Bitcoin Forum
November 22, 2017, 06:22:15 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: [Guide] Dogie's Comprehensive Bitmain AntMiner S2 Setup [HD]  (Read 62113 times)
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
March 16, 2014, 02:41:25 PM
 #1

Dogie's Miner Setup Guides:
    ASICMiner Blade
ASICMiner Cube
ASICMiner Tube
ASICMiner Prisma
Avalon Avalon2
Avalon Avalon3
Avalon Avalon4
Avalon Avalon6
SpondooliesTech SP10
SpondooliesTech SP20
SpondooliesTech SP30
SpondooliesTech SP35
Technobit HEX16B
Technobit HEX8A1
Technobit HEX4M
Technobit 2HEX4M
KNCMiner Saturn/Jupiter
Bitmain AntMiner S1
Bitmain AntMiner S2
Bitmain AntMiner S3
Bitmain AntMiner S4
Bitmain AntMiner S4+
Bitmain AntMiner S5
Bitmain AntMiner S7
Bitmain AntMiner C1
Bitmain AntMiner U3
RockMiner R-Box
RockMiner New R-Box
RockMiner R3-Box
RockMiner T1
HashCoins Apollo
HashCoins Ares
NonceTech Sampo
Yiazo YBF
BTCGarden AMV1
Bitmine Coincraft Desk V2
HashRatio Tsunami
XBTech Pacific 1250
BitCrane T-110
Black Arrow Prospero X1
AMT 1.25TH
C-Scape HexFury USB
C-Scape BiFury USB
MoonlightMiner NanoFury II USB
    Gigampz PSU breakout board


    Guide meta thread
    DefaultTrust Visualisation
    Power Supply analysis guide
    Manufacturer trustworthiness guide
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


Nicely formatted version available at dogiecoin.com!



Contents:
0a) What to Expect
0b) What You Need
1) Powering
2) Cooling
3) Case
4) Configuration
5) Troubleshooting
6) Where to buy


0a) What to Expect (top)
The AntMiner S2 uses the same BM1380 as found in the network dominating S1, but are underclocked to increase power efficiency and allow for higher hash
rate density. 10 hashing boards are mounted onto a perpendicular motherboard in a 4U case along with a BeagleBone controller card. S2s are shipped in
custom expanded foam moulds and a bubble wrap jacket. A power cable, 19" rack mounting rails + screws and rubber feet are included.

Chips640x Bitmain BM1380 Gen1
Hashrate~1000GH stock
Rated Voltage12V
Power.Consumption1050-1150W

 

      
 
      
 
      


0b) What You Need (top)
You will need the following:


                             Click your flag to find everything you need to get started at Amazon!             
                    
                                         


1) Powering (top)
AntMiner S2s come with an internal Enermax EPM1000EWT ATX power supply, costing $250 on the open market. 6x 6pin PCI-E cables plug into the
motherboard which feeds the hashing boards via PCI style slots. We also need to tell the PSU to always be on, as there isn't a motherboard to do this.
Cut a paper clip into a U and insert it into the green wire and either black wire to the side of the green wire. Tape it up for safety. The power supply
will now be controlled by its switch on the rear socket.

  • Plug the PSU into the mains.
  • Power is controlled by the rocker switch on the PSU.

      


2) Cooling (top)
Cooling is performed by 4x140mm 25mm thick JDH14025B fans manufactured by Jiang Shan Lai Electronics. Two fans exhaust in conjunction with
three intaking fresh air. They are PWM controlled by the firmware and plug in via 4 pin headers to the motherboard. Noise levels are very reasonable when
ambient temperatures are kept <25C. The fans slowly step up to deal with the hottest module temperature. Each mining board has a full cover aluminium
finned heatsink.
 
      
 



3) Case (top)
The case of the AntMiner S2 is designed be rack-mountable in a 19" wide rack (482.6mm) and occupy 4U of slots (176mm). They are stackable and can
operate on their sides without problems. The S2 includes an LCD screen which displays the IP address, hash rate and max chip temperature.


Shipped weight of an S2 is 18kg, dimensions of the shipping box are 530 x 530 x 300mm. External dimensions of the case are 442* x 432 x 177mm
(+100mm for cabling).


      


4) Configuration (top)
Configuration is straight forward as the AntMiner S2 is standalone and does not require an external controller.

  • Power on as above.
  • Plug in a network cable from the S2 to your router.
  • Change your router's subnet to 1, ie 192.168.1.x. This is just temporary. If this is not possible, see below indented steps.
    • Unplug your computer from all internet sources.
    • Plug in a network cable from the S2 to your computer.
    • Navigate to Control Panel -> Network and Sharing Centre -> Change Adapter Settings
    • Right click on your ethernet adapter -> Properties
    • Click on "Internet Protocol Version 4" and click properties
    • Select "Use the following IP address" and enter the following:
    • IP Address: 192.168.1.1, Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0, Default Gateway: 192.168.1.99
    • Resume normal steps.
  • Using a browser, navigate to 192.168.1.99 - this goes to the S2's configuration page.
  • If you have multiple S2s, you'll have to connect them one by one and change the IP as you go. If you don't you'll have conflicting IPs.
  • Login using 'root' as both the user and password.
  • (Optional) Navigate to Network -> Settings. Change protocol to DHCP client. Save and apply. This step will allow the S2 to accept an assigned IP
    address as controlled by your router.
  • Navigate to Miner Configuration and enter 3 pool information. Save and apply.
  • You can then change your router subnet back to 192.168.1.x or whatever you are used to using.
  • (if optional DHCP step was done...) Navigate to your router and look up list of clients. Find the IP the AntMiner has now been assigned and navigate
    to that.
  • Login if prompted and navigate to status -> Miner Status and watch check the unit is hashing.

Antpool Register!
Code:
Servers : stratum.antpool.com:3333
User    : username.worker or username_worker - auto creates workers!
Password: anypassword
BTCGuild Register!
Code:
Servers : stratum.btcguild.com:3333
User    : username_worker
Password: anypassword
GHash IO Register!
Code:
Servers : us1.ghash.io:3333
User    : username.worker  - auto creates workers!
Password: anypassword




5) Troubleshooting (top)

ProblemSolution
"x" in a row on miner configuration page- There are just a few faulty chips - nothing we can do. Hash rate will be barely affected.
Almost all "x" on one row of "Chips"- A mini hashing board inside is faulty or lose. Open up the case and take a look.
Almost all "x" on all rows of "Chips"- Check that the power supply is properly plugged into the motherboard, and that all the
cards are seated properly. If no luck, try with a second power supply.
How do I change the login password?- Navigate to System -> Administration. Enter the current password and enter your new one
twice.
What is the SSH login?- Username "root", password "admin".
My hashing boards came loose during shipping!- This is a known problem and one Bitmain are working to resolve. Open the case up and
carefully remove all the hashing boards. Inspect for damage on the boards and the slots in the
motherboard. If everything looks okay, straighten up the slots, plug the hashing boards back in
and fire up. If only one board appears damaged, remove that and contact your seller.
Can I turn the beeping off when the miner stops mining?- Navigate to Miner configuration and untick the box "Beeper Ringing".
I can connect to the Antminer but its not hashing?- Navigate to Network -> Settings and make sure "Gateway" is set to the IP of your router.
What temperatures should I aim for?- Try and achieve <50 for best hash rates, and <60 for long lifetimes. Temperatures should not
be let to rise above 65C unless doing testing.
Where can I get the latest firmware?- Download from Bitmain's site.
How can I tell what firmware version I have now?- Navigate to System -> Overview and look at "File System Version".
How do I install the latest firmware?- Download firmware as above. Navigate to System -> Upgrade and click "browse". Select the
downloaded file and click "Flash image". Do NOT interrupt this process or you will brick the unit.
How do I reset settings to default?- Use a paper clip to press the reset button - located next to the ethernet connector - down
for 5-10 seconds. The miner will then reset with stock settings.
My.power.supply's.cables.are.braided.or.aren't.color.coded- See below diagram for pin-outs.

      

Legal disclaimer: This information is for general guidance and does not constitute expert advice. We are not responsible if you, your property or a third
party is injured or damaged as a result of any interaction with this information, and no warranty is provided. All text and images are covered by copyright.

6) Where to buy (top)

                    
                                         
            


1511331735
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511331735

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511331735
Reply with quote  #2

1511331735
Report to moderator
1511331735
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511331735

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511331735
Reply with quote  #2

1511331735
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511331735
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511331735

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511331735
Reply with quote  #2

1511331735
Report to moderator
1511331735
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511331735

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511331735
Reply with quote  #2

1511331735
Report to moderator
1511331735
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511331735

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511331735
Reply with quote  #2

1511331735
Report to moderator
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
March 16, 2014, 02:49:01 PM
 #2

*reserved*

klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1638

ASIC wannabe


View Profile
March 16, 2014, 03:10:18 PM
 #3

*reserved*

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461 also selling 6" M-F-M PCIe splitters and PCIe-PCIe
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
March 16, 2014, 04:11:44 PM
 #4

*reserved*
*reserving reservation on reserve*

frankenmint
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064


HoneybadgerOfMoney.com Weed4bitcoin.com


View Profile WWW
April 03, 2014, 09:49:55 PM
 #5

Reserved™

setting up referral codes via amazon affiliates on a seperate How to guide website is smarter then embedding them on posts here, I will give you that. 

S4VV4S
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile
April 03, 2014, 11:24:07 PM
 #6

Reserved, for the Federal Reserve  Grin

Just kidding, I am just following this thread  Grin
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
April 03, 2014, 11:34:26 PM
 #7

Looks like I'm in B2 so it will be a few days at least, boo Sad

stewdk
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46


View Profile
April 14, 2014, 11:21:46 PM
 #8

Logins
web: root/root
SSH: root/admin

Overclocking
You have to edit /config/asic-freq.config, not /etc/asic-freq.config
After you make your edits, go to the miner configuration page and click save & apply to restart cgminer without rebooting.

Files may or may not revert to their original state after a reboot.

For info about what values to put for freq_value and things see https://github.com/AntMiner/AntGen1/blob/master/cgminer/README.md and https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=348327.msg4549088#msg4549088 (these links are for the S1, but should also be applicable to the S2).

EDIT:
I just wanted to cross post this here from the other thread since my batch 1 S2 also experienced the symptoms described below, and I solved it by following these steps.  I've mirrored the SD card image here: http://ec2.stew.dk/bitmain.img.zip
sha1sum of the zip: b784d546095bc35eb693b0948a11c11df4cdd21d
sha256sum of the zip: c0a2d89b342b880dbc960c1a6d42b22c583df523cc548771f132303dca0c5d9b
After having no setup issues and running great for the last couple of weeks, I woke up this morning to find my batch 1 AntMiner S2 not hashing, fans going full speed, panel dim and the red light solid. Recalling that others here have had the same issue, I went back and skimmed over the previous posts and found that the likely issue was probably a corrupt SD card. That was indeed the case, as I am now back up and running, and I figure the problem started when a brief power outage occurred here this morning. Thought I would briefly summarize what I did to recover, which may be of special interest to those folks using a Mac to write to their SD cards:

- ran to the store and bought a 4gb Sandisk microSD card. They didn't have any class 10 cards, only class 4, but it seems to work (ordered a couple class 10s from Amazon for backup).
- Downloaded onto my MacBook the latest firmware from the bitmaintech website, as well as the SD card image from https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/16075357/bitmain.img.zip (thanks 1l1l11ll1l)
- put the new microSD card in the adapter, shoved it into my MacBook, read through the guide at http://elinux.org/RPi_Easy_SD_Card_Setup, and then ran these commands in Terminal:
   cd Desktop (my bitmain.img was on the desktop)
   diskutil list (to find the disk name of SD card, mine was disk2, so replace disk2 below with what yours is)
   diskutil unmountDisk /dev/disk2
   sudo dd bs=1m if=bitmain.img of=/dev/disk2 (this took 30 minutes to complete)
- once SD card was ready, I opened up the AntMiner, pulled out the BeagleBone card, swapped SD cards and reassembled
- powered up, and it started hashing again. Connected to the miner from the browser, uploaded the latest firmware, changed to point to my pool, and everything was golden.

Much thanks to all of previous posters that talked about this issue, as your help got me back up in hours as opposed to days.
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
April 14, 2014, 11:28:00 PM
 #9

Logins
web: root/root
SSH: root/admin

Overclocking
You have to edit /config/asic-freq.config, not /etc/asic-freq.config
After you make your edits, go to the miner configuration page and click save & apply to restart cgminer without rebooting.

Files may or may not revert to their original state after a reboot.

Thanks. Paws crossed for my unit tomorrow.

dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
April 18, 2014, 04:21:27 AM
 #10

Guide now up!

hdbuck
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274



View Profile
April 18, 2014, 04:55:02 AM
 #11

good work man! Smiley
waiting for the overclocking test results
Zelek Uther
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672


Run a Bitcoin node.


View Profile
April 18, 2014, 05:03:13 AM
 #12

Another superb guide, thanks Dogie!

BTW your photos are amazing.

Run a Bitcoin node, support the network.
How to compile and run bitcoind on a Raspberry Pi
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
April 18, 2014, 03:05:59 PM
 #13

Another superb guide, thanks Dogie!

BTW your photos are amazing.

Thanks, the photos really take a lot of time!

dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
April 18, 2014, 03:31:50 PM
 #14

Post a screenshot of your network config, and one of cmd with ipconfig /all

miroman86
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
April 19, 2014, 12:53:53 AM
 #15

Is there a quick fix for the high Stale and Dupe shares? Thank you!

Edit: My PSU died, wondering if these high stale and dupe shares are the results of a not so good PSU...

finlof
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile
April 19, 2014, 02:19:21 AM
 #16

edgar - PM me and I'll see if I cant help you.
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
April 19, 2014, 06:31:27 AM
 #17

Is there a quick fix for the high Stale and Dupe shares? Thank you!

Edit: My PSU died, wondering if these high stale and dupe shares are the results of a not so good PSU...
Unlikely, they're not a symptom of power issues.

imar2014
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile
April 19, 2014, 04:26:44 PM
 #18

After mining for 2d11h33m28s with my B2 S2 i have the following :

Accepted : 138173
Rejected : 546
Discarded : 3527868

Can anyone tell me why this number is so huge, and does it matter, and explanation of this would be appreciated ?
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
April 19, 2014, 04:40:28 PM
 #19

After mining for 2d11h33m28s with my B2 S2 i have the following :

Accepted : 138173
Rejected : 546
Discarded : 3527868

Can anyone tell me why this number is so huge, and does it matter, and explanation of this would be appreciated ?
Because accepted is at difficulty 1024 and rej + disc are at difficulty 1. Adjusted you get:

A 141,489,152
R 546
D 3,527,868
=~2.5%

Crazy4Crypto
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
April 19, 2014, 11:50:52 PM
 #20

Great Post -- THANK YOU!

This is my first AntMiner and so far so good.

Tweaked to 200 on the freq and after 2 days it is averaging ~25GH higher.

Tried 250 without any luck. Even tried with only 4 mining boards in case it was drawing too much power.

Hoping there is some good headroom to overclock ...

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!