Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 12:15:50 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 [25] 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 ... 96 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANNOUNCE] Electrum - Lightweight Bitcoin Client  (Read 243052 times)
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
May 11, 2012, 07:44:57 AM
 #481

In lines 100 & 244 in electrum file:
 shouldn't it be "from electrum import mnemonic"?

Otherwise I get the below error:
 ImportError: No module named mnemonic

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
1481026550
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481026550

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481026550
Reply with quote  #2

1481026550
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481026550
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481026550

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481026550
Reply with quote  #2

1481026550
Report to moderator
1481026550
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481026550

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481026550
Reply with quote  #2

1481026550
Report to moderator
1481026550
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481026550

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481026550
Reply with quote  #2

1481026550
Report to moderator
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
May 11, 2012, 08:15:25 AM
 #482

In lines 100 & 244 in electrum file:
 shouldn't it be "from electrum import mnemonic"?

Otherwise I get the below error:
 ImportError: No module named mnemonic
oh you're right, I forgot those instances. sorry.
(fixed in 0.48a)

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
May 11, 2012, 08:34:35 AM
 #483

In lines 100 & 244 in electrum file:
 shouldn't it be "from electrum import mnemonic"?

Otherwise I get the below error:
 ImportError: No module named mnemonic
oh you're right, I forgot those instances. sorry.
(fixed in 0.48a)

OK thanks!

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
May 12, 2012, 07:44:15 AM
 #484

I found a minor bug in versions 0.48 and 0.48a:
the client does not correctly reconnect after the user modifies the server in the network dialog.

I just released 0.48b where that problem is fixed.
Sorry for the inconvenience.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
Tuxavant
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


Bitcoin Mayor of Las Vegas


View Profile WWW
May 13, 2012, 02:58:35 AM
 #485

Trying to restore a wallet on an off-line computer and failing. I see that being online is currently listed as a requirement, but is there any way this can be changed? I would think restoring from a passphrase would definitely want to be done from an off-line computer.

Generation Bitcoin | G+ | FB | Bitcoins In Vegas | CoinBus.com | TOR Exit Operator 1MVTPATVCKBMfALRHJsXpHfKJu7GyL7nAc
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
May 13, 2012, 03:58:17 AM
 #486

Trying to restore a wallet on an off-line computer and failing. I see that being online is currently listed as a requirement, but is there any way this can be changed? I would think restoring from a passphrase would definitely want to be done from an off-line computer.

you are right. the inline command 'restore' will fail if you are not connected.
I will try to fix that.

in the meantime, here is a workaround: use the GUI, and close the window that stalls saying 'please wait'.
it will create a wallet that you can later synchronize online.


note: I just added two new commands for manipulating  offline wallets: deseed and reseed. (see the wiki)

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
Tuxavant
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


Bitcoin Mayor of Las Vegas


View Profile WWW
May 13, 2012, 04:22:55 AM
 #487

Unfortunately, my offline computer for this is an old netbook that does not have video chipset support so it's tui only.

Also, on the wiki, I cleaned up the list of commands (alphabetized) and added those new seed commands.

Generation Bitcoin | G+ | FB | Bitcoins In Vegas | CoinBus.com | TOR Exit Operator 1MVTPATVCKBMfALRHJsXpHfKJu7GyL7nAc
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
May 13, 2012, 08:26:12 AM
 #488

Unfortunately, my offline computer for this is an old netbook that does not have video chipset support so it's tui only.

Also, on the wiki, I cleaned up the list of commands (alphabetized) and added those new seed commands.

ok, I added a new option for the command line: -o or --offline
as the name says, it performs the requested command without opening a connection;
so you can do:
Code:
electrum restore -w mywallet -o

this new option should work with all commands but I have not tested all the possible interactions.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
May 13, 2012, 11:23:13 AM
 #489

New release: version 0.49

Changes:
* new commands: 'deseed' and 'reseed'
* new command-line option to run a command offline: -o or --offline
* the GUI displays seedless wallets without the send tab, and without seed and password buttons


This new version is intended to facilitate the use of offline wallets.

* 'deseed' removes the seed from a wallet and stores it to a separate file.
* 'reseed' does the reverse.

An example of how to use the new commands is provided here:
https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Electrum#Offline_wallet


Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
Tuxavant
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


Bitcoin Mayor of Las Vegas


View Profile WWW
May 13, 2012, 12:27:34 PM
 #490

Requests to help with automation...

'deseed' saves the seed in the same 2 column format as 'electrum seed'. Also, there is a 'are you sure' prompt. Could this be removed or a '-batch' option be passed to bypass interactive prompts?

'reseed' looks like it is expecting the wallet seed input file to be 'electrum.dat.seed'. It would probably be better if it simply appended '.seed' to whatever was specified with '-w'.

Generation Bitcoin | G+ | FB | Bitcoins In Vegas | CoinBus.com | TOR Exit Operator 1MVTPATVCKBMfALRHJsXpHfKJu7GyL7nAc
Tuxavant
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


Bitcoin Mayor of Las Vegas


View Profile WWW
May 13, 2012, 12:34:41 PM
 #491

Feature request for down the road...

When displaying Bitcoin addresses, can the display break it up into 5 character groups separated by a '-' and the input functions strip out any non-Base58 characters?

I think this would go a LONG way to making bitcoin easier and accurate to use with more confidence if all clients implemented this.

Code:
17gTg-uqd23-5S5rx-3pDJU-ZH6tW-S7KLQ-Nmyh

Generation Bitcoin | G+ | FB | Bitcoins In Vegas | CoinBus.com | TOR Exit Operator 1MVTPATVCKBMfALRHJsXpHfKJu7GyL7nAc
Tuxavant
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


Bitcoin Mayor of Las Vegas


View Profile WWW
May 13, 2012, 01:01:15 PM
 #492

Just tested the new functions, syncing a seedless file, and spending to a completely off-line wallet. Now I'm waiting for some confirmations to clear and will try creating an off-line transaction and broadcasting it to the network.

This client is definitely going in the direction I want/need. While I like the advanced features of Armory, Electrum has very little system requirements and all the off-line functionality I could ask for.

Send another 2 BTC to help out. (6defa05600a1b71b4ad7537ede991f1f9f442422fc3a1caec62879a118958398)

Fantastic job!

Generation Bitcoin | G+ | FB | Bitcoins In Vegas | CoinBus.com | TOR Exit Operator 1MVTPATVCKBMfALRHJsXpHfKJu7GyL7nAc
Tuxavant
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


Bitcoin Mayor of Las Vegas


View Profile WWW
May 13, 2012, 02:48:18 PM
 #493

Any idea what I'm missing here? Using python-2.7.2-5.2.fc16.x86_64

Quote
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/electrum", line 4, in <module>
    import pkg_resources
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/pkg_resources.py", line 2707, in <module>
    working_set.require(__requires__)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/pkg_resources.py", line 686, in require
    needed = self.resolve(parse_requirements(requirements))
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/pkg_resources.py", line 584, in resolve
    raise DistributionNotFound(req)
pkg_resources.DistributionNotFound: Electrum==0.49

Generation Bitcoin | G+ | FB | Bitcoins In Vegas | CoinBus.com | TOR Exit Operator 1MVTPATVCKBMfALRHJsXpHfKJu7GyL7nAc
Tuxavant
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


Bitcoin Mayor of Las Vegas


View Profile WWW
May 14, 2012, 12:20:13 AM
 #494

What is/Is there a procedure for importing qt client wallet.dat files into the electrum wallet?

Generation Bitcoin | G+ | FB | Bitcoins In Vegas | CoinBus.com | TOR Exit Operator 1MVTPATVCKBMfALRHJsXpHfKJu7GyL7nAc
Haplo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168



View Profile
May 14, 2012, 12:59:42 AM
 #495

Ok after a few weeks of downtime I just got electrum 0.43c-2 running, and then quickly saw that there was a new version. Updated to 0.49 and now I get this:

Code:
localhost Electrum-0.49 # electrum
python-ecdsa does not seem to be installed. Try 'sudo easy_install ecdsa'

and then

Code:
localhost Electrum-0.49 # easy_install ecdsa
Processing ecdsa
error: Couldn't find a setup script in ***/Electrum-0.49/ecdsa

Running up to date gentoo. easy_install ecdsa gave me the same thing with 0.43c-2, but electrum seemed to run fine anyway, and connected to the server well enough to tell me there was a new version. 0.49, on the other hand, does not.

Also, is the gtk frontend still supported? I haven't gotten far enough to tell, but I no longer see any such option mentioned.

I'm So Meta, Even This Acronym
Tuxavant
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


Bitcoin Mayor of Las Vegas


View Profile WWW
May 14, 2012, 01:16:52 AM
 #496

Try this:
Code:
easy_install http://pypi.python.org/pypi/ecdsa

might need this too:

Code:
easy_install http://pypi.python.org/pypi/slowaes

Generation Bitcoin | G+ | FB | Bitcoins In Vegas | CoinBus.com | TOR Exit Operator 1MVTPATVCKBMfALRHJsXpHfKJu7GyL7nAc
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
May 14, 2012, 02:33:29 AM
 #497

What is/Is there a procedure for importing qt client wallet.dat files into the electrum wallet?

You can do it in a couple steps, using the pywallet.py tool to export all private keys from the wallet.dat and then import them into electrum. I'm not aware of a simpler way.

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
Haplo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168



View Profile
May 14, 2012, 02:54:35 AM
 #498

Try this:
Code:
easy_install http://pypi.python.org/pypi/ecdsa

might need this too:

Code:
easy_install http://pypi.python.org/pypi/slowaes

Code:
localhost Electrum-0.49 # easy_install http://pypi.python.org/pypi/ecdsa
Downloading http://pypi.python.org/pypi/ecdsa
error: Can't download http://pypi.python.org/pypi/ecdsa: 404 Not Found ()

x.x

I'm So Meta, Even This Acronym
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
May 14, 2012, 05:09:16 AM
 #499

Ok after a few weeks of downtime I just got electrum 0.43c-2 running, and then quickly saw that there was a new version. Updated to 0.49 and now I get this:

Code:
localhost Electrum-0.49 # electrum
python-ecdsa does not seem to be installed. Try 'sudo easy_install ecdsa'

and then

Code:
localhost Electrum-0.49 # easy_install ecdsa
Processing ecdsa
error: Couldn't find a setup script in ***/Electrum-0.49/ecdsa

Running up to date gentoo. easy_install ecdsa gave me the same thing with 0.43c-2, but electrum seemed to run fine anyway, and connected to the server well enough to tell me there was a new version. 0.49, on the other hand, does not.

I see. easy_install is confused is because you are calling it from the electrum directory, where there is already an ecdsa directory
The easiest way to deal with this is probably to reinstall Electrum from scratch, with the pip command, as stated on the Electrum webpage.
Remove your current Electrum-0.49 directory, and type:
Code:
sudo pip install http://ecdsa.org/electrum/Electrum-latest.tar.gz
It should install everything.

Another solution is to install ecdsa and aes using pip, instead of easy_install
Code:
sudo pip install ecdsa
sudo pip install slowaes

Quote
Also, is the gtk frontend still supported? I haven't gotten far enough to tell, but I no longer see any such option mentioned.

yes it is:
Code:
electrum -g gtk
however, the gtk gui is not as feature rich as the qt gui.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
May 14, 2012, 05:16:02 AM
 #500

What is/Is there a procedure for importing qt client wallet.dat files into the electrum wallet?

You can do it in a couple steps, using the pywallet.py tool to export all private keys from the wallet.dat and then import them into electrum. I'm not aware of a simpler way.

no, there is no simpler way.
of course, you lose the benefit of a deterministic wallet if you import keys.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 [25] 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 ... 96 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!