a bit more secure (in blockchain.info people can change the sever js file in the next update and steal some funds), but in practice it's used by a lot of people, has terrific usability and all, so it's better for me as a secondary wallet.

I guess I'm still waiting for larger adoption to really use it, although in principle I like its core design (no sync time!) better than bitcoin-qt. I'd love to see how this project keeps evolving.

Please do not pm me, use ron@bitcoin.org.il instead
Mastercoin Executive Director
Co-founder of the Israeli Bitcoin Association
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
December 06, 2012, 01:06:17 PM
 #1218

Version 1.5.5 is now available (I fixed the package after a bug was reported this morning)
This version includes various bugfixes, and a new command, signtx, to sign a transaction on an offline computer.
(I will update the wiki later)

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
TAiS46
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 223



View Profile WWW
December 06, 2012, 04:26:31 PM
 #1219

Hello,

I am using electrum on ubuntu.
Now I have changed the GUI in the settings to text.

How can I get it back work?
If I start it with electrum -g gtk it will start correctly.
But when I change the gui in the settings to classic I am getting an error!
Is there a config file?
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
December 06, 2012, 04:31:46 PM
 #1220

Hello,

I am using electrum on ubuntu.
Now I have changed the GUI in the settings to text.

How can I get it back work?
If I start it with electrum -g gtk it will start correctly.
But when I change the gui in the settings to classic I am getting an error!
Is there a config file?

do this:
Code:
electrum set gui classic

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
Pages: « 1 ... 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 [61] 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!