Bitcoin Forum
October 19, 2017, 12:44:37 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [Guide] Dogie's Comprehensive Bitmain Antminer S3 Setup [HD]  (Read 131695 times)
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
July 20, 2014, 09:42:17 PM
 #1

Dogie's Miner Setup Guides:
    ASICMiner Blade
ASICMiner Cube
ASICMiner Tube
ASICMiner Prisma
Avalon Avalon2
Avalon Avalon3
Avalon Avalon4
Avalon Avalon6
SpondooliesTech SP10
SpondooliesTech SP20
SpondooliesTech SP30
SpondooliesTech SP35
Technobit HEX16B
Technobit HEX8A1
Technobit HEX4M
Technobit 2HEX4M
KNCMiner Saturn/Jupiter
Bitmain AntMiner S1
Bitmain AntMiner S2
Bitmain AntMiner S3
Bitmain AntMiner S4
Bitmain AntMiner S4+
Bitmain AntMiner S5
Bitmain AntMiner S7
Bitmain AntMiner C1
Bitmain AntMiner U3
RockMiner R-Box
RockMiner New R-Box
RockMiner R3-Box
RockMiner T1
HashCoins Apollo
HashCoins Ares
NonceTech Sampo
Yiazo YBF
BTCGarden AMV1
Bitmine Coincraft Desk V2
HashRatio Tsunami
XBTech Pacific 1250
BitCrane T-110
Black Arrow Prospero X1
AMT 1.25TH
C-Scape HexFury USB
C-Scape BiFury USB
MoonlightMiner NanoFury II USB
    Gigampz PSU breakout board


    Guide meta thread
    DefaultTrust Visualisation
    Power Supply analysis guide
    Manufacturer trustworthiness guide
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


Nicely formatted version available at dogiecoin.com!



Contents:
0a) What to Expect
0b) What You Need
1) Powering
2) Cooling
3) Case
4) Configuration
5) Troubleshooting
6) Where to buy


0a) What to Expect (top)
Bitmain's AntMiner S3 is one of the most important releases this summer and is designed to be a network dominator. It features 32 of their latest 28nm
BM1382 chips arranged in a similar formfactor to the S1. The refinement and evolution of design is staggering however, and the S3 is improved in every way.
The S3 is standalone and does not require an external controller.

Chips32x Bitmain BM1382 Gen2
Hashrate~440GH
Rated Voltage12V
Rated Current28A
Power.Consumption340W

 

      
 
      


0b) What You Need (top)
You will need a few accessories and a power supply to get started.


                             Click your flag to find everything you need to get started at Amazon!             
                    
                                         


1) Powering (top)
S3's do not come with a power supply, and you will need a typical computer PSU with 4xPCI-E 6 pin power connectors. Strictly only 2 PCI-E connectors are
required at stock speeds, however it will reduce cable temperatures by utilising all 4. We also need to tell the PSU to always be on, as there isn't a motherboard
to do this. Cut a paper clip into a U and insert it into the green wire and either black wire to the side of the green wire. Tape it up for safety. The power supply
will now be controlled by its switch on the rear socket.

      


2) Cooling (top)
The S3 is self sufficient in cooling terms and utilises the optimal negative pressure tunnel cooling arrangement. Two 120mm JSL JDH1238B fans at each
end operate at ~1500-2500rpm almost silently, while keeping chip temperatures as low as 20C above ambient. Both are automatically controlled by the
software and react to increased temperatures.

The backs of the mining boards are cooled by curved, full cover aluminium heatsinks and the fronts by smaller straight finned heatsinks. Both are attached
using compressive springs to avoid potential chip damage. Its worth noting the excellent and careful thermal compound placement on each individual chip,
something not usually seen in the mass market price point. Please be careful when handling these heatsinks, they are extremely sharp.

      
 
      

      
 



3) Case (top)
The S3 is entirely enclosed in an extremely strong shroud that is not going to be damaged at all. The internal frame is minimal but solid and well designed.
Both fans have grills to complete what is possibly the most child and pet friendly miner on the market. S3's are stackable when placed on their side due to the
top access required for the PCI-E cables.

A shipped S3 weighs 6kg and the unit measures 331mm x 137mm x 160mm.

      


4) Configuration (top)
The S3 is standalone and does not require an external controller.

Wiring:
  • Prepare the paper clip for the PSU's 24 pin connector.
  • Plug in the four PCI-E cables to the miner.
  • Plug in an ethernet cable from the AntMiner to you router.

Configuration:
  • Power on the power supply using its switch at the back.
  • Make sure that your router's subnet is 1, ie 192.168.1.x. If not then change it to 1, this is just temporary. ***If this is not possible, see below***
  • Using a browser, navigate to 192.168.1.99 - this goes to the S3's configuration page.
  • Login using "root" as both the username and password.
  • Navigate to Network -> Interfaces -> WAN -> Edit.
  • Change protocol to DHCP and click "Save & Apply".
  • Using a browser, navigate to your router and find the IP it has assigned the S3 and navigate to that IP.
  • Navigate to the page Status -> Miner Configuration. Enter your pool information in the below format.
  • Select "Beeper ringing" to "false" and click "Save & Apply".
  • Navigate to the page "Miner Status" to check mining has started.
  • You can then change your router subnet back to whatever you are used to using.

Alternative Subnet Change:
  • Unplug your computer from all internet sources.
  • Plug in an ethernet cable from the AntMiner to your computer.
  • Navigate to Control Panel -> Network and Sharing Centre -> Change Adapter Settings.
  • Right click on your ethernet adapter -> Properties.
  • Click on "Internet Protocol Version 4" and click properties.
  • Select "Use the following IP address" and enter the following:
  • IP Address: 192.168.1.1, Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0, Default Gateway: 192.168.1.99.
  • Plug in an ethernet cable from the AntMiner to you router.
  • Restart the configuration instructions as above.

Antpool Register!
Code:
Servers : stratum+tcp://stratum.antpool.com:3333
User    : username.worker or username_worker - auto creates workers!
Password: anypassword
BTCGuild Register!
Code:
Servers : stratum+tcp://stratum.btcguild.com:3333
User    : username_worker
Password: anypassword
GHash IO Register!
Code:
Servers : stratum+tcp://us1.ghash.io:3333
User    : username.worker  - auto creates workers!
Password: anypassword




5) Troubleshooting (top)

ProblemSolution
"x".in.a.row.on.miner.configuration.page- There is a faulty chip - nothing we can do. Hash rate will be affected by ~3%.
Almost all "x" on one row of "Chips"- A hashing board may be mispowered or faulty. Recheck your cabling and PSU.
How do I change the login password?- Navigate to System -> Administration. Enter the current password and enter your new one twice.
What is the SSH login?- Username is "root", password is "root".
Can I turn the beeping off when the miner stops mining?- No, but you can reduce how often it beeps. Navigate to Miner configuration and turn "Beeper Ringing" to false.
I can connect to the AntMiner but its not hashing?- Set the protocol to DHCP via Navigate to Network -> Interfaces -> WAN -> Edit. If you
don't want to use DHCP, navigate to Network -> Settings and make sure "Gateway" is set to the
IP of your router.
What temperatures should I aim for?- Try and achieve <50 for best hash rates, and <60 for long lifetimes. Temperatures should not be
 let to rise above 70C.
Where can I get the latest firmware?- Download from Bitmain's site.
How can I tell what firmware version I have now?- Navigate to System -> Overview and look at "File System Version".
How do I install the latest firmware?- Download firmware as above. Navigate to System -> Upgrade and click "browse". Select the
downloaded file and click "Flash image". Do NOT interrupt this process or you will brick the unit.
How do I reset settings to default?- Use a paper clip to press the reset button - located next to the ethernet connector - down for
5-10 seconds. The miner will then reset with stock settings.
My.power.supply's.cables.are.braided.or.aren't.color.coded- See below diagram for pin-outs.

      
 
      

 


Legal disclaimer: This information is for general guidance and does not constitute expert advice. We are not responsible if you, your property or a third
party is injured or damaged as a result of any interaction with this information, and no warranty is provided. All text and images are covered by copyright.

6) Where to buy (top)

                    
                                         
            


1508373877
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508373877

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508373877
Reply with quote  #2

1508373877
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508373877
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508373877

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508373877
Reply with quote  #2

1508373877
Report to moderator
Biodom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386


View Profile
July 20, 2014, 09:59:42 PM
 #2

Great guide, Dogie...

few notes:
1. The guide calls it R3 at some point
2. ssh login/passwd is root/root, not root/admin
3. it refers to holding reset button to the left of LCD screen, which is relevant to S2, but not S3 (no LCD on S3). On S3 there is a pinhole to the right (if you are looking straight at ethernet port) of the pair of red and green indicator. The easiest way to do it (reset) is to push inside the pinhole for 5-10sec with a thicker paper clip.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1890


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
July 20, 2014, 10:32:47 PM
 #3

I like the guide.   I did a small how to on reducing the beep.

Simple easy low cost and fully reversible.


feel free to use the photos.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=701338.0

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
July 21, 2014, 12:30:18 AM
 #4

Great guide, Dogie...

few notes:
1. The guide calls it R3 at some point
2. ssh login/passwd is root/root, not root/admin
3. it refers to holding reset button to the left of LCD screen, which is relevant to S2, but not S3 (no LCD on S3). On S3 there is a pinhole to the right (if you are looking straight at ethernet port) of the pair of red and green indicator. The easiest way to do it (reset) is to push inside the pinhole for 5-10sec with a thicker paper clip.

All fixed.

dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
July 21, 2014, 12:31:15 AM
 #5

I like the guide.   I did a small how to on reducing the beep.

Simple easy low cost and fully reversible.

I've still not managed to work out WHY it beeps, often just once and at random times with sometimes huge gaps between

cloverme
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204


SpacePirate.io


View Profile WWW
July 21, 2014, 12:39:29 AM
 #6

I like the guide.   I did a small how to on reducing the beep.

Simple easy low cost and fully reversible.

I've still not managed to work out WHY it beeps, often just once and at random times with sometimes huge gaps between


Same beeping situation here, I think it's a bug. It almost sounds like the not-hashing alarm on the S1.



         ▄▄▄████████▄▄▄
      ▄██████████████████▄
    ▄██████████████████████▄
  ▄██████████████████████████▄
 ▄████████████████████████████▌
▄██████████████████████████████▌
████████████████████████████████
██████▀     ▀██████▀     ▀██████
█████        ▐████▌        █████
█████        ▐████▌        █████
██████▄    ▄████████▄    ▄██████
▀█████████████▀  ▀█████████████▀
  ▀▀██████████▄▄▄▄██████████▀▀
     ▀▀██████████████████▀▀
       ████▀███▀▀███▀████
       ▀██▀ ▀█▀  ▀█▀ ▀██▀
║█║
║░║
║░║
║█║
Gogreen
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile
July 21, 2014, 12:43:43 AM
 #7

Nice photo u put the s3 inside a mini soft box? I believe Grin. Btw I am going to buy some double side tape to cover that beeping hole. LoL

Bitcoin mining Antminer s7 4.7 TH Used in Good Condition Best Offer Prices @ ebay seller order directly here https://goo.gl/uaoh1r. Bitcoin payment optional.
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
July 21, 2014, 01:04:38 AM
 #8

Nice photo u put the s3 inside a mini soft box? I believe Grin. Btw I am going to buy some double side tape to cover that beeping hole. LoL

Its a light box, and lots of post processing.

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1890


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
July 21, 2014, 01:05:25 AM
 #9

Nice photo u put the s3 inside a mini soft box? I believe Grin. Btw I am going to buy some double side tape to cover that beeping hole. LoL


this would also work


http://www.amazon.com/Industrial-Grade-10G211-Felt-Round/dp/B007OXFEV6/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1405904462&sr=8-4&keywords=3%2F4+felt+rounds


the speaker is about 1/2 inch as long as the round is bigger it will be easy to remove.

It only lowers the sound a lot.

Setting to false lowers the amount of beeps.

 So both  makes the beeps bear able.

You can make it beep with a reboot and a setting of false.  

With a setting of true it beeps many times after a reboot.

The wife went from pissed off to okay after I did this pad mod. So it was worth it.

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Junkbarman
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
July 21, 2014, 01:17:44 AM
 #10

Guide says something about attaching 4 pci e cables to power it? I thought this was only necessary for overclocking.

Remember, what the dormouse said: feed your head.
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
July 21, 2014, 01:26:34 AM
 #11

Guide says something about attaching 4 pci e cables to power it? I thought this was only necessary for overclocking.

Quote
Strictly only 2 PCI-E connectors are required at stock speeds, however it will reduce cable temperatures by utilising all 4

Beastlymac
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630


Miner Setup And Reviews. WASP Rep.


View Profile
July 21, 2014, 02:48:25 AM
 #12

Great setup guide dogie any plans on covering wifi?

Message me if you have any problems
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
July 21, 2014, 03:37:24 AM
 #13

Great setup guide dogie any plans on covering wifi?

There is no WiFi on the S3?

ZiG
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
July 21, 2014, 03:54:32 AM
 #14

Great setup guide dogie any plans on covering wifi?

There is no WiFi on the S3?

There IS WORKING WiFi on S3, buddy... Wink

There is NO antenna for it, though... Grin

ZiG
Beastlymac
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630


Miner Setup And Reviews. WASP Rep.


View Profile
July 21, 2014, 03:54:45 AM
 #15

Great setup guide dogie any plans on covering wifi?

There is no WiFi on the S3?

It is possible if you have some extra hardware. It has the software for wifi already and just needs one of the below to work. I was getting a wireless connection during testing without a pigtail. Signal strength was ~50% with the case on and right beside my WAP.


Message me if you have any problems
ZiG
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
July 21, 2014, 04:11:18 AM
 #16

Great setup guide dogie any plans on covering wifi?

There is no WiFi on the S3?

It is possible if you have some extra hardware. It has the software for wifi already and just needs one of the below to work. I was getting a wireless connection during testing without a pigtail. Signal strength was ~50% with the case on and right beside my WAP.



That's it...!

I use some of my S1's leftovers WiFi antennas...Have to drill a hole ... Wink

ZiG
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
July 21, 2014, 05:05:13 AM
 #17

Great setup guide dogie any plans on covering wifi?

There is no WiFi on the S3?

There IS WORKING WiFi on S3, buddy... Wink

There is NO antenna for it, though... Grin

Yeah it's as good as not there. Those willing to spend the time and money to mod their S3s will already know what to do - it would be a waste of time for others.

ZiG
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
July 21, 2014, 05:11:42 AM
 #18

Great setup guide dogie any plans on covering wifi?

There is no WiFi on the S3?

There IS WORKING WiFi on S3, buddy... Wink

There is NO antenna for it, though... Grin

ZiG

Yeah it's as good as not there. Those willing to spend the time and money to mod their S3s will already know what to do - it would be a waste of time for others.

Dogie,

I really respect all your time and effort spent on creating your GREAT guides...!

...BUT when you are WRONG...or NOT RIGHT...don't be stuck...or silly...just ACCEPT it...

Nobody is perfect...Capisco... Huh


Cheers

ZiG
DumDumz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126

★☆★Bitin.io★☆★


View Profile
July 21, 2014, 02:05:41 PM
 #19

I like the guide.   I did a small how to on reducing the beep.

Simple easy low cost and fully reversible.


feel free to use the photos.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=701338.0
no other way than that.
if you do not want to speak noisy, you just come off its speakers: p

dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
July 21, 2014, 06:15:11 PM
 #20

Great setup guide dogie any plans on covering wifi?

There is no WiFi on the S3?

There IS WORKING WiFi on S3, buddy... Wink

There is NO antenna for it, though... Grin

ZiG

Yeah it's as good as not there. Those willing to spend the time and money to mod their S3s will already know what to do - it would be a waste of time for others.

Dogie

Can you stop adding 15 line breaks between each few words please. And yes the wifi is useable if you're within a 15 foot radius and if you can point the open end of the fan roughly at your router. Else it drops out and you end up in a beepathon. You can't easily add an aerial so its best not to confuse users with it.

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!