Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 07:41:07 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 [47] 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANNOUNCE] Electrum - Lightweight Bitcoin Client  (Read 243192 times)
Tuxavant
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


Bitcoin Mayor of Las Vegas


View Profile WWW
June 29, 2012, 01:13:43 AM
 #921

Uncompressed base 58 (always starts with a 5)

Generation Bitcoin | G+ | FB | Bitcoins In Vegas | CoinBus.com | TOR Exit Operator 1MVTPATVCKBMfALRHJsXpHfKJu7GyL7nAc
The block chain is the main innovation of Bitcoin. It is the first distributed timestamping system.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
June 29, 2012, 04:57:06 PM
 #922

signmessage / verifymessage don't seem to work for me, verify always produces False - could someone else test as well?


I am aware of the issue; there are two problems:
 - a module was mising in setup.py this is fixed in git  (see recent commits)
 - verifymessage fails with compressed keys (the new format used by the satoshi client). the result is that it will return False on a string signed by the satoshi client using a recent wallet. this was reported by nanotube. it is not fixed yet.


Verifymessage still seems to always fail for me... I'm not using compressed keys, I'm just trying a basic test, signing and verifying myself.

Does it work on Linux?

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
July 02, 2012, 09:30:10 AM
 #923

Hi,

I just added two screenshots to the documentation, in order to explain completions in the send tab:
https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Electrum/Documentation#Send_tab_and_completions

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
adamas
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


VIS ET LIBERTAS


View Profile WWW
July 02, 2012, 09:45:25 AM
 #924

Thanks for the sreenshots.
May i point out that it looks a bit like a product placement for satoshidice.

"Es ist kein Zeichen geistiger Gesundheit, gut angepasst an eine kranke Gesellschaft zu sein."
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
July 02, 2012, 11:39:37 AM
 #925

Thanks for the sreenshots.
May i point out that it looks a bit like a product placement for satoshidice.
lol. I played two or three times, but that was only for testing purposes :-)

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
July 02, 2012, 06:35:52 PM
 #926

Aren't change addresses supposed to be used only once, by default?

Some of my change addresses have been re-used many times (see screenshot) - not sure why.


1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
July 02, 2012, 06:49:21 PM
 #927

Aren't change addresses supposed to be used only once, by default?

Some of my change addresses have been re-used many times (see screenshot) - not sure why.


OK, it seems this is related to the way SatoshiDice works, so not an Electrum issue I believe.

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
MoonShadow
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666



View Profile
July 02, 2012, 07:28:05 PM
 #928

Aren't change addresses supposed to be used only once, by default?

Some of my change addresses have been re-used many times (see screenshot) - not sure why.


Beyond SatoshiDice, there are some reasons why one might want to reuse an address.  It compromises anonimity, but some light clients will still do it.

"The powers of financial capitalism had another far-reaching aim, nothing less than to create a world system of financial control in private hands able to dominate the political system of each country and the economy of the world as a whole. This system was to be controlled in a feudalist fashion by the central banks of the world acting in concert, by secret agreements arrived at in frequent meetings and conferences. The apex of the systems was to be the Bank for International Settlements in Basel, Switzerland, a private bank owned and controlled by the world's central banks which were themselves private corporations. Each central bank...sought to dominate its government by its ability to control Treasury loans, to manipulate foreign exchanges, to influence the level of economic activity in the country, and to influence cooperative politicians by subsequent economic rewards in the business world."

- Carroll Quigley, CFR member, mentor to Bill Clinton, from 'Tragedy And Hope'
nimda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


0xFB0D8D1534241423


View Profile
July 03, 2012, 01:32:38 AM
 #929

What about small TX's? Doesn't it compromise anonymity just as much to have several different-address inputs combined (not to mention it costs more in KB --> fees) than to re-use the same address until it gets to a certain amount?

I recommend asking me for a signature from my GPG key before doing a trade. I will NEVER deny such a request.
bitcats
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008



View Profile
July 03, 2012, 07:54:30 AM
 #930

Why are you intelligent guys wasting so much lifetime, intelligence and bitcoins playing this absurd SatoshiScheiss?

I played it 2-3 times and didnt find out any sense! It's not even fun  Huh

"Unser Problem ist nicht ziviler Ungehorsam, unser Problem ist ziviler Gehorsam."  - Howard Zinn
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
July 03, 2012, 07:58:18 AM
 #931

Why are you intelligent guys wasting so much lifetime, intelligence and bitcoins playing this absurd SatoshiScheiss?

I played it 2-3 times and didnt find out any sense! It's not even fun  Huh

I guess we all have some weaknesses...

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
July 03, 2012, 08:03:22 AM
 #932

if you don't want to see SatoshiDice in the doc, please feel free to replace the screenshots I made with something more neutral, that similarly illustrates the  point.

I did not want to feed a troll.


(the reason I played it was to test Electrum with several interdependent transactions in the memory pool)

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
genjix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232


View Profile
July 03, 2012, 02:08:49 PM
 #933

Hi,

Electrum is now at the beta candidate before we make a release for general use.

Please beta test.

*** We have a new Czech translation (CS) thanks to 1byte! ***

New lite GUI on by default. This is for convenience and simplicity to allow you to use Bitcoin while doing other tasks like web-browsing. Electrum targets beginner users, and we want to streamline everything as much as possible from install, and startup to use. Bitcoin clients should be small and uncomplicated.



* Entering a number in the amount field will show the conversion amount.
* Clicking the balance label changes the currency between USD/GBP/EUR.
* Click the bottom left button to show the normal 'expert-mode' GUI.
* Address box has text completion for address book entries.

Currently only 1 account exists (top left button) called "Checking". Multiple accounts will be added in the next release.

Design notes can be found here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=91339.0

#electrum on Freenode IRC
Tuxavant
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


Bitcoin Mayor of Las Vegas


View Profile WWW
July 03, 2012, 02:17:00 PM
 #934

Just installed .61....

Code:
$ electrum
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/electrum", line 143, in <module>
    import electrum.gui_lite as gui
ImportError: No module named gui_lite

What am I missing?

Generation Bitcoin | G+ | FB | Bitcoins In Vegas | CoinBus.com | TOR Exit Operator 1MVTPATVCKBMfALRHJsXpHfKJu7GyL7nAc
genjix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232


View Profile
July 03, 2012, 02:21:16 PM
 #935

Just installed .61....

Code:
$ electrum
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/electrum", line 143, in <module>
    import electrum.gui_lite as gui
ImportError: No module named gui_lite

What am I missing?

Oh, I did not add it to the setup/install system. Testing/fixing now.
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
July 03, 2012, 10:36:28 PM
 #936

Just installed .61....

Code:
$ electrum
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/electrum", line 143, in <module>
    import electrum.gui_lite as gui
ImportError: No module named gui_lite

What am I missing?

Oh, I did not add it to the setup/install system. Testing/fixing now.

it should work now. try again please.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
nimda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


0xFB0D8D1534241423


View Profile
July 03, 2012, 10:37:14 PM
 #937

Does signmessage work yet?

I recommend asking me for a signature from my GPG key before doing a trade. I will NEVER deny such a request.
Tuxavant
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


Bitcoin Mayor of Las Vegas


View Profile WWW
July 03, 2012, 10:39:26 PM
 #938

Code:
$ electrum
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/electrum", line 148, in <module>
    gui = gui.ElectrumGui(wallet)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/electrum/gui_lite.py", line 36, in __init__
    with open("data/style.css") as style_file:
IOError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: 'data/style.css'

Generation Bitcoin | G+ | FB | Bitcoins In Vegas | CoinBus.com | TOR Exit Operator 1MVTPATVCKBMfALRHJsXpHfKJu7GyL7nAc
ben-abuya
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 323



View Profile WWW
July 03, 2012, 10:44:27 PM
 #939

Code:
$ electrum
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/electrum", line 148, in <module>
    gui = gui.ElectrumGui(wallet)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/electrum/gui_lite.py", line 36, in __init__
    with open("data/style.css") as style_file:
IOError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: 'data/style.css'

I'm getting this too, on Ubuntu 12.04

http://lamassubtc.com/
Lamassu Bitcoin Ventures
Lumpy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 237


View Profile
July 03, 2012, 11:55:24 PM
 #940

Code:
$ electrum
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/electrum", line 148, in <module>
    gui = gui.ElectrumGui(wallet)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/electrum/gui_lite.py", line 36, in __init__
    with open("data/style.css") as style_file:
IOError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: 'data/style.css'

I'm getting this too, on Ubuntu 12.04

Same, in Windows.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 [47] 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!