Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 03:13:08 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 [63] 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANNOUNCE] Electrum - Lightweight Bitcoin Client  (Read 243245 times)
HostFat
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2296


I support freedom of choice


View Profile WWW
December 10, 2012, 06:57:11 AM
 #1241

I just set up generating nightly builds for Windows! Binaries are compiled every day at 00:30 UTC. Now you can use latest version of Electrum on Windows without installing any dependencies.

http://electrum.bitcoin.cz/
Great! Cheesy
You should add this link at the download page: http://electrum.ecdsa.org/download.html
(with also instructions to compile the source for Windows by themself)

Eternity Wall: Messages lasting forever - The Rock Trading (ref): A good exchange / gateway Ripple, with support for multisig, since 2007. 
https://bitcointa.lk: Bitcointalk backup if offline - Bitcoin Foundation Italia - Blog: http://theupwind.blogspot.it
1481382788
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481382788

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481382788
Reply with quote  #2

1481382788
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Tachikoma
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile WWW
December 10, 2012, 08:45:39 AM
 #1242

Pretty cool Slush! I did notice that the Lite GUI styles were missing and there is no icon. Are the css files packaged properly?

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks | Bytesized Seedboxes BTC/LTC supported
Tachikoma
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile WWW
December 11, 2012, 09:07:25 AM
 #1243

Has anyone had any luck installing this on Arch Linux?

Any help would be appreciated, I had this client running on Ubuntu and it worked fine and I really liked it.

Which version of Python are you running?

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks | Bytesized Seedboxes BTC/LTC supported
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
December 11, 2012, 09:13:19 AM
 #1244

Has anyone had any luck installing this on Arch Linux?

Any help would be appreciated, I had this client running on Ubuntu and it worked fine and I really liked it.

Which version of Python are you running?

it looks like he is using python3

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
16PENcE
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
December 12, 2012, 03:44:51 AM
 #1245

Has anyone had any luck installing this on Arch Linux?

...

This client running on Ubuntu and it worked fine and I really liked it.

Consider checking the AUR for packages you're interested in.

16PENcEgMTeyh7Ne1hcsAK687S7zCrBcC3
Blazr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882



View Profile
December 12, 2012, 04:44:37 AM
 #1246

Consider checking the AUR for packages you're interested in.

OMG, BAHAHA! How did I miss that??? I had checked for it in AUR but apparently I didn't check hard enough, I feel so dumb right now.

Thanks dude.

Busy ATM.
Tachikoma
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile WWW
December 12, 2012, 09:03:56 AM
 #1247

Also, is it possible to change the location of my electrum.dat file?

You can place it where ever you would like but you will have to supply the command line with the -w flag and the path to the wallet.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks | Bytesized Seedboxes BTC/LTC supported
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
December 12, 2012, 09:38:02 AM
 #1248

Also, is it possible to change the location of my electrum.dat file?

You can place it where ever you would like but you will have to supply the command line with the -w flag and the path to the wallet.

you can also specify the default wallet path in /etc/electrum.conf

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
BRules
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 293


View Profile
December 12, 2012, 05:27:22 PM
 #1249

looks like message signing isn't compatible with bitcoinqt

I signed a message with electrum:

address: 19CMajPN66RHuFoqgxttYHsP1z1fqDici8
message: testing
generated signature: GxtoLtGj9JD8jwUA2JG8WiHR4vtl25D7g23wcTOhkCkgMoXBMrMyQprPMFU7aWFa74i9U838pilpWjt Q+JCrkss=

but when I tried to verify it with bitcoinqt it failed to verify the message.

when I tried to verify the same message with the blockchain.info wallet the result was:

"This message was signed by address 1Disc6WEiX5K6wsrJKUaevW1NCfwjmzDd.
Does this match the address you were expecting? "

and when I put the 1Disc6WEiX5K6wsrJKUaevW1NCfwjmzDd address on bitcoinqt the message was verified successfully.

So, is there a way to verify a message signed in electrum with bitcoinqt and vice-versa?


Tachikoma
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile WWW
December 18, 2012, 06:48:35 PM
 #1250

New release: 1.5.7

Changes

Core
  • The blockchain headers file is no longer included in the packages, it will be downloaded on startup.
  • New command line option: -P or --portable, for portable wallets. With this flag, all preferences are saved to the wallet file, and the blockchain headers file is in the same directory as the wallet.
  • New translations

Lite GUI
  • Added the ability to export your transactions to a CSV file.
  • Added a label dialog after sending a transaction.
  • Reworked receiving addresses; instead of a random selection from one of your receiving addresses a new widget will show listing unused addresses.
  • Removed server selection. With all the new server options a simple menu item does not suffice anymore.

You can find up-to-date downloads for Linux, OSX and Windows on the website.

 

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks | Bytesized Seedboxes BTC/LTC supported
EagleTM
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46


View Profile
December 19, 2012, 11:29:47 PM
 #1251


So, is there a way to verify a message signed in electrum with bitcoinqt and vice-versa?


As far as I understand support for compressed keys in Electrum needs to be finalized before this works vice versa. There's no ETA for this to happen yet.
zxyzxy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 133


View Profile
December 20, 2012, 01:54:45 PM
 #1252

so.. i forgot my password (this is what happens if you use different one for everything and trying to keep them in your head), but i have the passphrase, is there any way i can restore my password for encrypted wallet? if not, is there a way how to reinstall the program so i can create a new wallet that is not encrypted?
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
December 20, 2012, 02:01:38 PM
 #1253

so.. i forgot my password (this is what happens if you use different one for everything and trying to keep them in your head), but i have the passphrase, is there any way i can restore my password for encrypted wallet? if not, is there a way how to reinstall the program so i can create a new wallet that is not encrypted?
You can restore the wallet from seed (pass phrase). If you imported addresses from elsewhere they won't be re-generated but the regular seeded ones will be fine. You will lose labels and have to add them again after restoring.

Start by making a backup copy of your wallet in case you remember later and can get into it. Rename the current wallet.dat file so that a new file can be created.

Then run electrum with the restore cmd. ie. "electrum restore". It will ask you questions and re-create your wallet. You will enter the seed but also the other important factor is the "gap count". Probably the default value is correct unless you had some reason to change it last time. It will ask you if you want to encrypt and that's up to you this time. I would recommend it even if you have a password.

I'd highly recommend a solution like KeePassX or PasswordSafe. It lets you have one master password to access an easy database of all your other passwords. Make regular backups of that safe file and you'll never have problems forgetting passwords even if you have hundreds (which I do).

zxyzxy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 133


View Profile
December 20, 2012, 03:31:11 PM
 #1254

thanks, how can i run that restore function? cant find it anywhere in the program (i am using winxp32sp3)
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
December 20, 2012, 03:45:55 PM
 #1255

thanks, how can i run that restore function? cant find it anywhere in the program (i am using winxp32sp3)
You would run it from a command prompt. Or maybe easier create a desktop shortcut that runs "electrum restore" command. It doesn't exist in the gui interface. I'm on Linux so I may be a bit off for Windows but I think it's pretty much the same.

btw the normal menu or desktop short cut can just be changed temporarily. It normally just runs electrum so you just add <space>restore to the command. After restored change the shortcut back to just electrum again.

ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
December 20, 2012, 03:48:04 PM
 #1256

thanks, how can i run that restore function? cant find it anywhere in the program (i am using winxp32sp3)
You would run it from a command prompt. Or maybe easier create a desktop shortcut that runs "electrum restore" command. It doesn't exist in the gui interface. I'm on Linux so I may be a bit off for Windows but I think it's pretty much the same.

you don't have to do that.
just start electrum on a new wallet path, eg
Code:
electrum -w my_new_wallet
and select "restore" in the dialog window

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
zxyzxy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 133


View Profile
December 20, 2012, 04:17:19 PM
 #1257

thanks mr. creator, worked like a charm.
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
December 23, 2012, 06:29:26 PM
 #1258

Today I tried Electrum on Linux and noticed that some elements in the Lite GUI look a little unpolished (like on Windows.)  This prompted me to make a few tweaks as shown below. If the team likes these changes, I can submit some pull requests.



The changes are:
- more readable send button
- default value in recipient editbox
- added ">>" to receive button
- nicer menu bar

Also I'm not totally happy with the positioning of the receive
and send buttons and will try to play around with that too.

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
Tachikoma
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile WWW
December 23, 2012, 06:48:49 PM
 #1259

Today I tried Electrum on Linux and noticed that some elements in the Lite GUI look a little unpolished (like on Windows.)  This prompted me to make a few tweaks as shown below. If the team likes these changes, I can submit some pull requests.

This is how I designed the Lite GUI and how it should look. If it doesn't look this way on Linux/Windows then something with the build tools is still not proper and the stylesheets are not getting properly packaged.


Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks | Bytesized Seedboxes BTC/LTC supported
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
December 23, 2012, 10:05:01 PM
 #1260

Today I tried Electrum on Linux and noticed that some elements in the Lite GUI look a little unpolished (like on Windows.)  This prompted me to make a few tweaks as shown below. If the team likes these changes, I can submit some pull requests.

This is how I designed the Lite GUI and how it should look. If it doesn't look this way on Linux/Windows then something with the build tools is still not proper and the stylesheets are not getting properly packaged.



Hmmm not sure those things are related to the build process, I think it's just due to some differences in how PyQt displays things on a Mac vs Windows and Linux.  For instance, an important difference is that on a Mac, the menu bar is never drawn inside the application window itself, while it is on Windows and Linux, so I'm guessing this hasn't been taken into account in the current stylesheet?

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
Pages: « 1 ... 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 [63] 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!