Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 05:45:13 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 [42] 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 ... 96 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANNOUNCE] Electrum - Lightweight Bitcoin Client  (Read 243181 times)
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
June 15, 2012, 08:07:12 AM
 #821

Just a little suggestion: renaming the column to "Payments received" rather than "Received"?
That way, you can keep using numbers as values, as for the Tx column, and easily avoid dealing with the ugly "1 times" case.

and how do you deal with the ugly column width and wasted screen real estate that this will create?

Yes you're right...  Or just "Payments" as title, then? Or you can leave it like now, not such a big deal. (even though I don't like to see "1 times" but OK...)

Or another option: "Rx" (short for "received", the natural opposite of "Tx")

By the way, thanks for merging my magic fix Smiley. The change you made for seedless wallets wasn't strictly necessary, as my fix had already taken that into account (even though that wasn't easily apparent, I admit). Anyway, I can confirm it works fine.

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
1481305513
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481305513

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481305513
Reply with quote  #2

1481305513
Report to moderator
1481305513
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481305513

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481305513
Reply with quote  #2

1481305513
Report to moderator
1481305513
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481305513

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481305513
Reply with quote  #2

1481305513
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481305513
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481305513

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481305513
Reply with quote  #2

1481305513
Report to moderator
rPman
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


View Profile WWW
June 15, 2012, 09:09:58 AM
 #822

I added Russian translation for client into https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Electrum/Translation

Здесь не может находиться ваша реклама Smiley
Protect a future of bitcoin, use p2pool
Donation in BTC: 19fv5yYtfWZ9jQNjx2ncmu1TTrvg5CczZe
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
June 15, 2012, 09:33:20 AM
 #823

I added Russian translation for client into https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Electrum/Translation
that's nice, thanks!
please note that the list of messages is not up to date anymore; new ones are missing.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
June 15, 2012, 09:38:24 AM
 #824

The change you made for seedless wallets wasn't strictly necessary, as my fix had already taken that into account (even though that wasn't easily apparent, I admit).

does that mean that a single call to setCurrentIndex would have been sufficient?
please explain things; do not assume others have information you do not share.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
divergenta
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 162



View Profile
June 15, 2012, 10:44:38 AM
 #825

When I run Electrum I get the following error:
Connected to ecdsa.org:50001
received error: {u'id': 4, u'error': u'limit reached'}

What in the what now?

I added a limit on the number of transactions that can be returned on requested addresses.
it is a DOS prevention measure.
the limit is probably too low. I will raise it if necessary.

I have received 109 transactions on one specific address and about ~120 in total. And now I get the error all the time. What should I do in order to be able to access the coins connected to that address? And what happens if more transactions are sent to that address now when I have reached the limit?

ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
June 15, 2012, 11:18:28 AM
 #826

I have received 109 transactions on one specific address and about ~120 in total. And now I get the error all the time. What should I do in order to be able to access the coins connected to that address? And what happens if more transactions are sent to that address now when I have reached the limit?

Which server are you using?
I recently raised the limit to 500 on ecdsa.org, and I did not see any request rejection since then.

The limit on sql requests is an experimental feature; please understand that this is not its final form.
Future versions of the client will handle this limit more gracefully; the server will send its policy to
the client, and the client will be able to detect that it needs to use another server.

My goal is to make a distinction between users who do not use a lot of resources, and heavy users, who
will be redirected to other (possibly commercial) servers.

The electrum service will remain free at ecdsa.org, and  that server will keep running on donations;
however, this free service will come with limitations on the request that your client can do.

Other server operators will be free to decide what their sql limit policy is, and whether they want to
run on donations or to charge a small fee. I expect this to have a load-balancing effect, and to create
an incentive to run more servers.

It is not possible at the moment to tell you how high the final limit will be at ecdsa.org.
There are various software and protocol improvements that we need to investigate, and
that are likely to offset that limit.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
June 15, 2012, 11:28:32 AM
 #827

The change you made for seedless wallets wasn't strictly necessary, as my fix had already taken that into account (even though that wasn't easily apparent, I admit).

does that mean that a single call to setCurrentIndex would have been sufficient?
please explain things; do not assume others have information you do not share.


No, a single call doesn't fix it, but switching to the contacts tab (index 3 for seeded wallets) then back to history does.
And then I added the setCurrentIndex(2) to account for the seedless mode.

Exactly why this works, I have no idea - I'm currently not a Python coder at all, so that was just a quick hack, found through experimenting.

The root cause of the issue could be a bug in the Windows implementation of PyQt, but I'm not sure.

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
June 15, 2012, 11:30:41 AM
 #828

The change you made for seedless wallets wasn't strictly necessary, as my fix had already taken that into account (even though that wasn't easily apparent, I admit).

does that mean that a single call to setCurrentIndex would have been sufficient?
please explain things; do not assume others have information you do not share.


No, a single call doesn't fix it, but switching to the contacts tab (index 3 for seeded wallets) then back to history does.
And then I added the setCurrentIndex(2) to account for the seedless mode.

that means that a single call to setCurrentIndex() is sufficient.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
June 15, 2012, 11:34:28 AM
 #829

The change you made for seedless wallets wasn't strictly necessary, as my fix had already taken that into account (even though that wasn't easily apparent, I admit).

does that mean that a single call to setCurrentIndex would have been sufficient?
please explain things; do not assume others have information you do not share.


No, a single call doesn't fix it, but switching to the contacts tab (index 3 for seeded wallets) then back to history does.
And then I added the setCurrentIndex(2) to account for the seedless mode.

that means that a single call to setCurrentIndex() is sufficient.


No, I've tested that, it's 2 calls, in each case. (setCurrentIndex(0) is always needed at the end to make the fix transparent to the user)

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
June 15, 2012, 11:47:51 AM
 #830

The change you made for seedless wallets wasn't strictly necessary, as my fix had already taken that into account (even though that wasn't easily apparent, I admit).

does that mean that a single call to setCurrentIndex would have been sufficient?
please explain things; do not assume others have information you do not share.


No, a single call doesn't fix it, but switching to the contacts tab (index 3 for seeded wallets) then back to history does.
And then I added the setCurrentIndex(2) to account for the seedless mode.

that means that a single call to setCurrentIndex() is sufficient.


No, I've tested that, it's 2 calls, in each case. (setCurrentIndex(0) is always needed at the end to make the fix transparent to the user)


this is what I meant: https://gitorious.org/electrum/electrum/commit/3d9eb32b50bf55b54d74e52dd86bd106325a802e


Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
June 15, 2012, 11:52:31 AM
 #831

The change you made for seedless wallets wasn't strictly necessary, as my fix had already taken that into account (even though that wasn't easily apparent, I admit).

does that mean that a single call to setCurrentIndex would have been sufficient?
please explain things; do not assume others have information you do not share.


No, a single call doesn't fix it, but switching to the contacts tab (index 3 for seeded wallets) then back to history does.
And then I added the setCurrentIndex(2) to account for the seedless mode.

that means that a single call to setCurrentIndex() is sufficient.


No, I've tested that, it's 2 calls, in each case. (setCurrentIndex(0) is always needed at the end to make the fix transparent to the user)


this is what I meant: https://gitorious.org/electrum/electrum/commit/3d9eb32b50bf55b54d74e52dd86bd106325a802e



Oh yeah, indeed that's perfect now.

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
June 15, 2012, 07:19:55 PM
 #832

There seems to be a little bug in the history command: notice the "1e+12" at the end.
Running 0.58, and the wallet has 509 transactions. Not sure what other details to give.

Quote

2012-06-15 10:33:26   95517207518270a0d183e480e4360b5279a8d8f7c861a75bed7dcd6a7d2cacb7     -0.153           5.433    
2012-06-15 10:33:26   54d8e141d140e286ca21f41ed6c7172ed848b100b8dff58be89de080860e822b     -0.153           5.28      
2012-06-15 10:50:56   6e5b824bcf993144cef7c5d88cfe8954e778e30302623186ac6fdf2a4cc12ed2     -0.148           5.132    
2012-06-15 10:50:56   a0cca5600d3166f7e1cf5139e01b18909e7301681ef71b9270cb8acb575ba71e     -0.128           5.004    
2012-06-15 19:40:02   53c5f2fd77c44fed491a63e3516470def7db23e8dc707b86df6b293cbf5f4540     -0.329           4.675    
2012-06-15 19:45:06   5c014afc0593d7f08e1593cd7826e03c900f2d9dcd9bb2c74d2dd5ddb74ac181      0.163           4.838    
1e+12
pending   d2bf12d6ccb27831277d3e9bca32c4a94f1a43294cab25155b98aa3848beca11     -0.329           4.509    
# balance:      4.509    

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
Lumpy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 237


View Profile
June 16, 2012, 05:25:48 PM
 #833

I'm having a bit of trouble figuring out offline transactions. When I tried it with electrum -w wallet mktx <recipient> <amount> I got an error that says I don't have enough funds. Indeed, if I use -o balance, it says my wallet has 0 balance. How can I get Electrum to recognize my true wallet balance when it is offline? The wallet I'm using does contain all the transaction history so it should know its most recent balance...
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
June 16, 2012, 05:46:45 PM
 #834

I released version 0.59

novelties:
 - russian translation
 - help buttons in send tab
 - use_change is now a preference stored in the wallet
 - new script: get_history
 - minor fixes

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
June 16, 2012, 05:50:51 PM
 #835

I'm having a bit of trouble figuring out offline transactions. When I tried it with electrum -w wallet mktx <recipient> <amount> I got an error that says I don't have enough funds. Indeed, if I use -o balance, it says my wallet has 0 balance. How can I get Electrum to recognize my true wallet balance when it is offline? The wallet I'm using does contain all the transaction history so it should know its most recent balance...

you have to follow the steps explained here: https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Electrum#Offline_wallet

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
Lumpy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 237


View Profile
June 16, 2012, 06:48:37 PM
 #836

I was following those instructions. But it turns out that the address I was trying to use was frozen. Roll Eyes Figured it out now.
Lumpy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 237


View Profile
June 16, 2012, 06:50:58 PM
 #837

I released version 0.59

novelties:
 - russian translation
 - help buttons in send tab
 - use_change is now a preference stored in the wallet
 - new script: get_history
 - minor fixes


On Windows I get:

python-ecdsa does not seem to be installed. Try 'sudo pip install ecdsa'

Any tips?
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
June 16, 2012, 06:57:15 PM
 #838

I released version 0.59

novelties:
 - russian translation
 - help buttons in send tab
 - use_change is now a preference stored in the wallet
 - new script: get_history
 - minor fixes


On Windows I get:

python-ecdsa does not seem to be installed. Try 'sudo pip install ecdsa'

Any tips?

sorry, the zip file was incomplete. try again now.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
Lumpy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 237


View Profile
June 16, 2012, 07:12:17 PM
 #839

Works now, thanks!
Lumpy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 237


View Profile
June 17, 2012, 04:26:24 AM
 #840

I've unchecked "Use Change Addresses" and yet on three separate transactions it's still using them. Undecided
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 [42] 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 ... 96 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!