Bitcoin Forum
April 28, 2024, 12:39:49 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 [58] 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANNOUNCE] Electrum - Lightweight Bitcoin Client  (Read 274473 times)
fluxist
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35
Merit: 0



View Profile
November 08, 2012, 03:22:20 PM
 #1141

I get the following error in windows:

Code:
C:\Electrum-1.3>python electrum
  File "electrum", line 204
    except SystemExit, e:
                     ^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax

Anyone?
1714307989
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714307989

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714307989
Reply with quote  #2

1714307989
Report to moderator
"Bitcoin: mining our own business since 2009" -- Pieter Wuille
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1714307989
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714307989

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714307989
Reply with quote  #2

1714307989
Report to moderator
ThomasV (OP)
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1896
Merit: 1353



View Profile WWW
November 08, 2012, 03:41:12 PM
 #1142

I get the following error in windows:

Code:
C:\Electrum-1.3>python electrum
  File "electrum", line 204
    except SystemExit, e:
                     ^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax

Anyone?
you are probably using python3.
try with python2.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
fluxist
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35
Merit: 0



View Profile
November 08, 2012, 05:58:37 PM
 #1143

I get the following error in windows:

Code:
C:\Electrum-1.3>python electrum
  File "electrum", line 204
    except SystemExit, e:
                     ^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax

Anyone?
you are probably using python3.
try with python2.


Ok not sure if I'm doing something wrong but I did get it to work.
I needed to use python2 like you mentioned. But I also needed to download ecdsa, slowaes and setuptools as dependencies.
Looks good!

On a different note, I'm not sure if this has been covered elsewhere, but Electrum 1.01 (which I was using this morning before I saw the new release) was not listing new transactions. I had a few transactions last night that didn't show up in 1.01 (all had 80+ confirmations) until I changed the server to ecdsa.org (all the other servers allowed synchronization but didn't display the latest transactions). Same thing in Electrum for Android. The transactions that occurred last night are not showing up, even though it says it's synchronized. I'd try ecdsa.org to see if that fixes it too but it doesn't seem to want to let me use that server.

Edit:
Switched to ecdsa.org on e4a and now everything is good.
ThomasV (OP)
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1896
Merit: 1353



View Profile WWW
November 08, 2012, 06:19:03 PM
 #1144

But I also needed to download ecdsa, slowaes and setuptools as dependencies.
oh sorry, I forgot to add them again. Smiley
ok, I just uploaded new packages that contain ecdsa and aes

Quote
On a different note, I'm not sure if this has been covered elsewhere, but Electrum 1.01 (which I was using this morning before I saw the new release) was not listing new transactions. I had a few transactions last night that didn't show up in 1.01 (all had 80+ confirmations) until I changed the server to ecdsa.org (all the other servers allowed synchronization but didn't display the latest transactions). Same thing in Electrum for Android. The transactions that occurred last night are not showing up, even though it says it's synchronized. I'd try ecdsa.org to see if that fixes it too but it doesn't seem to want to let me use that server.

Edit:
Switched to ecdsa.org on e4a and now everything is good.

yes, that was probably a server problem

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
Herbert
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 488
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
November 09, 2012, 09:15:22 AM
 #1145

here is a screenshot of the text mode UI:


http://electrum.ecdsa.org/electrum_text_mode.png

Awesome!

www.bitcoinmonitor.net - Free payment notification via email, newsfeed, xpmm/jabber, url callback and full API access!
Send SMS with www.txt4coins.net! No registration, pay-per-use, full API access, bulk messages - All inclusive!
marcus_of_augustus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3920
Merit: 2348


Eadem mutata resurgo


View Profile
November 10, 2012, 08:10:49 PM
 #1146

The retro Lotus Notes look ...  Cheesy

flatfly
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078
Merit: 1011

760930


View Profile
November 12, 2012, 03:58:58 PM
 #1147

The retro Lotus Notes look ...  Cheesy

Can't wait for the C64 version Smiley
zebedee
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 668
Merit: 500



View Profile
November 13, 2012, 08:35:26 AM
 #1148

I'm using 1.3; all transactions show up as pending, even those done months ago.  The list is not sorted, probably for the same reason.

Any ideas?  Only me?
ThomasV (OP)
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1896
Merit: 1353



View Profile WWW
November 13, 2012, 09:00:02 AM
 #1149

I'm using 1.3; all transactions show up as pending, even those done months ago.  The list is not sorted, probably for the same reason.

Any ideas?  Only me?

it is because they need to be verified. just wait a bit

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
arsenische
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1199
Merit: 1012


View Profile
November 13, 2012, 09:16:44 AM
 #1150

I tried out Electrum and I'm quite impressed with it. Light, simple to use deterministic wallet that doesn't need to download the whole blockchain to spend from it - that's really great!

Is there a simple way to dynamically generate deterministic addresses for Electrum on the server side without risk of compromising private keys (so that I could receive bitcoins on my desktop without synchronization of addresses)?

zebedee
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 668
Merit: 500



View Profile
November 13, 2012, 09:27:59 AM
 #1151

I'm using 1.3; all transactions show up as pending, even those done months ago.  The list is not sorted, probably for the same reason.

Any ideas?  Only me?

it is because they need to be verified. just wait a bit

As I said they are months old!  The other electrum (0.61) has them all confirmed.  There are 100s of transactions.  What causes this?
ThomasV (OP)
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1896
Merit: 1353



View Profile WWW
November 13, 2012, 09:40:08 AM
 #1152

I'm using 1.3; all transactions show up as pending, even those done months ago.  The list is not sorted, probably for the same reason.

Any ideas?  Only me?

it is because they need to be verified. just wait a bit

As I said they are months old!  The other electrum (0.61) has them all confirmed.  There are 100s of transactions.  What causes this?

the old version did trust the server about confirmations.
The new version verifies that all your transactions are included in the blockchain.
The verification should only take a few minutes; if it is longer than that you have a problem.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
ThomasV (OP)
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1896
Merit: 1353



View Profile WWW
November 13, 2012, 09:43:44 AM
 #1153

I tried out Electrum and I'm quite impressed with it. Light, simple to use deterministic wallet that doesn't need to download the whole blockchain to spend from it - that's really great!

Is there a simple way to dynamically generate deterministic addresses for Electrum on the server side without risk of compromising private keys (so that I could receive bitcoins on my desktop without synchronization of addresses)?

yes, there is a script that does that. see "merchant.py" in the scripts directory.
(note that the merchant script included in the 1.3 package does not work; you need to pull the recent git)
here is the relevant thread : https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=117199.0

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
arsenische
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1199
Merit: 1012


View Profile
November 13, 2012, 01:48:34 PM
 #1154

I tried out Electrum and I'm quite impressed with it. Light, simple to use deterministic wallet that doesn't need to download the whole blockchain to spend from it - that's really great!

Is there a simple way to dynamically generate deterministic addresses for Electrum on the server side without risk of compromising private keys (so that I could receive bitcoins on my desktop without synchronization of addresses)?

yes, there is a script that does that. see "merchant.py" in the scripts directory.
(note that the merchant script included in the 1.3 package does not work; you need to pull the recent git)
here is the relevant thread : https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=117199.0


That's what I needed, thanks!

zebedee
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 668
Merit: 500



View Profile
November 14, 2012, 07:03:24 AM
 #1155

the old version did trust the server about confirmations.
The new version verifies that all your transactions are included in the blockchain.
The verification should only take a few minutes; if it is longer than that you have a problem.

It took about 15-20 minutes; all are now confirmed.  However every date is 1970-01-01 09:00.  Is that just me?
ThomasV (OP)
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1896
Merit: 1353



View Profile WWW
November 14, 2012, 09:03:11 AM
 #1156

every date is 1970-01-01 09:00.  Is that just me?
still after you restart the client? this might be a gui problem

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
zebedee
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 668
Merit: 500



View Profile
November 14, 2012, 11:49:07 PM
 #1157

every date is 1970-01-01 09:00.  Is that just me?
still after you restart the client? this might be a gui problem
Restarting the client fixes that.
ThomasV (OP)
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1896
Merit: 1353



View Profile WWW
November 15, 2012, 04:35:37 PM
 #1158

I just released a new version (1.4)

There are no new user-visible features in this release; the point is to upgrade the communication protocol.
This upgrade is needed in order to use new servers that do not use Abe.
On a side note, the merchant.py script included in this version has been fixed and works.


Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
HostFat
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4214
Merit: 1203


I support freedom of choice


View Profile WWW
November 15, 2012, 04:38:31 PM
 #1159

Is there anyone that is working on the android client?

NON DO ASSISTENZA PRIVATA - http://hostfatmind.com
ThomasV (OP)
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1896
Merit: 1353



View Profile WWW
November 15, 2012, 04:40:53 PM
 #1160

Is there anyone that is working on the android client?

not me, no time atm.
The android client I wrote would probably need to be upgraded. feel free to help

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
Pages: « 1 ... 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 [58] 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!