Bitcoin Forum
June 20, 2018, 04:18:04 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: [Guide] Dogie's Comprehensive XBTec Pacific 1250 Setup [HD]  (Read 8170 times)
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1050


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
August 09, 2014, 04:17:09 PM
 #1

Dogie's Miner Setup Guides:
    ASICMiner Blade
ASICMiner Cube
ASICMiner Tube
ASICMiner Prisma
Avalon Avalon2
Avalon Avalon3
Avalon Avalon4
Avalon Avalon6
SpondooliesTech SP10
SpondooliesTech SP20
SpondooliesTech SP30
SpondooliesTech SP35
Technobit HEX16B
Technobit HEX8A1
Technobit HEX4M
Technobit 2HEX4M
KNCMiner Saturn/Jupiter
Bitmain AntMiner S1
Bitmain AntMiner S2
Bitmain AntMiner S3
Bitmain AntMiner S4
Bitmain AntMiner S4+
Bitmain AntMiner S5
Bitmain AntMiner S7
Bitmain AntMiner C1
Bitmain AntMiner U3
RockMiner R-Box
RockMiner New R-Box
RockMiner R3-Box
RockMiner T1
HashCoins Apollo
HashCoins Ares
NonceTech Sampo
Yiazo YBF
BTCGarden AMV1
Bitmine Coincraft Desk V2
HashRatio Tsunami
XBTech Pacific 1250
BitCrane T-110
Black Arrow Prospero X1
AMT 1.25TH
C-Scape HexFury USB
C-Scape BiFury USB
MoonlightMiner NanoFury II USB
    Gigampz PSU breakout board


    Guide meta thread
    DefaultTrust Visualisation
    Power Supply analysis guide
    Manufacturer trustworthiness guide
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


Nicely formatted version available at dogiecoin.com!



Contents:
0a) What to Expect
0b) What You Need
1) Powering
2) Cooling
3) Case
4) Configuration
5) Troubleshooting
6) Where to buy



0a) What to Expect (top)
XBTec is jumping straight in at the deep end with a large 1.25TH unit of ASICMiner's generation 3 chips across 9 blades. Each blade plugs into a backpane
motherboard and sits upright within a 4U chassis. A Raspberry Pi is included internally as the controller. This is the V1 Pacific 1250, and a V2 is due very soon with a number of improvements built in.

Chips126x ASICMiner Gen3
Hashrate1250GH
Rated Voltage12V
Rated Current104A
Power.Consumption~1250W

 

      

      
 

0b) What You Need (top)
You will need a few accessories to get started.


                             Click your flag to find everything you need to get started at Amazon!             
                    
                                         


1) Powering (top)
Pacific 1250s come with a custom made 1600W PSU in an unusual formfactor, although they can be replaced with an external PSU. You will require 5 PCI-E
cables and a micro USB power cable for the included Raspberry Pi.

      
 
       
 

2) Cooling (top)
Three 120mm Fan-Cooling FD12038BD1 fans are used to drive air through the unit, and are manually controlled at two speed settings. Three red switches at
the back of the unit bump the fan speeds from 50% to 100% for high ambient applications. The rear of each module features a full cover, aluminium heatsink.

Noise levels are extremely reasonable at 50%, while 100% fans are loud. It should be noted that no consumer should ever need the 100% mode as it is
designed for farm use only.

      

      
 



3) Case (top)
The Pacific 1250's case is extremely thick steel and almost impervious to damage, although at the same time is very heavy. The case is designed to be rack
mountable in a 19" wide rack (482.6mm), or stacked vertically. External dimensions of the case are 550 x 430 x 176mm.

      
 
      


4) Configuration (top)
Configuration is relatively straight forward, although this is a very early alpha consumer build so some steps may change.

Wiring:
  • Plug in an ethernet cable from the Pacific 1250 to you router.
  • Plug in a power cable from the mains to the PSU. The unit will automatically power on.

Configuration:
  • Navigate to your router and find the list of devices.
  • Using a browser, navigate to the IP assigned to the Pacific 1250 by your router.
  • Login using "Pi" as the username and "raspberyy" as the password.
  • Navigate to "Pools", and click "Add New". Enter Your miner information in the below format click save.
  • Click "switch" to your new pool, and "remove" to any other default pool.
  • Navigate to "Dashboard" to check mining has started.

Antpool Register!
Code:
Servers : stratum.antpool.com:3333
User    : username.worker or username_worker - auto creates workers!
Password: anypassword
BTCGuild Register!
Code:
Servers : stratum.btcguild.com:3333
User    : username_worker
Password: anypassword
GHash IO Register!
Code:
Servers : us1.ghash.io:3333
User    : username.worker  - auto creates workers!
Password: anypassword

      




5) Troubleshooting (top)
TBD as problems arise.

      
 

Legal disclaimer: This information is for general guidance and does not constitute expert advice. We are not responsible if you, your property or a third
party is injured or damaged as a result of any interaction with this information, and no warranty is provided. All text and images are covered by copyright.

6) Where to buy (top)

                    
            


1529511485
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529511485

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529511485
Reply with quote  #2

1529511485
Report to moderator
1529511485
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529511485

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529511485
Reply with quote  #2

1529511485
Report to moderator
1529511485
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529511485

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529511485
Reply with quote  #2

1529511485
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1529511485
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529511485

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529511485
Reply with quote  #2

1529511485
Report to moderator
Collider
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 09, 2014, 05:36:13 PM
 #2

Nice review and pics, Dogie.

Have you done any mid/long-term testing to find out the average hardware error rate / poolside performance?

Are you going to provide screenshots from the hashing unit or is the GUI still so ugly you would rather not have anyone see it?


▀███████████▄▄
██▄▀█████████████▄
████        ▀▀█████▄
████           ▀▀▀▀▀
████████████████████████
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
                 █████
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
████████████████████████
████           ▄▄▄▄▄
████        ▄▄█████▀
██▀▄█████████████▀
▄███████████▀▀

 
 
..█████████▄     ███     ▄███████▄     ██████████
..███▀▀▀▀▀███    ███    ████▀▀▀▀███▄   ███▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
..███      ███   ███   ███▀      ▀▀    ███▄▄▄▄▄▄
..███      ███   ███   ███             █████████
..███      ███   ███   ███▄      ▄▄    ███
..███▄▄▄▄▄███    ███    ████▄▄▄▄███▀   ███▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
..█████████▀     ███     ▀███████▀     ██████████
money . redone












Instagram     
Facebook     
Reddit     
.TECHNICAL WHITEPAPER.
.ICO WHITEPAPER.
.LITEPAPER.













Swimmer63
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1584
Merit: 1000



View Profile
August 09, 2014, 05:52:27 PM
 #3

Anxious to see some screen shots of performance Dogie.  Solid instructions as always.  I like your consistency in an erratic industry. 

I did not mean to make that rhyme.
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1050


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
August 09, 2014, 06:00:08 PM
 #4

Nice review and pics, Dogie.

Have you done any mid/long-term testing to find out the average hardware error rate / poolside performance?

Are you going to provide screenshots from the hashing unit or is the GUI still so ugly you would rather not have anyone see it?


I never take screenshots of software because they go out of date so quickly, and people tend to refer to them over the instructions and then get stuck. Error rate @ 37C ambient and normal fans is averaging 5.4% after 5 hours, 0.75% HW. Stats are taken directly from the BFGminer inbuilt so pool side is identical or above.

Collider
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 09, 2014, 06:06:04 PM
 #5

Thank you, does that put the total error rate at 5.9% aka ~1176GH at the pool?

It would be very nice if we could get an update after 24h, to have a good average.

37°C also seems rather brutal (at 2500 fans that is), do you have access to hosting at a cooler facility?


▀███████████▄▄
██▄▀█████████████▄
████        ▀▀█████▄
████           ▀▀▀▀▀
████████████████████████
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
                 █████
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
████████████████████████
████           ▄▄▄▄▄
████        ▄▄█████▀
██▀▄█████████████▀
▄███████████▀▀

 
 
..█████████▄     ███     ▄███████▄     ██████████
..███▀▀▀▀▀███    ███    ████▀▀▀▀███▄   ███▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
..███      ███   ███   ███▀      ▀▀    ███▄▄▄▄▄▄
..███      ███   ███   ███             █████████
..███      ███   ███   ███▄      ▄▄    ███
..███▄▄▄▄▄███    ███    ████▄▄▄▄███▀   ███▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
..█████████▀     ███     ▀███████▀     ██████████
money . redone












Instagram     
Facebook     
Reddit     
.TECHNICAL WHITEPAPER.
.ICO WHITEPAPER.
.LITEPAPER.













dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1050


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
August 09, 2014, 06:42:39 PM
 #6

Thank you, does that put the total error rate at 5.9% aka ~1176GH at the pool?

It would be very nice if we could get an update after 24h, to have a good average.

37°C also seems rather brutal (at 2500 fans that is), do you have access to hosting at a cooler facility?

No its post reject, so I'm getting 1.26 at the pool after 6 hours. I've lowered the difficulty to 512 which effectively doubles the run time of the test by reducing luck variance. The hardware isn't shifting at all.

I'm forcing the test cell hot because they quote operating range up to 45C, so its only fair to see what happens at that range. At 25C it was overperforming at 1.30. Its worth noting that the high fan mode was just added for people wanting to OC or who live in the centre of the sun etc, you don't actually need it. Its one of the significant advantages of the BE200 people didn't really notice.

Rabinovitch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386
Merit: 1005



View Profile
August 09, 2014, 06:47:15 PM
 #7

Its worth noting that the high fan mode was just added for people wanting to OC
Well, how can it be overclocked? Does the error rate remains the same at any of that three pools or may vary from pool to pool?

From Siberia with love!
Never do any business with Kirill Stepanenko (Volgograd, Russia)
Профессионально занимаюсь развёртыванием ферм (ASIC, GPU, BURST), оборудованием помещений для майнинга.
Collider
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 09, 2014, 06:49:37 PM
 #8

Ah okay, so you are basically stress-testing the unit.
The quoted 45°C temperature might presume that you would use the 5000rpm fan mode though Wink

Are you planning on testing the overclockability tomorrow?


▀███████████▄▄
██▄▀█████████████▄
████        ▀▀█████▄
████           ▀▀▀▀▀
████████████████████████
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
                 █████
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
████████████████████████
████           ▄▄▄▄▄
████        ▄▄█████▀
██▀▄█████████████▀
▄███████████▀▀

 
 
..█████████▄     ███     ▄███████▄     ██████████
..███▀▀▀▀▀███    ███    ████▀▀▀▀███▄   ███▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
..███      ███   ███   ███▀      ▀▀    ███▄▄▄▄▄▄
..███      ███   ███   ███             █████████
..███      ███   ███   ███▄      ▄▄    ███
..███▄▄▄▄▄███    ███    ████▄▄▄▄███▀   ███▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
..█████████▀     ███     ▀███████▀     ██████████
money . redone












Instagram     
Facebook     
Reddit     
.TECHNICAL WHITEPAPER.
.ICO WHITEPAPER.
.LITEPAPER.













dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1050


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
August 09, 2014, 07:11:25 PM
 #9

Its worth noting that the high fan mode was just added for people wanting to OC
Well, how can it be overclocked? Does the error rate remains the same at any of that three pools or may vary from pool to pool?

Its got BFGminer on a known controller on a known chip, it won't be long before people give it a go. I test everything on BTCGuild, rarely GHIO if there is a problem. Pool variance isn't relevant in a hardware scenario.


Ah okay, so you are basically stress-testing the unit.
The quoted 45°C temperature might presume that you would use the 5000rpm fan mode though Wink

Are you planning on testing the overclockability tomorrow?

They've said they don't use it even in their 40C farm, and performance is absolutely fine.

Collider
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 09, 2014, 07:15:47 PM
 #10

Well, it is good to see a unit which is properly optimised for free air cooling, even in the toughest environments.

They have a very solid cooling design, I find that most professionally built units from China are built with demanding climates in mind, as their hot and humid summers put a lot of pressure on miners.


Basically, the unit should still run fine on max fans even if your datacenter ventilation completely fails, which is a nice feature.
Dynamic fan adjustment would obviously have been better, but this option should also do the trick nicely.


▀███████████▄▄
██▄▀█████████████▄
████        ▀▀█████▄
████           ▀▀▀▀▀
████████████████████████
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
                 █████
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
████████████████████████
████           ▄▄▄▄▄
████        ▄▄█████▀
██▀▄█████████████▀
▄███████████▀▀

 
 
..█████████▄     ███     ▄███████▄     ██████████
..███▀▀▀▀▀███    ███    ████▀▀▀▀███▄   ███▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
..███      ███   ███   ███▀      ▀▀    ███▄▄▄▄▄▄
..███      ███   ███   ███             █████████
..███      ███   ███   ███▄      ▄▄    ███
..███▄▄▄▄▄███    ███    ████▄▄▄▄███▀   ███▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
..█████████▀     ███     ▀███████▀     ██████████
money . redone












Instagram     
Facebook     
Reddit     
.TECHNICAL WHITEPAPER.
.ICO WHITEPAPER.
.LITEPAPER.













XBTec
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 169
Merit: 100


View Profile WWW
August 09, 2014, 07:43:05 PM
 #11

Well, it is good to see a unit which is properly optimised for free air cooling, even in the toughest environments.

They have a very solid cooling design, I find that most professionally built units from China are built with demanding climates in mind, as their hot and humid summers put a lot of pressure on miners.


Basically, the unit should still run fine on max fans even if your datacenter ventilation completely fails, which is a nice feature.
Dynamic fan adjustment would obviously have been better, but this option should also do the trick nicely.

We have a huge fans in our farm to prevent overheating.


\\\\\\\◥◣◢◤//////
❖XBTec❖1,25Ths ASIC Manufacturer❖Seeking Resellers❖
///////◢◤◥◣\\\\\\
Collider
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 09, 2014, 07:45:21 PM
 #12

Obviously I wouldn´t suggest anyone builds a datacenter without ventilation.

It was merely meant as an example that the miners should be fine on max fan settings, if there are (temporary) cooling problems at the hosting site.


▀███████████▄▄
██▄▀█████████████▄
████        ▀▀█████▄
████           ▀▀▀▀▀
████████████████████████
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
                 █████
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
████████████████████████
████           ▄▄▄▄▄
████        ▄▄█████▀
██▀▄█████████████▀
▄███████████▀▀

 
 
..█████████▄     ███     ▄███████▄     ██████████
..███▀▀▀▀▀███    ███    ████▀▀▀▀███▄   ███▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
..███      ███   ███   ███▀      ▀▀    ███▄▄▄▄▄▄
..███      ███   ███   ███             █████████
..███      ███   ███   ███▄      ▄▄    ███
..███▄▄▄▄▄███    ███    ████▄▄▄▄███▀   ███▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
..█████████▀     ███     ▀███████▀     ██████████
money . redone












Instagram     
Facebook     
Reddit     
.TECHNICAL WHITEPAPER.
.ICO WHITEPAPER.
.LITEPAPER.













HarmonLi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 250


Honest 80s business!


View Profile
August 11, 2014, 01:56:41 PM
 #13

Thanks a lot for this review! It's well done, as always and gives us a good overview over the new XBTec miner! Do you have any guess how many miners they're able to churn out every week? Can anyone make an educated guess?

dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1050


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
August 11, 2014, 02:42:22 PM
 #14

Thanks a lot for this review! It's well done, as always and gives us a good overview over the new XBTec miner! Do you have any guess how many miners they're able to churn out every week? Can anyone make an educated guess?

I don't think anyone ever can. There isn't really bottlenecks to manufacture any more, chips are in hand, PCBs are easy, assembly is easy...

BitsBitsBits
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 21, 2014, 11:37:19 AM
 #15

Nice guide Dogie. Appreciate the work you put into it.

What will happen to the miner you received for review? Are you sending it back or did you get to keep it?Smiley

▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
⚂⚄ Pocket Dice — The real dice experience | Provably Fair | Free BTC Faucet ⚅⚁
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1050


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
August 21, 2014, 05:36:58 PM
 #16

Nice guide Dogie. Appreciate the work you put into it.

What will happen to the miner you received for review? Are you sending it back or did you get to keep it?Smiley

There's no point shipping 30kg miners round the world twice, and I need the unit to be able to help others.

bradli
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 06, 2014, 07:36:07 PM
 #17

How to change ip
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1050


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
October 06, 2014, 08:29:01 PM
 #18

How to change ip

I'm not sure what version of the software you have. I've got a super early one, you may have the new retail one.

XBTec
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 169
Merit: 100


View Profile WWW
November 18, 2014, 10:25:48 AM
 #19

How to change ip

1. To change ip, subnet mask you have to modify file that located at:
Code:
/etc/network/interfaces

You may also choose from "dhcp" or "static"

2. To change the pool and worker settings you have to modify file that located at:
Code:
/root/.cgminer/cgminer.conf

NOTE: .cgminer is hidden folder.
you also have to have ext4 extension. You may use Paragon software or kind of that

3. Finally you have to modify gateway. The file that located at:
Code:
/etc/resov.conf

\\\\\\\◥◣◢◤//////
❖XBTec❖1,25Ths ASIC Manufacturer❖Seeking Resellers❖
///////◢◤◥◣\\\\\\
Rabinovitch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386
Merit: 1005



View Profile
November 18, 2014, 11:56:19 AM
 #20

Why not make a web-interface to configure and monitor the miner?..

From Siberia with love!
Never do any business with Kirill Stepanenko (Volgograd, Russia)
Профессионально занимаюсь развёртыванием ферм (ASIC, GPU, BURST), оборудованием помещений для майнинга.
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!