Bitcoin Forum
August 20, 2019, 04:54:32 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 [595] 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 ... 726 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] Spondoolies-Tech - carrier grade, data center ready mining rigs  (Read 1256123 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Guy Corem
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190
Merit: 1029


Spondoolies, Beam & DAGlabs


View Profile WWW
March 01, 2015, 09:59:03 AM
Last edit: March 01, 2015, 01:27:40 PM by Spondoolies-Tech
 #11881


4675. Thanks.



Understood.  Looking forward to working with the new miners.  I'll let you know what DHL asks for.  I upgraded home panel to 400A and put in 220v 20A and 30A circuits.  I have 24A safely usable on the 30A circuits (5280W) with the derated PDUs. Do you think I can run (2) SP31s on each of those circuits as long as I underclock them?

What is your order # ?
Katya is checking with DHL now.

Edit: We'll reply privately by email.

New Mimblewimble implementation: https://www.beam.mw
Spondoolies is back with the SPx36: https://www.spondoolies-tech.com/products/spx36
1566276872
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1566276872

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1566276872
Reply with quote  #2

1566276872
Report to moderator
1566276872
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1566276872

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1566276872
Reply with quote  #2

1566276872
Report to moderator
1566276872
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1566276872

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1566276872
Reply with quote  #2

1566276872
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1566276872
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1566276872

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1566276872
Reply with quote  #2

1566276872
Report to moderator
1566276872
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1566276872

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1566276872
Reply with quote  #2

1566276872
Report to moderator
Tigggger
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1082
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 01, 2015, 10:58:22 AM
 #11882

I was part of the group buy ages ago for the SP30, because it failed to live up to the specs that were advertised at the time Spondoolies agreed to either issue coupons or a refund for $944.06.

Because I was confident in SP I decided to go with the coupons, however the pricing on products since then has never been good enough to warrant me purchasing an SP31, I asked in this thread at the time and was told they would be good for any other products for the next 6 months.

Sadly as we know the BTC price collapsed which has meant that even once I have applied the discount I'd essentially be paying money for a machine that loses money (All my SP equipment has been sold because its not profitable to run in the UK, or at my hosts abroad) so needless to say I haven't purchased anything.

As the 6 month period is almost over and Spondoolies have said there is no new hardware imminent, I asked if I could have the refund instead and was suprised that this was refused I must say I wasn't expecting that given how good SP have been with their customers and now I'm stuffed.

Therefore my last hope of salvaging something from this (unless SP want to reconsider) is if someone wants a brand new SP31 shipped direct, I will order it and give you $400 off the price, PM me if interested.


takagari
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980
Merit: 1000


View Profile WWW
March 01, 2015, 02:21:47 PM
 #11883

The monitor page seems to be broken, it's reporting really high average hash rates.

Code:
{"Elapsed":64616,"MHSav":2448947.61,"MHS5s":3324640.36,"MHS1m":1755088.42,"MHS5m":1550657.77,"MHS15m":1490862.71

All my SP20s are doing this, thoughts?
wh00per
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 570
Merit: 500



View Profile
March 01, 2015, 02:41:29 PM
 #11884

The cgminer averages are calculated with respect to the shares submitted to the pool, the pool difficulty and the time between two consecutive accepted shares. Either you're extremely lucky in the last 30 min or so, or something is wrong with the part accepting your shares. (It can be the "pool speed" recovering after a "slow" interval, on the pool side.)

I can bet all of your SP20 are on the same pool .. right? Try on a different pool with a couple of them for a while.

CSA/cUL Certified Power Distribution Panels - Basic, Switched, Metered. 1-3 phases. Up to 600V. NMC:N4F9qvHz11BHcc4nh1LCJFsrZhA1EWgVwj
takagari
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980
Merit: 1000


View Profile WWW
March 01, 2015, 02:55:11 PM
 #11885

The cgminer averages are calculated with respect to the shares submitted to the pool, the pool difficulty and the time between two consecutive accepted shares. Either you're extremely lucky in the last 30 min or so, or something is wrong with the part accepting your shares. (It can be the "pool speed" recovering after a "slow" interval, on the pool side.)

I can bet all of your SP20 are on the same pool .. right? Try on a different pool with a couple of them for a while.

I'm using slush, I can see they report properly on the pool, and the miners report normal. all 6 of them do the same thing, and report wrong.
wh00per
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 570
Merit: 500



View Profile
March 01, 2015, 03:21:28 PM
Last edit: March 01, 2015, 03:38:16 PM by wh00per
 #11886

Yeah .. Slush gives you their version of the average hashing value (over last 10 rounds), cgminer does its own (over 1-5-15 min), based on the share transfers, and the miner itself reports something else based on the ASIC frequencies and count .. in the long run, they agree. sometimes in the short run they don't. It's called variance of the instantaneous readings versus a calculated average (which by the way, is calculated differently at every level - miner, software and pool).

Slush pool says  ..

Quote

Why is hashrate reported on my profile incorrect?
Posted by Jan (Support) on 06.12.2013 13:32:11
Hashrate shown in your account is based on statistics of your shares in last 10 rounds. If you started mining just a few hours ago (see user stats), then it may be lower than what your hashrate actually is. It's just informative, it doesn't have any impact on mining or your reward.


CSA/cUL Certified Power Distribution Panels - Basic, Switched, Metered. 1-3 phases. Up to 600V. NMC:N4F9qvHz11BHcc4nh1LCJFsrZhA1EWgVwj
takagari
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980
Merit: 1000


View Profile WWW
March 01, 2015, 04:21:02 PM
 #11887

Yeah .. Slush gives you their version of the average hashing value (over last 10 rounds), cgminer does its own (over 1-5-15 min), based on the share transfers, and the miner itself reports something else based on the ASIC frequencies and count .. in the long run, they agree. sometimes in the short run they don't. It's called variance of the instantaneous readings versus a calculated average (which by the way, is calculated differently at every level - miner, software and pool).

Slush pool says  ..

Quote

Why is hashrate reported on my profile incorrect?
Posted by Jan (Support) on 06.12.2013 13:32:11
Hashrate shown in your account is based on statistics of your shares in last 10 rounds. If you started mining just a few hours ago (see user stats), then it may be lower than what your hashrate actually is. It's just informative, it doesn't have any impact on mining or your reward.



I understand that, it averages out and can appear lower or not accurate.
They have been online for some time now, and one is infact reporting in at 3.4THash, If they were a bit off, I could understand, that's insane.
Is there another output to draw from to get what cgminer is reporting?
klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1904
Merit: 1001

ASIC Wannabe


View Profile
March 01, 2015, 04:46:39 PM
Last edit: March 01, 2015, 06:13:00 PM by klondike_bar
 #11888

Im having issues with a pair of SP10 units that im trying to undervolt for efficiency and slow fans.

at 15% fans, 600mv start, 620mv max, and 750W max, i see initial hashrates arounf 900GH/600W but it quickly has 5-10 chip errors per machine ('xxxxxxxxxxxx' all over the place in the stats tab) and drops to around 750GH/500W

am i tuning something wrong? temps seem fine with the slow fans, and the intake/exhaust is about 20/60

edit: seems that a starting voltage of 610mv eliminates the majority of 'dead' chips.

is scheduling available or planned for implementation in the SP10?

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
pekatete
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
March 01, 2015, 04:47:58 PM
 #11889

The cgminer averages are calculated with respect to the shares submitted to the pool, the pool difficulty and the time between two consecutive accepted shares. Either you're extremely lucky in the last 30 min or so, or something is wrong with the part accepting your shares. (It can be the "pool speed" recovering after a "slow" interval, on the pool side.)

I can bet all of your SP20 are on the same pool .. right? Try on a different pool with a couple of them for a while.

I'm using slush, I can see they report properly on the pool, and the miners report normal. all 6 of them do the same thing, and report wrong.

Funny you say that. Slush had an issue earlier today that I noticed too .... for about an hour (could have been longer!), the pool was not automatically setting a diff. One of my S5's was left at diff 32 (the default) a long time, I'd say half an hour to 45 minutes, and was submitting loads of shares (could tell from the accepted shares metric), until I went into the new interface at slush and manually set a diff. A pool sync followed about the time you posted this which again took longer than usual to complete .... that may explain your un-usually high rates.

Guy Corem
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190
Merit: 1029


Spondoolies, Beam & DAGlabs


View Profile WWW
March 01, 2015, 06:15:13 PM
 #11890

Congratulations to Olivier Janssens for being elected as a Bitcoin Foundation board member.
Change is coming ...

https://twitter.com/olivierjanss

New Mimblewimble implementation: https://www.beam.mw
Spondoolies is back with the SPx36: https://www.spondoolies-tech.com/products/spx36
RoadStress
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862
Merit: 1002


View Profile
March 01, 2015, 06:40:48 PM
 #11891

Congratulations to Olivier Janssens for being elected as a Bitcoin Foundation board member.
Change is coming ...

https://twitter.com/olivierjanss

Congratulations also!

H/w Hosting Directory & Reputation - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622998.0
TheRealSteve
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 500

FUN > ROI


View Profile
March 01, 2015, 07:13:02 PM
 #11892

Congratulations indeed, hopefully some of his ideals will percolate through Smiley

With relevance to this thread, only fair to provide some partial disclosure: http://www.coindesk.com/spondoolies-tech-5-million-series-b/

Guy Corem
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190
Merit: 1029


Spondoolies, Beam & DAGlabs


View Profile WWW
March 01, 2015, 07:14:32 PM
 #11893

Congratulations indeed, hopefully some of his ideals will percolate through Smiley

With relevance to this thread, only fair to provide some partial disclosure: http://www.coindesk.com/spondoolies-tech-5-million-series-b/
Indeed.

New Mimblewimble implementation: https://www.beam.mw
Spondoolies is back with the SPx36: https://www.spondoolies-tech.com/products/spx36
zvisha
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 500



View Profile
March 01, 2015, 07:54:32 PM
 #11894

Im having issues with a pair of SP10 units that im trying to undervolt for efficiency and slow fans.

at 15% fans, 600mv start, 620mv max, and 750W max, i see initial hashrates arounf 900GH/600W but it quickly has 5-10 chip errors per machine ('xxxxxxxxxxxx' all over the place in the stats tab) and drops to around 750GH/500W

am i tuning something wrong? temps seem fine with the slow fans, and the intake/exhaust is about 20/60

edit: seems that a starting voltage of 610mv eliminates the majority of 'dead' chips.

is scheduling available or planned for implementation in the SP10?

No, but it cab done from cron using ssh.
I hope someone from community can prepare a guide that I will publish.
klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1904
Merit: 1001

ASIC Wannabe


View Profile
March 01, 2015, 09:55:32 PM
 #11895

Im having issues with a pair of SP10 units that im trying to undervolt for efficiency and slow fans.

at 15% fans, 600mv start, 620mv max, and 750W max, i see initial hashrates arounf 900GH/600W but it quickly has 5-10 chip errors per machine ('xxxxxxxxxxxx' all over the place in the stats tab) and drops to around 750GH/500W

am i tuning something wrong? temps seem fine with the slow fans, and the intake/exhaust is about 20/60

edit: seems that a starting voltage of 610mv eliminates the majority of 'dead' chips.

is scheduling available or planned for implementation in the SP10?

No, but it cab done from cron using ssh.
I hope someone from community can prepare a guide that I will publish.

i tried a cronjob with cat /etc/mg_custom_mode_day > /etc/mg_custom_mode && /usr/bin/local/spond-manager restart
and while it changed the mg_custom_mode file, it failed to correctly restart the minergate. any attempts to restart minergate via the ui, ssh, or reboot seemed to not work. same with factory reset (keeping cgminer.conf). a recovery with uSD worked though.

I havent tinkered with an SP10 in some time, so am not sure if what worked fine on the SP3x is a bit different here. not sure if the problems i encountered with minergate failing  to restart are due to a difference in the way the files work. perhaps the next-best solution is either:
cp -rf /etc/mg_custom_mode_day /etc/mg_custom_mode && /usr/bin/local/spond-manager restart
or
cat /etc/mg_custom_mode_day > /etc/mg_custom_mode && reboot

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
Guy Corem
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190
Merit: 1029


Spondoolies, Beam & DAGlabs


View Profile WWW
March 02, 2015, 02:09:36 AM
 #11896

We would like to buy it back to try and analyse what happened.

We've seen another case due to bad capacitor.

Please contact sales@

New Mimblewimble implementation: https://www.beam.mw
Spondoolies is back with the SPx36: https://www.spondoolies-tech.com/products/spx36
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2156
Merit: 1460

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
March 02, 2015, 02:18:23 AM
 #11897

Should I have my hosting customer whose 2 SP10s have three blown VRMs between them contact you as well? I think August, October and January. The burns weren't quite as exciting as this one. The center of the flameout on the two instances I tore it down for a checkup after appeared to be capacitors.

Cool, quiet and up to 1TH pod miner, on sale now!
Currently in development - 200+GH USB stick; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
Guy Corem
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190
Merit: 1029


Spondoolies, Beam & DAGlabs


View Profile WWW
March 02, 2015, 02:20:59 AM
 #11898

Should I have my hosting customer whose 2 SP10s have three blown VRMs between them contact you as well? I think August, October and January. The burns weren't quite as exciting as this one. The center of the flameout on the two instances I tore it down for a checkup after appeared to be capacitors.
Yes, please do.

New Mimblewimble implementation: https://www.beam.mw
Spondoolies is back with the SPx36: https://www.spondoolies-tech.com/products/spx36
chentron
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 94
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 02, 2015, 02:21:38 AM
 #11899

having my SP20 working, it is time to install a monitor tool for all them.
Could you recommend which one to choose ?
In my rsearch I found this :

multiminer
msminer
minera
cryptoglance

any other ?
which better ?

thanks
opentoe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 1000

Personal text my ass....


View Profile WWW
March 02, 2015, 03:27:13 AM
 #11900

I know, no rush as i still need to get rid of antminers Grin

In my eyes there are basically two manufactures making hardware. Bitmain and Spondoolie. I've owned KNC, Avalon, Butterfly and others, but right now in the game I think are just these two.

I know Bitmain will eventually come out with more home mining solutions for a little while more, but it sounds like Spondoolie is only out to cater bulk orders and more commercial going forward. Is that safe to say? I think the SP20 was just a field test to see how it would work out. I think the only form factors we will be seeing from Spondoolie will be rack mountable only.

What this industry needs to do is follow what is working, the computer industry. Make a miner using a 2U form factor (or larger)  and have multiple blades in it where you can easily remove/replace/upgrade. Who wants to keep buying these monster machines when all you need is an upgraded blade. Would keep costs down, secure the company customer loyalty since their blades will only fit in their cases. Of course new software and controller boards need to be made to be able to handle many different configurations. Isn't everyone tired of buying whole entire rigs when you really don't need to?

I can just imagine myself walking into the data center, powering off my 10TH 2U Spondoolie rig, remove one of the 1TH blades and insert the new 3TH blade that just came out on the market. Can basically go from 10TH to 30TH by just swapping some blades. We don't need to keep shipping these monster 2U's all over the world. They take up to much space and there has to be some good R&D out there to make something like this happen, no?

This also would give everyone a price point they can afford. Not everyone can't buy the latest  and greatest new stuff that comes out. And course power draw would be calculated on what blades you have in the box. Maybe three PSU's. 2 to handle 30TH and one for backup.


Some posts you probably didn't read:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=521520.msg10548252#msg10548252
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=872014.msg10596723#msg10596723
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=521520.msg10551548#msg10551548

Yes, I miss a lot since most of it is technical and just getting the time to catch up on some threads takes forever. The party is over folks. Spondoolie said it themselves they are only interested in large/bulk/farm type business model going forward. We the consumer's were a big part in making that happen. It is sad to see a good manufacture doesn't want to cater to the whole market. Just deep pockets now. Capitalism at it's best. Wish everyone luck. I think bitcoin peaked anyway. I doubt we will ever see $500 again. Adios.
opentoe=pessimistic


Another one you've missed: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=521520.msg10552064#msg10552064

Spondoolie, you know just like everyone else a home user can't buy in bulk, and if that's all you are going to do in the future then the single consumer is off your marketing list. You for some reason just don't want to verbally say it. It is  your company to do with what you want, but bulk sales to just a few investment groups isn't going to help bitcoin in my opinion.

Need help with your Newznab usenet indexer? http://www.newznabforums.com
Pages: « 1 ... 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 [595] 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 ... 726 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!