Bitcoin Forum
June 24, 2018, 11:17:53 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: [Guide] Dogie's Comprehensive NanoFury II USB Setup [HD]  (Read 5358 times)
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1050


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
April 07, 2014, 11:00:54 PM
 #1

Dogie's Miner Setup Guides:
    ASICMiner Blade
ASICMiner Cube
ASICMiner Tube
ASICMiner Prisma
Avalon Avalon2
Avalon Avalon3
Avalon Avalon4
Avalon Avalon6
SpondooliesTech SP10
SpondooliesTech SP20
SpondooliesTech SP30
SpondooliesTech SP35
Technobit HEX16B
Technobit HEX8A1
Technobit HEX4M
Technobit 2HEX4M
KNCMiner Saturn/Jupiter
Bitmain AntMiner S1
Bitmain AntMiner S2
Bitmain AntMiner S3
Bitmain AntMiner S4
Bitmain AntMiner S4+
Bitmain AntMiner S5
Bitmain AntMiner S7
Bitmain AntMiner C1
Bitmain AntMiner U3
RockMiner R-Box
RockMiner New R-Box
RockMiner R3-Box
RockMiner T1
HashCoins Apollo
HashCoins Ares
NonceTech Sampo
Yiazo YBF
BTCGarden AMV1
Bitmine Coincraft Desk V2
HashRatio Tsunami
XBTech Pacific 1250
BitCrane T-110
Black Arrow Prospero X1
AMT 1.25TH
C-Scape HexFury USB
C-Scape BiFury USB
MoonlightMiner NanoFury II USB
    Gigampz PSU breakout board


    Guide meta thread
    DefaultTrust Visualisation
    Power Supply analysis guide
    Manufacturer trustworthiness guide
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


Nicely formatted version available at dogiecoin.com!



Contents:
0a) What to Expect
0b) What You Need
1) Powering
2) Cooling
3a) Configuration
3b) Overclocking (optional)
4) Troubleshooting
5) Where to buy


0a) What to Expect (top)
The NanoFury II board is designed by vs3 and features 2 Bitfury chips. It ships in a USPS cardboard sleeve and is wrapped in both copious amounts of bubble
wrap and static paper.

Chips2x Bitfury gen2
Hashrate~4GH stock, ~5GH OC'ed
Rated Voltage5V
Rated Current0.9A at stock, up to 1.9A OC'ed
Power.Consumption4.5-9.5W

 

      


0b) What You Need (top)
You will need the following:

  • A host windows PC.
  • A 1A+ USB hub (see below).


1) Powering (top)
NanoFury IIs are USB based miners, and as such are powered directly from a USB hub. Hub choice is extremely important when running multiple miners,
although external power is not required. The USB2 specification is designed to provide up to 0.5A, USB3 0.9A and so USB3 is strongly recommended.

  • Plug in the USB hub's power adapter into the mains and the USB hub.
  • Plug the NanoFury II into USB hub.

USB 3 Hub:
(Click.your.flag)
   

 
 
       
 

2) Cooling (top)
External cooling is not strictly required at stock speeds, but is strongly recommended any higher than 4GH. This can be done with the use of a simple 120mm
fan or a USB powered fan. Please be careful when handling this heatsink as the fins are very thin and so extremely sharp.

120mm Fans:
(Click.your.flag)
   

USB fan:
(Click.your.flag)
   




3a) Configuration (top)
Configuration is straight forward. Both BFG and CGMiner are currently supported and a Windows based PC is therefore recommended.

BFGMiner:
  • Plug in a USB cable from your USB hub to your PC.
  • Power the NanoFury II as above and turn the hub on.
  • No drivers need to be installed.
  • Download BFGMiner and run it.
  • Create a new text file using notepad, with your pool and miner information in it, as below. Save it as a .bat file in the same directory as BFGMiner.
  • Run the bat file to start mining.
  • It may take up to 5 minutes for 3.7-4GH to be achieved.

If you want to change pool, create a .bat file in notepad. Move the stratum proxy to the location below and put the following text inside for different pools.
Change pool port and address for different pools.

Antpool Register!
Code:
bfgminer.exe -o stratum.antpool.com:3333 -u username_worker -p anypassword
BTCGuild Register!
Code:
bfgminer.exe -o stratum.btcguild.com:3333 -u username_worker -p anypassword
GHash IO Register!
Code:
bfgminer.exe -o us1.ghash.io:3333 -u username_worker -p anypassword


3b) Overclocking (optional) (top)
Overclocking is required in order to hit 5GH.

  • Press M to manage devices.
  • Press O to enter a new oscillator bit rate.
  • 50 is default, 53 is standard OCing, 55-56 is tested cap. Do NOT exceed this. Press enter to submit the change.
  • Each chip is controlled separately, so press down to see the second chip and repeat.
  • Pressing D and then Z clears the stats so you can see the changes quicker.
  • If you have set the oscillator too high then the hardware % will rise above 5% and the chip will be reset often. If this is the case, lower the rate. Chip b
    will likely max out 1 bit below chip a.

4) Troubleshooting (top)
TBD as problems arise.

      

Legal disclaimer: This information is for general guidance and does not constitute expert advice. We are not responsible if you, your property or a third
party is injured or damaged as a result of any interaction with this information, and no warranty is provided. All text and images are covered by copyright.

5) Where to buy (top)

                    



1529839073
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529839073

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529839073
Reply with quote  #2

1529839073
Report to moderator
1529839073
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529839073

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529839073
Reply with quote  #2

1529839073
Report to moderator
1529839073
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529839073

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529839073
Reply with quote  #2

1529839073
Report to moderator
The Bitcoin software, network, and concept is called "Bitcoin" with a capitalized "B". Bitcoin currency units are called "bitcoins" with a lowercase "b" -- this is often abbreviated BTC.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1529839073
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529839073

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529839073
Reply with quote  #2

1529839073
Report to moderator
1529839073
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529839073

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529839073
Reply with quote  #2

1529839073
Report to moderator
cloverme
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386
Merit: 1040


SpacePirate.io


View Profile WWW
April 07, 2014, 11:24:00 PM
 #2

Nice write-up (as always), your antminer guide is, well, legendary.

(On a separate note, why are manufacturers still making usb miners?)
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1050


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
April 07, 2014, 11:28:29 PM
 #3

Nice write-up (as always), your antminer guide is, well, legendary.

(On a separate note, why are manufacturers still making usb miners?)

Thanks Smiley

USBs fit with the message of bitcoin which is decentralisation. Imagine if there were no larger miners, only usbs. You could only have a few per person without hubs, so the network would be extremely spread out. The same message applies even with the network size as it is. Plus they look cool and make good gifts/learning aids.

stex2009
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1000


View Profile
April 08, 2014, 12:23:05 AM
 #4

I have asked this same question elsewhere too, but just want to ask here as well as you have so much experience with these.
So, if I use these on 49 port hubs, with a PSU that gives 5V X 30 A, I am safe to run close to 25-28 of these units.
and, if i get a PSU which can do 5V X 50 A, I can run over 45 or so safely?
Is there any risk involved if i do this with original 49 port hubs by AM?
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1050


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
April 08, 2014, 12:52:15 AM
 #5

Nicely formatted version available at www.dogiecoin.com!

dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1050


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
April 08, 2014, 12:54:07 AM
 #6

I have asked this same question elsewhere too, but just want to ask here as well as you have so much experience with these.
So, if I use these on 49 port hubs, with a PSU that gives 5V X 30 A, I am safe to run close to 25-28 of these units.
and, if i get a PSU which can do 5V X 50 A, I can run over 45 or so safely?
Is there any risk involved if i do this with original 49 port hubs by AM?
You'll have to experiment yourself but I would be surprised if the hub couldn't handle 25 or so of these @ 4GHz and 30A supply. 50A might be pushing the internal wiring a bit much.

dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1050


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
May 29, 2014, 01:54:16 AM
 #7

Updated to latest style and upgraded photos.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!