Bitcoin Forum
September 23, 2017, 05:55:28 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Wolf's XMR/BCN/DSH CPUMiner - 2x speed compared to LucasJones' - NEW 06/20/2014  (Read 398626 times)
Wolf0
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694


Miner Developer


View Profile
June 19, 2014, 02:37:56 PM
 #301

^It seems the Wolf's miner is faster on linux.

Yep! Went from 305H/s on Win7x64 to 440H/s on Ubuntu64.

Just looking at youtube videos on how to install Ubuntu - is it complicated to run the software on it or is it just like windows? Whats GPU mining like on it? Is it more stable etc. ?

No, it isn't just like Windows, although it's not very complex. You can't GPU mine on it as of yet, as Claymore's miner doesn't support linux - however GPU mining in general tends to be more stable in my experience.

Code:
Donations: BTC: 1WoLFdwcfNEg64fTYsX1P25KUzzSjtEZC -- XMR: 45SLUTzk7UXYHmzJ7bFN6FPfzTusdUVAZjPRgmEDw7G3SeimWM2kCdnDQXwDBYGUWaBtZNgjYtEYA22aMQT4t8KfU3vHLHG
1506146128
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506146128

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506146128
Reply with quote  #2

1506146128
Report to moderator
1506146128
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506146128

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506146128
Reply with quote  #2

1506146128
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1506146128
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506146128

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506146128
Reply with quote  #2

1506146128
Report to moderator
1506146128
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506146128

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506146128
Reply with quote  #2

1506146128
Report to moderator
pepi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
June 19, 2014, 02:39:43 PM
 #302

^It seems the Wolf's miner is faster on linux.

Yep! Went from 305H/s on Win7x64 to 440H/s on Ubuntu64.

Just looking at youtube videos on how to install Ubuntu - is it complicated to run the software on it or is it just like windows? Whats GPU mining like on it? Is it more stable etc. ?

There is no GPU mining under Linux for XMR/BCN/MNT
tc61
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 492



View Profile
June 20, 2014, 02:30:40 AM
 #303

When writing the batch file to start the miner, how do you specify the number of core, like if I wanted to only use 2.

Thx

Wolf0
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694


Miner Developer


View Profile
June 20, 2014, 02:35:47 AM
 #304

When writing the batch file to start the miner, how do you specify the number of core, like if I wanted to only use 2.

Thx
-t 2

Read the --help next time.

Code:
Donations: BTC: 1WoLFdwcfNEg64fTYsX1P25KUzzSjtEZC -- XMR: 45SLUTzk7UXYHmzJ7bFN6FPfzTusdUVAZjPRgmEDw7G3SeimWM2kCdnDQXwDBYGUWaBtZNgjYtEYA22aMQT4t8KfU3vHLHG
tc61
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 492



View Profile
June 20, 2014, 02:38:07 AM
 #305

wolf, looked for a help readme but could not find one..thanks for the info.

Wolf0
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694


Miner Developer


View Profile
June 20, 2014, 02:43:20 AM
 #306

wolf, looked for a help readme but could not find one..thanks for the info.

No problem... maybe I should include a readme or something.

Code:
Donations: BTC: 1WoLFdwcfNEg64fTYsX1P25KUzzSjtEZC -- XMR: 45SLUTzk7UXYHmzJ7bFN6FPfzTusdUVAZjPRgmEDw7G3SeimWM2kCdnDQXwDBYGUWaBtZNgjYtEYA22aMQT4t8KfU3vHLHG
MadGhost
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294

★777Coin.com★ Fun BTC Casino!


View Profile
June 20, 2014, 02:46:05 AM
 #307

wolf, looked for a help readme but could not find one..thanks for the info.

No problem... maybe I should include a readme or something.

readme would be helpful for the first time users, also the ones who are new to mining.

Wolf0
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694


Miner Developer


View Profile
June 20, 2014, 02:48:30 AM
 #308

wolf, looked for a help readme but could not find one..thanks for the info.

No problem... maybe I should include a readme or something.

readme would be helpful for the first time users, also the ones who are new to mining.

Yeah. Also would be helpful for users just new to this miner - that way they could look at the readme and know how to setup hugepages on linux, rather than having to come to this thread.

Code:
Donations: BTC: 1WoLFdwcfNEg64fTYsX1P25KUzzSjtEZC -- XMR: 45SLUTzk7UXYHmzJ7bFN6FPfzTusdUVAZjPRgmEDw7G3SeimWM2kCdnDQXwDBYGUWaBtZNgjYtEYA22aMQT4t8KfU3vHLHG
tc61
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 492



View Profile
June 20, 2014, 03:48:42 AM
 #309

wolf, another quick question, I was trying to run the miner, while still doing some gpu mining , but when I do so, the % of good hash on the gpu miner starts to take a hit. I even tried just using 1 thread out of the 4 but it still degrades the gpu miner performance, any tips?

Wolf0
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694


Miner Developer


View Profile
June 20, 2014, 03:54:07 AM
 #310

wolf, another quick question, I was trying to run the miner, while still doing some gpu mining , but when I do so, the % of good hash on the gpu miner starts to take a hit. I even tried just using 1 thread out of the 4 but it still degrades the gpu miner performance, any tips?

Hm... try lowering the priority of the CPU miner and/or raising the priority of the GPU miner in Task Manager. Whatever you do, do NOT use the "Realtime" setting - it always locked my systems up.

Code:
Donations: BTC: 1WoLFdwcfNEg64fTYsX1P25KUzzSjtEZC -- XMR: 45SLUTzk7UXYHmzJ7bFN6FPfzTusdUVAZjPRgmEDw7G3SeimWM2kCdnDQXwDBYGUWaBtZNgjYtEYA22aMQT4t8KfU3vHLHG
tc61
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 492



View Profile
June 20, 2014, 04:58:20 AM
 #311

wolf, another quick question, I was trying to run the miner, while still doing some gpu mining , but when I do so, the % of good hash on the gpu miner starts to take a hit. I even tried just using 1 thread out of the 4 but it still degrades the gpu miner performance, any tips?

Hm... try lowering the priority of the CPU miner and/or raising the priority of the GPU miner in Task Manager. Whatever you do, do NOT use the "Realtime" setting - it always locked my systems up.

Figured it out, I had to set the affinity of processor to not steal from each other

Wolf0
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694


Miner Developer


View Profile
June 20, 2014, 05:03:07 AM
 #312

wolf, another quick question, I was trying to run the miner, while still doing some gpu mining , but when I do so, the % of good hash on the gpu miner starts to take a hit. I even tried just using 1 thread out of the 4 but it still degrades the gpu miner performance, any tips?

Hm... try lowering the priority of the CPU miner and/or raising the priority of the GPU miner in Task Manager. Whatever you do, do NOT use the "Realtime" setting - it always locked my systems up.

Figured it out, I had to set the affinity of processor to not steal from each other

Interesting how that works - I disabled setting affinity (it was only ever done when the number of threads is a multiple of the number of CPU cores) because it lowered hashrate a lot on servers, especially AWS.

Code:
Donations: BTC: 1WoLFdwcfNEg64fTYsX1P25KUzzSjtEZC -- XMR: 45SLUTzk7UXYHmzJ7bFN6FPfzTusdUVAZjPRgmEDw7G3SeimWM2kCdnDQXwDBYGUWaBtZNgjYtEYA22aMQT4t8KfU3vHLHG
ivanlabrie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812



View Profile
June 20, 2014, 12:28:11 PM
 #313

Wolf0, I've ran folding at home using alinux VM before (virtual box) and it ran like native Linux on the CPU side of things.

you could make a prebuilt mining is image for windows users to mine with. Might get you some extra tips too
what do you think?
Wolf0
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694


Miner Developer


View Profile
June 20, 2014, 12:33:27 PM
 #314

Wolf0, I've ran folding at home using alinux VM before (virtual box) and it ran like native Linux on the CPU side of things.

you could make a prebuilt mining is image for windows users to mine with. Might get you some extra tips too
what do you think?

I think you missed the part in the OP where I said it can't be virtualized. Gotta be native.

Code:
Donations: BTC: 1WoLFdwcfNEg64fTYsX1P25KUzzSjtEZC -- XMR: 45SLUTzk7UXYHmzJ7bFN6FPfzTusdUVAZjPRgmEDw7G3SeimWM2kCdnDQXwDBYGUWaBtZNgjYtEYA22aMQT4t8KfU3vHLHG
tequillaquagga
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
June 20, 2014, 02:11:16 PM
 #315

Have someone compiled it on OSX?

The Camel Marches On
Wolf0
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694


Miner Developer


View Profile
June 20, 2014, 02:28:04 PM
 #316

Have someone compiled it on OSX?

I think sammy007 on IRC has.

Code:
Donations: BTC: 1WoLFdwcfNEg64fTYsX1P25KUzzSjtEZC -- XMR: 45SLUTzk7UXYHmzJ7bFN6FPfzTusdUVAZjPRgmEDw7G3SeimWM2kCdnDQXwDBYGUWaBtZNgjYtEYA22aMQT4t8KfU3vHLHG
sparks2013
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 55


View Profile
June 20, 2014, 03:43:51 PM
 #317

Hello all,

Has anyone successfully compiled Wolfs cpuminer under centOS 6.4?

I tried for a couple hours yesterday to make it work, and even removed some of the values under the makefile but can't seem to get it to compile.

I'm stuck on this error..

./cpu-miner.c:1065: error: ‘MADV_HUGEPAGE’ undeclared (first use in this function)
./cpu-miner.c:1065: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
./cpu-miner.c:1065: error: for each function it appears in.)

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

cryptonite: CcPSVicrABUeNVMJ8AtsghxfKtBPFS9aPg
Wolf0
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694


Miner Developer


View Profile
June 20, 2014, 03:47:51 PM
 #318

Hello all,

Has anyone successfully compiled Wolfs cpuminer under centOS 6.4?

I tried for a couple hours yesterday to make it work, and even removed some of the values under the makefile but can't seem to get it to compile.

I'm stuck on this error..

./cpu-miner.c:1065: error: ‘MADV_HUGEPAGE’ undeclared (first use in this function)
./cpu-miner.c:1065: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
./cpu-miner.c:1065: error: for each function it appears in.)

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

CentOS apparently doesn't support hugepages - which sucks, because that's a lot of performance.

Code:
Donations: BTC: 1WoLFdwcfNEg64fTYsX1P25KUzzSjtEZC -- XMR: 45SLUTzk7UXYHmzJ7bFN6FPfzTusdUVAZjPRgmEDw7G3SeimWM2kCdnDQXwDBYGUWaBtZNgjYtEYA22aMQT4t8KfU3vHLHG
AceCobra1
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
June 21, 2014, 12:07:46 AM
 #319

Any updated miners ? The GPU now seems to have a massive advantage over CPUs now on monero

smooth
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1540



View Profile
June 21, 2014, 02:46:41 AM
 #320

Any updated miners ? The GPU now seems to have a massive advantage over CPUs now on monero

Massive advantage how? Claymore reports 600 H/s on a 290x, which is about double what you get on a fast desktop CPU, but it also costs about twice as much. I see no major advantage to GPUs at this point, they are just another reasonable option.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!