Bitcoin Forum
December 14, 2017, 10:39:26 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [Guide] Dogie's Comprehensive Bitmain AntMiner S1 Setup [HD]  (Read 111311 times)
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
December 03, 2013, 03:09:50 AM
#1

Dogie's Miner Setup Guides:
    ASICMiner Blade
ASICMiner Cube
ASICMiner Tube
ASICMiner Prisma
Avalon Avalon2
Avalon Avalon3
Avalon Avalon4
Avalon Avalon6
SpondooliesTech SP10
SpondooliesTech SP20
SpondooliesTech SP30
SpondooliesTech SP35
Technobit HEX16B
Technobit HEX8A1
Technobit HEX4M
Technobit 2HEX4M
KNCMiner Saturn/Jupiter
Bitmain AntMiner S1
Bitmain AntMiner S2
Bitmain AntMiner S3
Bitmain AntMiner S4
Bitmain AntMiner S4+
Bitmain AntMiner S5
Bitmain AntMiner S7
Bitmain AntMiner C1
Bitmain AntMiner U3
RockMiner R-Box
RockMiner New R-Box
RockMiner R3-Box
RockMiner T1
HashCoins Apollo
HashCoins Ares
NonceTech Sampo
Yiazo YBF
BTCGarden AMV1
Bitmine Coincraft Desk V2
HashRatio Tsunami
XBTech Pacific 1250
BitCrane T-110
Black Arrow Prospero X1
AMT 1.25TH
C-Scape HexFury USB
C-Scape BiFury USB
MoonlightMiner NanoFury II USB
    Gigampz PSU breakout board


    Guide meta thread
    DefaultTrust Visualisation
    Power Supply analysis guide
    Manufacturer trustworthiness guide
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


Nicely formatted version available at dogiecoin.com!



Contents:
0a) What to Expect
0b) What You Need
1) Powering
2) Cooling
3) Case
4) Configuration
5) Troubleshooting
6) Where to buy


0a) What to Expect (top)
The AntMiner S1 has two hashing boards and an onboard controller featuring wifi. A single 120mm fan provides cooling to the aluminium heatsinks. This
unit only has one mining board and a screw terminal as it is a very early model. Consumer units come with both a screw terminal and a PCI-E port.

Chips64x Bitmain BM1380 Gen1
Hashrate~180GH
Rated Voltage12V
Rated Current30A
Power.Consumption360W




0b) What You Need (top)
You will need a few accessories and a power supply to get started.


                             Click your flag to find everything you need to get started at Amazon!             
                    
                                         


1) Powering (top)
S1's do not come with a power supply, and you will need a typical computer PSU with 2xPCI-E 6 pin power connectors. We also need to tell the PSU to
always be on, as there isn't a motherboard to do this. Cut a paper clip into a U and insert it into the
green wire and either black wire to the side of the green wire. Tape it up for safety. The power supply
will now be controlled by its switch on the rear socket.



Note: Those with newer AntMiners that come with 2x PCI-E connectors attached can skip to step 2.

Then, we have a few options for cable choice. The preferred option is an 8 pin PCI-E extension cable. Next is a 4 pin ATX connector, and finally TWO
molex connectors via a molex splitter. Regardless with what you go with, the wire preparation below is the same.

Cut the black [ground] and yellow [12V] cables at the end of each split, then tape the connectors with remaining red wire [5V] together or remove
entirely*. Only required for molex connectors, the rest do not have 5V cables. Strip back about 0.5cm from each cable end, with wire strippers or otherwise.
I just use typical scissors, seem to do the job fine.

Then we will screw them in to the connector provided with the AntMiner. The polarity is drawn on the side of the PCB, the black cables are grounds (-ve),
the yellow is (12V +ve). There are 3 of each and I would recommend populating as many as possible.

Wire prep for 4 pin ATX connectors:
                           


You can do the same process with 6/8 pin PCI-E extenders or 4 pin molex connectors. *These pictures are for an ASICMiner blade who's screw terminal
is only 4 pin:
                  

Finished wiring:



2) Cooling (top)
AntMiners come with a NMB 4715KL 120mm fan which can get quite loud above ~23C ambient and so I would recommend the addition of a second case
fan in push/pull configuration. This can be powered by the free 4 pin PWM connection on the second miner.

      




3) Case (top)
AntMiners are self standing and designed to be stackable. I would however recommend something rubbery to stand them on as they can vibrate against
surfaces at higher fan RPMs. Dimensions are 135 mm x 155 mm x 300 mm.

      


4) Configuration (top)
The S1 is standalone and does not require an external controller.

Wiring:
  • Prepare the paper clip for the PSU's 24 pin connector.
  • Prepare the screw terminal / Plug in the two PCI-E cables to the miner.
  • Plug in an ethernet cable from the AntMiner to you router.


Configuration:
  • Power on as above.
  • Make sure that your router's subnet is 2, ie 192.168.2.x. If not then change it to 2, this is just temporary. ***If this is not possible, see below***
  • Using a browser, navigate to the IP address on the side of your AntMiner. This goes to the AntMiner's configuration page.
  • Login using 'root' as both the user and password.
  • Navigate to Network -> Interfaces -> Lan -> Edit
  • Change protocol to DHCP client. Save and apply. This step will allow the S1 to accept an assigned IP address as controlled by your router.
  • Navigate to your router and look up list of clients. Find the IP the AntMiner has now been assigned and navigate to that.
  • Navigate to Network -> Interfaces -> wifi -> Add your wifi network if you have attached an antenna. It may work within a small range without one.
  • Navigate to Status -> Miner Configuration and enter pool information in the below format. Click save and apply.
  • You can then change your router subnet back to whatever you are used to using.

Alternative Subnet Change:
  • Unplug your computer from all internet sources.
  • Plug in an ethernet cable from the AntMiner to your computer.
  • Navigate to Control Panel -> Network and Sharing Centre -> Change Adapter Settings.
  • Right click on your ethernet adapter -> Properties.
  • Click on "Internet Protocol Version 4" and click properties.
  • Select "Use the following IP address" and enter the following:
  • IP Address: 192.168.2.1, Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0, Default Gateway: 192.168.2.100.
  • Plug in an ethernet cable from the AntMiner to you router.
  • Restart the configuration instructions as above.

Antpool Register!
Code:
Servers : stratum+tcp://stratum.antpool.com:3333
User    : username.worker or username_worker - auto creates workers!
Password: anypassword
BTCGuild Register!
Code:
Servers : stratum+tcp://stratum.btcguild.com:3333
User    : username_worker
Password: anypassword
GHash IO Register!
Code:
Servers : stratum+tcp://us1.ghash.io:3333
User    : username.worker  - auto creates workers!
Password: anypassword




5) Troubleshooting (top)

"I can hear clicking": Your AntMiner is not connected to the internet - check your connection and network setup.


ProblemSolution
"x".in.a.row.on.miner.configuration.page- There is a faulty chip - nothing we can do. Hash rate will be affected by ~3%.
Almost all "x" on one row of "Chips"- A hashing board may be mispowered or faulty. Recheck your cabling and PSU.
How do I change the login password?- Navigate to System -> Administration. Enter the current password and enter your new one twice.
What is the SSH login?- Username is "root", password is "root".
I can connect to the AntMiner but its not hashing?-  Set the protocol to DHCP via Navigate to Network -> Interfaces -> Lan -> Edit.
Where can I get the latest firmware?- Download from Bitmain's site.
How can I tell what firmware version I have now?- Navigate to System -> Overview and look at "File System Version".
How do I install the latest firmware?- Download firmware as above. Navigate to System -> Upgrade and click "browse". Select the
downloaded file and click "Flash image". Do NOT interrupt this process or you will brick the unit.
How do I reset settings to default?- Use a paper clip to press the reset button - located next to the ethernet connector - down for
5-10 seconds. The miner will then reset with stock settings.
My.power.supply's.cables.are.braided.or.aren't.color.coded- See below diagram for pin-outs.

      

      
 
      


Legal disclaimer: This information is for general guidance and does not constitute expert advice. We are not responsible if you, your property or a third
party is injured or damaged as a result of any interaction with this information, and no warranty is provided. All text and images are covered by copyright.

6) Where to buy (top)

                    
                                         



Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513247966
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513247966

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513247966
Reply with quote  #2

1513247966
Report to moderator
1513247966
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513247966

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513247966
Reply with quote  #2

1513247966
Report to moderator
goxed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708


Mining hardware dev and reviewer.


View Profile
December 03, 2013, 03:36:52 AM
#2

woof

Looking to review Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
December 03, 2013, 03:40:15 AM
#3

woof
Grrrrrr

Sitarow
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680



View Profile
December 03, 2013, 03:48:03 AM
#4

Nice work on the guide.
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
December 03, 2013, 03:52:09 AM
#5

Nice work on the guide.

Thanks. I expected to be more trouble shooting points but so far there literally isn't anything - they're just working. They've taken the barebones 'blade' approach of ASICMiner and combined it with the [relatively] advanced software of Avalon to create something really nice and compact.

btcguy38
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
December 03, 2013, 04:05:51 AM
#6

Thank you for this guide.

Do you have a recommendation on make/model for the second fan in a double setup that would fit and also plug into the second unit?

Thanks again
klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652

ASIC wannabe


View Profile
December 03, 2013, 04:15:12 AM
#7

Thank you for this guide.

Do you have a recommendation on make/model for the second fan in a double setup that would fit and also plug into the second unit?

Thanks again

you need a 120mm PWM fan capable of the highest airflow possible. at least 70CFM - the original is capable of >90CFM
---Additionally, the mounting holes are NOT the same size as case holes. you MUST use M3 nuts/bolts or rubber pull-through pegs as the typical screws that come with the fan will not fit.


24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461 also selling 6" M-F-M PCIe splitters and PCIe-PCIe
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
December 03, 2013, 04:23:51 AM
#8

Thank you for this guide.

Do you have a recommendation on make/model for the second fan in a double setup that would fit and also plug into the second unit?

Thanks again

you need a 120mm PWM fan capable of the highest airflow possible. at least 70CFM - the original is capable of >90CFM
---Additionally, the mounting holes are NOT the same size as case holes. you MUST use M3 nuts/bolts or rubber pull-through pegs as the typical screws that come with the fan will not fit.



This.

The exact fan doesn't matter as much as its specs, they're all running on the same brand of physics.

btcguy38
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
December 03, 2013, 04:30:56 AM
#9

Thank you for this guide.

Do you have a recommendation on make/model for the second fan in a double setup that would fit and also plug into the second unit?

Thanks again

you need a 120mm PWM fan capable of the highest airflow possible. at least 70CFM - the original is capable of >90CFM
---Additionally, the mounting holes are NOT the same size as case holes. you MUST use M3 nuts/bolts or rubber pull-through pegs as the typical screws that come with the fan will not fit.



Would something like this work?  and connect to the board?

http://www.amazon.com/Cooler-Master-JetFlo-120-Performance/dp/B00E20SSZ8/ref=sr_1_10?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1386044772&sr=1-10&keywords=120mm+fan

Thanks
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
December 03, 2013, 04:55:00 AM
#10

Thank you for this guide.

Do you have a recommendation on make/model for the second fan in a double setup that would fit and also plug into the second unit?

Thanks again

you need a 120mm PWM fan capable of the highest airflow possible. at least 70CFM - the original is capable of >90CFM
---Additionally, the mounting holes are NOT the same size as case holes. you MUST use M3 nuts/bolts or rubber pull-through pegs as the typical screws that come with the fan will not fit.



Would something like this work?  and connect to the board?

http://www.amazon.com/Cooler-Master-JetFlo-120-Performance/dp/B00E20SSZ8/ref=sr_1_10?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1386044772&sr=1-10&keywords=120mm+fan

Thanks

Bit on the slower side but yes.

klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652

ASIC wannabe


View Profile
December 03, 2013, 05:51:47 AM
#11

Thank you for this guide.

Do you have a recommendation on make/model for the second fan in a double setup that would fit and also plug into the second unit?

Thanks again

you need a 120mm PWM fan capable of the highest airflow possible. at least 70CFM - the original is capable of >90CFM
---Additionally, the mounting holes are NOT the same size as case holes. you MUST use M3 nuts/bolts or rubber pull-through pegs as the typical screws that come with the fan will not fit.


Would something like this work?  and connect to the board?
http://www.amazon.com/Cooler-Master-JetFlo-120-Performance/dp/B00E20SSZ8/ref=sr_1_10?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1386044772&sr=1-10&keywords=120mm+fan

Thanks
Bit on the slower side but yes.

seems pretty good. 95CFM should push well, and the spped seems okay (the miner stats show a speed that does not correlate directly to RPM i think, as my 1800RPM max fan usually reads at 2200-2900)

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461 also selling 6" M-F-M PCIe splitters and PCIe-PCIe
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
Xian01
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316


󮀓1刎


View Profile
December 03, 2013, 07:19:10 AM
#12

Nice work on the guide.
Thanks. I expected to be more trouble shooting points but so far there literally isn't anything

 I've had a hell of a time trying to get it working over wireless after plugging in a big-ass antenna Sad Futzed around for an hour or so and gave up for fear of screwing up the network settings, and went back to Ethernet.

 Will try mucking around some more when my next units come in. Woop !!!
cxboyminer
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588

faucetbag.com - Up to 10000 Satoshis per 15 mins


View Profile WWW
December 03, 2013, 08:33:54 AM
#13

miao~~~~ Nice thread Smiley

viriat0
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


View Profile
December 03, 2013, 12:30:40 PM
#14

Good Work dogie dogie!!
btcguy38
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
December 03, 2013, 12:41:49 PM
#15

If setting up a double and using the Corsair 800 GS that is recommended.

Does the PSU have 2 x 8 pin PCI-E?
Or
Which connectors would I use for the second unit?

Thanks
klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652

ASIC wannabe


View Profile
December 03, 2013, 12:50:42 PM
#16

Nice work on the guide.
Thanks. I expected to be more trouble shooting points but so far there literally isn't anything

 I've had a hell of a time trying to get it working over wireless after plugging in a big-ass antenna Sad Futzed around for an hour or so and gave up for fear of screwing up the network settings, and went back to Ethernet.

 Will try mucking around some more when my next units come in. Woop !!!

i havent buged around with wifi yet, but i plan to on my second unit. I intent to ziptie a 600w PSU to the side/top and install an antennae so that the miner can be deployed in a corner, closet, or outsoor (cold) enclosure

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461 also selling 6" M-F-M PCIe splitters and PCIe-PCIe
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
JohnC.
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30


View Profile
December 03, 2013, 01:09:35 PM
#17

Just to be sure, if i have an 600W PSU with 2 dedicated PCI-E 8pins connectors, then 1 PCI-E 8pins connector per blade will be sufficient enough?
kmtan
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


I love Bitcoin


View Profile
December 03, 2013, 02:50:26 PM
#18

bravo setup thread...

conv3rsion
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 307


View Profile
December 03, 2013, 05:10:47 PM
#19

Thank you Dogie!
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
December 03, 2013, 05:41:43 PM
#20

seems pretty good. 95CFM should push well, and the spped seems okay (the miner stats show a speed that does not correlate directly to RPM i think, as my 1800RPM max fan usually reads at 2200-2900)

This is the stock fan my unit is running, which suggests 108CFM. If you compare the power consumptions however you can see that the proposed fan is a bit of a fake 95CFM. The dashboard also appears to be doubling the actual RPM of the fan from ~2950 to ~5900

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!